Print Friendly

     Idaho Constitution

The Idaho Constitution is updated to the website July 1 following the legislative session.




Section 12.  State tax commission, members, terms, appointment, vacancies, duties, power — County boards of equalization, duties. There shall be a state tax commission consisting of four members, not more than two of whom shall belong to the same political party. The members of said commission shall be appointed by the governor, by and with the consent of the senate; the first commission to consist of one commissioner appointed for a term of two years, one commissioner appointed for a term of four years and two commissioners appointed for a term of six years, and appointments thereafter to be for a term of six years; each commissioner to serve until his successor is appointed and qualified. If during the recess of the senate a vacancy occurs in said commission, it shall be the duty of the governor to fill such vacancy by appointment, and the appointee shall hold office for the unexpired term of his predecessor. The duties heretofore imposed upon the state board of equalization by the Constitution and laws of this state shall be performed by the state tax commission and said commission shall have such other powers and perform such other duties as may be prescribed by law, including the supervision and coordination of the work of the several county boards of equalization. The board of county commissioners for the several counties of the state, shall constitute boards of equalization for their respective counties, whose duty it shall be to equalize the valuation of the taxable property in the county, under such rules and regulations of the state tax commission as shall be prescribed by law.

How current is this law?