
Dear Senators DARRINGTON, Jorgenson & Kelly, and
Representatives CLARK, Leon Smith & Boe:

The Legislative Services Office, Research and Legislation, has received the enclosed

rules of the Idaho State Police:

IDAPA11.05.01 - Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control - Fee Rule 

                              (Docket #11-0501-0901).  

Pursuant to Section 67-454, Idaho Code, a meeting on the enclosed rules may be called by

the cochairmen or by two (2) or more members of the subcommittee giving oral or written notice

to Research and Legislation no later than fourteen (14) days after receipt of the rules’ analysis

from Legislative Services.  The final date to call a meeting on the enclosed rules is no later than

10-29-09.  If a meeting is called, the subcommittee must hold the meeting within forty-two (42)

days of receipt of the rules’ analysis from Legislative Services.  The final date to hold a meeting

on the enclosed rules is 11-27-09.

The germane joint subcommittee may request a statement of economic impact with

respect to a proposed rule by notifying Research and Legislation.  There is no time limit on

requesting this statement, and it may be requested whether or not a meeting on the proposed rule

is called or after a meeting has been held.

To notify Research and Legislation, call 334-2475, or send a written request to the

address or FAX number indicated on the memorandum enclosed.



 

 

 

 

 

 

MEMORANDUM 

 

TO: Rules Review Subcommittee of the Senate Judiciary and Rules Committee and 

the House Judiciary, Rules and Admin. Committee 

 

FROM: Brooke Murdoch, Research Analyst 

 

DATE:  October 9, 2009 

 

SUBJECT: Idaho State Police  

 

IDAPA 11.05.01 – Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control – Fee Rule 

(Docket #11-0501-0901) 

 

The Idaho State Police submits notice of proposed rulemaking at IDAPA 11.05.01 – 

Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control.  According to the Idaho State Police, the purposes 

of the rule changes are to increase fingerprint fees from $34.00 to $45.00, which could provide 

approximately $22,000 in additional revenue.  The proposed rule defines the term “multipurpose 

arena” and establishes an annual fee of $2,500 for a multipurpose arena license endorsement.  

The Idaho State Police states that the proposed rule also requires submission of additional 

information for licensees to ensure compliance with regulations and allow more consistent 

enforcement of alcohol beverage laws.  Finally, the proposed rule specifies circumstances when 

minors are permitted or prohibited from entering certain premises and requires the display of 

suspension notices.     

 

We note the following comments:  

 

1. Subsection 010.06. of the rule, on pages 219-220, defines “Multipurpose arena,” which 

includes a requirement that such facility be endorsed by the director.  The proposed rule 

further specifies certain qualifications that must be met in order for a multipurpose arena 

to receive and maintain an annual endorsement on its alcohol beverage license.  Finally, 

the proposed rule provides that if the premises subsequently cease to meet the 

qualifications of a multipurpose arena as provided in rule, then provisions relating to 

multipurpose arenas in Subsection 23-944(3), Idaho Code, do not apply.      

  

Multipurpose arenas are addressed in Subsection 23-944(3), Idaho Code, which provides, 

in relevant part, that, “It shall not be unlawful for…any person under the age of twenty-

one (21) years from entering or being…in any…multipurpose arena…notwithstanding 

that such premises or any portion thereof may be licensed for the sale of liquor by the 
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 drink, wine or beer for consumption on the premises or that such products are dispensed 

and served and consumed therein; provided, that the person under the age of twenty-one 

(21) years is attending a lawful activity, show, exhibition, performance or event on the 

premises….”   

 

“Multipurpose arena” is not defined in statute nor is there a statutory requirement for a 

license endorsement.  Notably, there is an endorsement requirement in Section 23-946, 

Idaho Code, relating to premises operating as restaurants.  Subsection 010.06. of the 

proposed rule and Section 23-946, Idaho Code, contain similar language, and in some 

instances the same language.  Also, the term “restaurant” is defined in Subsection 23-

942(c).  Restaurants, like multipurpose arenas, are included as an exception listed in 

Section 23-944, Idaho Code.  Given that this type of license endorsement is provided in 

statute for restaurants, there may be a question as to whether the Idaho State Police has 

the authority to establish an endorsement requirement for multipurpose arenas through 

the rulemaking process.   

 

The Idaho State Police states that its action is authorized pursuant to Sections 67-2901 

and 49-901, Idaho Code.  Section 67-2901, Idaho Code, creates the Idaho State Police 

and Section 49-901, Idaho Code, relates to the director’s authority to adopt standards and 

specifications relating to vehicle equipment.  Neither code section provides the 

appropriate rulemaking authority.   

 

In light of the above, we pose the question as to whether this change would be better 

brought through legislation to amend the Idaho Code, rather than through the rulemaking 

process. 

   

2. In Subsection 012.02., it appears that reference to Subsection 013.02., should read 

Subsection 014.02. 

 

3. In Subsection 012.05., reference to Section 23-1308, Idaho Code, seems to be misplaced 

as the language contained in that code section does not include or relate to a fingerprint 

based criminal history check. 

 

4. In Subsection 013.03.a., we note that it may make the rule more clear if it is specified that 

the signed affidavit must be submitted within ten days of the event and the application 

submitted within ninety days of the event.  

 

5. In Subsection 014.07., it appears that reference to Subsection 013.03. should read 

Subsection 014.03.  

 

6. In Subsection 016.03., it appears that reference to Subsection 010.04., which defines 

licensed premises, should be replaced with Subsection 010.09., which further defines the 

term “restaurant.” 

 

7. In Subsection 021.02.c., the following italicized language appears to be misplaced: “The 

Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau reserves the right to impose reduced penalties based 
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on aggravating circumstances involved in each violation.”  We suggest changing either 

the word “reduced” to “enhanced” or the word “aggravating” to “mitigating,” depending 

on the intended meaning. 

 

8. Section 022. of the proposed rule contains penalties and penalty schedules for violations 

of certain provisions in Chapters 6, 9, 10, 11 and 13, Title 23.  Penalties include 

suspension or a monetary fine, or both suspension and a monetary fine, or revocation.  

Some of the proposed penalties may not be consistent with statutory provisions; 

therefore, further review is recommended.   

 

For example, the proposed rule provides for license revocation upon a fourth violation of 

Section 23-603, Idaho Code.  However, Section 23-603, Idaho Code, specifically sets 

forth the administrative action that may be taken.  That code section provides, in relevant 

part, that “the director may take administrative action…including suspension of the 

license for not to exceed six (6) months, a fine, or both such suspension and fine.”  The 

authority to revoke is not mentioned in that code section and one may read the provisions 

as a limit to the director’s authorized administrative action.   

 

A second example, Section 23-933, Idaho Code, authorizes the director to “suspend, 

revoke or refuse to renew a license” for any violation of the provisions of Chapter 9.  

Subsection (2) provides that when the director determines to suspend a license, the 

affected licensee may request that a monetary payment be allowed in lieu of the 

suspension.  If the director determines that a payment is consistent with the purpose of 

the law, he is required to establish a monetary payment not to exceed $5,000.  The 

licensee may then choose between the monetary penalty and the suspension.  If the 

licensee chooses to pay the amount established, the director is required to cancel the 

suspension period upon payment.   Turning to the proposed rule, Subsections 022.01.-

.03., provide instances whereupon a licensee found to have violated a provision of 

Chapter 9 could be subject to a license suspension and a monetary penalty.  One may 

view this penalty to be inconsistent with the provisions of Section 23-933(2), Idaho Code, 

which permit a monetary payment in lieu of suspension.  

 

We do not conclude that the Idaho State Police does not have the authority to impose the 

penalties in the proposed rule, only that it has not cited the authority to do so in some 

instances.  Again, we recommend further review of the penalty provisions listed in the 

proposed rule as some may be inconsistent with the penalty provisions in Idaho Code. 

 

9. Also in Section 022., subsection numbers appear to be out of order.  Subsection 022.04. is 

followed by Subsections 022.02. and 022.03. 

 

Aside from these comments, the proposed rule appears to be within the authority granted 

to the Idaho State Police in Sections 23-932, 23-946 and 23-1330, Idaho Code. 

 

cc: Idaho State Police   

Colonel G. Jerry Russell, Director 

Lt. Bob Clements 



IDAPA 11 - IDAHO STATE POLICE
11.05.01 - RULES GOVERNING ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL

DOCKET NO. 11-0501-0901 (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULE
AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section(s) 67-2901 and 49-901 Idaho 
Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than October 21, 2009.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking: 

This rulemaking increases fingerprint fees, establishes definitions and fees for multi-purpose arenas, clarifies 
existing rules by providing additional information for licensees to ensure compliance with regulations and allow more 
consistent enforcement of alcohol beverage laws. Provides specific circumstances when minors are permitted or 
prohibited on premises, considering modern business concepts and the specific types of establishments. Proposes 
rules requiring display of suspension notices providing notification to the public.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: 

Provides increased fingerprint fees for staff processing and verification for license applicant qualifications. The 
current fee is thirty-four dollars ($34) deposited into the miscellaneous revenues account, an increase of eleven 
dollars ($11) is proposed to cover the approximately one hour ABC staff time needed to track, process, and review 
fingerprint qualification results. The new fee would be forty-five dollars ($45), and could provide approximately 
$22,000 in additional revenue. Provides for a definition of multi-purpose arena and a designated endorsement to the 
alcohol beverage license. Provides for an annual fee of $2,500 for the multi-purpose arena license endorsement.

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: No 
negative fiscal impact will result from this change.

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because all stakeholders were involved or invited to participate in discussions resulting in these rules 
changes and will receive copies for review. 

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Lt. Bob Clements, (208) 884-7060 or 
robert.clements@isp.idaho.gov. 

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before October 28, 2009.

DATED this 21st day of August, 2009.

Colonel G. Jerry Russell, Director
Idaho State Police
700 S. Stratford Drive
Meridian, ID 83643
(208) 884-7003 / (208) 884-7090 fax
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IDAHO STATE POLICE Docket No. 11-0501-0901
Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control Proposed Rulemaking
THE FOLLOWING IS THE PROPOSED TEXT FOR DOCKET NO. 11-0501-0901

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.

01. Title. These rules shall be cited as IDAPA 11.05.01, “Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control.”
(2-20-01)

02. Scope. The rules relate to the governance and operation of Alcohol Beverage Control. Unless a 
specific reference herein limits application of a rule to a particular kind of alcoholic beverage, these rules apply to 
and implement Idaho Code Sections for liquor ( all licensees of alcoholic beverages governed by Title 23, Chapter 9,
Idaho Code), beer (Title 23, Chapter 10, Idaho Code), and wine (Title 23, Chapter 13, Idaho Code). (2-20-01)(        )

(BREAK IN CONTINUITY OF SECTIONS)

004. MAILING ADDRESS AND OFFICE HOURS.
The mailing address is Idaho State Police, Bureau of Alcohol Beverage Control, P.O. Box 700 S. Stratford Drive, 
Meridian, ID 83680-0700 83642-6202. Lobby hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (3-6-07)(        )

005. PUBLIC RECORDS AVAILABILITY.
Public Records are available during normal working hours for inspection and copying at the Idaho State Police, 
Bureau of Alcohol Beverage Control, 700 South Stratford Drive, Meridian, ID 83680-0700 83642-6202.

(2-20-01)(        )

006. WEBSITE.
Alcohol Beverage Control information including licensing, applicable statutes, and these rules is available at: http://
www.isp.state.id.us/abc. (        )

0067. -- 009. (RESERVED).

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Bona Fide Owner. For the purposes of Section 23-1010(2)(a), Idaho Code, the bona fide owner of 
a business engaged in the sale of alcoholic beverages is the genuine or actual person or entity exercising exclusive 
control over the privileges of selling alcoholic beverages. (        )

a. Applicant shall disclose the interest of any person or entity in the business through tax records, 
bank statements, personnel records, or any other business records pursuant to Section 23-905, Idaho Code. (        )

02. Goodwill. For the purposes of Section 23-908(5), Idaho Code, goodwill is the current fair market 
value of the liquor license privilege in the incorporated city where the license is transferred. (        )

013. Licensee. Any person who has received a license from the Director under any of the provisions of 
Title 23, Chapters 9, 10 or 13, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

024. Licensed Premises. Any premises for which a license has been issued under any of the provisions 
of Title 23, Chapters 9, 10 or 13, Idaho Code. All areas included on the floor plan submitted to the Director with the 
licensee’s application for a license constitute the licensed premises. In the event of loss or move of the physical 
licensed premises, the licensee has ninety (90) days to secure and occupy a new premises in which to display the 
license. All licenses must be prominently displayed in a suitable premises and remain in actual use by the licensee
and available for legitimate sales of alcoholic beverages by the drink. An additional sixty (60) days may be granted 
by the Director, upon petition by the license holder. who is the bona fide owner of the business and available for 
legitimate sales of alcoholic beverages by the drink. (3-6-07)(        )
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IDAHO STATE POLICE Docket No. 11-0501-0901
Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control Proposed Rulemaking
a. A suitable premises includes an establishment primarily engaged in food or beverage sales, or both, 
that is in compliance with all city, county, state and federal laws and regulations and includes, but is not limited to, 
one (1) or more of the following characteristics: (        )

i. Separate and distinct entrance and physical address; (        )

ii. Accessible restroom and washing facilities; (        )

iii. Suitable facilities or equipment for sanitation of glasses and bar ware. (        )

b. In the event of loss, move, or closure of the physical licensed premises, the licensee has ninety (90) 
days to reopen or secure and occupy a new premises in which to display the license and begin actual sales of 
alcoholic beverages, or the licensee shall return the alcohol beverage license to the state. An additional sixty (60) days 
may be granted by the Director, upon petition by the license holder. (        )

035. New Licenses. For purposes of Section 23-908(4), Idaho Code, a “new license” is one that has 
become available as an additional license within a city’s limits under the quota system after July 1, 1980.  (        )

a. The requirement of Section 23-908(4), Idaho Code, that a new license be placed into actual use by 
the original licensee and remain in use for at least six (6) consecutive months is satisfied if the license is prominently 
displayed in a suitable premises and the licensee makes actual sales of liquor by the drink during at least eight (8) 
hours per day, no fewer than six (6) days per week. (3-6-07)(        )

b. A new license shall be forfeited back to the state without the provisions of Chapter 52, Title 67, 
Idaho Code, for failure to place that license into actual use as required by Section 23-908(4), Idaho and these rules. A 
forfeiture of an alcohol beverage license does not affect the licensee’s qualification to secure an alcohol beverage 
license in the future. (        )

06. Multipurpose Arena.

a. For purposes of Section 23-944(3), Idaho Code, a Multipurpose Arena is a: (        )

i. Publicly or privately owned or operated arena, coliseum, stadium, or other facility where sporting 
events, concerts, live entertainment, community events, and other functions are presented for a ticketed price of 
admission or one whose premises are leased for private events such as receptions; (        )

ii. Facility that is licensed to sell liquor by the drink at retail for consumption upon the premises; and
(        )

iii. Facility that has been endorsed by the director. (        )

b. A Multipurpose Arena facility must apply annually for an endorsement on its alcohol beverage 
license. The fee for a Multipurpose Arena endorsement is two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) per year.

(        )

c. To receive a Multipurpose Arena endorsement under this Section will require the facility to have 
food available including, but not limited to, hamburgers, sandwiches, salads, or other snack food. The director may 
also restrict the type of events at a Multipurpose Arena facility at which beer, wine, and liquor by the drink may be 
served. The Director will also consider the seating accommodations, eating facilities, and circulation patterns in such 
a facility, and other amenities available at a Multipurpose Arena facility before the director will endorse the license.

(        )

d. A licensee that applies for a Multipurpose Arena endorsement must submit with the application an 
operating/security plan to the director and the local law enforcement agency for review and approval. Once approved, 
the plan remains in effect until the licensee requests a change or the director determines that a change is necessary due 
to demonstrated problems or conditions not previously considered or adequately addressed in the original plan. The 
plan must be submitted in a format designated by the director and must contain all of the following elements: (        )
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Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control Proposed Rulemaking
i. How the Multipurpose Arena facility will prevent the sale and service of alcohol to persons under 
twenty-one (21) years of age and those who appear to be intoxicated. (        )

ii. The ratio of alcohol service staff and security staff to the size of the audiences at events where 
alcohol is being served. (        ) 

iii. Training provided to staff who serve, regulate, or supervise the service of alcohol. (        )

iv. The facility's policy on the number of alcoholic beverages that will be served to an individual 
patron during one (1) transaction. (        ) 

v. A list of event type/categories to be held in the facility at which alcohol service is planned, along 
with a request for the level of alcohol service at each event. (        )

vi. Diagrams and designation of alcohol service areas for each type of event category with identified 
restrictions of minors. (        )

e. Prior to the first of each month, the licensee must provide a schedule of events for the upcoming 
month to the director and local law enforcement office. This schedule must show the date and time of each event 
during which alcohol service is planned. The licensee must notify the director and local law enforcement at least 
twenty-four (24) hours in advance of any events where alcohol service is planned that were not included in the 
monthly schedule. (        ) 

f. To prevent persons who are under twenty-one (21) years of age or who appear intoxicated from 
gaining access to alcohol, the director may require that an operating plan include additional mandatory requirements 
if it is determined that the plan does not effectively prevent violations of liquor laws and regulations, particularly 
those that prevent persons under twenty-one (21) years of age or who are apparently intoxicated from obtaining 
alcohol. (        )

g. If premises, licensed as a Multipurpose Arena, subsequently ceases to meet the qualifications of a 
Multipurpose Arena, the restrictions contained in Section 23-943, Idaho Code, shall apply and the posting of signs as 
provided for in Section 23-945, Idaho Code, shall be required. The licensee shall advise the director, by mail, that his 
premises no longer constitute a Multipurpose Arena, so that the license may be modified accordingly. (        )

047. Partition. A partition, as used in Section 23-944 Idaho Code, is defined as a structure separating 
the place from the remainder of the premises. Access through the structure to the place will be controlled to prevent 
minors from entering the place. The structure must be: (3-6-07)

a. Permanently fixed from the premises ceiling to the premises floor. (3-6-07)

b. Made or constructed of solid material such as glass, wood, metal or a combination of those 
products. (3-6-07)

c. Designed to prevent an alcoholic beverage from being passed over, under or through the structure.
(3-6-07)

d. All partitions must be approved by the Director. (3-6-07)

058. Place. For the purposes of Section 23-943, Idaho Code, “Place” as defined by Section 23-942(b), 
for a one (1) room restaurant without a barrier or partition, refers to the immediate bar area wherein there is seating 
alongside a counter or barrier that encloses bar supplies and equipment that are kept, and where alcoholic beverages 
are mixed, poured, drawn or served for consumption. (3-6-07)

069. Restaurant. The term Restaurant, as defined by Section 23-942(c), Idaho Code, is further defined 
as an establishment maintained, advertised and held out to the public as primarily a food eating establishment, where 
individually priced meals are prepared and regularly served to the public, primarily for on-premises consumption. 
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The establishment must also have a dining room or rooms, kitchen and cooking facilities for the preparation of food, 
and the number, and type of employees normally used in the preparing, cooking and serving of meals. Primarily as 
defined for the purposes of Section 010, also includes that the licensee must show to the director the following:

(3-6-07)

a. An established menu identifying the individually priced meals for consumption; (3-20-04)

b. Food service and preparation occurs on the premises by establishment employees; (3-20-04)

c. Stoves, ovens, refrigeration equipment or such other equipment usually and normally found in 
restaurants are located on the premises of the establishment; (3-20-04)

d. The licensee must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Director, through appropriate business 
records, that the establishment is advertised and held out to the public as primarily a food eating establishment, or 
that at least forty percent (40%) of the establishment’s consumable purchases are derived from purchases of food and 
non-alcoholic beverages. (3-20-04)(        )

0710. Stock Transfer. For the purposes of Section 23-908, Idaho Code, the sale or exchange of stock in a 
closely held corporation holding a license is deemed a transfer of the license. However, the sale or exchange of shares 
in a family corporation among family members, is not a transfer. A transfer among family members means between 
two (2) or more members of the same immediate family, not from one (1) or more individuals to an entity created by 
that individual or individuals. (3-6-07)(        )

011. GENERAL PROVISIONS.

01. Repeal of Prior Rules. The Director intends to promulgate a uniform and consistent set of 
alcoholic beverage rules. Accordingly, all rules adopted before the effective date of this chapter (Sections 000 
through 021), which concern or involve the licensing of alcoholic beverages, specifically rules 1-L; 2-L; 3-L; 4-L; 6-
L; 10-L; 11-L; 1-B; 2-B; 3-B; 5-B; 6-B; 7-B; 9-B; 11.05.A,1.0; 11.05.A,1.1; and 11.05.A,1.2, are hereby repealed and 
declared null and void. (7-1-93)

02. Delegation of Authority to License Alcoholic Beverages. The Director hereby delegates his 
authority for the licensing of establishments which sell alcoholic beverages, as contained in Title 23, Chapters 9, 10, 
and 13, Idaho Code, to the, Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau, Idaho State Police. All applications and inquiries 
concerning alcoholic beverage licenses must be directed to the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau at P.O. Box 700, 
Meridian, Idaho 83680. The Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau provides forms for all applications and inquiries. 
Nothing contained herein shall interfere with the Director’s supervisory authority for alcoholic beverage licensing. 
(Section 67-2901(4), Idaho Code). (3-6-07)

012. LICENSING AND APPLICATIONS.

031. Authority to Stagger the Renewal of Licenses to Sell Alcohol. For the purposes of Sections 23-
908, 23-1010 and 23-1316, Idaho Code, the Director may adjust the renewal month to accommodate population 
increases. The following table sets out the notification months and renewal months established to renew licenses to 
sell alcohol:

Renewal Notices County Renewal Month

January Kootenai 1-Mar

January Benewah 1-Mar

February Ada 1-May

March Ada 1-May

April Canyon 1-Jun

April Owyhee 1-Jun
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April Payette 1-Jun

May Twin Falls 1-Jul

May Gooding 1-Jul

May Camas 1-Jul

May Lincoln 1-Jul

May Jerome 1-Jul

June Cassia 1-Aug

June Minidoka 1-Aug

June Butte 1-Aug

June Blaine 1-Aug

June Power 1-Aug

July Lemhi 1-Sep

July Custer 1-Sep

July Boise 1-Sep

July Valley 1-Sep

August Elmore 1-Oct

August Clark 1-Oct

August Fremont 1-Oct

August Jefferson 1-Oct

August Madison 1-Oct

August Teton 1-Oct

August Bonneville 1-Oct

September Bingham 1-Nov

September Bannock 1-Nov

September Caribou 1-Nov

September Oneida 1-Nov

September Franklin 1-Nov

September Bear Lake 1-Nov

October Boundary 1-Dec

October Bonner 1-Dec

October Shoshone 1-Dec

November Adams 1-Jan

November Gem 1-Jan

November Washington 1-Jan

Renewal Notices County Renewal Month
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(5-3-03)

02. Expiration of Licenses. Pursuant to Sections 23-927 and/or 23-1012, Idaho Code, when a county 
has passed an ordinance extending the hours of sale of liquor or beer, or both, to 2 a.m., all liquor and beer licenses in 
that county expire at 2 a.m., on the first of the month of the year following their issuance. (Section 23-908(1), Idaho 
Code). (        )

03. Failure to Renew. When a licensee has failed to renew his valid alcohol beverage license and the 
thirty-one (31) day extended time period granted in Sections 23-908, 23-1010 and 23-1316, Idaho Code, has elapsed, 
the licensee has no further rights to renew that same license and the license shall be offered in writing to the applicant 
whose is first on the priority list as provided in Subsection 013.02 of these rules. (        )

04. Changes in Information. (        )

a. On the annual renewal application, the licensee must sign an affidavit verifying that the information 
contained in the original application is unchanged, or if there are material changes, indicating such changes. (        )

b. At anytime during the licensing period if the licensee, or a partner of the licensee, has a license  
revoked, or is convicted of any violation of any local ordinance, law of the state of Idaho or the United States 
regulating, governing, or prohibiting the sale of alcoholic beverages, the licensee must notify the director in writing 
within thirty (30) days of the revocation or conviction. (        )

c. Failure to notify the director of any material changes that would have disqualified the licensee from 
the privilege of selling alcohol beverages at the time the disqualification was entered, may result in administrative 
proceedings to recover any proceeds obtained by the sale of alcoholic beverages during the period of time the licensee 
was disqualified and withheld that information from the director. (        )

 05. Fingerprinting. Pursuant to Sections 23-907, 23-1003, 23-1010, 23-1307, 23-1308, 23-1308A 
Idaho Code, all persons applying for an alcohol beverage license must have a fingerprint based criminal history 
check. (        )

a. Existing licensees. Any person that currently holds a valid alcohol beverage license shall be re-
fingerprinted for a criminal history check every five (5) years. (        )

b. New applicants. Any person that applies for an alcohol beverage license and is not currently 
licensed must have a fingerprint based criminal history check prior to a license being issued. (        )

c. Fee. There is a forty-five dollar ($45) fee for processing the fingerprint card/criminal history check.
(        )

0123. TRANSFER OF ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSES.

01. Transfer of License Subject to Sanctions. The Director of the Idaho State Police may deny the 

December Latah 1-Feb

December Nez Perce 1-Feb

December Idaho 1-Feb

December Lewis 1-Feb

December Clearwater 1-Feb

Renewal Notices Certs of Approval Renewal Month

November Out of State 1-Jan

Renewal Notices County Renewal Month
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transfer of an alcoholic beverage license which is subject to possible disqualification, revocation or suspension under 
the provisions of Title 23, Chapters 9, 10, and 13, Idaho Code, or these rules, when an action has been filed to such 
effect before the Idaho State Police pursuant to Sections 23-933, 23-1037 or 23-1331, Idaho Code. (7-1-93)

02. Transfer Fees. For the purposes of Section 23-908(5), Idaho Code, the calculation of a transfer fee 
is based on the actual sales price or goodwill, whichever is greater. For applications for transfers that allow collection 
of a transfer fee, but do not reflect the sales price of the alcohol beverage license, the transfer fee is based on 
goodwill. (        )

023. Death or Incapacity of Licensee. In the event of the incapacity, death, receivership, bankruptcy, or 
assignment for the benefit of creditors of a licensee, his guardian, executor, administrator, receiver, trustee in 
bankruptcy, or assignee for benefit of creditors may, upon written authorization from the Alcohol Beverage Control 
Bureau, continue the business of the licensee on the licensed premises for the duration of the license or until the 
business is terminated except.; (        ) 

a. Any person operating the licensed premises under this regulation rule must submit a signed 
agreement affidavit within ten (10) days that he will assume all of the responsibilities of the licensee for operation of 
the premises in accordance with law. Any person operating licensed premises under the regulation this rule must 
submit an alcohol beverage license application within ninety (90 days and demonstrate to the satisfaction of the 
Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau that he is qualified to hold an alcoholic beverage license. (        )

b. A guardian, executor, administrator, receiver, trustee in bankruptcy, or assignee for benefit of 
creditors may renew or transfer a license so held, in the same manner as other licensees, subject to the approval of the 
Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau. (Sections 23-908(1), 23-1005A, and 23-1317, Idaho Code). (3-31-95)(        )

034. Authorization to Transfer and Assignment of Privilege to Renew. Any person applying to 
renew a liquor license who was not the licensee at the applicable premises for the preceding year, must submit with 
the application to renew, a written Authorization to Transfer and Assignment of Privilege to Renew signed by the 
current licensee. (7-1-93)

045. Temporary Permits. When application for transfer of an alcoholic beverage license has been 
made, the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau, in its discretion, may authorize issuance of a temporary permit during 
the review of the application, during which time the applicant for transfer may conduct business as a temporary 
permit holder. The permit holder, in accepting the temporary permit, is responsible for complying with all statutes and 
rules pertinent to the sale of alcoholic beverages. Sanctions against such permit holder, whether civil, administrative, 
or criminal lies with the permittee, and acceptance of the permit constitutes a waiver of any defenses by permit holder 
based upon the fact that the permit holder is not, technically, a licensee. The Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau may 
withdraw a temporary permit it has issued pursuant to this rule at any time without hearing or notice. (3-6-07)

05. Product Replacement and Credit. Any beer or wine products removed from the licensed retailer’s 
premises by a wholesaler/distributor for quality control or public health are not considered to be a violation of 
Section 23-1033 or 23-1325, Idaho Code, which prohibit aid to the retailer or of Sections 23-1031 or 23-1326, Idaho 
Code, which prohibit extension of credit to a retailer, if: (3-6-07)

a. The packages or kegs are replaced with identical product and quantity; or (8-1-95)

b. In the instance of replacement of a partial keg of beer or wine, a credit to be redeemed on 
subsequent alcoholic beverage purchases by the retailer is given for the value of the unused portion; or (3-6-07)

c. In the instance of removal of product for which the identical product or quantity thereof is not 
immediately available to the wholesaler/distributor at the time of removal of the product, a credit is given. The credit 
shall be redeemed on subsequent alcoholic beverage purchases by the retailer; or (8-1-95)

d. In the case of a licensed establishment which is in operation no less than two (2) months and no 
more than nine (9) months of each year, prior to its period of closure, it is apparent that product will become outdated 
or spoiled before the date of re-opening, a wholesaler/distributor may remove product from the retailer’s premises 
and may give a credit to the retailer. Such credit shall be redeemed on subsequent alcoholic beverage purchases by 
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the same retailer. (8-1-95)

e. Credit is given to a retailer for the amount paid by the retailer at the time of purchase of the product 
being removed by the wholesaler/distributor. (3-6-07)

06. Expiration of Licenses. When a county has, pursuant to Sections 23-927 and/or 23-1012, Idaho 
Code, passed an ordinance extending the hours of sale of liquor and/or beer to two o’clock a.m. (2:00 a.m.), all 
liquor and/or beer licenses in that county expire at two a.m. (2 a.m.), on the first of the month of the year following 
their issuance. (Section 23-908(1), Idaho Code). (3-6-07)

07. Maintenance of Keg Receipts. Licensees shall retain a copy of all completed keg receipts required 
by Section 23-1018, Idaho Code, for a period of six (6) months. (3-6-07)

0134. PRIORITY LISTS.

01. Priority Lists for Incorporated City Liquor Licenses. The Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau 
maintains a priority list of applicants for those cities in which no incorporated city liquor license is available. A 
separate list is maintained for each city. A person, partnership, or corporation desiring to be placed on a priority list 
shall file a completed application for an incorporated city liquor license, accompanied by payment of one-half (1/2) 
of the annual license fee. Such application need not show any particular building or premises upon which the liquor is 
to be sold, nor that the applicant is the holder of any license to sell beer. Priority Placement on the list is determined 
by the earliest application, each succeeding application is placed on the list in the order received. (3-6-07)(        )

02. Written Notification. (        )

a. When an incorporated city liquor license becomes available, Alcohol Beverage Control offers it in 
writing to the applicant whose name appears first on the priority list. in the following priority order: (        )

i. An applicant who has an existing, currently operating business establishment and who holds a beer 
or wine by the drink license. (        )

ii. An applicant who has an existing, currently operating business establishment with a suitable 
premises to be licensed for alcoholic beverages, but does not currently hold a beer or wine by the drink license.

(        )

iii. An applicant who does not have an existing or currently operating business establishment. (        )

b. If the applicant does not notify the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau in writing within ten (10) 
days of receipt of the notice of his intention to accept the license, the license is offered to the next applicant in 
priority. An applicant accepting the license shall have a period of one hundred eighty (180) days from the date of 
receipt of Notice of License Availability in which to complete all requirements necessary for the issuance of the 
license. Provided, however, that upon a showing of good cause the Director of the Idaho State Police may extend the 
time period in which to complete the necessary requirements for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days.

(3-6-07)(        )

03. Refusal to Accept Offer of License or Failure to Complete Application for License or Meet 
Requirements. An applicant refusing a license offered under this rule or an applicant who fails to complete his 
application or does not meet licensing requirements may have his name placed at the end of the priority list upon his 
written request. Should If the applicant holding first priority refuses or fails to accept the license or to complete the 
application within the time specified, or does not meet licensing requirements, the applicant shall be dropped from the 
priority list, the deposit refunded, and the license offered to the applicant appearing next on the list in priority, unless 
a written request is made to be placed at the end of the priority list. (3-6-07)(        )

04. Cost for Investigation. An applicant who has notified the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau of his
intention to proceed with the application process, and cannot place the license in a suitable premises within the 
maximum time period allowed by these rules, shall have his application denied and the license fee returned, less the 
costs and expenses of investigation. (        )
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045. Limitations on Priority Lists. An applicant shall hold only one position at a time on each 
incorporated city priority list. An applicant must be able to demonstrate to the Director the ability to place an awarded 
license into actual use as required by Section 23-908(4), Idaho Code and these rules. An applicant for a place on an 
incorporated city liquor license priority list may not execute an inter vivos transfer or assignment of his substitute, 
assign or change his place on the priority lists, except for the creation of a legal entity in which the applicant is the 
sole owner, manager or member. For the purposes of this rule, “inter vivos transfer or assignment” means the 
substitution of any individual; partnership; corporation, including a wholly owned corporation; organization; 
association; or any other entity for the original applicant on the waiting list. An attempt to assign inter vivos a place 
on an incorporated city liquor license priority list shall result in the removal of the name of the applicant from the 
lists. An applicant, however, may assign his or her place on an alcoholic liquor license priority list by devise or 
bequest in a valid will. A place on an incorporated city liquor license priority list becomes part of an applicant’s 
estate upon his or her death. (3-6-07)(        )

056. Priority Lists Where Licenses Are Available. The Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau shall not 
maintain a list for a city in which a liquor license is available, nor for a city that does not permit retail sale of liquor. 
If, prior to the promulgation of this rule, the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau has maintained a priority list for any 
such city, the list shall be abolished and all license fees returned to the respective applicants. (3-31-95)

07. Withdrawal of Name from Priority List. When an applicant files an application to be on an 
incorporated city’s priority list under more than one (1) individual, partnership or corporation, or other entity and one 
(1) of those entities withdraws its name, or has its name withdrawn, the remaining applicants must amend the 
application with only the names of those entities that wish to be considered for an incorporated city liquor license. An 
amendment to the application may not include additional entities, but may only be a change to those previously 
named entities. Failure to amend the application, or if an applicant fails to devise or bequest his place on the priority 
list, before the offering of an incorporated city liquor license to the original applicant, the applicant shall be dropped 
from the priority list as provided in Subsection 013.03 of these rules. (        )

015. WHOLESALERS/DISTRIBUTORS.

01. Price Posting. Sections 23-1029 and 23-1329, Idaho Code, require all wholesalers, distributors, 
wineries, breweries, importers and dealers to file a written schedule of prices with the director. Prices and product 
information must be submitted electronically through the price posting program located at: http://www.isp.state.id.us/
PricePosting2/toPricePostSearch.action. (        )

02. Product Replacement and Credit. Removal of any beer or wine products from a licensed 
retailer’s premises by a wholesaler/distributor for quality control or public health reasons is not considered to be a 
violation of Sections 23-1033 or 23-1325, Idaho Code, which prohibit aid to the retailer, or of Sections 23-1031 or 
23-1326, Idaho Code, which prohibit extension of credit to a retailer, if: (        )

a. The packages or kegs are replaced with identical product and quantity; or (        )

b. In the instance of replacement of a partial keg of beer or wine, a credit to be redeemed on 
subsequent alcoholic beverage purchases by the retailer is given for the value of the unused portion; or (        )

c. In the instance of removal of product for which the identical product or quantity thereof is not 
immediately available to the wholesaler/distributor at the time of removal of the product, a credit is given. The credit 
shall be redeemed on subsequent alcoholic beverage purchases by the retailer; or (        )

d. In the case of a licensed establishment that is in operation no less than two (2) months and no more 
than nine (9) months of each year, if prior to its period of closure it is apparent that product will become outdated or 
spoiled before the date of re-opening, a wholesaler/distributor may remove product from the retailer’s premises and 
may give a credit to the retailer. Such credit shall be redeemed on subsequent alcoholic beverage purchases by the 
same retailer. (        )

e. Credit is given to a retailer for the amount paid by the retailer at the time of purchase of the product 
being removed by the wholesaler/distributor. (        )
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016. AGE RESTRICTION REQUIREMENTS.

01. Over/Under Clubs. Minors shall not enter, remain or loiter in any licensed establishment that sells 
alcohol by the drink except for those premises listed as exceptions in Section 23-944, Idaho Code. (        )

02. Posting of Age Restriction Signs. Section 23-945, Idaho Code, requires alcoholic beverage 
licensees to post an age restriction sign in certain premises. In those certain premises, such sign must contain the 
following words in lettering of at least one (1) inch in height: “Admittance of persons under 21 years of age 
prohibited by law.” Such sign must be placed conspicuously over, beside, or on the door of each entrance to the 
licensed premises and must be clearly visible from the exterior when approaching such premises. (        )

03. Restaurants - When Minors Prohibited. For licensees that maintain a restaurant endorsement 
pursuant to Section 23-944(1), Idaho Code, and Subsection 010.04 of these rules, and wish to operate primarily 
serving alcoholic beverages after 9:00 p.m., the licensee must notify the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau of his 
intention of operating as a duel premises before operating in such a manner. (        )

a. The licensee must post an age restriction sign as required in Subsection 016.02 of these rules 
containing the following words in lettering of at least one (1) inch in height: “Persons under twenty-one (21) years of 
age prohibited after 9:00 p.m.” (        )

b. The licensee shall comply with Section 23-943, Idaho Code, restriction of minors, after 9:00 p.m.
(        )

04. Licensed Movie Theaters - When Minors Permitted. (        )

a. A movie theater that is licensed to sell alcoholic beverages by the drink, except for those theaters 
that qualify under Section 23-944(7), Idaho Code, during the times the movie theater is showing films may permit 
minors upon the premises. No age restriction posting is required and all alcoholic beverages must be secured, locked 
up and not available for sale or consumption. (        )

b. If the licensed movie theater chooses to have events other than the showing of films, such as 
comedy shows, theatrical plays, or concerts, age restriction signs signs must be posted as required in Subsection 
016.02 of these rules and persons under twenty-one (21) years of age must be prohibited from entering the premises 
during the times alcoholic beverages are sold, served, and consumed. (        )

05. Counterfeit or Altered Age Documents. If alcoholic beverage licensees, their employees, or 
agents receive age identification documents that have been lost or voluntarily surrendered, they must deliver the 
documents to an agent or investigator of the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau or to other law enforcement officials 
within fifteen (15) days from the date they were received, found, or voluntarily surrendered. When identification 
documents that appear to be mutilated, altered, or fraudulent are presented to a licensee, their employees or agents, 
they must contact law enforcement or refuse service, or both. (        )

017. CONDUCT OF LICENSED PREMISES.

01. Produce Records. Upon request of an agent of the director, a licensee, or anyone acting on his 
behalf, must produce any records required to be kept pursuant to Title 23, Chapters 9, 10, or 13, Idaho Code, and 
permit the agent of the director or peace officer to examine them and permit an inspection of the licensee’s premises 
in accordance with Sections 23-930 and 23-1006, Idaho Code. (        )

02. Premises Inspections. Upon request by a peace officer, a licensee, their employees, agents, or 
anyone acting on his behalf, must permit an inspection of the licensee’s premises. Any inspection performed pursuant 
to this rule must occur in accordance with Section 23-1011A, Idaho Code. (        )

03. Maintenance of Keg Receipts. Licensees must retain a copy of all completed keg receipts required 
by Section 23-1018, Idaho Code, for a period of six (6) months. (        )
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04. Violations. The failure to produce such records or to permit such inspection on the part of any 
licensee is a violation of these rules. A violation of these rules, federal or state law or local code or ordinance may 
subject the licensee to administrative sanctions pursuant to Sections 23-933, 23-1037 and 23-1331, Idaho Code. This 
rule is not intended to eliminate the protection provided in Section 23-807, Idaho Code. (        )

0158. -- 020. (RESERVED).

021. AGE RESTRICTION REQUIREMENTS.

01. Over/Under Clubs. Minors shall not enter, remain or loiter in any licensed establishment that sells 
alcohol by the drink except for those premises listed in Section 23-944, Idaho Code. (3-6-07)

02. Posting of Age Restriction Signs. Sections 23-945 and 23-1026, Idaho Code, require every 
alcoholic beverage licensee to post an age restriction sign. Such sign must contain the following words in lettering of 
at least one (1) inch in height: “Admittance of persons under twenty-one (21) years of age prohibited by law.” Such 
sign must be placed conspicuously over or on the door of each entrance to the licensed premises and must be clearly 
visible from the exterior approached to such premises. (3-6-07)

03. Counterfeit or Altered Age Documents. If alcoholic beverage licensees, their employees, or agents 
receive age identification documents which have been lost or voluntarily surrendered, they shall deliver the 
documents to an agent or investigator of the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau or to other law enforcement officials 
within fifteen (15) days from the date they were received, found or voluntarily surrenders. When identification 
documents that appear to be mutilated, altered or fraudulent are presented to a licensee, their employees or agents, 
they must contact law enforcement and/or refuse service. (3-6-07)

021. RESPONSIBLE RETAILER PROGRAM (RRP).

01. Seller/Server Training Program. Licensees operating establishments where alcoholic beverages 
are sold, dispensed, served or consumed on the premises are encouraged to ensure that each seller/server of alcoholic 
beverages employed on the premises completes an approved seller/server training program within sixty (60) days 
after the date the seller/server begins employment at the establishment. Participation in the RRP allows licensees to 
seek reduced penalties upon complying with seller/server training when the licensee has been issued an 
administrative violation that include Sections 23-603, 23-605, 23-615, 23-943, 23-1013, Idaho Code. (        )

02. Voluntary Server Training -- Verification Records -- Reduced Penalties. (        )

a. A seller/server of alcoholic beverages may complete an approved seller/server training program 
within sixty (60) days after the date the alcoholic beverage seller/server begins employment at a licensed 
establishment unless the seller/server has already completed an approved server-training program within the last three 
(3) years. (        )

b. Only the seller/server training programs listed here in Subsection 021.02.b., or otherwise approved 
by the director, will be recognized as complying with the provisions of these rules. (        )

i. “ServSafe Alcohol” programs of the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation.
(        )

ii. “TIPS” Training for Intervention Procedures programs of Health Communications, Inc. (        )

iii. Idaho State Police Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau training programs. (        )

iv. Internal licensee training programs with prior approval by the director. (        )

c. The licensee may seek reduced penalties upon documentation of approved training in accordance 
with the penalty schedule contained in these rules. The Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau reserves the right to impose 
reduced penalties based on aggravating circumstances involved in each violation. (        )
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d. To remain compliant with the RRP, licensees must: (        )

i. Maintain records of their sellers and servers approved training; (        )

ii. Show proof of training upon request of the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau; (        )

iii. Require any server/seller of alcoholic beverages to complete an approved server-training program 
every three (3) years; (        )

iv. Have less than (3) three violations within a (3) three year period. (        )

022. PENALTIES AND PENALTY SCHEDULES.
Pursuant to Sections 23-603, 23-614, 23-804, 23-901, 23-905, 23-932, 23-933, 23-933A, 23-1037 and 23-1331, 
Idaho Code, the following schedules are meant to serve as guidelines and are not an all-inclusive list of violations. 
Based on mitigating or aggravating circumstances, Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau may impose a different penalty, 
unless specified by statute, than the standard penalties outlined in these schedules. Penalties are calculated on 
violations that occur within a three-year (3) period and the mitigating or aggravating factors of each violation. More 
than four (4) violations in any category within a three-year (3) period may result in revocation. (        )

01. Category One Violations. The following violations directly concern public safety and are 
considered the most serious.

VIOLATION FIRST 
VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION

Sale/dispensing to 
intoxicated person.

23-605, 23-615, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

RRP: $500 RRP: $2,000 RRP: $5,000

Sale/dispensing to 
person under 21 
years of age.

23-603, 23-615, 23-
949, 23-1013, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

RRP: $500 RRP: $2,000 RRP: $5,000

Allowing a person 
under 21 years of 
age to loiter.

23-943, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1500 monetary 
penalty

90 days suspension 
or 45 days 
suspension and 
$4500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5000 monetary 
penalty

RRP: $500 RRP: $2000 RRP: $5,000

Failure to Admit 
Officer.

23-930, 23-1011A, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

90 days suspension 180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty
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(        )

02. Category Two Violations. The following violations concern conduct of the licensed premises that 
could indirectly involve public safety.

Allowing after hours 
consumption.

23-927, 23-1012, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

90 days suspension 
or 45 days 
suspension and 
$4,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Prohibited Acts of 
23-614, IC.

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

Conviction of 
Obscenity Laws.

23-933A, 23-1037A 
IC

6 months suspension 
required 

Revocation required

Gambling on licensed 
premises.

23-928, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

Possession/sale of 
liquor not purchased 
from the state liquor 
dispensary.

23-914, IC

Revocation

Re-pouring or reuse 
of liquor container.

23-926, IC

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

Possession or use of 
Alcohol without 
liquid device.

23-616, IC

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

VIOLATION FIRST 
VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION
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VIOLATION FIRST
VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD 
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION

Failure to lock up 
liquor.

23-927, IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1,000 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
or 90 days 
suspension and 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Failure to deface 
government or state 
stamp/label.

23-926, IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1,000 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Keg Sale violation.

23-1018, IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1,000 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Sale of Liquor by the 
bottle.

23-921, IC

30 days suspension or 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

60 days suspension or 
30 days suspension 
and $3,000 
monetary penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Revocation

Failure to Post 
Premises.

23-945, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1.000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Revocation

Submitting false 
application/hidden 
ownership.

23-905, 23-1010, 23-
1306, IC

Revocation

Employing a minor 
under 19 years of 
age to sell, serve or 
dispense.

23-943, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Selling liquor without a 
license.

23-938, IC

Revocation
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(        )

03. Category Three Violations. The following are violations of administrative requirements and are 
required to comply with licensing in Title 23, Idaho Code.

Alcoholic Beverage 
sales away from 
licensed premises.

23-928, IC & IDAPA
11.05.01.010.03

10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Sanitation rules for 
retailers.

23-1034, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Keep or maintain 
unlicensed room.

23-934, IC

180 days suspension 
or 90 days and a 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

Selling alcoholic 
beverages during 
the 31-day grace 
period after the 
license has expired.

23-908, 23-1010(7), 
23-1316, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1500 monetary 
penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5000 
monetary penalty

VIOLATION FIRST
 VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD 
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION

Illegal Advertising/Signs/
Brand.

23-607, 23-931, 23-1035, 
IC

Written warning 10 days suspension 
or 5 days 
suspension and 
$500 monetary 
penalty

30 days 
suspension or 
15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

Purchasing beer from 
other than a wholesaler.

23-1055, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

60 days 
suspension or 
30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

VIOLATION FIRST
VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD 
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION
Idaho Administrative Bulletin Page 232 October 7, 2009 - Vol. 09-10



IDAHO STATE POLICE Docket No. 11-0501-0901
Rules Governing Alcohol Beverage Control Proposed Rulemaking
(        )

04. Category Four Violations. The following are violations of the wholesaler, distributor, dealer, 
supplier and importer licensing requirements in Title 23, Idaho Code.

Purchasing Wine from 
other than a distributor.

23-1313, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

60 days 
suspension or 
30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Failure to sign/post 
license.

23-908, 23-916, 23-1009, 
23-1306, IC

Warning 10 days suspension 
or 5 days 
suspension and 
$500 monetary 
penalty

30 days 
suspension or 
15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

Failure to obtain required 
city/county licenses.

23-916, 23-1009, 23-1315, 
23-1318, IC

10 days suspension 
or $1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

60 days 
suspension or 
30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Tap markers.

23-1037, IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension 
or 10 days 
suspension and 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

60 days 
suspension or 
30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days suspension 
days suspension or 
90 days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

VIOLATION FIRST
 VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD 
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION

Financial aid giving/
receiving.

23-1033, 23-1325, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Extension of credit.

23-1031, 23-1326, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

VIOLATION FIRST
 VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD 
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION
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02. Public Information About Alcohol Beverage License Suspensions. On the date an alcohol 
beverage license suspension goes into effect, the licensee will post the suspension notice that has been issued by the 
Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau in a conspicuous place on or about the licensed premises. The notice will state that 
the license has been suspended by order of the Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau due to a violation of law or rule.

(        )

a. During the period of alcohol beverage license suspension, the licensee and employees: (        )

i. May not remove, alter, or cover the posted suspension notice and may not permit anyone else to do 
so. (        )

Restrictions on 
importation and 
distribution.

23-1028, 23-1309, 
23-1310, 23-1311, IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1000 monetary 
penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3000 monetary 
penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5000 
monetary penalty

Size of containers.

23-1030, 23-1327, IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1,000 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Violation of trade 
practices.

23-1033A, 23-1328A, 
IC

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1,000 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Prohibited Acts of  
23-1103, IC.

5 days suspension or 
$500 monetary 
penalty

20 days suspension or 
10 days suspension 
and $1,000 
monetary penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

180 days 
suspension days 
suspension or 90 
days suspension 
and $5,000 
monetary penalty

Failure to submit 
required reports.

23-1006, 23-1314, IC

Written warning 10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension 
or 15 days 
suspension and 
$1,500 monetary 
penalty

60 days suspension 
or 30 days 
suspension and 
$3,000 monetary 
penalty

Direct Shipper wine 
violations.

23-1309A, IC

10 days suspension or 
$1,000 monetary 
penalty

30 days suspension or 
15 days suspension 
and $1,500 
monetary penalty

90 days suspension 
or 45 days 
suspension 
$5,000 monetary 
penalty

Revocation

VIOLATION FIRST
 VIOLATION

SECOND 
VIOLATION

THIRD 
VIOLATION

FOURTH 
VIOLATION
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ii. May not place or permit the placement of any statement on the licensed premises indicating the 
premises have been closed for any reason other than as stated in the suspension notice. (        )

03. Emergency Administrative Proceedings. Pursuant to Section 67-5247, Idaho Code, upon 
competent evidence that there is an immediate danger to public health, safety or welfare at a licensed premises that 
requires immediate action, Alcohol Beverage Control shall issue an order to a licensee to cease and desist the sale of 
alcoholic beverages. The order shall include a brief, reasoned statement to justify both the decision that an immediate 
danger exists and the decision to cease and desist the sale of alcohol by the licensee. The order is effective when 
issued and reasonable notice shall be given to the licensee required to comply. (        )

0223. -- 999. (RESERVED).
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