MINUTES

HOUSE REVENUE & TAXATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Thursday, January 26, 2017

TIME: 9:00 A.M.

PLACE: Room EW42

MEMBERS: Chairman Collins, Vice Chairman Trujillo, Representatives Moyle, Raybould,

Anderst, Dayley, Hartgen, Kauffman, Chaney, Nate, Thompson, Gestrin,

Stevenson, Troy, Erpelding, Gannon

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: Rep. Erpelding

GUESTS: Don Anderson, Alan Dornfest, Pam Waters, Cynthia Adrian, Marni Odermann,

Doreen Warren, Don Williams, Idaho State Tax Commission; Miguel Legarreta, ATI; Jane Wittmeyer, Wittmeyer and Associates; Francoise Cleveland, AARP Idaho;

Donna Yule, IPEA; Elizabeth Criner, ISDA, NWFPA

Chairman Collins called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M.

MOTION: Rep. Dayley made a motion to approve the minutes of Monday, January 23, 2017.

Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Trujillo made a motion to approve the minutes of Tuesday, January 24,

2017. Motion carried by voice vote.

RS 24985: Jim Clark, JC and Associates, presented RS 24985 concerning limits on vacation

rentals. The proposed legislation will provide a statewide standard for the taxation

of online lodging marketplaces.

MOTION: Rep. Thompson made a motion to introduce RS 24985. Motion carried by voice

vote.

RS 25047C1: Rep. Moyle presented RS 25047C1 concerning a revision to individual and

corporate tax. The proposed legislation will implement various tax reductions and

provide tax exemptions for individuals.

MOTION: Rep. Anderst made a motion to introduce RS 25047C1. Motion carried by voice

vote.

RS 25048: Rep. Trujillo presented RS 25048 concerning personal property tax exemptions.

The proposed legislation raises the \$100,000 exemption mark to \$250,000.

MOTION: Rep. Anderst made a motion to introduce RS 25048. Motion carried by voice

vote.

H 29: Cynthia Adrian, Tax Policy Specialist, Idaho State Tax Commission, presented H

29 concerning the grocery tax credit amount. This bill removes obsolete language.

MOTION: Rep. Thompson made a motion to send H 29 to the floor with a DO PASS

recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Gestrin will sponsor the bill

on the floor.

H 30: Alan Dornfest, Property Tax Bureau Chief, Idaho State Tax Commission, presented

H 30 concerning electric utilities. The legislation creates a specific amount to be

included in the capitalization rate to account for flotation costs.

MOTION: Rep. Trujillo made a motion to send H 30 to the floor with a DO PASS

recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Trujillo will sponsor the bill

on the floor.

H 31: Alan Dornfest, Idaho State Tax Commission, presented H 31 concerning property tax relief. The legislation deals with the income determination for the circuit breaker property tax exemption program. The amendment would exclude the nontaxable portion of the Roth IRA distribution to correct distribution complications. MOTION: Rep. Chaney made a motion to send H 31 to the floor with a DO PASS recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Chaney will sponsor the bill on the floor. H 32: Marni Odermann, Idaho State Tax Commission, presented H 32 concerning nonresident vehicle sales tax exemptions. The legislation amends Idaho Code **63-3622R** to create congruency between registration periods and harmonize language across various exemptions. MOTION: Rep. Nate made a motion to send H 32 to the floor with a DO PASS recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Nate will sponsor the bill on the floor. H 33: Don Williams, Tax Policy Specialist, Idaho State Tax Commission, presented H 33 concerning wine direct shipper permits. The legislation makes a technical correction that adds "wine direct shippers" to existing Idaho Code to allow Idaho State Police Alcohol Beverage Control to revoke a wine shipper permit for failure to comply with state laws. MOTION: Rep. Troy made a motion to send H 33 to the floor with a DO PASS recommendation. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Troy will sponsor the bill on the floor. ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 9:42 A.M. Representative Collins Fred Swanstrum Secretary Chair