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Dear Parent,

Most of the time, it is very upsetting for families to be
contacted about child protection concerns. A Child
Protection worker is able to come to your home under
the authority of Idaho law. This law gives the Department
the authority to intervene in families where there are
concerns about a child's safety.

At first, our involvement may not feel very helpful. But
over time, we can help you and your family. This booklet
is one of the ways that we try to help families better
understand what they can expect to happen and how to
take action on behalf of their children.
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CPS is one of the activities of staff in local offices of the
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare. One of the
responsibilities of CPS social workers is to assess reports
of suspected child abuse and neglect. Their job is to
determine risk, if it exists, and help the family find solutions
that will protect children from harm while at the same

time strengthen the family unit so parents may raise their
children in a safe, healthful environment. The position of
the Department is that the best protection for a child is a
strong, supportive family.
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Idaho law says that any person who has reason to
believe that a child is being abused, neglected or
abandoned MUST report this to the Department or to
the police within 24 hours. Failure to report suspected
abuse, neglect or abandonment is a misdemeanor
(subject to penalties).

CPS received a report from someone who is concerned
that your children are not being given the protection or
care they need. CPS social workers cannot release the
name of this person to the family. Anyone who reports in
good faith is protected from any liability.
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The best way to determine if children are in danger

is to see them and their family in their home. The law
requires CPS to assess reports of suspected child
abuse, neglect or abandonment. A social worker will
want to talk to you and to your child. The staff will
sometimes talk to your child at school before talking to




( i(||'| | rolectiv Services \l :r-sn“\_ (_-Hi'}i

you. In addition, the staff will talk to at least one other
person who is close to, and knows about, your family.
A social worker may continue to visit your home to talk
about the difficulties you are having and to assist you in
making things safe for you and your family.
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A report of suspected child abuse/neglect/abandonment
may go to either CPS or to the local police. The police
are required to tell CPS about all reports they receive.
CPS is required to inform the police of all reports they
receive, and the police may choose to pursue a criminal
investigation.

If your child is believed to be in immediate danger

and in need of protection, a police officer will sign a
statement for temporary out-of-home care (shelter care).
The decision to remove a child from his home must be
approved by a judge at a shelter care hearing either
before the child is moved or within 48 hours of the time
police take the child into custody.
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Parents and their children often have troubles. When these
troubles seriously affect or present a danger to a child, this
may become child abuse or neglect as described by law.

Physical abuse: Injuries to children which are not
accidental and result in broken bones, bruises, burns, cuts
and other injuries.

Sexual abuse: Using children for sex acts, pornographic
pictures, prostitution or other types of sexual activity.

(_ |”!.| i .|_E>1|i\\ \||-1i|\\ \l (o1 H“\ (*IH I\

Neglect: Being without adequate care and control (food,
clothing, shelter or supervision).

Abandonment: Failure by a parent to maintain contact
with his/her child or to provide him/her with a home.
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Most of the children reported to CPS are not removed
from their homes. Children are removed from their parents’
home by law enforcement only when it appears necessary
to protect them from immediate harm. When this does
happen, we need your cooperation to help your child be
safe and feel secure in foster care.

Once removed, your child may be placed with relatives

or in a licensed foster home. Foster families provide care
for your child and receive a monthly payment to help

meet costs of caring for your child, such as food and
transportation. Your child and foster parents are supervised
by your assigned social worker as long as the child is out
of your home.

Some children are placed in a licensed group home or in
another facility, such as a hospital, if they need special
care. The social worker continues to have supervisory
responsibilities.
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« To be heard at a shelter care hearing within 48 hours
after your child's removal from your home (except for
weekends and holidays).

« To talk with a lawyer at any time and to have a lawyer
represent you in all court actions concerning your child or
affecting your rights.
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« To receive notice of, and to attend, any court actions held
regarding your child.

» To visit with your child unless the court limits visitation.
You, your social worker and, in some situations, the court
all work together to decide how often, when and where
you may visit your child.

« To have your concerns listened to and responded to with
respect.

* To be kept informed of your child’s health and
development, behavior and progress in school.

 To authorize medical treatment for your child.

+ To work together with your social worker in making plans
for you and your child, and to have a written copy of this
plan.

» To receive help and/or counseling to help resolve issues
that brought your child into care.

« To question service plan decisions such as
recommendations regarding your participation in certain
services.

« To know that the Department's records are confidential
and court procedures are not open to the public.
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If a petition has been filed in child protection court, you
have a right to be represented by a lawyer. If you cannot
afford one, tell the judge. He may either appoint one for
you or direct you to a public defender or legal aid office. If
you are able to pay for a lawyer, you are expected to hire
one on your own.
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* The right to be in the care of parents, relatives,

custodian or guardian unless otherwise ordered by the
court.

« The right to physical care with food, shelter, clothing and

education to meet basic needs.

The right to protection and freedom from harm,
harassment, danger, injury and neglect.

+ The right to emotional security and a safe, stable home

environment.

« The right to health care that includes diagnosis and

treatment of medical and emotional conditions.

The right to have rights protected during any court
process. A person called a guardian ad litem will be
appointed by the court to help protect your child’s rights.

The right to see family members who don't endanger
them, consistent with the court order.
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To provide information about your child. It is very
important that your social worker receive good
information to be certain your child gets the best care,
medically, educationally and emotionally.

To visit your child regularly at a time and place agreed
upon with your social worker. If you cannot visit, notify
your social worker before the scheduled visit.
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+ To help the foster family know your child's likes, dislikes \\\ . | |1 _ l .
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When a child has been removed from his/her home by
the police and is placed in shelter care, you are entitled

L to a shelter care hearing within 48 hours, except for
weekends and holidays. The hearing is to have a judge
decide if:

To provide your child with necessary clothes and
personal items, such as pajamas, toys or blankets, to
help your child be more comfortable.

» To work with your social worker in making a plan for you
and your child's future, including actions you need to

e » There is reasonable cause to believe your child comes

within the authority of the Child Protective Act (abused,

" neglected, abandoned); and
+ To work toward solving issues that may have caused

abuse or neglect. If your social worker encourages you
to go somewhere to get help for a problem, you should
follow up on that suggestion or talk to the social worker
about your concerns.

» The child should remain in shelter care until an
adjudicatory hearing is held.
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» To tell your social worker about important changes
in your life, such as changes of address, telephone Within 30 days of filing a petition under the Child
number, job, income, marriage or other living Protective Act by the county prosecutor, a hearing
arrangements, and changes affecting other members should be held. Witnesses may testify, and a judge will
of your family. listen to all evidence presented. As a result, the judge
may:

« To keep appointments with your social worker. If you
cannot keep an appointment or must cancel a visit, let + Dismiss the petition and return the child to your care;
your worker know in advance.

« Place your child under protective supervision of the

* To talk about your child’s care, progress and any Department of Health and Welfare, which means

concerns about your child that you might have. your child will be able to return home under certain
conditions; or
» To contribute to the cost of your child’s care, court-

ordered with child support. . Give legal custody to the Department, which means the
Department is responsible for determining where your
» To participate in court proceedings, reviews and child shall live and the court must agree before your
meetings regarding you and your child. child returns to your home.
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Having a permanent home to count on is very important
for a child. Removing a child from family is traumatic
and should be temporary whenever possible. When
possible, the goal of your social worker is to end shelter
placement and return children to a safe living situation in
their own homes.

You can help your child by working with your social
worker to develop a family plan. You will be encouraged
to involve others who care and are concerned about
your family, including other family members, friends,
minister, counselor, etc. The plan will say what needs

to be done to make it safe for your child to be at home,
who will do what, and how long this will take.

If returning your child to your home is not possible, other
options must be considered, such as living permanently
with a relative or adoption. The discussion and decision
about a permanent home will involve the parents,
Department staff and the court. Only a judge can make
the final decision about a permanent home for your
child.

It is very important to understand that your child must
have a permanent home within 15 months. Once your
child is removed from your home, the clock starts. This
clock is controlled by state and federal laws. If you are
unable to provide a safe and permanent home for your
child within 15 months, the Department will move forward
with permanency for your child.
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Some families have difficulties that are very, very hard to
change, such as long-time and serious drug abuse with
no attempts to get treatment. If this is true for your family,

your social worker will discuss a two-parent family service
plan, called a concurrent plan. In this plan, you will work
on two things at once:

(1) Making your home a safe and stable place so your
child can return, and

(2) Helping prepare your child for another permanent
home in case you are not successful with efforts to bring
the child home.
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An open discussion with your social worker usually
resolves most disagreements. However, if you and they
are not able to agree on a solution, ask to speak to your
worker's supervisor.

If you, the supervisor and the social worker still cannot
agree, you may want to talk to the regional program
manager or regional director for the Department of
Health and Welfare.

If a petition under the Child Protective Act has been
filed, you also should tell your lawyer about any
disagreements between you and your social worker. You
may even bring these disagreements to the attention of
the judge, who may be able to help resolve them.
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Department social workers have several roles. They
assess reports of abuse, neglect and abandonment.
They also help parents with their special needs and
work with children and families to help them relate to
each other in a positive way without threat of harm.
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Your social worker can provide many services to deal \Y/| - !
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with family concerns or refer you to more appropriate
agencies or individuals. Most child protection services
are provided free without regard to your income. Some
services will require you to pay an amount based on
your income.

The law called the Child Protective Act can be found in the
reference section of major libraries, through your lawyer
or at all county courthouses (ask the clerk of the court),
chapters 1601 through 1629 of Title 16 (Volume 3 of the

Here are some of the services your social worker MAY Idaho Code).

be able to help you find (not every one of them will be
available in every county):

Also, ask for an appointment to review the Family and
Community Services Practice Manual at your local office.
This manual has the written agency rules to be followed

e 24-hour crisis hotline , : e s
when doing a risk assessment or providing services.

« Domestic violence/sexual assault programs

« Family and marital counseling

« Housing/clothing/financial assistance

» Drug and alcohol abuse programs

» Parenting classes

* Mental health services

» Health services/medical/dental care

* Child care/day care

+ Employment services

« Homemaker services

« \Volunteer assistance: parent aides, Parents
Anonymous

* Food banks

« Transportation services

» Family planning services

* Legal services

Being a parent can be a frustrating, exciting and
exhausting experience at times. Your social worker
wants to help you find ways to understand, enjoy and
care for your children. It should not hurt to be a child —
neither should it hurt to be a parent.
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Family and Children's Services
Regional Offices

Region 1

1250 Ironwood Drive
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814
Office: 769-1515
24-hour emergency:
769-1543

Region 2

1118 F Street
Lewiston, ID 83501
Office: 799-4360
24-hour emergency:
799-4360

Region 3

3402 Franklin Road
Caldwell, ID 83605
Office: 455-7000
24-hour emergency:
454-0421

Region 4

1720 Westgate Drive
Boise, |ID 83704
Office: 334-6800
24-hour emergency:
334-0808

Region 5

60! Pole Line Road
Twin Falls, 1D 83301
Office: 734-4000
24-hour emergency:
734-4000

Region 6

1070 Hiline Road
Pacatello, ID 83201
Office: 239-6200
24-hour emergency:
235-2525

Region 7

150 Shoup Avenue
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Office: 528-5911
24-hour emergency:
528-5900

or call:
Idaho CareLine « United Way *
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™
Get Connected. Get Answers.

Dial 2-1-1 or 1-800-926-2588




