Committee Minutes:

Natural Resource Issues

Senate Majority Caucus Room--Statehouse

Boise, Idaho

June 18, 2003

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Cochairman Senator Laird Noh. Other committee members present were Cochairman Dell Raybould, Senator Stanley Williams, Senator Don Burtenshaw, Representative Bert Stevenson, Representative JoAn Wood and Representative Charles Cuddy. Nonvoting members present were Senator Skip Brandt and Senator Brad Little. Senator John Andreason and Representative Lawerence Denney were absent and excused.

Others present were Clive Strong, Idaho Attorney General's Office/Natural Resources, and legislative staff members Katharine Gerrity and Toni Hobbs. After opening remarks by Senator Noh, Representative Raybould moved that the meeting be moved into executive session pursuant to the protective order of the court and Section 67-2345(f), Idaho Code, for the purpose of considering and advising its legal representatives in pending litigation, specifically that involving pending federal reserved water rights litigation. The motion was seconded by Senator Williams. A voice vote was taken with all voting members in attendance individually noted as voting in favor of moving the meeting into executive session. The committee then proceeded with the executive session.

Senator Kennedy was delayed and joined the executive session in progress. Representative Wood moved, and Representative Stevenson seconded, that the executive session be dissolved. The committee reconvened and it was noted for the record that during the executive session no final action was taken or final decisions made. No other business was before the committee. Senator Burtenshaw moved, and Representative Cuddy seconded, that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.