MINUTES HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE:	Wednesday, January 09, 2019
TIME:	9:00 A.M.
PLACE:	Room EW41
MEMBERS:	Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Shepherd, Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Goesling, Marshall, Raymond, Wisniewski, McCrostie, Abernathy, Berch
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	None
GUESTS:	Helen Price, State Department of Education; Dennis Stevenson, Rules Coordinator; Harold Ott, IRSA/IASA; Matt Compton, IEA; Quinn Perry, ISBA
	Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:00 am.
MOTION:	Rep. McCrostie made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 8, 2019, meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.
	Chairman Clow noted although approval of minutes will not be an agenda item, it will happen on an ongoing basis. He encouraged Committee members to be punctual and efficient with their questions to keep meetings as short as possible.
	Eric Milstead , Director, Legislative Services Office, gave a brief overview of the administrative rules approval process and reminded the Committee that rules review is a legislative duty authorized in state statute and the Idaho Constitution. He noted Ryan Bush will be the drafting attorney for any resolutions regarding rules that the Committee rejects in whole or in part.
	Dennis Stevenson , Administrative Rules Coordinator for Idaho, reviewed the three options available to a committee when reviewing administrative rules: reject a rule in its entirety, reject in part, or approve in entirety. He noted the Committee only has pending rules to review this year and if approved, no further action is necessary for the rules to take effect.
	In response to Committee questions, Mr. Stevenson clarified the smallest portion of a rule that can be rejected is a subsection, which is designated alphabetically or numerically. Any pending rules rejected by the Committee, either in part or whole, must also be rejected by the Senate to be removed from the final rules. He also stated the Committee has the authority to review any rule that has already been codified and is not limited to the pending rules before the Committee this year.
	Vice Chairman Kerby said there will be two subcommittees for rules review and Reps. Moon and Ehardt will chair.
	Chairman Clow reminded guests if they want to be recorded as attending a meeting, they must sign in.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 9:19 am.

Representative Clow Erica McGinnis
Chair Secretary