MINUTES

HOUSE STATE AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

DATE: Friday, February 10, 2017

TIME: 9:00 A.M.

PLACE: Room EW40

MEMBERS: Chairman Loertscher, Vice Chairman Monks, Representatives Luker, Crane,

Palmer, Barbieri, Holtzclaw, Harris, Armstrong, Giddings, Manwaring, Zito, Scott,

Smith, Jordan

ABSENT/ None

EXCUSED:

GUESTS: Will Hart, Idaho Consumer-Owned Utilities Association.

Vice Chairman Monks called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Armstrong made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 2, 2017

meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

RS 25156: Rep. Cheatham presented **RS 25156**, proposed legislation that amends Section

34-113, Idaho Code in order to allow an additional form of identification, concealed

carry permits, at the polls before voting or at absent electors polling places.

MOTION: Rep. Luker made a motion to introduce RS 25156. Motion carried by voice vote.

RS 25125: Rep. Manwaring presented RS 25125, proposed legislation that clarifies the early

voting time line for elections by defining when early voting may begin and to provide statewide consistency in the early voting process for those counties that elect to do early voting. He stated the legislation defines early voting as starting no earlier than the fourth Monday before election day and no later than the second Monday

before the election and end at 5:00 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Crane made a motion to introduce RS 25125. Motion carried by voice vote.

Reps. Smith and Jordan requested to be recorded as voting NAY.

RS 25189: Rep. Scott presented RS 25189, proposed legislation that would allow sled dog

racing or the training of dogs for sled races.

MOTION: Rep. Palmer made a motion to introduce RS 25189. Motion carried by voice

vote.

RS 25016C1: Cozette Haley, Administrator, Idaho Unclaimed Property, presented RS 25016C1,

proposed legislation that establishes an exemption for non-profit corporations providing telecommunications service and delivery of electric power and to remove

certain requirements for such entities.

In response to committee questions, Ms. Haley stated there are seven counties

who have chosen to be exempt.

MOTION: Chairman Loertscher made a motion to introduce RS 25016C1. Motion carried

by voice vote.

ADJOURN:	adjourned at 9:25 a.m.	
Representative Monks		Kasey Winder
Chair		Secretary