MINUTES

HOUSE COMMERCE & HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE

- DATE: Wednesday, January 25, 2012
- **TIME:** 1:30 P.M.
- PLACE: Room EW05
- **MEMBERS:** Chairman Block, Vice Chairman Hartgen, Representative(s) Lake, Trail, Marriott, Thayn, Simpson, Loertscher, Nesset, Ringo, King
- ABSENT/ Representative Trail
- EXCUSED:
- GUESTS: R. P. Maynard, Tom Limbaugh, Jane McClaran, Mindy Montgomery, Patti Vaughn, Lindsay Egbert, Idaho Industrial Commission; Dustin Kuck, Joe Webber, Michael Savoie, Karen Thiel, Donna Weast, Melody Rose, Chris Eismann, Kathy Osborn, Lee McCormick, Division of Human Resources; Brad Wills, BuildIdaho.org; Mitch Coffman, State Government Reporter; Dustin Hurst, IdahoReporter.com; Brandon Woolf, Idaho State Controller

Chairman Block called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m.

DOCKET NO. Ms. Patti Vaughn, Medical Fee Schedule Analyst, Idaho Industrial Commission presented **Docket No. 17-0209-1102**, which relates to the annual adjustment of medical reimbursement for workers' compensation medical services. Ms. Vaughn summarized changes to the conversion factors and pointed out a technical language correction.

A thorough question-and-answer period ensued regarding conversion factors, co-payment adjustments, fees and fee schedules.

- MOTION: Rep. Hartgen made a motion to approve Docket No. 17-0209-1102. Motion carried by voice vote.
- **DOCKET NO. 17-0211-1101: Ms. Jane McClaran**, Financial Officer, Idaho Industrial Commission, presented **Docket No. 17-0211-1101**, which relates to security requirements to ensure the protection of injured workers in the event of insolvency of a self-insured employer. The Commission focused its efforts during the past year on refining requirements for self-insured employers and conducted negotiated rulemaking through a subcommittee of the Commission's Advisory Committee.

Ms. McClaran summarized the changes, which include: expanding qualification requirements, providing more flexibility relating to security deposits, and providing improved accountability in reporting. Ms. McClaran thanked Committee member, **Rep. Nesset**, for his participation and contribution as a member of the Commission's Advisory Committee.

Committee members asked questions relating to patient compensation, additional workload and costs, number of self-insured counties (27 counties are self-insured), and national standards compared to Idaho.

Mr. Tom Limbaugh, Idaho Industrial Commission, took the podium to answer specific questions on standards of Idaho's self-insured employers compared to the national average.

- MOTION: Rep. King made a motion to approve Docket No. 17-0211-1101. Motion carried by voice vote.
- **RS 20971: Rep. Lake** presented **RS 20971**, which excludes travel and subsistence expense reimbursement when determining "Salary" for PERSI benefits. There is no fiscal impact to the General Fund.

Committee members pursued questions concerning the specific expenses that would be excluded.

MOTION: Rep. Loertscher made a motion to introduce RS 20971. Motion carried by voice vote.

Ms. Vicki Tokita, Administrator, Division of Human Resources, introduced her staff to the committee and presented a detailed PowerPoint report on: status of employee compensation, salary surveys, enhanced data compilation methods for employee turnover, change in employee compensation, and the new salary survey system called I-Perform, developed in partnership with the State Controller's office.

Mr. Brandon Woolf, Idaho State Deputy Controller, took the podium to speak to the specifics of the new I-Perform system, which was developed by using existing data from the I-Time system. **Ms. Kathy Osborn**, Division of Human Resources, demonstrated I-Perform via PowerPoint.

Ms. Tokita stressed that I-Perform is a tool only, and that conversation between supervisor and employee is most essential.

Committee members asked about confidentiality issues, accessibility by former employees, and cost to the agencies (\$850, with a fee of \$25 to single users, such as attorneys or human resource staff).

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 3:10 p.m.

Representative Block Chair

Jeanne Clayton Secretary