MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA NATURAL RESOURCES INTERIM COMMITTEE

September 27, 2012 - 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. September 28, 2012 - 9:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Capitol Building - East Wing - Room EW 42 700 West Jefferson Street Boise, Idaho

Thursday, September 27, 2012

9:00 a.m. - 9:10 a.m. Call to Order – Roll Call

Opening Remarks

Approval of January 11, 2012 Minutes

 Co-chair Sen. Monty Pearce and Co-chair Rep. Dell Raybould

9:10 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Update – Idaho Department of Water Resources

Municipal Water Rights Act of 1996

Managed Recharge

Term License for Hydropower ESPA Water Delivery Calls

Conjunctive Management in the Big Wood

Basin

State Water Plan

Treasure Valley CAMP
Injection Well Rules
Storage Projects Update
ESPA Management

- Gary Spackman, Director, Idaho Department of Water Resources
- Brian Patton, Chief of Planning Division, Idaho Department of Water Resources

11:00 a.m. – Noon

Update – Henrys Fork Basin Study

Brian Patton, Chief of Planning Division,

Idaho Department of Water Resources

 Bob Schattin, Activity Manager, Bureau of Reclamation

Noon - 1:00 p.m.

Lunch on Your Own

1:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Tour of Existing Natural Gas Wells and Seismic Exploration Operation Underway Near Payette, Id Along with Presentations from Geophysicists and Engineers Relating to the Industry. (There may also be a Tour of Idaho Power's Langley Gulch Power Plant – Approval and Time Allowing.)

Tour Sponsored by the Idaho Petroleum Council

Friday, September 28, 2012

9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Regulation of Wastewater Discharges to Surface Water

Current Manner of Regulation

- Curt Fransen, Director, Department of Environmental Quality
- Barry Burnell, Water Quality Division Administrator, Department of Environmental Quality

Challenges Associated with Current Regulation

- Ken Harward, Executive Director, Association of Idaho Cities
- Paul Steinman, Chief Operations Officer, Idaho Transportation Department and Sue Sullivan, Environmental Section Manager, Idaho Transportation Department
- John Eaton, Idaho Association of REALTORS®

 Public Testimony – A Number of Those Testifying May Participate via Telephone Conference Call

Alternatives to Current Regulation

- Curt Fransen, Director, Department of Environmental Quality
- Barry Burnell, Water Quality Division Administrator, Department of Environmental Quality

Committee Discussion

12:30 p.m.

Closing Comments and Adjournment

Agenda items and/or times of presentations may be revised prior to the meeting. Please check the internet page noted below for the most recent information.

Members of the Committee:

Senator Monty Pearce, Co-chair

Senator Steve Bair Senator Jeff Siddoway Senator Lee Heider

Senator Michelle Stennett

Representative Dell Raybould, Co-chair

Representative Bert Stevenson Representative Scott Bedke Representative Mike Moyle Representative Donna Pence

Ad Hoc Members of the Committee:

Senator Dean Cameron Senator Bert Brackett Senator Shawn Keough Senator James Hammond Senator Elliot Werk Representative Ken Andrus Representative Frank Henderson Representative Paul Shepherd Representative Grant Burgoyne

** Live Audio Stream**

Link is on Idaho Legislature's Web site under "Announcements" www.legislature.idaho.gov

Link will also be on Idaho Public Television Web site: www.idahoptv.org/leglive