MINUTES

HOUSE ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY, & TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE

TIOUSE ENVIRONMENT, ENERGY, & TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE	
DATE:	Friday, March 22, 2013
TIME:	12:00 or Upon Adjournment
PLACE:	Room EW41
MEMBERS:	Chairman Raybould, Vice Chairman Eskridge, Representatives Anderson(1), Hartgen, Vander Woude, DeMordaunt, Nielsen, Thompson, Anderson(31), Anderst Mendive, Monks, Morse, Trujillo, Smith, Rusche, Woodings
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	Reps. Anderson(1), Vander Woude, Morse, and Rusche.
GUESTS:	Lynn Tominaga, IIPA; Dar Olberding, IGPA; Benjamin Kelly, Food Producers; Mark Duffin, Idaho Sugerbeet Growers; Bob Geddes, Monsanto; Elizabeth Criner, NWFPA/FWAA.
	Chairman Raybould called the meeting to order at 12:21 p.m.
MOTION:	Rep. Thompson made a motion to approve the minutes of March 20, 2013. Motion carried by voice vote .
SCR 127:	Rep. Eskridge presented SCR 127 which authorizes the continuum of an interim Energy, Environment, and Technology committee to undertake a study of energy environment and technology issues and to monitor the integrated state energy plan Due to the complexity and fast changing nature of the industry, it can be difficult for all issues to be addressed during the Legislative session. Rep. Eskridge provided examples of the potential committee focus during the interim, which may include; exploring barriers to the expansion of broadband services, coal generation, the Governor's leadership and nuclear energy, the attraction of high tech companies to Idaho and a report on use of federal stimulus funds on energy in public schools.
MOTION:	Rep. Thompson made a motion to send SCR 127 to the second reading calendar with DO PASS recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Eskridge will sponsor the resolution on the floor.
	Chairman Raybould recognized the services of Committee Secretary Lynn Walker.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 12:28 p.m.

Kathleen A. Simko Secretary

Representative Raybould Chair