Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 49
MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 4
MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
49-418D.  Military veteran motorcycle license plate. (1) On and after January 1, 2006, any person who is the owner of a motorcycle registered under the provisions of section 49-402, Idaho Code, may apply for and upon department approval receive a military veteran motorcycle license plate in lieu of a regular motorcycle license plate.
(2)  Proof of being a current or former member of the United States armed forces must be furnished to the department before a military veteran motorcycle plate will be issued. Acceptable proof shall be a copy of form DD214 or an equivalent document or statement from the department of veterans affairs.
(3)  In addition to the annual registration fee required in section 49-402(3), Idaho Code, the applicant shall be charged a fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) for the initial issuance of a plate, and fifteen dollars ($15.00) upon each succeeding annual registration. Ten dollars ($10.00) of the initial program fee and ten dollars ($10.00) of the annual program fee shall be deposited in the state highway account and shall be used to fund the cost of administration of this special motorcycle license plate program. Fifteen dollars ($15.00) of the initial program fee and five dollars ($5.00) of the annual program fee shall be deposited to the veterans cemetery maintenance fund created in section 65-107, Idaho Code, to operate and maintain a state veterans cemetery.
(4)  Whenever title or interest in a motorcycle registered under the provisions of this section is transferred or assigned, the owner may transfer the special plate to another motorcycle upon payment of the required transfer fees. The owner may only display the plate on another motorcycle upon receipt of the new registration from the department.
(5)  The military veteran motorcycle license plate shall be of a color and design in accordance with the provisions of section 49-402C, Idaho Code. In addition, there shall be no decals to indicate the veteran’s branch of service or the period of duty served; the plate shall display the words "Scenic Idaho" at the top and "Veteran" at the bottom of the plate; and the license plate design shall be approved by the department and any portion of the design which represents veterans shall be acceptable to the administrator of the Idaho division of veterans services and a unique numbering system shall be utilized by the department.

History:
[49-418D, added 2004, ch. 78, sec. 2, p. 302; am. 2006, ch. 120, sec. 1, p. 337.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution