# IDAHO CREATES COMMISSION on REDISTRICTING

Section 2, Article 3, Constitution of the State of Idaho, was amended by Session Law 1993, page 1530, Senate Joint Resolution 105 and ratified at the General Election on November 8, 1994 to create a citizens' commission to assume the responsibility for redistricting from the Legislature. Section 67-507, Idaho Code, requires that joint resolutions receive two-thirds majorities in both chambers to pass. Section 1, Article 20, Constitution of the State of Idaho, requires that proposed constitutional amendments be ratified by a majority of the electors. SJR 105 passed the Senate 26-9 (74%), passed the House of Representatives 50-17-3 (71%) and was approved by 227,644 voters (64%).

## MEMBERSHIP of the IDAHO COMMISSION on REDISTRICTING

Section 2, Article 3, Constitution of the State of Idaho, directs, "Whenever there is reason to reapportion the legislature or to provide for new congressional district boundaries in the state, or both, because of a new federal census or because of a decision of a court of competent jurisdiction, a commission for reapportionment shall be formed on order of the secretary of state. The commission shall be composed of six members. The leaders of the two largest political parties of each house of the legislature shall each designate one member and the state chairmen of the two largest political parties, determined by the vote cast for governor in the last gubernatorial election, shall each designate one member. In the event any appointing authority does not select the members within fifteen calendar days following the secretary of state's order to form the commission, such members shall be appointed by the Supreme Court. No member of the commission may be an elected or appointed official in the state of Idaho at the time of designation or selection."

## **REDISTRICTING COMMISSIONERS**

- 1. Kristi Sellers, Co-Chair, Chubbuck
  - Appointed by Senate President Pro Tempore Robert L. Geddes, R-Soda Springs
- 2. Tom Stuart, Co-Chair, Boise
  - Appointed by Idaho State Democratic Party Chair Carolyn Boyce
- 3. Raymond Givens, Coeur d'Alene
  - Appointed by House of Representatives Minority Leader Wendy Jaquet, D-Ketchum
- 4. Dean Haagenson, Hayden Lake
  - Appointed by Idaho State Republican Party Chair Trent Clark
- 5. John Hepworth, Twin Falls
  - Appointed by Speaker of the House of Representatives Bruce Newcomb, R-Burley
  - Resigned December 4, 2001
- 6. Karl Shurtliff, Boise
  - Appointed by Senate Minority Leader W. Clint Stennett, D-Ketchum
- 7. Derlin Taylor, Burley
  - Appointed by Speaker of the House of Representatives Bruce Newcomb, R-Burley
  - Effective December 5, 2001

Idaho Legislative Services Office staff: Ross Borden and Susan Bennion. GIS Technical Services provided by the Idaho Department of Water Resources. Idaho's first Commission on Redistricting

#### 2001-2002

# CHRONOLOGY of IMPORTANT COMMISSION DATES

## Friday, March 23, 2001

- The U.S. Census Bureau delivered the Census 2000 PL 94-171 population, race and ethnicity data for Idaho.
  - o Idaho population on Census Day 2000: 1,293,953.
  - o Idaho population on Census Day 1990: 1,006,749.
  - o 28.5% growth.
  - The growth was concentrated primarily in Kootenai, Canyon and Ada counties with the rest of the state, particularly the rural areas, experiencing little change in population.
  - o Idaho was again apportioned two seats in the United States House of Representatives.

#### Tuesday, June 5, 2001.

• At 8:45 a.m. in the Gold Room, State Capitol, Boise, Idaho Secretary of State Pete T. Cenarrusa issued the order officially forming Idaho's first Commission on Redistricting.

## Wednesday, August 22, 2001.

- A 4-2 majority of the Commission on Redistricting adopted Plan <u>C15</u>, a two district congressional redistricting plan (Givens, Haagenson, Hepworth, Stuart voting aye).
- A 4-2 majority of the Commission on Redistricting adopted Plan <u>L66</u>, a 35 district legislative redistricting plan (Givens, Haagenson, Shurtliff, Stuart voting aye).

## Thursday, November 29, 2001.

- In Smith et al v. Idaho Commission on Redistricting et al, a unanimous Idaho Supreme Court ruled Plan <u>L66</u> unconstitutional on the grounds that it "violates the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution because the population of its districts varies more than 10% constituting a prima facie case of discrimination and the State has offered no evidence of legitimate reasons for the deviation."
- The Court directed the Commission to reconvene and adopt a new legislative redistricting plan.
- The overall population deviation among the 35 legislative districts in Plan L66 was 10.69%.
- The Commission was represented by the Office of the Attorney General.

## Tuesday, January 8, 2002.

• A 4-2 majority of the Commission on Redistricting adopted Plan <u>L91</u>, a 35 district legislative redistricting plan (Givens, Haagenson, Sellers, Taylor voting aye).

#### Friday, March 1, 2002.

- In Bingham County et al v. Idaho Commission on Redistricting et al, a 4-1 majority of the Idaho Supreme Court ruled that Plan <u>L91</u> violated the U.S. Constitution on equal protection, "one person, one vote" grounds and the Idaho Constitution due to improper division of counties.
- The Court directed the Commission to reconvene as soon as possible and adopt a new legislative redistricting plan.
- The overall population deviation among the 35 legislative districts in Plan L91 was 11.79%.
- The Commission was represented by C. Timothy Hopkins, Hopkins Roden Crockett Hansen & Hoopes, PLLC, Idaho Falls.

## Saturday, March 9, 2002.

- A 5-1 majority of the Commission on Redistricting adopted Plan <u>L97</u>, a 35 district legislative redistricting plan (Givens, Haagenson, Shurtliff, Stuart, Taylor voting aye).
- The overall population deviation among the 35 legislative districts in Plan **L97** was 9.71%.

## Friday, April 19, 2002.

• The Idaho Supreme Court denied the final two petitions challenging legislative redistricting plan <u>L97</u>. A number of petitions had been filed by primarily Eastern Idaho interests, particularly boards of county commissioners.

Idaho's *first* Commission on Redistricting 2001-2002

#### **COMMISSION MEETING DATES & PLACES**

- 1. Boise, Tuesday, June 5, 2001
- 2. Boise, Wednesday, June 6, 2001
- 3. Pocatello, Wednesday, June 13, 2001
- 4. Idaho Falls, Wednesday, June 13, 2001
- 5. Twin Falls, Thursday, June 14, 2001
- 6. Coeur d'Alene, Monday, June 18, 2001
- 7. Lewiston, Tuesday, June 19, 2001
- 8. Nampa, Wednesday, June 27, 2001
- 9. Boise, Wednesday, June 27, 2001
- 10. Boise, Tuesday, July 10, 2001
- 11. Boise, Wednesday, July 11, 2001
- 12. Boise, Thursday, July 12, 2001
- 13. Boise, Monday, July 23, 2001
- 14. Boise, Tuesday, July 24, 2001
- 15. Boise, Wednesday, July 25, 2001
- 16. Boise, Monday, August 6, 2001
- 17. Boise, Tuesday, August 7, 2001
- 18. Boise, Saturday, August 18, 2001
- 19. Boise, Sunday, August 19, 2001
- 20. Boise, Wednesday, August 22, 2001
- 21. Boise, Wednesday, December 12, 2001
- 22. Idaho Falls, Friday, January 4, 2002
- 23. Boise, Tuesday, January 8, 2002
- 24. Boise, Saturday, March 9, 2002

# COMPOSITION of the 56<sup>th</sup> IDAHO LEGISLATURE, 2000-2001

SEN	NATE	Number of Members	%
	Democrat	3	9%
	Republican	32	91%
	Total	35	
HOUSE			
HO	USE	Number of Members	%
HO	USE Democrat	Number of Members 9	<b>%</b> 13%
HO			

Idaho Legislative Services Office

Page 3 of 3

Commission on Redistricting