Idaho Statutes

18-7011.  Criminal trespass — Definition and punishment. (1) Any person who, without consent of the owner or person in charge of any lands which are inclosed by fences of any description sufficient to show the boundaries of the land inclosed, shall go upon such lands and shall leave open any gates on or about said premises, or who shall tear down or lay down any fencing, or who shall willfully remove, mutilate, damage or destroy any "No Trespassing" signs or markers, or who shall go through cultivated crops that have not been harvested, or who shall damage any property thereon, or who without permission of the owner or the owner’s agent enters the real property of another person where such real property:
(a)  Is posted with "No Trespassing" signs;
(b)  Is posted with a minimum of one hundred (100) square inches of fluorescent orange, bright orange, blaze orange, safety orange or any similar high visibility shade of orange colored paint except that when metal fence posts are used, a minimum of eighteen (18) inches of the top of the post must be painted a high visibility shade of orange;
(c)  Is posted with other notices of like meaning, spaced at intervals of not less than one (1) sign, paint area or notice per six hundred sixty (660) feet along such real property; provided that where the geographical configuration of the real property is such that entry can reasonably be made only at certain points of access, such property is posted sufficiently for all purposes of this section if said signs, paint or notices are posted at such points of access; or
(d)  Is posted with a conspicuous sign where a public road enters the real property, through which or along which road the public has a right-of-way, stating words substantially similar to "PRIVATE PROPERTY, NO TRESPASSING OFF (fill in relevant compass direction(s)) SIDE OF ROAD NEXT (fill in the distance) MILES," and which is posted with a conspicuous sign where the public road exits the real property stating words substantially similar to "LEAVING PRIVATE PROPERTY." The postings shall be placed on the private real property. In lieu of posting the compass direction(s), a map depicting the area of private property may be displayed on the sign;
is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction thereof shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding six (6) months or by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by both such fine and imprisonment.
As used in this subsection and in section 18-7008, Idaho Code: "enters," "entry" and "entering" mean going upon or over real property either in person or by causing any object, substance or force to go upon or over real property.
(2)  No motor vehicle shall be willfully or intentionally driven into, upon, over or through any private land actively devoted to cultivated crops without the consent of the owner of the land or the tenant, lessee or agent of the owner of the land actively devoted to cultivated crops. Violation of the provisions of this section shall be a misdemeanor. For the purpose of this subsection, motor vehicle shall be defined as set forth in sections 49-114 and 49-123, Idaho Code. Land actively devoted to cultivated crops shall be defined as land that is used to produce field crops including, but not limited to, grains, feed crops, legumes, fruits and vegetables.

[18-7011, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 975; am. 1976, ch. 154, sec. 2, p. 551; am. 1984, ch. 37, sec. 1, p. 63; am. 1984, ch. 55, sec. 2, p. 95; am. 1988, ch. 265, sec. 561, p. 857; am. 2005, ch. 359, sec. 12, p. 1139; am. 2014, ch. 28, sec. 2, p. 40.]

How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution