Attachment 1
Actual Use Rules

" e Actual Use Idaho Code 23-932 gives the director of the Idaho State Police the authority for rulemaking.
e ABC Duties
e Issuance and regulation of alcohol licensing
e Manufacture, transportation & sale of beer & wine
* Regulate the sale of liquor-by-the-drink by retail licensees
¢ 5,000 licenses issued annually to wineries, breweries, distributors, retail establishments,
and direct shippers who ship wine into Idaho from other states.

Quota System

e 1 for every for every 1,500 population within an incorporated city.

e Currently 862 quota system licenses issued

® Limited number of licenses and a higher demand in some cities & so Idaho law allows the licenses to be
transferred between private parties.

® The value a license is different in different locations of Idaho due to various factors but to give you an
idea here are the current values around the state:

City Current Value # Quota # Priority Wait
Licenses List

Boise $160,000 137 65
Coeur d’Alene $202,000 31 23
Idaho Falls $165,000 38 14
Lewiston $166,000 22 4

Pocatello $77,000 36 17
Twin Falls $95,000 31 10
Ketchum $233,000 10 9

*The highest price paid for a liquor license transfer was in Ketchum for $335,000 in 2010

e Priority waiting list for liquor licenses
¢ Modifications to Idaho Code and to IDAPA to try and ensure these licenses are used once they are
issued, and that they are not just received and placed into a drawer.
® Actual use not defined anywhere in Idaho Code nor in rule.
o 2014 6 cases litigated and 11 in 2015
o Costly to litigate and it is usually in the thousands of dollars

® Minimum requirement to keep liquor licenses in good standing.
e A definition of “actual use” will keep ABC and licensees wasting resources on litigation



Rule Process

® Rule process started summer 2014 with notice of negotiated rulemaking. No comment from public or
industry

® Sought information from industry by contacting associations and then by survey before writing rule so
that the smallest/most remote licensees wouldn’t have their license at risk.

How many days a week were they are open.

How many hours a day are the open.

How many liquor drinks they sold per day on the days they were open.

If they experienced a “busy” and a “slow” season and how the liquor-by-the-drink sales were

affected on per day sales.

O O O O

e This information is what ABC used to arrive at the requirement of 20 hours per week and the 20 liquor-
by-the-drink sales per week.
* Idaho Code §23-908(4)] that newly issued liquor licenses be put into “actual use” 6 days a week & 8
hours a day for the first 6 months.
e Actual use beyond that time frame.
o Not dictating what days of the week
o Open for “legitimate” sales of liquor 20-hours per week
o Individual licensee to decide when to be open for these 20-hours.
o Standard to allow remote business to operate within the confines of the rules, but also provides
the agency with an enforceable standard when liquor licenses are not in “actual” use.
o NO current licensee that is open that would be in violation of this rule if adopted.

e When liquor licenses are being used properly the state of Idaho benefits from the following:
o Revenue from the purchase of liquor from the Idaho State Liquor Division (ISLD).
o Creation of jobs
o Taxrevenue

e Dormant liquor frustration for priority waiting list.

e Complaints that quota system licenses are not in actual use.

Due Process

¢ Issue notice when aware of a liquor license not being in use a letter
® Loss or move of physical location have tools in place for licensee
o 90-days to find a suitable premises
o Authority to grant a 60-day extension
 This rule does not affect specialty liquor licenses. This is due to specialty liquor license issuance being
restricted by a location meeting specific physical requirements (e.g. minimum square footage,
minimum amount of water frontage, number of golf holes with a minimum yardage, etc.).
® Beer and wine licenses also to do not have an actual use requirement.
® Supported by the Idaho Licensed Beverage Association (ILBA)
e Clarity for regulators & license holders
e No property right to a liquor license.
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