## **MINUTES**

## HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

**DATE:** Wednesday, January 09, 2013

**TIME:** 9:00 A.M. **PLACE:** Room EW41

**MEMBERS:** Chairman DeMordaunt, Vice Chairman Nielsen, Representatives Shepherd, Wills,

Bateman, Boyle, Agidius, Clow, Gestrin, Harris, Horman, Mendive, VanOrden,

Pence, Kloc, Ward-Engelking

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: Rep. Wills

**GUESTS:** 

Jennifer Swindell, Idaho Education News; Rob Winslow, Phil Homer, and Harold Ott, Idaho Association of School Administrators; Robin Nettinga, Penni Cyr, and Bart Marley, Idaho Education Association; Portia Flynn and Luci Willits, Idaho State Department of Education; Tracie Bent and Marilyn Whitney, Idaho State Board of Education; Kathleen Eld, Heather Hert, and Harlene McGee, Idaho High School Activities Association; Karen Echeverria and Jess Hansen, Idaho School Boards Association; Colby Cameron, Sullivan and Reberger; Jason Kretzenbeck, Lobby Idaho LLC; Jerry Helgeson

**Chairman DeMordaunt** called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

**Chairman DeMordaunt** had each member give a short introduction of themselves. He then introduced new Committee Secretary, **Lynn Walker**, new Page, **Rebecca Failing** and Intern, **Paige Cooper**.

**Chairman Demordaunt** informed the committee that he would like to meet briefly with each member to discuss goals and expectations for the coming session. The secretary was asked to contact members and schedule appointments within the next week.

**Chairman DeMordaunt** discussed proper decorum. Chairman Demordaunt also brought up that he would like the committee to utilize technology as much as possible as opposed to print copy. Those members who would prefer hard copy were asked to let the Secretary know of their preference.

**Chairman DeMordaunt** turned the meeting over to **Vice Chairman Nielsen** who assigned **Rep. Shepard** as Subcommittee Chairman for Department Rules, and **Rep. Bateman** as Subcommittee Chairman for Board Rules.

Vice Chairman Nielsen turned the meeting back to Chairman DeMordaunt, who assigned Committee members to Rules Subcommittees as follows:

Idaho Department of Education Rules, will be chaired by Rep. Shepard with participating members Reps. Horman, Boyle, Gestrin, Harris, Pence, Mendive, and DeMordaunt.

State Board of Education Rules, will be chaired by Rep. Bateman, with participating members Reps. Clow, Wills, VanOrden, Agiduis, Nielsen, Ward-Engelking, and Kloc.

**Chairman DeMordaunt** shared his "near term vision" for what the Committee can expect for the coming session, referencing some of the presentations that will be coming up.

adjourned at 9:50 a.m.		to come before the Committee, the meeting was
Representative De	eMordaunt	Lynn Walker Secretary