Print Friendly

     Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the website July 1 following the legislative session.


67-7107A.  STATE SNOWMOBILE AVALANCHE FUND — STATE SNOWMOBILE AVALANCHE FUND COMMITTEE. (1) There is hereby established in the state treasurer’s office an account to be known and designated as the "state snowmobile avalanche fund." This fund shall receive one dollar ($1.00) from each snowmobile certificate of number fee, one dollar ($1.00) from each rental certificate of number fee, and one dollar ($1.00) from each nonresident snowmobile user certificate issued by vendors, as provided for in section 67-7106, Idaho Code. This fund shall be managed by the state snowmobile avalanche fund committee.
(2)  The board shall appoint a state snowmobile avalanche fund committee (SSAFC) of five (5) members. The membership of the SSAFC shall consist of the director of the United States forest service national avalanche center, or his designee, who shall chair the SSAFC, and one (1) active snowmobiler from each of the following districts: north Idaho, central Idaho, south Idaho, and east Idaho. These four (4) regional members of the SSAFC shall be appointed by the board from a list of no fewer than two (2) persons nominated by the Idaho state snowmobile association, and said members shall serve a term of four (4) years, except that the term of the initial appointees shall commence on the date of appointment and shall be staggered such that at least one (1) position is up for appointment each year. Each member of the SSAFC must be a qualified elector of the state, maintaining a residence and domicile within the district of appointment. For purposes of SSAFC membership and representation, the four (4) districts shall be as follows:
(a)  North Idaho consists of Boundary, Bonner, Kootenai, Benewah, Latah, Shoshone, Clearwater, Nez Perce, Lewis, and Idaho counties.
(b)  Central Idaho consists of Adams, Washington, Valley, Payette, Gem, Boise, Canyon, Ada, Elmore, and Owyhee counties.
(c)  South Idaho consists of Lemhi, Custer, Butte, Camas, Blaine, Gooding, Lincoln, Jerome, Minidoka, Twin Falls, and Cassia counties.
(d)  East Idaho consists of Clark, Fremont, Jefferson, Madison, Teton, Bonneville, Bingham, Power, Bannock, Caribou, Bear Lake, Franklin, and Oneida counties.
(3)  The duties of the SSAFC include:
(a)  Determining and directing distributions from the state snowmobile avalanche fund, at least annually, to avalanche centers within the state of Idaho or avalanche centers providing reporting services within the state of Idaho operated and administered by the national avalanche center, United States forest service, or United States department of agriculture. The SSAFC may require that applications or proposals be submitted for review and consideration from avalanche centers seeking funds from the state snowmobile avalanche fund. The SSAFC must require the funds so distributed be used for existing avalanche center operations and maintenance within or for the benefit of areas within the state of Idaho, which include: avalanche forecaster labor; website and information technology improvements and maintenance; snowmobiles and related equipment; remote weather station installation and upkeep; avalanche education costs; and safety equipment;
(b)  Representing the best interests of the snowmobile users in the district from which each member is appointed; and
(c)  Advising existing avalanche centers in Idaho and registered nonprofit organizations that support them as to whether current projects meet the needs of snowmobile users in that area.
(4)  The SSAFC shall be compensated as provided in section 59-509(b), Idaho Code.

[67-7107A, added 2021, ch. 295, sec. 4, p. 897.]

How current is this law?