Idaho Statutes

[No Title]
TITLE 42
IRRIGATION AND DRAINAGE -- WATER RIGHTS AND RECLAMATION
CHAPTER 2
APPROPRIATION OF WATER -- PERMITS, CERTIFICATES, AND LICENSES -- SURVEY
 42-221. Fees of department. The department of water resources shall collect the following fees which shall constitute a fund to pay for legal advertising, the publication of public notices and for investigations, research, and providing public data as required of the department in the performance of its statutory duties:
A.  For filing an application for a permit to appropriate the public waters of this state:
1.  For a quantity of 0.2 c.f.s. or less or for a storage volume of 20 acre feet or less    $100
2.  For a quantity greater than 0.2 c.f.s. but not exceeding 1.0 c.f.s. or for a storage volume greater than 20 acre feet but not exceeding 100 acre feet    $250
3.  For a quantity greater than 1.0 c.f.s. but not exceeding 20 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 100 acre feet but not exceeding 2,000 acre feet     $250
plus $40.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 1.0 c.f.s. or 100 acre feet.
4.  For a quantity greater than 20.0 c.f.s. but not exceeding 100 c.f.s. or for a storage volume greater than 2,000 acre feet but not exceeding 10,000 acre feet     $1,010
plus $20.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 20.0 c.f.s. or 2,000 acre feet.
5.  For a quantity greater than 100.0 c.f.s. but not exceeding 500.0 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 10,000 acre feet but not exceeding 50,000 acre feet     $2,610
plus $10.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 100 c.f.s. or 10,000 acre feet.
6.  For a quantity greater than 500 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 50,000 acre feet   $6,610
plus $2.00 for each additional 1.0 c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 500.0 c.f.s. or 50,000 acre feet.
B.  For filing an application for an extension of time within which to resume the use of water under a vested water right   $100
C.  For filing application for amendment of permit   $100
D.  1. For filing claim to use right under section 42-243, Idaho Code     $100
2.  For filing a late claim to use a water right under section 42-243, Idaho Code, where the date filed with the department of water resources or, the postmark if mailed to the department of water resources, is:
i.   After June 30, 1998     $250
ii.  After June 30, 2005     $500
iii. For every ten (10) years after June 30, 2005, an additional     $500
E.  For filing an assignment of permit   $25.00
F.  For readvertising application for permit, change, exchange, or extension to resume use   $50.00
G.  For certification, each document   $1.00
H.  For making photo copies [photocopies] of office records, maps and documents for public use     A reasonable charge as determined by the department.
I.  For filing request for extension of time within which to submit proof of beneficial use on a water right permit   $50.00
J.  For tasks requiring in excess of one (1) hour research or for computerized data provided for public use  
  A reasonable charge as determined by the department.
K.  For filing proof of beneficial use of water and requests for water right license examinations, a fee based upon the rate of diversion claimed in the proof of beneficial use:
1.  For a quantity of 0.2 c.f.s. or less, or for a storage volume of 20 acre feet or less     $50.00
except no fee shall be charged for domestic use for which a permit is not required.
2.  For a quantity greater than 0.2 c.f.s. but not exceeding 1.0 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 20 acre feet, but not exceeding 100 acre feet   $100
3.  For a quantity greater than 1.0 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 100 acre feet     $100
plus $25.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof, or 100 acre feet or part thereof, over the first 1.0 c.f.s. or 100 acre feet with a maximum fee not to exceed $600.
L.  For  filing  a  protest  or  request  to  intervene  in  a  protested   matter   $25.00
M.  For filing an application to alter a stream channel pursuant to chapter 38, title 42, Idaho Code:
1.  Application for recreational dredge permits by residents of the state   $10.00
2.  Application for recreational dredge permits by nonresidents of the state   $30.00
3.  Other applications   $20.00
N.  For receipt of all notices of application within a designated area, a reasonable annual charge as determined by the department.
O.  For filing an application to change the point of diversion, place, period or nature of use of water under a vested water right:
1.  For a quantity of 0.2 c.f.s. or less, or for a storage volume of 20 acre feet or less   $200
2.  For a quantity greater than 0.2 c.f.s. but not exceeding 1.0 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 20 acre feet but not exceeding 100 acre feet   $500
3.  For a quantity greater than 1.0 c.f.s. but not exceeding 20 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 100 acre feet but not exceeding 2,000 acre feet   $500
plus $80.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 1.0 c.f.s. or 100 acre feet.
4.  For a quantity greater than 20.0 c.f.s. but not exceeding 100 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 2,000 acre feet but not exceeding 10,000 acre feet   $2,020
plus $40.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 20.0 c.f.s. or 2,000 acre feet.
5.  For a quantity greater than 100 c.f.s. but not exceeding 500 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 10,000 acre feet but not exceeding 50,000 acre feet   $5,220
plus $20.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 100 c.f.s. or 10,000 acre feet.
6.  For a quantity greater than 500 c.f.s., or for a storage volume greater than 50,000 acre feet   $13,220
plus $4.00 for each additional c.f.s. or part thereof or 100 acre feet or part thereof over the first 500 c.f.s. or 50,000 acre feet.
7.  For any application to change the nature of use of water under one (1) or more vested water right(s), an additional fee of $250 shall apply.
P.  For filing a notice of land application of effluent as required by section 42-201(8), Idaho Code   $150
All fees received by the department of water resources under the provisions of this chapter shall be transmitted to the state treasurer for deposit in the water administration account.

History:
[(42-221) 1903, p. 223, sec. 10; reen. R.C. & C.L., sec. 3263; C.S., sec. 5581; am. 1923, ch. 53, sec. 1, p. 60; I.C.A., sec. 41-215; am. 1941, ch. 116, sec. 1, p. 228; am. 1967, ch. 374, sec. 12, p. 1079; am. 1968 (2nd E.S.), ch. 25, sec. 1, p. 47; am. 1971, ch. 151, sec. 1, p. 750; am. 1978, ch. 143, sec. 1, p. 323; am. 1980, ch. 151, sec. 1, p. 320; am. 1981, ch. 147, sec. 2, p. 253; am. 1983, ch. 61, sec. 2, p. 141; am. 1985, ch. 226, sec. 1, p. 540; am. 1986, ch. 242, sec. 2, p. 657; am. 1986, ch. 313, sec. 4, p. 763; am. 1990, ch. 319, sec. 2, p. 870; am. 1994, ch. 64, sec. 2, p. 123; am. 1997, ch. 305, sec. 1, p. 908; am. 1998, ch. 79, sec. 1, p. 282; am. 2000, ch. 177, sec. 1, p. 445; am. 2011, ch. 172, sec. 1, p. 491; am. 2012, ch. 218, sec. 2, p. 597.]

The Idaho Code is the property of the state of Idaho and is made available on the Internet as a public service. Any person who reproduces or distributes the Idaho Code for commercial purposes is in violation of the provisions of Idaho law and shall be deemed to be an infringer of the state of Idaho's copyright.