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IDAPA 50 - COMMISSION OF PARDONS AND PAROLE
50.01.01 - RULES OF THE COMMISSION OF PARDONS AND PAROLE
DOCKET NO. 50-0101-1502
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule is October 1, 2015.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, |daho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 20-223, daho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: Thefollowing is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting atemporary rule:

To update rules to comply with statutory language of 1C20-229B, effective 10-1-2015. To implement violation
hearing officers’ authority to impose 90/180 day sanctions.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(1) (b), Idaho Code, the Governor has
found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

To update rule to be in compliance with IC20-229B language to implement violation hearing officers' authority
to impose 90/180 day sanctions.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fee or charge being imposed or
increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee is described herein: N/A

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Mary Schoeler, (208) 332-2520.

DATED this 2nd Day of September, 2015.

Sandy Jones

Executive Direction

Idaho Commission of Pardons and Parole
3506 Elder St.

Boise, |daho 83705

(208) 332-2520

THE FOLLOWING ISTHE TEXT OF THE TEMPORARY RULE FOR DOCKET NO. 50-0101-1502

400. PAROLE REVOCATION PROCESS.

01. Initiated. The parole revocation process is initiated by a written or verbal report describing the
conditions of parole which are alleged to have been violated. The parolee is required to be present at the violation or
revocation hearing, unless waived by the offender with the exception of an absentia revocation hearing as explained
in Subsection 400.06.h. (4-11-15)

02. Warrants. A warrant may be issued for the offender’s arrest. (3-23-98)
a. A supervising agency may issue an investigative warrant referred to as an agent’s warrant. The

agent’s warrant authorizes local law enforcement to transport the parolee to the appropriate jurisdiction to be housed
pending an appearance before the commission. (4-11-15)
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b. A commission warrant may be signed by the executive director or by a member or members of the
commission. Issuance of this warrant suspends the offender’s parole until a determination has been made on the
merits of the case. (4-11-15)

i If the location of the offender is unknown, the warrant will be entered into NCIC, I-HOT, or other
law enforcement data base and will designate which states the commission will extradite the offender from once
arrested. At any time the executive director or designee may change the area of extradition. (4-11-15)

ii. If an offender isbeing held in custody on new charges, in a state other than Idaho the warrant may
be placed as a detainer only and written notice of this action will be submitted to the holding facility; if the detainer is
officially served on the offender without notice of this action to the commission, the commission will not be held
responsible for the time limits prescribed by law for service of charges. 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

iii. If the offender is arrested in a state other than Idaho and refuses extradition to Idaho, it may be
necessary to request a governor’s warrant; during the time period in which the subject refuses to waive extradition,
time incarcerated will not be credited toward the sentence. (3-23-98)

03. Due Process. Every parolee arrested on a commission warrant for alleged violation(s) of paroleis
entitled to pertinent due process including notice of the date, time and location of any and all hearings involved in the
revocation process, the right to appear at a hearing and address the allegations, and to confront and cross-examine
person(s) who have given adverse information on which the charges have been based. (4-11-15)

04. Intermediate Sanctions on Technical Violations and Absconding Supervision. If the violation
does not result from a conviction of a new felony or violent misdemeanor, then the parolee will be afforded the
opportunity to serve an intermediate sanction rather than proceeding through the formal parole violation process.

(4-11-15)

The commission or hearing officer will cause the parolee to be confined for aperiod of up to ninety

(90) days effectlve|mmed|atdyupenemepmg4hedeersenﬁmhe+n+ﬂahﬂetaﬂeﬂ upon either: {4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

i. The date of waiver document, which indicates the parolee's acknowledgment of quilt and
acceptance of sanctionsin lieu of violation hearing; or (10-1-15)T

ii. Notice of the hearing officer's decision in event the parolee did not waive the hearing. (10-1-15)T

b. For a second parole violation, the commission or hearing officer will cause the parolee to be
confined for a period of up to one hundred e|ghty (180) days effective immediately upen-enteringthe-deeision: upon
either: 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

i The date of waiver document, which indicates the parolee's acknowledgment of guilt and
acceptance of sanctionsin lieu of aviolation hearing; or (10-1-15)T

i Notice of the hearing officer's decision in event the parolee did not waive the hearing. (10-1-15)T

C. For athird or subsequent parole violation, a dispositional hearing will be convened during aregular
session of the commission to execute an order of parole revocation and determine the period of time the parole
violator will be returned to state custody. (4-11-15)

d. If the member or members or hearing officer, having heard the matter, should conclude that the
dlegations of violation of parole by absconding supervision have been proven by a preponderance of the evidence,
the commission or hearing officer will cause the parolee to be confined for a period of up to one hundred eighty (180)
days effective immediately upon entering the decision. 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

e For a second or subsequent parole violation by absconding supervision, a dispositional hearing
during aregular session of the commission will be convened to execute an order of parole revocation and determine
the period of time the parole violator will be returned to state custody. (4-11-15)
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f. During any period of confinement on an intermediate sanction, the commission or hearing officer
may reduce the period of confinement by up to thirty (30) days if the commission or hearing officer finds that there
has been no instance of misconduct during the period of time the parolee is confined. 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

g. Upon successful completion of a term of intermediate sanctioning under this section, the parolee
will be released to parole supervision unless prior to completing the sanction, the parolee is convicted of a violent
misdemeanor or felony crime. If convicted of aviolent misdemeanor or felony crime, the parolee will then be moved

to non-technical status and will proceed through the formal violation process. 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T
h. The commission or hearing officer will establish-eriteria use the intermediate sancti ons pursuant to

Section 20-229B, Idaho Code, to determine the-neeessary length of confinement
The criteria may include the parolee’s supervision history, stability in the community, severity and type of
violation(s), risk and needs assessment score, and the violations report by the parole officer. 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

i When the member or members or hearing officer, having heard the matter, conclude that the
allegations of violation of the conditions of parole have not been proven by a preponderance of evidence, or those that
have been proven by a preponderance of the evidence are not sufficient cause for the revocation of parole, then the
parolee WI|| be re| nstated on parole on the same or modified condrtrons of parole Fhecommission-wit-eonsidler

{4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

05. Witnesses. The alleged parole violator or the accusing parole officer may present witnesses in

support of the claims of the allegations or in defense of the charges. (3-23-98)
a. The commission has no subpoena power to compel any witness to attend a hearing. The alleged

parole violator may make a timely written request to the commission office for certain adverse witnesses to be
available for cross-examination, and such request must include the name, address, tel ephone number, and rel ationship

to the case; the hearing officer will make reasonable efforts to request their participation. (4-11-15)
b. If it is determined by the hearing officer or the executive director that the identification of an
informant or the personal appearance of a witness would subject such person to risk or harm, confrontation or cross-
examination will not be allowed and the record will reflect such determination. (3-23-98)
(o It is the alleged parole violator’s responsibility and the accusing parole officer’s responsibility to
notify their witnesses of the date, time, and location of any and all hearings or change of hearings. (4-11-15)
06. Attorney. The aleged parole violator may utilize the services of an attorney at any hearing
conducted during the revocation process. (3-23-98)
a. An attorney will be paid at the alleged parole violator’s expense unlessit is determined by a hearing

officer for the commission, the executive director, or the commission that there is a colorable claim that the alleged
violation(s) did not occur, that the aleged parole violator does not understand the proceedings, or is otherwise
incapable of representing himself. (3-23-98)

b. It is the alleged parole violator’s responsibility to notify his attorney of the date, time, and location of any
and all hearings or change of hearings. The alleged parole violator’s attorney may make a request of the commission
office of any hearings and if requested in Wrrtmq the comm|ssron office will provrde the attorney with aﬂy—and—a”
copies of reports and or documents; 7
the commission office that are public records accordl nq to the publ ic records act (44:1—15}(10 1- 15)

07. Hearings. The alleged parole violator will be advised of any and al hearing dates and locations
within areasonable time frame. The hearing officer or executive director will determine the location of all hearings.

(4-11-15)
a. The subject may request continuance or waiver of any hearing which is subject to the final
determination of the hearing officer, executive director, or the commission. (3-23-98)
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b. The type of charges addressed in the allegations will determine the kinds of hearings available to
the alleged parole violator. (3-23-98)

i Nontechnical Violations. If the alleged parole violator is charged with a conviction for a violent
misdemeanor, or new felony criminal conviction, or is charged with absconding from supervision, the subject is not
entitled to a preliminary or on-site hearing, but is entitled to a hearing to determine guilt or innocence within a
reasonabl e time following service of the charges. (4-11-15)

ii. Technical Violations. If the alleged parole violator is charged with aviolation of the conditions of
parole other than a violent misdemeanor, or new felony criminal conviction, or absconding from supervision, the
subject is entitled to a preliminary hearing conducted by the supervising authority within a reasonable amount of
time. An on-site hearing will be conducted by a hearing officer. The hearing is to determine guilt or innocence within
thirty (30) days from the date the accused was served with the charges of the violation. (4-11-15)

C. Preliminary Hearing. A technical parole violator is entitled to a preliminary hearing to establish
whether or not there is probable cause to believe the violations may have occurred, and such hearing will be
conducted by staff of the supervising authority or as otherwise directed by the executive director. The alleged parole
violator is entitled to averbal or written decision within areasonable time following the preliminary hearing.

(4-11-15)

d. On-Site Hearing. A technical parole violator is entitled to an on-site hearing conducted by a hearing
officer. The on-site hearing is conducted reasonably near the site of the alleged parole violation(s). The executive
director or hearing officer will determine where the hearing will be conducted. In situations where the violation(s)
occurred outside the state of Idaho, the executive director or hearing officer will determine the location of the hearing.
Based on Interstate Compact rules, an on-site hearing may not be possibleif charged and arrested in a state other than
Idaho. (4-11-15)

e Violation Hearing. In most cases, a hearing officer will conduct afact-finding or violation hearing
and will make a finding on each allegation as to the guilt or innocence and may dismiss some or all allegations. If a
hearing officer is unavailable, the executive director will appoint someone to conduct the hearing. The offender is

entitled to averbal or written decision within twenty (20) days of the violation hearing. (4-11-15)
f. Revocation. Pursuant to a violation hearing or waiver of such hearing and a finding of guilt was

made on one (1) or more of the violations, the commission will consider whether or not parole will be revoked.
(5-3-03)

i The commission has full discretion in granting reinstatement on parole or revocation of parole. A
hearing with the offender may be conducted or the decision may be made along with deliberation on an Absentia
Parole Revocation. (see Subsections 400.067.hg.i. and 400.067.hg.ii.) The Commission will consider whether the
parole will be reinstated or revoked and will state the reasoning if parole is revoked. 4-11-15)(10-1-15)T

. Absentia Hearing. The commission can revoke parole without the subject’s appearance if the
subject has signed the proper commission form waiving the right to appear before the commission. The commission

will determine if parole will be considered once the revocation decision has been made. (3-23-98)
i If new criminal charges result in a new commitment and incarceration, the subject can admit guilt
and waive an appearance at a violation or revocation hearing. (3-23-98)
ii. If the subject has absconded supervision and is reincarcerated in another state without a new
conviction, the subject can admit guilt and waive an appearance at a violation or revocation hearing. (3-23-98)
08. Miscellaneous Revocation I nfor mation. (3-23-98)
a. The executive director will determine who will conduct all hearings involved in the revocation
process. (3-23-98)
b. The commission, through the executive director shall designate the county, state, or other facility
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where the alleged parole violator shall be held. The commission’s order shall be sufficient authority by law to direct
any county sheriff or the board of correction to hold an alleged parole violator in custody until such time as the

commission directs his removal or transfer. (3-23-98)
C. The alleged parole violator can request a continuance of any hearing. The hearing officer, executive
director, or the commission will determine if the continuance will be granted. If the alleged parole violator requests a
continuance of any hearing, said request will constitute awaiver of any and all time limits involved. (4-11-15)
09. Inability to Assist in Defense. (3-23-98)
a. Specific time limits pertinent to the case may be waived. (3-23-98)
b. At the hearing officer or executive director’s discretion, an attorney may be appointed for the
offender at commission expense. (4-11-15)
C. A psychological evaluation may be requested by the commission and mental health treatment may
be deemed appropriate. (4-11-15)
d. A status update of the case will be made at regular intervals, and the executive director will
determine how the case will proceed. (3-23-98)
10. Findings/Decisions. (3-23-98)
a. At any time following arrest on a commission warrant, the executive director or the commission
will decide if the parolee will be released to continue parole. (5-3-03)
b. If it is determined at the preliminary hearing that there is no probable cause to support the charges,
the parolee will be released to continue parole. (3-23-98)
C. After a violation hearing, the hearing officer will prepare a report of findings summarizing the
violation hearing, to include testimony, and will make specific findings for each allegation. (4-11-15)
i The hearing officer may make afinding of guilt but may recommend to the executive director that
the offender be reinstated on parole without further proceedings. (3-23-98)
ii. The offender is entitled to receive acopy of al reports of findings of hearings. (3-23-98)
11. Forfeiture of Time on Parole. If parole is revoked, the time during which the offender was on

parole from the parole release date to the arrest date on an agent’'s warrant and/or commission warrant may be
forfeited, in whole or in part, and may not be deemed a part of the sentence for which the offender was committed.
(4-11-15)

a. The time the offender is incarcerated on an agent’'s warrant and a commission warrant will be
credited toward the sentence. (4-11-15)

b. If the offender was incarcerated at any time during the parole period and such incarceration was on
an agent’s warrant and/or commission warrant, this time will be credited toward the sentence; this includes a
reinstatement case. (3-23-98)

C. The offender will not receive credit for incarceration time if the incarceration was for a new crime
and the commission and parole officer did not initiate viol ation proceedings. (3-23-98)

d. The offender must provide the hearing officer or the executive director with dates of incarceration
and the location of the incarceration. (3-23-98)
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