

NATIONAL CONFERENCE of STATE LEGISLATURES

2018 Legislator Compensation Information

4/16/2018



Annually, NCSL collects legislative salary and per diem information from all 50 states. This information is presented in the table below.

Every other year, NCSL conducts a broader survey on legislative compensation, including information on mileage reimbursement, office supplies and benefits. In 2018, NCSL decide wait to collect this information until the majority of states were out of session. The results o survey will be available by the fall of 2018. For the most up to date look at the type of information available from these surveys, please see NCSL's 2016 Legislator Compensation page.

LEGISLATIVE SALARIES AND PER DIEM

STATE	BASE SALARY	PER DIEM
Alabama	\$46,257	Alabama legislators no longer receive a set per diem rate while in session. Legislators are reimbursed for in-state travel expenses whinclude mileage and per diem in accordance with rates and proced applicable to state employees. All out-of-district reimbursable trave must be for official business and in the interests of the state or in the performance of official duties, as approved by the applicable presidofficer.
Alaska	\$50,400	\$275/day. Tied to the federal rate.
Arizona	\$24,000	\$35/d for legislators who live in Maricopa County; \$60/d for legislat who live outside of Maricopa County.
Arkansas	\$40,188	\$155 for legislators who live more than 50 miles from the Capitol; \$ for legislators who live less than 50 miles from the Capitol.
California	\$107,241	\$192/d for each day in session.
Colorado	\$30,000	85 percent of federal per diem for members living outside Denver; \$45/d for members who live 50 or fewer miles from the capitol (V). by the legislature.
Connecticut	\$28,000	No per diem is paid.
Delaware	\$45,291	No per diem is paid.
Florida	\$29,697	\$152/d based on the number of days in Tallahassee (V).
Georgia	\$17,342	\$173/d (U). Set by the Legislative Services Committee.

STATE	BASE SALARY	PER DIEM
Hawaii	\$62,604	\$225/d
Idaho	\$17,358	\$129/d for members establishing a second residence in Boise; \$49 no second residence is established and up to \$25/d travel (V). Set the compensation commission.
Illinois	\$67,836	\$111/session day.
Indiana	\$25,945	\$173/d (U)
Iowa	\$25,000	\$168/d
Kansas	\$88.66/day (C)	\$144/d
Kentucky	\$188.22/day (C)	158/d
Louisiana	\$22,800	\$164/d
Maine	\$10,131	\$38/d lodging (or mileage and tolls up to \$38/d in lieu of housing). \$32/d meals. Set by statute.
Maryland	\$50,330	\$47/d meals. \$106/d lodging.
Massachusetts	\$62,548	No per diem is paid.
Michigan	\$71,685	\$10,800/y expense allowance for session and interim (V). Set by the compensation commission.
Minnesota	\$45,000	\$86/d for senators; \$66/d for representatives.
Mississippi	\$23,500	\$144/day
Missouri	\$35,915	\$115.20/day
Montana	\$90.64/day (L)	\$114/d
Nebraska	\$12,000	\$144/d for members residing 50 miles or more from the capitol; \$5′ for members residing inside the 50-mile radius.
Nevada	\$150.71/day for legislators elected in 2016, \$146.29/day for midterm legislators	\$142/d.
New Hampshire	\$200/2-y term.	No per diem is paid.
New Jersey	\$49,000	No per diem is paid.

STATE	BASE SALARY	PER DIEM
New Mexico	None	\$161/day
New York	\$79,500	\$174/d (including overnight) or \$59/d (no overnight).
North Carolina	\$13,951	\$104/d (U). Set by statute.
North Dakota	\$177/day (C)	Up to \$1,682/m lodging (V).
Ohio	\$60,584	No per diem is paid.
Oklahoma	\$38,400	\$154/d
Oregon	\$24,216	\$144/d
Pennsylvania	\$87,180	\$183/d
Rhode Island	\$15,630	No per diem is paid.
South Carolina	\$10,400	\$202.03 (L)
South Dakota	\$6,000/session	\$144/d (L) (U).
Tennessee	\$22,667	\$229/d
Texas	\$7,200	\$190/d (U). Set by ethics commission.
Utah	\$273/day (C)	Up to \$100 plus tax/d (C) lodging; up to \$42/date meals (V). Tied to state lodging and meal reimbursement rates.
Vermont	723.27/week	\$125/d lodging (including overnight) or \$69/d (no overnight).
Virginia	\$18,000/y Senate; \$17,640/y House.	\$203/d
Washington	\$47,776/y; increases to \$48,731/y eff. 9/1/2018.	\$120/d.
West Virginia	\$20,000	\$131/d (U). Set by compensation commission.
Wisconsin	\$50,950	Senate - up to \$115/d (\$57.50/d Senators living in Dane County). Assembly - up to \$157d (including overnight) or up to \$78.50/d (no overnight). The maximum number of days per year that per diem could be claimed is 90 days.
Wyoming	\$150/day	\$109/d (V). Set by legislature.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2018

- (C) = Calendar Day, (L) = Legislative Day
- (V) = Vouchered, (U) = Unvouchered

John Mahoney is a policy specialist in the NCSL Center for Legislative Strengthening.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Members Resources

- · Get Involved With NCSL
- · Jobs Clearinghouse
- · Legislative Careers
- · NCSL Staff Directories
- · Staff Directories
- · StateConnect Directory
- · Terms and Conditions

Policy & Research Resources

- · Bill Information Service
- · Legislative Websites
- · NCSL Bookstore
- State Legislatures Magazine

Accessibility Support

- Tel: 1-800-659-2656 or 711
- · Accessibility Support
- · Accessibility Policy

Meeting Resources

- Calendar
- · Online Registration

Press Room

- Media Contact
- NCSL in the NewsPress Releases

Denver

7700 East First Place Denver, CO 80230

Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-780

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite Washington, D.C. 20001

Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-106