6

7 8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21 22

23

24 25

26

27 28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35 36

37

38 39

40

41

42

## IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## HOUSE BILL NO. 191

## BY RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION COMMITTEE

1	AN ACT
2	RELATING TO THE IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD; AMENDING SECTION 42-1732, IDAHO
3	CODE, TO PROVIDE TERM LIMITS FOR BOARD MEMBERS AND TO MAKE TECHNICAL
4	CORRECTIONS; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE
5	DATE.

Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Idaho:

SECTION 1. That Section 42-1732, Idaho Code, be, and the same is hereby amended to read as follows:

IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD. Pursuant to the provisions of article 15, section 7, of the constitution of the state of Idaho, there is hereby established as the constitutional water agency within the department of water resources the Idaho water resource board which shall consist of eight (8) appointed members. The eight (8) appointed members shall be qualified electors of the state, no more than four (4) of whom shall be members of the same political party. Appointment of board members shall be made solely upon consideration of their knowledge, interest $_{\underline{L}}$  and active participation in the field of reclamation, water use, or conservation and no member shall be appointed a member of the board unless he shall be well informed upon on, interested in, and engaged actively in the field of reclamation, water use or conservation of water. Four (4) of these members shall be appointed at large and no more than three (3) of the eight (8) members shall be residents of a single district. To insure representation of water users of all geographic locations of the state, one (1) member shall be appointed from each of the following districts:

District No. 1 which shall consist of the counties of Boundary, Bonner, Kootenai, Shoshone, Benewah, Latah, Clearwater, Nez Perce, Lewis and Idaho;

District No. 2 which shall consist of the counties of Adams, Valley, Washington, Payette, Gem, Boise, Canyon, Ada, Elmore and Owyhee;

District No. 3 which shall consist of the counties of Camas, Gooding, Jerome, Twin Falls, Cassia, Blaine, Lincoln, Minidoka, Lemhi, Custer and Butte;

District No. 4 which shall consist of the counties of Clark, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison, Teton, Bingham, Bonneville, Power, Bannock, Caribou, Oneida, Franklin and Bear Lake.

All appointments shall be made by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. As soon as practicable after passage of this act, the governor shall appoint all eight (8) members; four (4) members shall be appointed to terms which that will expire on January 1, 1967, four (4) members shall be appointed to terms which that will expire on January 1, 1969, and thereafter all appointments shall be to four (4) year terms with a limit of two (2) terms. Any vacancy caused by death, removal, disqualification, or resignation, shall be filled by the governor for the unexpired term caused by

- the vacancy. The appointed members shall be compensated as provided by section 59-509(h), Idaho Code.
- 3 SECTION 2. An emergency existing therefor, which emergency is hereby 4 declared to exist, this act shall be in full force and effect on and after 5 July 1, 2025.