Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 18
CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
CHAPTER 58
PUBLIC HEALTH AND SAFETY
18-5811.  Action required to avoid accident or injury to individuals with disabilities — Prohibited intentional actions — Penalties. (1) Any person, whether a pedestrian, operating a vehicle or otherwise, who approaches an individual appearing to be an individual with a disability or lawfully using an assistance device or a service dog, and who:
(a)  Intentionally fails to stop, change course, speak, or take such other action as is necessary to avoid any accident or injury to the individual with a disability, the assistance device, or the service dog is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both.
(b)  Intentionally startles or frightens such person’s service dog is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both.
(2)  Any person who, without justification, intentionally interferes with the use of a service dog or an assistance device by obstructing, battering, or intimidating the user or the service dog is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500), or by both.

History:
[18-5811, added 1997, ch. 267, sec. 2, p. 764; am. 2019, ch. 213, sec. 1, p. 645.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution