## MINUTES

HOUSE ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY, & TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE	
DATE:	Tuesday, January 10, 2012
TIME:	1:30 P.M.
PLACE:	Room EW41
MEMBERS:	Chairman Raybould, Vice Chairman Harwood, Representative(s) Anderson, Eskridge, Hartgen, Simpson, Schaefer, Vander Woude, Block, DeMordaunt, Gibbs, Nielsen, Thompson, Smith(30), Jaquet, Cronin
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	Representative(s) Anderson, Schaefer, and Vander Woude
GUESTS:	Reed Peterson and Mitch Powlsa, Bear Lake Regional Commission; Brenda Tominaga, Idaho Rural Water Association; Benjamin Davenport and Max Greenlee, Risch Pisca; Lynn Tominaga, Idaho Ground Water; Rich Hahn, Idaho Power; Jason Kreizenbeck, Lobby Idaho; John Eaton, Realtors; Ron Miller, Snake River Alliance; M. Alex Neiwirth, National Association of Government Employees
	Chairman Raybould called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.
	<b>Chairman Raybould</b> welcomed the committee and introduced the new attachés. <b>Jordan Wright</b> of Meridian will serve as House Page for the first half of the 2012 Session and <b>Jean Vance</b> of McCall will serve as committee secretary.
	Chairman Raybould announced the appointment of two subcommittee chairman for the review of the Administrative Rules. Rep. Hartgen will chair the Subcommittee on Water Quality. Committee members are: Representatives Anderson, Vander Woude, Block, Gibbs, Nielsen, Thompson and Jaquet. The Subcommittee on Air Quality and Hazardous Waste will be chaired by Rep. Harwood. Committee members are: Representatives Eskridge, Simpson, Schaefer, DeMordaunt, Smith(30) and Cronin.
	<b>Rep. Gibbs</b> introduced members of the Bear Lake Regional Commission who had given a presentation on joint management of Bear Lake by Idaho and Utah to the Department of Environmental Quality earlier in the day. The commissioners were invited to present that same subject before the Environment, Energy and Technology Committee on a future date.
	<b>Chairman Raybould</b> gave online directions for accessing the 343 page document of Administrative Rules to be reviewed by the Environment, Energy and Technology Committee. Committee members were advised to bring their laptops to the subcommittee meetings.
	In response to a question concerning the deadline for legislative action on the Administrative Rules, <b>Chairman Raybould</b> stated that the committee should be finished with its review by February 3.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

Jean Vance Secretary

Representative Raybould Chair