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A PARENT’S GUIDE TO ASSESSMENTS OF 

ABUSE, NEGLECT, OR ABANDONMENT 

CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES 

WHAT ARE MY RIGHTS? 

• To know what was reported 

• To request referrals and services 

• To obtain a copy of your records 

• To appeal a substantiated decision 

• To obtain an attorney  

• To refuse to talk to Child and Family 
Services 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

DO I NEED AN ATTORNEY? 

You can contact an attorney at anytime. 
However, a safety assessment is not a 
criminal investigation. If court intervention is 
needed, the court will notify you of the steps 
to obtain an attorney.  

Boise 
1720 Westgate Dr. 

Boise, ID 83704 

P: 208-334-6800 

Caldwell 
3402 Franklin Rd. 

Caldwell, ID 83605 

P: 208-455-7000 

Coeur d’Alene 
1250 ironwood Dr. 

Coeur d’Alene, ID 

P: 208-769-1515 

Idaho Falls 
150 Shoup Ave. 

Idaho Falls, ID 83402 

P: 208-528-5911 

Lewiston 
1118 F St. 

Lewiston, ID 83501 

P: 208-799-4360 

Pocatello 
1070 Hiline Rd. 

Pocatello, ID 83201 

P: 208-239-6200 

Twin Falls 
601 Pole Line Rd. 

Twin Falls, ID 83301 

P: 208-528-5911 
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LOCAL CFS OFFICE LOCATIONS 

HELPFUL RESOURCES 

Benefit Programs  

(SNAP, Medicaid, etc.) 

1-877-456-1233 

Child Support 

1-800-356-9868 

2-1-1 Idaho CareLine 

2-1-1 or  

1-800-926-2588  

Visit 211.idaho.gov 

Report Child Abuse 

or Neglect 

1-855-552-5437 or 

1-208-334-5437 

(Treasure Valley) 

Idaho Department of Health and Welfare 

healthandwelfare.idaho.gov  

Live Better Idaho 

livebetteridaho.org 

(state and community services and resources) 



WHAT IS THE PROCESS? 

A social worker will conduct an assessment to 
ensure your child is safe. This includes making 
home visits, conducting interviews, and 
gathering information to make a safety 
decision.  

Child interviews occur at the school, daycare, 
hospital, police station, Health and Welfare, a 
child advocacy center, or at home.  

The social worker will speak to people who 
have first-hand knowledge of your family such 
as friends, neighbors, teachers, counselors, 
doctors, and relatives.  

After the social worker completes the safety 
assessment, you will be contacted about the 
results and will have the opportunity to discuss 
any questions you have. 

If abuse or neglect occurred, you could be 
placed on the Idaho Child Abuse and Neglect 
Registry for a substantiated incident. You have 
the right to appeal the decision within 28 days 
as well as receive a copy of your records. You 
can request a copy of your records at  http://
publicrecordsrequest.dhw.idaho.gov/ or by 
contacting your local office.  

WHY IS THIS HAPPENING? 

There has been a report of potential abuse, 
neglect, or abandonment of a child. Idaho law 
requires anyone who believes a child is being 
abused, neglected, or abandoned to report it 
within 24 hours. The identity of the person who 
made the report is confidential, but you have a 
right to know what was reported.  

WILL MY CHILD BE REMOVED? 

Children are only removed in the most serious 
situations. Social workers cannot remove 
children. In order for children to be removed 
from their home, a police officer must declare 
children to be in imminent danger, or a judge 
can sign an order to remove children. 

If this happens, a civil, not criminal, court 
process begins with the primary goal of 
reunifying children with their parents.  

We believe children should be with their 
parents. If abuse or neglect has happened, the 
social worker will help your family make a plan 
to keep everyone safe.  

DO I HAVE TO TALK TO THE SOCIAL 
WORKER? 
 
No. You can refuse entry into your home and 
access to your children. But if the safety of 
your children cannot be determined, the 
social worker may request assistance from the 
police or seek a court order. 

You are encouraged to voluntarily talk with 
the social worker to help understand what led 
to the referral and to tell your side of the 
story.  

The goal is to resolve these matters as soon as 
possible and minimize involvement with your 
family.  

CAN THE SOCIAL WORKER TALK TO 
MY CHILD? 
 
Yes. The social worker is required to see and 
speak to all children who live in your home, 
including children in shared custody 
situations. The social worker is required to 
contact you immediately, or as soon as 
possible, after interviewing your children. 

HOW CAN I HELP? 

Child and Family Services (CFS) understands this 
is a stressful time for you and your family. 
Please stay calm and do your best to cooperate, 
accurately describe the facts, and share your 
concerns. You can ask as many questions as you 
need to. 

http://publicrecordsrequest.dhw.idaho.gov/
http://publicrecordsrequest.dhw.idaho.gov/

