Print Friendly

     Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the website July 1 following the legislative session.


41-1089.  APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AND FEES. (1) A sworn application for a limited lines license to sell, solicit or negotiate portable electronics insurance shall be completed and filed with the department of insurance on forms prescribed by the director to include such information as the director deems necessary.
(2)  The application shall:
(a)  Provide the name, residence address and other information required by the director for an employee or officer of the vendor that is designated by the applicant as the person responsible for the vendor’s compliance with the requirements of this chapter, which designation shall satisfy the requirements of section 41-1007(2)(b), Idaho Code. However, if the vendor derives more than fifty percent (50%) of its revenue from the sale of portable electronics insurance, the information noted in this subsection shall be provided for all officers, directors, and shareholders of record having beneficial ownership of ten percent (10%) or more of the vendor;
(b)  Provide the location of the applicant’s home office, both street address and mailing address, and phone number where such applicant may be reached during regular business hours; and
(c)  Provide the syllabus for the training program that is developed by the supervising entity or the insurer that issued the portable electronics insurance policy to the vendor.
(3)  Any vendor engaging in portable electronics insurance transactions on or before the effective date of sections 41-1081 through 41-1089, Idaho Code, must apply for licensure within ninety (90) days of the application being made available to the vendor by the director. Any applicant commencing operations after the effective date of sections 41-1081 through 41-1089, Idaho Code, must obtain a license prior to offering or selling portable electronics insurance.
(4)  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, applicants for licensure pursuant to sections 41-1081 through 41-1089, Idaho Code, whose home state does not issue a producer license with a similar line of authority as the license authorized by such sections shall be issued a portable electronics limited lines license upon satisfying all applicable requirements of this chapter. However, any licensee whose home state does not authorize a limited lines license for portable electronics insurance in its home state after July 1, 2014, or such later date as may be determined by the director, shall obtain a property and casualty license under title 41, Idaho Code, or its license shall terminate in Idaho. For the purposes of this subsection, "home state" means the District of Columbia and any state or territory of the United States except Idaho, or any province of Canada, in which an applicant maintains such person’s principal place of residence or principal place of business.
(5)  Initial licenses issued pursuant to sections 41-1081 through 41-1089, Idaho Code, shall be valid for a period of twenty-four (24) months and expire thereafter unless renewed by the director upon completion of forms required by the director and payment of fees consistent with the provisions of this chapter.
(6)  Each vendor of portable electronics licensed pursuant to this chapter shall pay to the director a fee of one thousand dollars ($1,000) for an initial portable electronics limited lines license and five hundred dollars ($500) for each renewal thereof. However, for a vendor engaged in portable electronics transactions at ten (10) or fewer locations in the state of Idaho, the fee shall not exceed one hundred dollars ($100) for an initial license and for each renewal thereof.

[41-1089, added 2012, ch. 226, sec. 11, p. 625.]

How current is this law?