## MINUTES

## HOUSE RESOURCES & CONSERVATION COMMITTEE

**DATE:** Tuesday, March 17, 2015

**TIME:** 1:30 pm or Upon Adjournment

PLACE: Room EW40

**MEMBERS:** Chairman Raybould, Vice Chairman Gestrin, Representative(s) Moyle, Andrus,

Shepherd, Wood, Boyle, Vander Woude, Gibbs, Miller, Bateman, Burtenshaw,

Mendive, VanOrden, Youngblood, Pence, Erpelding, Rubel

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: Representative(s) Moyle

GUESTS: Jay Wilson, self; Gary Scott, self; Charles Knapp, self; Greg Smith, IGPA; Danny L.

Prochoska, Summit Mining/IGPA; Ray Harrison, IGPA; Vernon Greenland and Paul D. Williams, NCPAA; Ron Hancock and Sarah Hancock, GPAA; Clyde D. Smith, self; Lisa Smith, self; Cleve Smith, self; David Claiborne, Sawtooth Law; Forrest Goodrum, Ada County Fish & Game League; Don Smith and Sandra Mitchell, Idaho Recreation Council; Sharon Kiefer, Idaho Fish & Game; Tim Luke, Idaho Department of Water Resources; Jarrod Bunker, self; Eldon Henthorn, self; Ken

Henthorn, self; Burk Mantel, self; Jim T. Jencks, self

Chairman Raybould called the meeting to order at 1:35 P.M.

**MOTION:** Rep. Boyle made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 11, 2015

meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

H 255: Rep. Shepherd presented H 255 which recognizes the de minimus nature

of suction dredge mining and ensures that this small business vocation is not encumbered with unreasonable regulations. This bill further clarifies that these suction dredge activities do not discharge or add pollutants into the involved waters and therefore not in need of regulation and do not need to be subject to the state

comprehensive water plans.

Don Smith, David Claiborne, Jay Wilson and Jarrod Bunker spoke in support of the bill citing principles iterated in the 1872 Mining Act and the "Organic Administration Act of 1897." Forrest Goodrum and Burk Mantel spoke in opposition stating concerns for fish habitat, state parks and wildlife management areas. Tim Luke, Water Compliance Bureau Chief with the Department of Water Resources, stated he was not testifying in support or in opposition, but that he did have concerns about its affect on comprehensive state water plans and that no

state agency or department is included in the permitting process.

**MOTION:** Rep. Wood made a motion to send H 255 to General Orders. He stated this bill

would amend the State comprehensive water plan and input is needed from the Water Resources Board, Water Users Association, groundwater appropriators

and others before it can be finalized.

**Rep. Bateman** and **Rep. Gibbs** spoke **in favor** of the motion based upon the opinions received from the Attorney General with concerns about comprehensive state water plans and protection of endowment lands. **Rep. Boyle** spoke **in** 

**opposition** to the motion stating a mining claim is a property right.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Roll call vote was requested. Motion to send H 255 to General Orders failed by a vote of 7 AYE, 10 NAY, 1 Absent/Excused. Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. Wood, Gibbs, Bateman, Burtenshaw, Pence, Rubel and Raybould. Voting in opposition to the motion: Reps. Gestrin, Andrus, Shepherd, Boyle, Vander Woude, Miller, Mendive, VanOrden, Youngblood and Erpelding. Rep. Moyle

was absent/excused.

MOTION: Rep. Erpelding made a motion to HOLD H 255 in committee. SUBSTITUTE Rep. Boyle made a substitute motion to send H 255 to the floor with a DO PASS **MOTION:** recommendation. Rep. Rubel spoke in opposition to the substitute motion saying it was constitutionally vague and could criminalize entry onto property to take minerals. Roll call vote was requested. Motion to send H 255 to the floor with a DO PASS **ROLL CALL** VOTE: recommendation carried by a vote of 9 AYE, 8 NAY, 1 Absent/Excused. Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. Gestrin, Andrus, Shepherd, Boyle, Vander Woude, Miller, Mendive, VanOrden and Youngblood. Voting in opposition to the motion: Reps. Wood, Gibbs, Bateman, Burtenshaw, Pence, Erpelding, Rubel and Raybould. Rep. Moyle was absent/excused. Rep. Shepherd will sponsor the bill on the floor. ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 3:07 P.M. Representative Raybould Bev Bean Secretary Chair