Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 45
LIENS, MORTGAGES AND PLEDGES
CHAPTER 3
LIENS IN CROPS
45-309.  Civil penalty for false claim. (1) Any person who signs and files a notice of claim of lien which he knows or has reason to believe is false shall be liable to the producer in the amount of the actual damages caused by the false claim or five hundred dollars ($500), whichever is greater, plus reasonable attorney’s fees and costs. If the claimant has failed to give written notice of a claim which is found to be false, to the producer as required by subsection (5) of section 45-308, Idaho Code, the claimant shall be liable for an additional penalty of five hundred dollars ($500).
(2)  If the notice of claim of lien is signed by a person other than the claimant, and the claimant knows or has reason to believe the claim is false, the claimant and the person who signed the claim shall be jointly and severally liable for the amount described in subsection (1) of this section.

History:
[45-309, added 1989, ch. 359, sec. 2, p. 902; am. 1996, ch. 262, sec. 3, p. 864.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution