Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 49
MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 4
MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
49-418.  Veterans plates. (1) Any person who is the owner of a vehicle registered under the provisions of section 49-402 or 49-434(1), Idaho Code, may apply for and upon department approval receive special veterans license plates in lieu of regular license plates. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any vehicle with a registered maximum gross weight over twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds. Availability of veterans plates for other vehicles shall be subject to the rules, policies and procedures of the department.
(2)  Proof of being a current or former member of the United States armed forces must be furnished to the department before special veterans plates will be issued. Acceptable proof shall be a copy of form DD214 or an equivalent document or statement from the department of veterans affairs.
(3)  In addition to the regular registration fees required in section 49-402(1) or 49-434(1), Idaho Code, the applicant shall pay the initial program fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and the annual program fee of fifteen dollars ($15.00) as specified in section 49-402, Idaho Code, and the plate fee specified in section 49-450, Idaho Code. Ten dollars ($10.00) of the initial program fee and ten dollars ($10.00) of the annual program fee shall be deposited in the state highway account and shall be used to fund the cost of administration of this special license plate program. Fifteen dollars ($15.00) of the initial program fee and five dollars ($5.00) of the annual program fee shall be deposited to the veterans cemetery maintenance fund created in section 65-107, Idaho Code, and shall be used to operate and maintain a state veterans cemetery.
(4)  Whenever title or interest in a vehicle registered under the provisions of this section is transferred or assigned, the owner may transfer the special plates to another vehicle upon payment of the required transfer fees. The owner may only display the plates on another vehicle upon receipt of the new registration from the department.
(5)  The veterans license plate design shall include the colors red, white and blue, shall designate one (1) of the five (5) branches of military service, and display either:
(a)  The word "VETERAN";
(b)  The name of a conflict or war period recognized by the United States department of veterans affairs for the purpose of awarding federal veterans benefits as defined in 38 U.S.C. 101(11); or
(c)  For a current or former member of the United States armed forces who has served in Afghanistan or Iraq during the post 9/11 global operations period, as defined in 38 U.S.C. 4110A(c), the name of the post 9/11 global operations theater.
The license plate design shall comply with all applicable rules of the department and shall include a separate and distinct numbering system. The design, color, and numbering system shall be subject to approval of the department.
(6)  Veterans license plates may be retained and displayed on vehicles owned by the surviving spouse of a qualified veteran. In addition, provided that the deceased veteran met the criteria set forth above in this section, surviving spouses of qualified veterans shall be authorized to apply for and receive veterans plates and may retain, renew and display veterans plates for so long as the surviving spouse is within the definition set forth in 38 U.S.C. 101(3). There shall be no requirement that the veteran, while living, resided in Idaho or had applied for or received veterans plates. Such plates shall be used on a vehicle owned by the surviving spouse.

History:
[49-418 added 1996, ch. 413, sec. 1, p. 1375; am. 1998, ch. 113, sec. 15, p. 428; am. 1999, ch. 316, sec. 9, p. 796; am. 2000, ch. 37, sec. 5, p. 69; am. 2000, ch. 87, sec. 20, p. 204; am. 2000, ch. 464, sec. 1, p. 1437; am. 2011, ch. 66, sec. 1, p. 141; am. 2016, ch. 67, sec. 1, p. 204.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution