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IDAPA 24 – DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES
24.06.01 – RULES FOR THE LICENSURE OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS 

AND OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANTS

DOCKET NO. 24-0601-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is the 
adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-3717, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24:

IDAPA 24.06
• 24.06.01, Rules for the Licensure of Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules. 
The Occupational Therapy Licensure Board licenses individuals who meet a national education standards and 
qualifications to therapeutically use everyday life activities to help individuals or groups participate in roles and 
situations in home, school, the workplace, community, and other settings. These rules public health, safety, and 
welfare through ensuring those who work with vulnerable members of our society are ethical in their practice and 
possess and maintain the education and training to assess and treat people who need services in order to function in 
everyday life activities.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or 
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-3712, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies 
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing 
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to 
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that 
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL FEE
(Not to Exceed)

Initial Licensure for Occupational Therapists $80 $40

Initial Licensure for Occupational Therapy Assistants $60 $30

Limited Permit or Temporary License $25
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ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator
Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses
700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945

Reinstatement Fee As provided in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code

Inactive License Renewal $20

Inactive to Active License
The difference between the 

current inactive and active license 
renewal fees

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL FEE
(Not to Exceed)
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24.06.01 – RULES FOR THE LICENSURE OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS 
AND OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANTS

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
Pursuant to Section 54-3717(2), Idaho Code, the Occupational Therapy Licensure Board of Idaho is authorized to 
promulgate rules that implement the provisions of Chapter 37, Title 54, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.06.01, “Rules for the Licensure of Occupational Therapists and Occupational 
Therapy Assistants.” (3-20-20)T

002. -- 009. (RESERVED)

010. DEFINITIONS.

01. Client-Related Tasks. Client-related tasks are routine tasks during which the aide may interact 
with the client but does not act as a primary service provider of occupational therapy services. (3-20-20)T

02. Direct Line-of-Sight Supervision. Direct line-of-sight supervision requires the supervisor’s 
physical presence when services are being provided to clients by the individual under supervision. (3-20-20)T

03. Direct Supervision. Direct supervision requires daily, in-person contact by the supervisor at the 
site where services are provided to clients by the individual under supervision. (3-20-20)T

04. Evaluation. Evaluation is the process of obtaining and interpreting data necessary for treatment, 
which includes, but is not limited to, planning for and documenting the review, specific observation, interviewing, 
and administering data collection procedures, which include, but are not limited to, the use of standardized tests, 
performance checklists, and activities and tasks designed to evaluate specific performance abilities. (3-20-20)T

05. General Supervision. General Supervision requires in-person or synchronous interaction at least 
once per month by an occupational therapist and contact by other means as needed. Other means of contact include, 
but are not limited to, electronic communications such as email. (3-20-20)T

06. Routine Supervision. Routine Supervision requires in-person or synchronous interaction at least 
once every two (2) weeks by an occupational therapist and contact by other means as needed. Other means of contact 
include, but are not limited to, electronic communications such as email. (3-20-20)T

011. SUPERVISION.
An occupational therapist shall supervise and be responsible for the patient care given by occupational therapy 
assistants, limited permit holders, aides, and students. An occupational therapist’s or occupational therapy assistant’s 
failure to provide appropriate supervision in accordance with these rules is grounds for discipline. (3-20-20)T

01. Occupational Therapy Assistants. Occupational therapy assistants must be supervised by an 
occupational therapist. General Supervision must be provided at a minimum. (3-20-20)T

02. Limited Permit Holders. Limited permit holders must be supervised by an occupational therapist 
or occupational therapy assistant. Direct supervision must be provided at a minimum. The occupational therapist is 
responsible for the overall use and actions of the limited permit holder. (3-20-20)T

03. Occupational Therapy Aides. Occupational therapy aides do not provide skilled occupational 
therapy services. An aide must be trained by an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant to perform 
specifically delegated tasks. The occupational therapist is responsible for the overall use and actions of the aide. The 
occupational therapist must oversee the development, documentation, and implementation of a plan to supervise and 
routinely assess the ability of the occupational therapy aide to carry out non-client related and client-related tasks. 
The occupational therapy assistant may contribute to the development and documentation of this plan. (3-20-20)T

a. The following factors must be present when an occupational therapist or occupational therapy 
assistant assigns a selected client-related task to the aide: (3-20-20)T

i. The outcome of the assigned task is predictable; (3-20-20)T

ii. The situation of the client and the environment is stable and will not require that judgment, 
interpretations, or adaptations be made by the aide; (3-20-20)T
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iii. The client has demonstrated some previous performance ability in executing the task; and
(3-20-20)T

iv. The task routine and process have been clearly established. (3-20-20)T

b. Before assigning client-related and non-client related tasks to an aide, the occupational therapist or 
occupational therapy assistant must ensure that the aide is able to competently perform the task. (3-20-20)T

c. The occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant must train the aide to perform client-
related and non-client related tasks at least once per month. (3-20-20)T

d. An aide must perform client-related tasks under the direct line-of-sight supervision of an 
occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant. (3-20-20)T

e. Occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants must document all training and 
supervision of an aide. (3-20-20)T

04. Students. Students must be under the direct on-site supervision of an occupational therapist or 
occupational therapy assistant who is appropriately supervised by an occupational therapist. The occupational 
therapist is responsible for the overall use and actions of the student. (3-20-20)T

05. Supervision Requirements. Supervision is the direction and review of service delivery, treatment 
plans, and treatment outcomes. Unless otherwise specified in this rule, General Supervision is the minimum level of 
supervision that must be provided. Methods of supervision may include, but are not limited to, Direct Line-of-Sight 
Supervision, Direct Supervision, Routine Supervision, or General Supervision, as needed to ensure the safe and 
effective delivery of occupational therapy. (3-20-20)T

a. An occupational therapist and an occupational therapy assistant must ensure the delivery of 
services by the individual being supervised is appropriate for client care and safety and must evaluate: (3-20-20)T

i. The complexity of client needs; (3-20-20)T

ii. The number and diversity of clients; (3-20-20)T

iii. The skills of the occupational therapist assistant, aide, or limited permit holder; (3-20-20)T

iv. The type of practice setting; (3-20-20)T

v. The requirements of the practice setting; and (3-20-20)T

vi. Other regulatory requirements applicable to the practice setting or delivery of services. (3-20-20)T

b. Supervision must be documented in a manner appropriate to the supervised position and the setting. 
The documentation must be kept as required by Section 013 of these rules. (3-20-20)T

c. Supervision must include consultation at appropriate intervals regarding evaluation, intervention, 
progress, reevaluation and discharge planning for each patient. Consultation must be documented and signed by the 
supervisor and supervisee. (3-20-20)T

012. DEEP THERMAL, ELECTROTHERAPEUTIC, MECHANICAL PHYSICAL AGENT 
MODALITIES, AND WOUND CARE.

01. Qualifications. Except as provided in Subsection 012.02 of these rules, a person may not utilize 
occupational therapy techniques involving deep thermal, electrotherapeutic, or mechanical physical agent modalities 
or perform wound care management unless the person is licensed by the Board as an occupational therapist and 
certified by the Hand Therapy Commission. In lieu of being certified by the Hand Therapy Commission, the person 
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must have obtained education and training as follows. (3-20-20)T

a. If the person utilizes techniques involving deep thermal, electrotherapeutic, or mechanical physical 
agent modalities, the person must have successfully completed thirty (30) contact hours in the application of deep 
thermal, electrotherapeutic modalities, and mechanical physical agent modalities, along with forty (40) hours of 
supervised, on-the-job or clinical internship or affiliation training pertaining to such modalities. (3-20-20)T

b. If the person manages wound care, the person must have successfully completed fifteen (15) 
contact hours in wound care management, along with forty (40) hours of supervised, on-the-job or clinical internship 
or affiliation training pertaining to wound care management. (3-20-20)T

c. If the person utilizes both deep thermal, electrotherapeutic, or mechanical physical agent modalities 
and manages wound care, the forty (40) hours of supervised components may be obtained concurrently. (3-20-20)T

02. Obtaining Education and Supervised Training. A student occupational therapist, graduate 
occupational therapist, and an occupational therapist may utilize deep thermal, electrotherapeutic, or mechanical 
physical agent modalities or manage wound care while working towards obtaining the education and supervised 
training described in Section 012 of these rules. The supervisor must provide at least direct supervision to the student 
occupational therapist, and at least routine supervision to the graduate occupational therapist or occupational 
therapist. An occupational therapy assistant may apply deep thermal, electrotherapeutic, or mechanical physical agent 
modalities under routine supervision if the occupational therapy assistant has obtained the education and training 
described in this section. Otherwise, the occupational therapy assistant must work under direct line-of-sight 
supervision while applying such modalities. (3-20-20)T

03. Supervised Training by Qualified Individual. The supervised training described in Section 012 
of these rules must be provided by an occupational therapist who is qualified pursuant to Subsection 012.01, or by 
another type of licensed health care practitioner whose education, training, and scope of practice enable the 
practitioner to competently supervise the person as to the modalities utilized and wound care management provided.

 (3-20-20)T

013. RECORD KEEPING.
Occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants must maintain adequate records that are consistent with 
the standard business practices of the setting in which the licensee is providing occupational therapy or supervision 
and that show necessary client care, supervision provided by the licensee, and compliance with regulatory 
requirements applicable to the setting. (3-20-20)T

014. -- 019. (RESERVED)

020. GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE.

01. Applicant. The Board may refuse licensure if it finds the applicant has engaged in conduct 
prohibited by Section 54-3718, Idaho Code; provided, the Board shall take into consideration the rehabilitation of the 
applicant and other mitigating circumstances. (3-20-20)T

02. Education. Each applicant shall provide evidence of successful completion of the academic 
requirements of an educational program in occupational therapy that is accredited by the American Occupational 
Therapy Association’s Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE), or by a predecessor or 
successor organization recognized by the United States Secretary of Education, the Council for Higher Education 
Accreditation, or both. (3-20-20)T

03. Examination. Each applicant shall either pass an examination required by the Board or shall be 
entitled to apply for licensure by endorsement or limited permit. (3-20-20)T

a. The written examination shall be the examination conducted by the National Board for 
Certification in Occupational Therapy, Inc. (NBCOT) and the passing score shall be the passing score established by 
the NBCOT. (3-20-20)T
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b. An applicant for licensure by examination who fails to pass the examination on two (2) attempts 
must submit a new application. (3-20-20)T

021. APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE.

01. Licensure by Endorsement. An applicant may be eligible for licensure without examination if he 
or she meets all of the other qualifications prescribed in Section 54-3709, Idaho Code, and also holds a current valid 
license or registration from some other state, territory or district of the United States, or certified by the National 
Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy providing they meet Idaho standards and are equivalent to the 
requirements for licensure pursuant to these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Limited Permit. The Board may issue a Limited Permit to a graduate occupational therapist or 
graduate occupational therapy assistant who meets the requirements set forth by Sections 54-3706(1) and 54-3706(2), 
Idaho Code, who has not yet passed the examination as required in Paragraph 020.04.a. of these rules. (3-20-20)T

a. A Limited Permit shall only allow a person to practice occupational therapy in association with and 
under the supervision of a licensed occupational therapist. (3-20-20)T

b. A Limited Permit shall be valid six (6) months from the date of issue. (3-20-20)T

c. A Limited Permit may be extended by the Board for good cause. (3-20-20)T

04. Temporary License. The Board may issue a temporary license to a person applying for licensure 
as an occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant if the person is currently licensed and in good 
standing to practice in another jurisdiction and meets that jurisdiction’s requirements for licensure by endorsement.

(3-20-20)T

a. A temporary license shall automatically expire once the Board has processed the person’s 
application for licensure and issued or denied the applied-for license, or in six (6) months after the date on which the 
Board issued the temporary license, whichever is sooner. (3-20-20)T

05. Personal Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, require the applicant to appear for a personal 
interview. (3-20-20)T

022. WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE.
An applicant who, or whose license, has a criminal conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended 
sentence for any crime under any municipal, state, or federal law other than minor traffic offenses, or has been subject 
to discipline by any state professional regulatory agency or professional organization must submit with the 
application a written statement and any supplemental information establishing the applicant’s current suitability for 
licensure. (3-20-20)T

01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board shall consider the following factors or 
evidence: (3-20-20)T

a. The severity or nature of the crime or discipline; (3-20-20)T

b. The period of time that has passed since the crime or discipline under review; (3-20-20)T

c. The number or pattern of crimes or discipline or other similar incidents; (3-20-20)T

d. The circumstances surrounding the crime or discipline that would help determine the risk of 
repetition; (3-20-20)T

e. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of occupational therapy; (3-20-20)T

f. The applicant's activities since the crime or discipline under review, such as employment, 
education, participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors that may be evidence of current 
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rehabilitation; and (3-20-20)T

g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. (3-20-20)T

02. Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (3-20-20)T

03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing the applicant’s 
current suitability for licensure. (3-20-20)T

023. -- 024. (RESERVED)

025. CONTINUING EDUCATION.
In order to protect public health and safety and promote the public welfare, the Board has adopted the following 
continuing education requirement of all licensees: (3-20-20)T

01. Requirement. Each licensee shall successfully complete, in the twelve (12) months preceding 
license renewal, a minimum of ten (10) contact hours of continuing education, as approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

a. One (1) contact hour is equivalent to one (1) clock hour for the purpose of obtaining continuing 
education. (3-20-20)T

b. The Board shall waive the continuing education requirement for the first license renewal after 
initial licensure. (3-20-20)T

02. Attestation. The licensee must attest, as part of the annual license renewal process, that the 
licensee is in compliance with the continuing education requirement. (3-20-20)T

03. Courses and Activities. At least five (5) contact hours must directly relate to the delivery of 
occupational therapy services. The remaining contact hours must be germane to the practice of occupational therapy 
and relate to other areas of a licensee’s practice. A licensee may take online or home study courses or self-
competency assessments, as long as a course completion certificate is provided. (3-20-20)T

a. The delivery of occupational therapy services may include: models, theories or frameworks that
relate to client care in preventing or minimizing impairment, enabling function within the person/environment or 
community context. (3-20-20)T

b. Other areas may include, but are not limited to, occupation based theory assessment/interview
techniques, intervention strategies, and community/environment as related to the licensee’s practice. (3-20-20)T

c. Continuing education acceptable to the Board includes, but is not limited to, programs or activities 
sponsored by the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), the Idaho Occupational Therapy 
Association (IOTA), or National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT); post-professional 
coursework completed through any approved or accredited educational institution; or otherwise meet all of the 
following criteria:

(3-20-20)T

i. The program or activity contributes directly to professional knowledge, skill, and ability;
(3-20-20)T

ii. The program or activity relates directly to the practice of occupational therapy; and (3-20-20)T

iii. The program or activity must be objectively measurable in terms of the hours involved. (3-20-20)T

04. Carry Over and Duplication. A maximum of ten (10) continuing education hours may be carried 
forward from the immediately preceding year, and may not be carried forward more than one renewal year. If the 
licensee completes two (2) or more courses having substantially the same content during any one (1) renewal period, 
the licensee only will receive continuing education credit for one (1) of the courses. (3-20-20)T
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05. Documentation. A licensee need not submit documentation of continuing education when the 
licensee renews a license. However, a licensee must maintain documentation verifying that the licensee has 
completed the continuing education requirement for a period of four (4) years from the date of completion. A licensee 
must submit the verification documentation to the Board if the licensee is audited by the Board. A percentage of 
occupational therapists and certified occupational therapy assistants will be audited every year. Documentation for all 
activities must include licensee’s name, date of activity or when course was completed, provider name, course title, 
description of course/activity, and number of contact hours. (3-20-20)T

a. Continuing education course work. The required documentation for this activity is a certificate or 
documentation of attendance. (3-20-20)T

b. In-service training. The required documentation for this activity is a certificate or documentation of 
attendance. (3-20-20)T

c. Professional conference or workshop. The required documentation for this activity is a certificate 
or documentation of attendance. (3-20-20)T

d. Course work offered by an accredited college or university, provided that the course work is taken 
after the licensee has obtained a degree in occupational therapy, and the course work provides skills and knowledge 
beyond entry-level skills or knowledge. The required documentation for this activity is a transcript. (3-20-20)T

e. Publications. The required documentation for this activity is a copy of the publication. (3-20-20)T

f. Presentations. The required documentation for this activity is a copy of the presentation or program 
listing. Any particular presentation may be reported only once per reporting period. (3-20-20)T

g. Interactive online courses and evidence-based competency assessments. The required 
documentation for this activity is a certificate or documentation of completion. (3-20-20)T

h. Development of instructional materials incorporating alternative media such as video, audio and/or 
software programs to advance professional skills of others. The required documentation for this activity is a program 
description. The media/software materials must be available if requested during audit process. (3-20-20)T

i. Professional manuscript review. The required documentation for this activity is a letter from the 
publishing organization verifying review of manuscript. A maximum of five (5) hours is allowed per renewal period 
for this category. (3-20-20)T

j. Guest lecturer for occupational therapy related academic course work (academia not primary role). 
The required documentation for this activity is a letter or other documentation from instructor. (3-20-20)T

k. Serving on a professional board, committee, disciplinary panel, or association. The required 
documentation for this activity is a letter or other documentation from the organization. A maximum of five (5) hours 
is allowed per renewal period for this category. (3-20-20)T

l. Level II fieldwork direct supervision of an occupational therapy student or occupational therapy 
assistant student by site designated supervisor(s). The required documentation for this activity is the name of 
student(s), letter of verification from school, and dates of fieldwork. (3-20-20)T

06. Exemptions. A licensee may request an exemption from the continuing education requirement for 
a particular renewal period for reasonable cause. The licensee must provide any information requested by the Board 
to assist in substantiating the licensee’s need for a claimed exemption: (3-20-20)T

026. -- 029. (RESERVED)

030. INACTIVE STATUS.
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01. Request for Inactive Status. Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants 
requesting an inactive status during the renewal of their active license must submit a written request and pay the 
established fee. (3-20-20)T

02. Inactive License Status. (3-20-20)T

a. Licensees may not practice in Idaho while on inactive status. (3-20-20)T

b. All continuing education requirements will be waived for any year or portion thereof that a licensee 
maintains an inactive license and is not actively practicing or supervising in Idaho, subject to Subsection 030.03 of 
these rules. (3-20-20)T

03. Reinstatement to Full Licensure from Inactive Status. (3-20-20)T

a.  Return to Active Status of License - Inactive for Five (5) or Fewer Years. An inactive license 
holder whose license has been inactive for five (5) or fewer years may convert from inactive to active license status 
by: (3-20-20)T

i. Providing documentation to the Board showing successful completion within the previous twelve 
(12) months of the continuing education requirements for renewal of an active license; and (3-20-20)T

ii. Paying a fee equivalent to the difference between the current inactive fee and the active renewal 
fee. (3-20-20)T

b. Return to Active Status of License - Inactive for Greater than Five (5) Years. An inactive license 
holder whose license has been inactive for greater than five (5) years may convert from inactive to active license 
status by: (3-20-20)T

i. Providing documentation to the Board showing successful completion within the previous twelve 
(12) months of the continuing education requirements for renewal of an active license; and (3-20-20)T

ii. Providing proof that the licensee has actively engaged in the practice of occupational therapy in 
another state or territory of the United States for at least three (3) of the immediately preceding five (5) years, or 
provide proof that the licensee is competent to practice in Idaho. (3-20-20)T

iii. The Board may consider the following factors when determining proof of competency: (3-20-20)T

(1) Number of years of practice prior to transfer from active status; (3-20-20)T

(2) Employment in a field similar to occupational therapy; and (3-20-20)T

(3) Any other factors the Board deems appropriate. (3-20-20)T

031. (RESERVED)

032. DENIAL OR REFUSAL TO RENEW, SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE.

01. Disciplinary Authority. A new application may be denied or renewal refused, and every person 
licensed pursuant to Title 54, Chapter 37, Idaho Code and these rules is subject to discipline, pursuant to the 
procedures and powers established by and set forth in Section 54-3718, Idaho Code, IDAPA 04.11.01, “Idaho Rules 
of Administrative Procedure of the Attorney General,” and the Administrative Procedure Act, Title 67, Chapter 52, 
Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

02. Grounds for Discipline. In addition to the grounds set forth in Section 54-3718, Idaho Code, 
applicants may be denied or refused licensure and licensees are subject to discipline upon the following grounds, 
including but not limited to: (3-20-20)T
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a. Obtaining a license by means of fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment of material facts;
(3-20-20)T

b. Being guilty of unprofessional conduct or violating the Code of Ethics in Appendix A, incorporated 
herein by reference governing said licensees, including the provision of health care which fails to meet the standard 
of health care provided by other qualified licensees in the same community or similar communities, taking into 
account the licensee’s training, experience and the degree of expertise to which he holds himself out to the public;

(3-20-20)T

c. The unauthorized practice of medicine; (3-20-20)T

d. Failure to properly supervise persons as required in these rules. (3-20-20)T

03. Penalties. In addition to any other disciplinary sanctions the Board may impose against a licensee, 
the Board may impose a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) per violation, or in such greater amount as the 
Board may deem necessary to deprive the licensee of any economic advantage gained by the licensee through the 
conduct that resulted in discipline and that reimburses the Board for costs of the investigation and disciplinary 
proceedings. (3-20-20)T

033. -- 040. (RESERVED)

041. FEES.

(3-20-20)T

042. STANDARDS OF PRACTICE FOR TELEHEALTH

01. Determining Type of Evaluation. In making the determination whether an in-person evaluation or 
intervention are necessary, an occupational therapist shall consider at a minimum: (3-20-20)T

a. The complexity of the client's condition; (3-20-20)T

b. His or her own knowledge, skills and abilities; (3-20-20)T

c. The client's context and environment; (3-20-20)T

d. The nature and complexity of the intervention; (3-20-20)T

e. The pragmatic requirements of the practice setting; and (3-20-20)T

FEE TYPE AMOUNT
(Not to Exceed)

RENEWAL FEE
(Not to Exceed)

Initial Licensure for  
Occupational Therapists $80 $40

Initial Licensure for  
Occupational Therapy Assistants $60 $30

Limited Permit or Temporary License $25

Reinstatement Fee As provided in Section 67-2614, 
Idaho Code.

Inactive License Renewal $20

Inactive to Active License The difference between the current inactive 
and active license renewal fees
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f. The capacity and quality of the technological interface. (3-20-20)T

02. Supervision of Occupational Therapy Assistant. Supervision of Occupational Therapy Assistant 
under 24.06.01.011 for routine and general supervision, can be done through telehealth, but cannot be done when 
direct or direct line-of-sight is determined by the supervising occupational therapist. The same considerations in 
(1)(a) through (f) must be considered in determining whether telehealth should be used. (3-20-20)T

043. -- 999. (RESERVED)

APPENDIX A
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY CODE OF ETHICS

PREAMBLE

All Occupational Therapists, Occupational Therapy Assistants, and Limited Permit Holders (collectively, 
“occupational therapy personnel”) are responsible for maintaining and promoting the ethical practice of occupational 
therapy. Occupational therapy personnel shall act in the best interest of the patient/client at every level of practice. 
This Code of Ethics, modeled in principle and the spirit of the Code of Ethics of the American Occupational Therapy 
Association, sets forth principals for the ethical practice of occupational therapy for occupational therapy personnel. 
This Code of Ethics shall be binding on all occupational therapy personnel.

Principle 1.
Occupational therapy personnel shall demonstrate, a concern for the well-being of the recipients of their services. 
(beneficence).

Principle 2.
Occupational therapy personnel shall take reasonable precautions to avoid imposing or inflicting harm upon the 
recipient of services or to his or her property. (nonmaleficence)

Principle 3.
Occupational therapy personnel shall respect the recipient and/or their surrogate(s) as well as the recipient's rights. 
(autonomy, privacy, confidentiality)

Principle 4.
Occupational therapy personnel shall achieve and continually maintain high standards of competence. (duties)

Principle 5.
Occupational therapy personnel shall comply with laws and policies guiding the profession of occupational therapy. 
(justice)

Principle 6.
Occupational therapy personnel shall provide accurate information about occupational therapy services. (veracity)

Principle 7.
Occupational therapy personnel shall treat colleagues and other professionals with fairness, discretion, and integrity. 
(fidelity)


