Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 67
STATE GOVERNMENT AND STATE AFFAIRS
CHAPTER 71
RECREATIONAL ACTIVITIES
67-7122.   application for certificate of number — attachment of validation stickers — certificate — fees. (1) On or before January 1 of each year, the owner of any all-terrain vehicle, motorbike, specialty off-highway vehicle or utility type vehicle as defined in section 67-7101, Idaho Code, or any motorcycle as defined in section 49-114, Idaho Code, used off public highways, on highways located on state lands or federal lands which are not part of the highway system of the state of Idaho or on highways as prescribed in section 49-426(3) and (4), Idaho Code, but excluding those vehicles used exclusively on private land for agricultural use or used exclusively for snow removal purposes as provided in section 49-426(2), Idaho Code, shall obtain a number certificate for that vehicle at any vendor authorized by the department. Effective January 1, 2010, a fee of twelve dollars ($12.00) shall be charged for each number certificate, which fee includes a one dollar and fifty cent ($1.50) fee to be retained by the vendor and the remainder of which shall be remitted to the department together with information noting the number of the certificate issued, the identity of the owner that purchased the number certificate, the owner’s designated county use area and the type of machine to which the owner will affix the certificate of number, e.g., motorbike, all-terrain vehicle, utility type vehicle or specialty off-highway vehicle. The foregoing shall not prohibit the department from collecting such further information as it may deem necessary or helpful to its administrative duties under this chapter.
(2)  At the time of sale from any dealer, each motorbike, all-terrain vehicle or utility type vehicle sold to an Idaho resident, but excluding those vehicles to be used exclusively on private land for agricultural use or used exclusively for snow removal purposes as provided in section 49-426(2), Idaho Code, must obtain a number certificate.
(a)  Application blanks and validation stickers shall be supplied by the department and the validation sticker shall be issued to the person making application for number certificate.
(b)  All number certificates that are issued shall be in force through December 31 of the issued year. All number certificates shall be renewed by the owner of the all-terrain vehicle, motorbike, specialty off-highway vehicle or utility type vehicle in the same manner provided for in the initial securing of the same or with any vendor authorized by the department. A vendor issuing a renewal number certificate shall retain a one dollar and fifty cent ($1.50) vendor fee and remit the remainder of the twelve dollar ($12.00) renewal number certificate fee to the department together with information noting the number of the certificate issued, the identity of the owner that purchased the number certificate, the owner’s designated county use area, and the type of machine to which the owner will affix the validation stickers, e.g., motorbike, all-terrain vehicle, utility type vehicle or specialty off-highway vehicle. The foregoing shall not prohibit the department from collecting such additional information as it may deem necessary or helpful to its administrative duties under this chapter.
(c)  The issued validation sticker shall be placed upon the restricted vehicle license plate of the all-terrain vehicle, motorbike or utility type vehicle, or upon the right fork of a vehicle registered pursuant to section 49-402(3), Idaho Code, or of a motorbike if used exclusively off-highway, or upon the rear fender of an all-terrain vehicle, specialty off-highway vehicle or utility type vehicle if used exclusively off-highway. The placement shall be made in such a manner that it is completely visible, does not cover the license plate numbers or letters, if licensed, and shall be kept in a legible condition at all times.
(3)  For operation of a motorbike that meets the requirements specified in section 49-114(10), Idaho Code, on the public highways, the vehicle shall also be registered pursuant to the provisions of section 49-402(3), Idaho Code. A motorbike that meets the requirements specified in section 49-114(10), Idaho Code, and that is registered pursuant to section 49-402(3), Idaho Code, shall not be required to obtain a restricted license plate pursuant to section 49-402(4), Idaho Code. A motorbike, all-terrain vehicle, specialty off-highway vehicle or utility type vehicle operated exclusively off-highway or on highways located on state lands or federal lands which are not part of the highway system of the state of Idaho and that meet the registration requirements specified in this section shall not be required to obtain a restricted vehicle license plate pursuant to section 49-402(4), Idaho Code.
(4)  Nonresidents shall be allowed to purchase a restricted vehicle license plate pursuant to section 49-402(4), Idaho Code, and/or a number certificate for an all-terrain vehicle, motorbike or utility type vehicle.

History:
[(67-7122) 49-2707, added 1972, ch. 278, sec. 1, p. 684; am. 1982, ch. 95, sec. 121, p. 185; am. and redesig. 1986, ch. 233, sec. 2, p. 641; redesig. and am. 1988, ch. 265, sec. 549, p. 851; am. 1989, ch. 106, sec. 10, p. 245; am. 1990, ch. 391, sec. 5, p. 1097; am. 1992, ch. 238, sec. 3, p. 710; am. 1994, ch. 288, sec. 1, p. 907; am. 2000, ch. 315, sec. 4, p. 1063; am. 2006, ch. 42, sec. 2, p. 123; am. 2008, ch. 409, sec. 12, p. 1138; am. 2009, ch. 157, sec. 14, p. 473; am. 2014, ch. 338, sec. 10, p. 844.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution