2017 Legislation
Print Friendly


The status of each bill, resolution, proclamation, and memorial is updated when the offices of the Secretary of the Senate and the Chief Clerk of the House publish the un-official daily journals and should not be deemed official. The official bill actions are located in the final journal, which are maintained by the offices of the Secretary of the Senate and the Chief Clerk of the House.  The daily journals are published at the end of each legislative day.

Full Bill Information

Individual Links:

APPROPRIATIONS – HEALTH AND WELFARE – WELFARE DIVISION – Appropriates $172,320,100 for the Welfare Division in the Department of Health and Welfare for fiscal year 2018; limits the number of authorized full-time equivalent positions to 630.55 for fiscal year 2018; provides for transfers to the Cooperative Welfare Fund; prohibits transfers of trustee and benefit payments; provides legislative intent for program integrity; requires biannual forecast reports; appropriates an additional $116,300 for the Benefit Payments Program for fiscal year 2017; and reduces the number of authorized full-time equivalent positions by 5 for fiscal year 2017.
  03/07 Introduced; read first time; referred to JR for Printing  
  03/08 Reported Printed; referred to Finance  
  03/09 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading  
  03/10 Read second time; filed for Third Reading  
  03/13 Read third time in full – PASSED - 33-1-1
AYES – Agenbroad, Anthon, Bair, Bayer, Brackett, Buckner-Webb, Burgoyne, Crabtree, Den Hartog, Guthrie, Hagedorn, Harris, Heider, Hill, Johnson, Jordan, Keough, Lakey, Lee, Lodge, Martin, Mortimer, Nonini, Nye, Patrick, Rice, Siddoway, Souza, Stennett, Thayn, Vick, Ward-Engelking, Winder
NAYS – Foreman
Absent and excused – Davis
Floor Sponsor - Bair
Title apvd - to House
  03/14 Received from the Senate, Filed for First Reading  
  Read First Time, Filed for Second Reading  
  03/15 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading  
  03/16 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 47-22-1
AYES – Amador, Anderson, Anderst, Armstrong, Bell, Blanksma, Burtenshaw, Chaney, Cheatham, Chew, Collins, Dixon, Erpelding, Gannon, Gibbs, Giddings, Hartgen, Hixon, Horman, Jordan, Kauffman, King, Kingsley, Kloc, Loertscher, Luker, Malek, Manwaring, McCrostie, McDonald, Mendive, Miller, Raybould, Redman, Rubel, Scott, Smith, Stevenson, Syme, Toone, Trujillo, VanOrden, Wintrow, Wood, Youngblood, Zito, Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Barbieri, Boyle, Clow, Crane, Dayley, DeMordaunt, Gestrin, Hanks, Harris, Holtzclaw, Monks, Moon, Moyle, Nate, Packer, Palmer, Perry, Shepherd, Thompson, Troy, Vander Woude, Zollinger
Absent – Kerby
Floor Sponsor - Wintrow
Title apvd - to Senate
  03/17 Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling  
  03/20 Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker  
  03/21 Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate  
  Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor  
  03/23 Reported delivered to Governor at 9:35 a.m. on 03/22/17  
  03/27 Signed by Governor on 03/27/17
    Session Law Chapter 165
    Effective: 03/27/2017 SECTION 7 & 8;
07/01/2017 all other SECTIONS