Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 33
EDUCATION
CHAPTER 46
ADVANCED OPPORTUNITIES
33-4603.  advanced opportunities — nonpublic school students. (1) Subject to appropriation, students not enrolled in public school will be eligible for seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) to use toward dual credits, postsecondary credit-bearing examinations, and career technical education certificate examinations. Students may access these funds in grades 7 through 12.
(a)  Up to seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per credit hour may be used for dual credits. Dual credit courses must be offered by a regionally accredited postsecondary institution. To qualify as an eligible dual credit course, the course must be a credit-bearing 100-level course or higher.
(b)  The state department of education shall maintain a list of eligible postsecondary credit-bearing or career technical education certificate examinations and costs. Eligible examinations include:
(i)   Advanced placement;
(ii)  International baccalaureate;
(iii) College-level examination program; and
(iv)  Career technical education examinations that lead to an industry-recognized certificate, license, or degree.
(2)  Moneys provided pursuant to this section may be used to pay an amount not to exceed the price to the student of eligible courses and examinations pursuant to the limitations stated in this section. Payments made under this section shall be made from the moneys appropriated. No later than January 15, the state department of education shall annually report to the education committees of the senate and the house of representatives details regarding the number of students benefiting from assistance with the cost of dual credit courses and examinations, the number of credits awarded, and the amounts paid pursuant to this section during the previous school year.
(3)  The state department of education shall reimburse postsecondary educational institutions, as applicable, for such costs, up to the stated limits, within one hundred twenty-five (125) days of receiving the necessary data upon which reimbursements may be paid. The submission method and timelines of reimbursement data shall be determined by the state department of education. Payments shall be made only for activity occurring and reported within each state fiscal year.
(4)  If a student fails to earn credit or successfully complete a course for which the department has paid a reimbursement, the student must pay for and successfully earn credit or complete one (1) like course before the state department of education pays any further reimbursements for the student. Repeated and remedial courses are not eligible for funding under this section.
(5)  Schools must establish timelines and requirements for participation in the program, including implementing procedures for the appropriate transcription of credits, reporting of program participation, and financial transaction requirements. Policies and procedures for participating in the program established by the school must be such that students have an opportunity to participate in the program and meet established timelines and requirements for financial transactions, transcribing credits, and state department of education reporting. Participation in this program requires parent and student agreement to program requirements and completion of the state department of education’s participation form documenting the program requirements.
(6)  The state board of education and state department of education may take such actions as are necessary to implement the provisions of this section, including:
(a)  The promulgation of any necessary rules; and
(b)  Delegation of duties under this section to a third party, provided that any contracts entered into with a third party shall be subject to the provisions of chapter 92, title 67, Idaho Code.

History:
[33-4603, added 2021, ch. 259, sec. 1, p. 799.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution