MINUTES HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Thursday, March 28, 2019

TIME: 8:30 A.M.

PLACE: Room EW41

MEMBERS: Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Shepherd, Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Goesling, Marshall, Raymond, Wisniewski, McCrostie, Abernathy (Nye), Berch

ABSENT/ None EXCUSED:

GUESTS: Greg Wilson, Governor's Office; Harold Ott, IRSA/IASA; Clark Corbin, Idaho Ed News

Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 8:33 am.

- MOTION: Rep. Goesling made a motion to approve the minutes of the March 26, 2019 meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.
- **H 194aaS: H 194aaS** was brought before the Committee again for consideration of the Senate amendments. **Chairman Clow** explained the amendment provides an effective date of July 1, 2020 for the bill.
- MOTION: Rep. Mendive made a motion to concur with the amendments made in the Senate to H 194aaS. Motion carried by voice vote. Rep. Clow will sponsor the bill on the floor.
- **RS 27164: Rep. DeMordaunt** presented **RS 27164**, which regards adaptive learning technologies as they relate to literacy intervention. The proposed legislation further defines requirements for adaptive learning technology tools to include a parental engagement and involvement component, ability to use the tool at home and the requirement for the tool to be used with fidelity, per the instructions of the vendor.
- MOTION: Vice Chairman Kerby made a motion to introduce RS 27164.

In response to Committee questions, **Rep. DeMordaunt** explained the digital materials are not required to be on the approved provider list to allow teachers uninhibited choice of tools. An independent, external evaluator is used to give a more comprehensive evaluation and if the vendor does not meet performance criteria, they will be cut.

VOTE ON Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION:

Chairman Clow updated the Committee on opportunities available during the interim. He also stated he will request to send **S 1061aa** to General Orders and explained the proposed amendments.

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 9:07 am.

Representative Clow Chair

Erica McGinnis Secretary