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Please 

identify 

your 

county 

Do you 

currently 

conduct 

pretrial 

activities 

in your 

county? 

(Pretrial 

program, 

conductin

g urinal... 

What is the 

organization

al structure 

of your 

pretrial 

program?  

How long has your program been in 

existence? 

# of 

Staff 

# of 

cases 

How is your pretrial 

program funded? 

Do you 

charge 

fees for 

your 

program 

Breakdown of the fees Additional comments 

Pretrial Programs that Do Not Charge Fees 

Blaine yes Misd. Prob We don't have a "program."  We 

provide drug and alcohol testing to 

clients that have conditions of 

release as a courtesy to the court.  

We function just like a testing facility 

and provide reports to the court 

about non-compliance.   

5 20 It is inaccurate to call our 

services a program and 

there is no funding.  The 

clients pay a fee for drug 

and alcohol testing.  We try 

to keep this fee as low as 

possible.   

no   We do not have a set program and are not interested in operating 

a program.  All of our probation staff are involved in the alcohol 

and drug testing program so that there is not a larger burden on 

any of us.  The testing alone has been very time consuming for our 

office.   

Valley yes Misd. Prob 3 years 2 35 We charge clients for 

SCRAM, GPS, UA and 

portable breath tests units.  

If they do not pay the cost is 

taken from probation 

budget.  There are not other 

fees for pretrial. 

no     

Ada yes Sheriff 3 years 7 350-

400 

Through the Sheriff's Office 

budget 

no   Beginning October 1, Ada County will begin completing risk 

assessments on all visual arrests that proceed to arraignment. 

Pretrial case managers will interview each defendant and a report 

will be generated with a Pretrial recommendation to the judge 1 

hour prior to arraignment. Our intent is to have Pretrial case 

managers present in arraignment, but we are unsure if we will be 

able to accomplish this.  

Shoshone yes Misd. Prob About 3 years. 3 15 Clients pay for own testing. no     
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Elmore yes Misd. Prob Years 2   County funds no     

Canyon yes Sheriff 2008 4 490 sheriff office covers the cost 

of some drug testing and 

deputy wages. The outside 

testing and electronic 

monitoring is self pay by the 

defendant.  

no     

Cassia yes Misd. Prob 8 years 1 74 The offender is required to 

pay for his/her drug tests, 

GPS or SCRAM. 

no   I am currently signed up to attend the Colorado pre-trial release 

training. My hope is to be able to bring back information that can 

assist us in writing policy for the pre-trial program. I am also 

hoping that we will be able to start offering assessments to the 

courts prior to release from jail.  

Payette yes Misd. Prob 7 to 8 years 1   Included as part of 

misdemeanor probation.  

Offenders pay for their own 

testing through a private 

vendor. 

no     

Bear Lake yes Misd. Prob Long time, don't know for sure. 1 10 It's not, just part of the job. no     

Benewah yes Misd. Prob Since 2001 1 10 per 

year 

Part of Probation Officers 

duties as assigned by judge.  

No extra funding 

no     

Minidoka yes Misd. Prob 8 years 1 74 The offender is required to 

pay for his/her drug tests, 

GPS or SCRAM 

no   I am currently signed up to attend the Colorado pre-trial release 

training.  My hope is to be able to bring back information that can 

assist us in writing policy for the pre-trial program.  I am also 

hoping that we will be able to start offering assessments to the 

courts prior to release from jail.  

Lincoln yes Misd. Prob Conducting UAs for 3 years 1 2 Out of probation funds No 
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Pretrial Programs that Charge a Fee 

Nez Perce yes Misd. Prob 2 years 4 20 general budget through 

misd. probation 

yes We have them pay upfront for 

UA's and Monitor cost. 

  

Bonneville yes Misd. Prob Approx 25 years 4 200 Budget included with Misd 

Probation. 

yes We charge $30 a month. However, 

take into consideration the ability 

to pay. At sentencing all balances 

are moved to 0. 

In the future we are looking at getting a case manager that will 

have a case load of high risk and high need. This will be mainly a 

field agent.  

Lemhi Yes Misd. Prob 2 years 3 6 The Defendant pays for the 

privilege 

No  We originally required a monthly $50 payment for the services 

with the addition of all the testing costs associated with the 

Defendants case.  We had issues with the case being dismissed and 

we were not able to complete a reimbursement invoice as part of 

their Court Order.  Of course, the dismissed Defendants never 

made good on the monies owed to LCMP.  Currently, we have the 

Defendants pay a $5 fee for the use of our Call2Test system and a 

flat rate of $50 monthly for testing.  Testing would include EtGs 

and Breath tests random.   

Oneida yes Misd. Prob Not sure, at least 5 years. That is how 

long I have been working in 

Probation. 

2 35-40 It is just another part of 

probation so I don't believe 

it is funded separately. The 

defendants are responsible 

for any and all testing fees. 

They are subject to a 

monthly fee of $35.00 which 

is due to the courts. 

yes Testing fees vary on tests 

performed. Monthly supervision 

fee due to the courts of $35.00. 

  

Madison yes Misd. Prob Approximately 1 year 3 20 Self funded through costs 

paid for by the Defendant 

yes 15.00 per urine test   
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Twin Falls yes Misd. Prob 2004-2005 2 163 Fees that are charged to 

client and through the 

County Budget 

yes $5 dollars a day for cost of 

program / $10 dollars a day for 

GPS monitoring -court ordered / 

$10 dollars a day for SCRAM 

monitoring -court ordered / $7 

dollars for ICup urinalysis testing in 

office  -random / $15 dollars for 

Lab urinalysis testing in office -

random /  

We have daily intox testing which is free. On weekends and 

holidays they must go to the jail and pay a $4.00 fee. We usually 

send our drug testing clients out to a drug testing facility.  Where 

they usually test 2x weekly to start off. The testing facility charges 

$15 dollars per test and will test for alcohol with each test.   

Bingham yes Misd. Prob 15 years of more 1 60-100 County Funds yes We charge for UA testing. It is $15 

per test of the individual can 

purchase a testing card for $75 

which will cover the individual for 

a month. We have a own screening 

lab. Participants on Pre-Trial will 

test approximately 5 times a 

month. 

  

Jefferson yes Misd. Prob 2 years 2   Under Probation Budget 

through county funds 

yes $30.00 monthly pre-trial fee / Drug 

testing is either by individual test 

of $15.00 per test or if placed on a 

random testing program.  $40.00 

per month 

  

Custer yes Misd. Prob Several years, really not sure 1 8 Started out with just county 

funds, no costs paid by 

defendants except paying 

for their UAs.  Currently they 

pay a $50 fee to get set up 

on the call in program, plus 

costs of UAs. /  

yes One time $50 fee to cover cost of 

call in program, plus cost of UAs.  

No other fees assessed. 

  

Caribou yes Misd. Prob 3 years 2 average 

case 

load is 

6-10 

funded by the pre-trial fees 

that are charged to the 

client 

yes 25.00 per week.  This includes all 

costs for testing, meeting with 

defendants and contacts with 

them in the office/field.   

  

Gem yes Contract 2 Years 2 7 - 10 Client pay yes $50 per month We also provide same service to Washington County. 
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Butte yes Misd. Prob 8 month  1 2 Self pay yes 50.00, one time fee   

Teton yes Misd. Prob Appx 1 year 3 20 Self funded through costs 

paid for by the Defendant 

yes $15 per urine fee   

Clark yes Misd. Prob Appx 1 year 3 20 Self funded through costs 

paid for by the Defendant 

yes 15.00 per urine fee   

Fremont yes Misd. Prob Appx 1 year 3 20 Self funded through costs 

paid for by the Defendant 

yes 15.00 per urine test   

Washington yes Contract 2 years 2 7 - 10 Client pay yes $50.00 per month   

Jerome yes Misd. Prob Almost 2 years 1 7 to 15 County funds the program, 

the accused is also supposed 

to pay if found guilty $50.00 

per month and the accused 

are supposed to pay for 

there U/A's  

yes $50.00 sign up fees then if found 

or plead guilty it is $50.00 per 

month, if not found guilty they 

only pay the $50.00 sign up fee. 

There is also 20.00 U/A fees. 

  

Bannock yes Misd. Prob 20 + years 2 157   yes $25.00 per month and pay $10.00 

per UA 

  

No Pretrial Activities 

Idaho no                 

Kootenai no                 

Bonner no                 

Clearwate

r 

no                 

Boundary no                 

Gooding no                 

Adams no                 

Power no                 

Boise no                 

Owhyee no                 

Franklin no                 

Latah no                 

Camas no                 

 




