
Dear Senators HEIDER, Nuxoll, Bock, and
Representatives WOOD, Perry, Rusche:

The Legislative Services Office, Research and Legislation, has received the enclosed rules of the

Bureau of Occupational Licenses - State Board of Optometry:

IDAPA 24.10.01 - Rules Pertaining to the State Board of Optometry - Proposed Rule (Docket No.
24-1001-1401).

Pursuant to Section 67-454, Idaho Code, a meeting on the enclosed rules may be called by the

cochairmen or by two (2) or more members of the subcommittee giving oral or written notice to Research

and Legislation no later than fourteen (14) days after receipt of the rules' analysis from Legislative

Services. The final date to call a meeting on the enclosed rules is no later than 08/27/2014. If a meeting is

called, the subcommittee must hold the meeting within forty-two (42) days of receipt of the rules' analysis

from Legislative Services. The final date to hold a meeting on the enclosed rules is 09/25/2014.

The germane joint subcommittee may request a statement of economic impact with respect to a

proposed rule by notifying Research and Legislation. There is no time limit on requesting this statement,

and it may be requested whether or not a meeting on the proposed rule is called or after a meeting has

been held.

To notify Research and Legislation, call 334-4834, or send a written request to the address on the

memorandum attached below.
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MEMORANDUM

TO: Rules Review Subcommittee of the Senate Health & Welfare Committee and the House Health
& Welfare Committee

FROM: Legislative Research Analyst - Elizabeth Bowen

DATE: August 08, 2014

SUBJECT: Bureau of Occupational Licenses - State Board of Optometry

IDAPA 24.10.01 - Rules Pertaining to the State Board of Optometry - Proposed Rule (Docket No. 24-1001-
1401)

The State Board of Optometry submits notice of proposed rulemaking at IDAPA 24.10.01. The proposed
rule requires optometrists to attend at least 12 hours of continuing education in each calendar year. The purpose
of the proposed rule is to prevent confusion. Under the current rule, optometrists must also complete 12 hours
of training in a year-long period, but the specific deadline to complete training depends on the optometrist's
date of license renewal. The Board wants to simplify the rule.

The effective date of the rule change would be January 1, 2017. There is no negative fiscal impact on the
state general fund. The Board did not conduct negotiated rulemaking. The rule is consistent with the Board's
authority under Section 54-1509(7), Idaho Code.

cc: Bureau of Occupational Licenses - State Board of Optometry
Tana Cory

Mike Nugent, Manager
Research & Legislation

Cathy Holland-Smith, Manager
Budget & Policy Analysis

April Renfro, Manager
Legislative Audits

Glenn Harris, Manager
Information Technology

Statehouse, P.O. Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720–0054

Tel: 208–334–2475
www.legislature.idaho.gov
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IDAPA 24 - BUREAU OF OCCUPATIONAL LICENSES

24.10.01 - RULES OF THE STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

DOCKET NO. 24-1001-1401

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING - PROPOSED RULE

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Section 67-5221(1), Idaho Code, notice is hereby given that this agency has 
initiated proposed rulemaking procedures. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-1509, Idaho Code.

PUBLIC HEARING SCHEDULE: Public hearing(s) concerning this rulemaking will be scheduled if requested in 
writing by twenty-five (25) persons, a political subdivision, or an agency, not later than August 20, 2014.

The hearing site(s) will be accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for accommodation must be made not 
later than five (5) days prior to the hearing, to the agency address below.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is a nontechnical explanation of the substance and purpose of the 
proposed rulemaking:

Effective January 1, 2017, the timeframe for obtaining continuing education will change from a licensee’s 
birthday to a calendar year. This change will lessen the confusion regarding when continuing education must be 
earned for license renewal.

FEE SUMMARY: The following is a specific description of the fee or charge imposed or increased: NA

FISCAL IMPACT: The following is a specific description, if applicable, of any negative fiscal impact on the state 
general fund greater than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) during the fiscal year resulting from this rulemaking: NA

NEGOTIATED RULEMAKING: Pursuant to Section 67-5220(2), Idaho Code, negotiated rulemaking was not 
conducted because The Board of Optometry is amending its continuing education rules to confer a benefit to its 
licensees. The benefit is establishing a clear deadline for obtaining continuing education for license renewal.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE: Pursuant to Section 67-5229(2)(a), Idaho Code, the following is a brief 
synopsis of why the materials cited are being incorporated by reference into this rule: NA

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS, SUBMISSION OF WRITTEN COMMENTS: For assistance 
on technical questions concerning the proposed rule, contact Cherie Simpson at (208) 334-3233.

Anyone may submit written comments regarding this proposed rulemaking. All written comments must be 
directed to the undersigned and must be delivered on or before August 27, 2014.

DATED this 3rd day of July, 2014.

Tana Cory
Bureau Chief
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St.
P O Box 83720 
Boise, ID 83720-0063
(208) 334-3233 tel
(208) 334-3945 fax
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THE FOLLOWING IS THE PROPOSED TEXT OF DOCKET NO. 24-1001-1401
(Only those Sections being amended are shown.)

300. CONTINUING EDUCATION IN OPTOMETRY (RULE 300).

01. Hours Required, Advance Approval. (        )

a. Until January 1, 2017, Eeach optometrist licensed by the state of Idaho shall attend in each twelve 
(12) month period preceding the renewal of a their license to practice optometry in Idaho, a minimum of twelve (12) 
full hours of post-graduate optometric education courses or meetings approved in advance by the Board of 
Optometry or post-graduate study sessions or seminars at an accredited school or college of optometry approved 
optometric continuing education courses or meetings. (        )

b. Effective January 1, 2017, each optometrist licensed by the state of Idaho shall attend in each 
calendar year prior to license renewal, a minimum of twelve (12) full hours of approved optometric continuing 
education courses or meetings. (        )

c. Approved optometric continuing education courses or meetings shall be those post-graduate 
optometric education courses or meetings approved in advance by the Board of Optometry or post-graduate study 
sessions or seminars at an accredited school or college of optometry. In addition, all Council on Optometric 
Practitioners Education (COPE) approved courses are approved for continuing education credit. If an optometrist 
attends or plans to attend a course of study or seminar which has not been approved in advance, he may petition the 
Board for approval of that educational course of study, setting forth a description of the course. The Board may, in its 
discretion, approve the course upon review of the material submitted either in advance or after completion of the 
course. (4-4-13)(        )

02. Additional Hours Required to Use Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents. (        )

a. Until January 1, 2017, Eeach optometrist licensed by the state of Idaho to use therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents shall attend in each twelve (12) month period preceding the renewal of a their license to 
practice optometry in Idaho, a minimum of six (6) additional full hours of post-graduate approved optometric 
courses or meetings approved in advance by the Board of Optometry or post-graduate study sessions or seminars at 
an accredited school or college of optometry. (        )

b. Effective January 1, 2017, each optometrist licensed by the state of Idaho to use therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents shall attend in each calendar prior to license renewal, a minimum of six (6) additional full 
hours of approved optometric courses or meetings. (        )

c. This six (6) hours of continuing education must be in courses involving ocular pharmacology and/
or advanced ocular disease and are in addition to the twelve (12) hours of continuing education required under 
Subsection 300.01. (7-1-93)(        )

03. Correspondence/Home Study Courses/Observation. The Board allows credit for 
correspondence courses, individual home study and observation that is germane to the practice of optometry. No 
more than six (6) hours of continuing education shall be permitted each year in correspondence courses or other 
continuing education obtained from “home study” courses or observation. (3-30-07)

04. Waiver of Requirements. The Board of Optometry shall waive the continuing education 
requirement for the first license renewal after initial licensure. The Board of Optometry may, upon application, waive 
the requirements of this rule in cases involving illness, unusual circumstances interfering with the optometrist’s 
ability to practice or inability to conform to the rules due to military duty. (3-15-02)

05. Renewal Application Form. Each licensed Idaho optometrist will be furnished a license renewal 
application form by the State Board of Optometry on which each optometrist shall attest on their annual license 
renewal application that they have satisfied the continuing education requirements. False attestation of satisfaction of 
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the continuing education requirements on a renewal application shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action.
(3-20-04)

06. Audit. The Board may conduct audits to confirm that the continuing education requirements have 
been met. In the event a licensee fails to provide the Board with acceptable documentation of the hours attested to on 
the renewal application, the license will not be renewed. (3-20-04)

07. Documentation of Attendance. It shall be necessary for each licensed Idaho optometrist to 
provide documentation verifying attendance or completion of continuing education by securing authorized 
signatures, documentation, or electronic verification from the course instructors, providers, or sponsoring institution 
substantiating any hours attended by the licensee. This documentation must be maintained by the licensee and 
provided upon request by the Board or its agent. (4-4-13)

08. Excess Hours. Continuing education hours, not to exceed six (6) hours, accumulated during the 
twelve (12) months immediately preceding a license renewal may be applied toward meeting the continuing education 
requirement for the following license renewal. A licensee may carryover a maximum of six (6) hours of continuing 
education to meet the next year’s continuing education requirement. Excess hours may be used only during the next 
renewal period and may not be carried forward more than one (1) year. (3-30-07)(        )
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