## MINUTES

## **HOUSE TRANSPORTATION & DEFENSE COMMITTEE**

**DATE:** Tuesday, February 24, 2015

TIME: 1:30 P.M.
PLACE: Room EW40

**MEMBERS:** Chairman Palmer, Vice Chairman Shepherd, Representatives Wills, Bateman,

Gestrin, Hixon, Kauffman, Packer, Youngblood, McDonald, Dixon, Harris, Holtzclaw,

Monks, King, Rudolph, Wintrow

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: Representative(s) Bateman, Kauffman

GUESTS: Dave Carlson, AAA; Don Williams, ISTC; Dennis Tanikuni, Idaho Farm Bureau;

Christine Fisher, ITD; Jonathan Parker, IAHD

**Chairman Palmer** called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Wintrow made a motion to approve the minutes from the February 12, 2015.

February 16, 2015, and February 18, 2015, meetings. Motion carried by voice

vote.

H 132: Suzanne Budge from the Idaho Petroleum Council, presented H 132 regarding

gaseous special fuels tax. Currently someone who owns and operates a motor vehicle powered by special fuels can purchase a gaseous fuel decal permit. This allows them to pay an annual fee in lieu of paying the equivalent motor fuel tax. This bill provides the definition of a gaseous special fuel, and defines the conversion factors for liquefied natural gas and compressed natural gas as a diesel gallon

equivalent, and gasoline gallon equivalent.

MOTION: Rep. McDonald made a motion to send H 132 to the floor with a DO PASS

recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Harris requested he be

recorded as voting NAY. Rep. Kauffman will sponsor the bill on the floor.

**H 147: Julie Hart**, Westerberg and Associates, presented **H 147** regarding rental fleets.

This bill adds provisions to registration requirements for cars owned by a rental company. It allows an alternative registration card and registration decals for

license plates to be issued by the rental company for those cars.

**MOTION:** Rep. Youngblood made a motion to send H 147 to the floor with a DO PASS

recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Youngblood will sponsor

the bill on the floor.

**Chairman Palmer** put the committee at ease at 1:38 p.m.

Chairman Palmer resumed the meeting at 1:45 p.m.

H 146: Rep. Luker presented H 146 regarding motor fuels, repeals, and refunds. He

explained to the committee, the fiscal impact changes. The original bill stated it would cause a positive \$8.5 million return to the fuel tax distribution formula. However, after more research the correct figure was \$432,261 that would return to the fuel tax distribution formula. This bill allows a rebate for fuels used outside of state or for certain off road uses. The revenues retained would be distributed according to the existing fuel tax distribution plan. He made clear to the committee

that this bill does not apply to special fuels.

**Dennis Tanikuni**, Assistant Director of Governmental Affairs of the Idaho Farm Bureau spoke **in opposition** to **H 146**. He stated this bill repeals the gasoline refund for a number of uses important to agriculture and all resource based industries.

ORIGINAL MOTION:	Rep. Gestrin made a motion to HOLD H 146 in committee.
SUBSTITUTE MOTION:	<b>Rep. King</b> made a substitute motion to send <b>H 146</b> to the floor with a <b>DO PASS</b> recommendation. <b>Motion failed by voice vote.</b>
ROLL CALL VOTE:	Rep. Packer called for a roll call vote on the original motion to HOLD H 146 in committee. Motion failed by vote of 6 AYE and 9 NAY, 2 Absent/Excused. Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. Shepherd, Wills, Gestrin, McDonald, Dixon, and Harris. Voting in opposition to the motion: Reps. Hixon, Packer, Youngblood, Holtzclaw, Monks, King, Rudolph, Wintrow, and Palmer. Reps. Bateman and Kauffman were Absent/Excused.
MOTION:	Rep. King made a motion to HOLD H 146 for time certain, March 2, 2015.
ROLL CALL VOTE:	Chairman Palmer called for a roll call vote on the motion to HOLD H 146 for time certain, March 2, 2015. Motion carried by a vote of 12 AYE and 3 NAY, 2 Absent/Excused. Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. Wills, Hixon, Packer, Youngblood, McDonald, Dixon, Holtzclaw, Monks, King, Rudolph, Wintrow, and Palmer. Voting in opposition to the motion: Reps. Shepherd, Gestrin, and Harris. Reps. Bateman and Kauffman were Absent/Excused.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 2:11 p.m.
Representative Page 1	, = ae
Chair	Secretary