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IDAPA 25 – IDAHO OUTFITTERS AND GUIDES LICENSING BOARD
DOCKET NO. 25-0101-2000F (FEE RULE)

NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING – ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rule being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is the 
adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a 
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 36-2107, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons 
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 25:

IDAPA 25
• 25.01.01 Rules of the Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the 
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and 
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide 
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and 
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine 
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fee(s) or charge(s) being 
imposed or increased is justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fee(s) is described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 36-2108, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies 
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing 
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to 
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that 
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:
• Outfitters: application fee: $400; annual license fee online: $400; annual license fee offline: $450; late 

penalty: $150; major amendment: $200; and minor amendment: $35.
• Designated Agents: application fee: $50; annual license fee online: $140; annual license fee offline: $160; 

major amendment: $20; and minor amendment: $20.
• Guides: application fee: $20; annual license fee online: $105; annual license fee offline: $115; major 

amendment: $20; and minor amendment: $20.

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary 
rule, contact Lori Thomason at (208) 327-7380.

DATED this February 18, 2020.

Lori Thomason, Executive Director
Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board
1365 North Orchard Street #172
Boise, Idaho 83706
Phone: (208) 327-7380
Fax: (208) 327-7382
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IDAPA 25 – IDAHO OUTFITTERS AND GUIDES LICENSING BOARD

25.01.01 – RULES OF THE OUTFITTERS AND GUIDES LICENSING BOARD

000. LEGAL AUTHORITY.
These rules have been promulgated in accordance with the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act and pursuant to 
authority granted in the Outfitters and Guides Act. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 25.01.01, “Rules of the Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board.” The purpose is to 
implement, administer, and enforce the Act to establish uniform standards for licensing outfitted and guided activities 
to protect the public and protect, enhance, and facilitate management of Idaho's fish, wildlife, and recreational 
resources. (3-20-20)T

002. DEFINITIONS.
The Act defines certain terminology applicable to its interpretation and administration (Section 36-2102, Idaho 
Code). Further definitions, for the purposes of enforcement of the Act and these Rules are: (3-20-20)T

01. Act. Title 36, Chapter 21, Idaho Code, commonly known as the Outfitters and Guides Act, as 
amended. (3-20-20)T

02. Allocated Tag. A hunting tag that has been allocated by the IFGC pursuant to section 36-408(4), 
Idaho Code.  (3-20-20)T

03. Authorized Person. An investigator or enforcement agent in the employ of the Board, a 
conservation officer of the IFGC, or any local, state, or federal law enforcement officer. (3-20-20)T

04. Booking Agent. Any individual, firm, business, partnership, or corporation that makes 
arrangements for the use of the services of a licensed outfitter and receives compensation therefore. A booking agent 
does not supply personnel or facilities and services to outfitter clientele. (3-20-20)T

05. Capped Zone. A game management area, unit or zone for which the Idaho Fish and Game 
Commission has limited or “capped” the number of deer or elk tags available for use in a general season hunt.

(3-20-20)T

06. Classified River. For the purpose of these rules, specific sections of some whitewater river or 
streams which are considered more hazardous than others have been designated “classified.” Classified rivers are 
denoted by an asterisk (*) in the list of rivers contained in Subsection 059.01. (3-20-20)T

07. Compensation or Consideration. The receipt or taking of goods, services, or cash in exchange for 
outfitted or guided activities. A bona fide charging of out-of-pocket travel expenses by members of a recreational 
party is not deemed compensation. However, such out-of-pocket expenses may not include depreciation, 
amortization, wages, or other recompense. (3-20-20)T

08. Controlled Hunt. A hunt for a species that has a season structure and other conditions determined 
by the IFGC and that has a limited number of tags that are distributed by random drawing to hunters. (3-20-20)T

09. Desert. A region of scarce rainfall and vegetation in areas often having great differences between 
day, night and seasonal temperatures. A desert is a land surface ranging from level, plateau land, or undulating to 
sharply breaking hill-lands and sand dunes that, in addition, may be broken by poor to well-defined, deeply 
entrenched drainage systems, rims, cliffs, and escarpments. (3-20-20)T

10. Designated Agent. A licensed individual who is employed as an agent by any person, firm, 
partnership, corporation, or other organization or combination thereof that is licensed as an outfitter and who, 
together with the licensed outfitter, is responsible and accountable for the conduct of the licensed outfitter's 
operations. (3-20-20)T

11. Enforcement Agent. An individual employed by the Board having the power of peace officers to 
enforce the provisions of the Act and these Rules. (3-20-20)T

12. Facilities and Services. The provision of personnel, lodging (tent, home, lodge, or hotel/motel), 
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transportation (other than by commercial carrier), guiding, preparation and serving of food and equipment, or any 
other accommodation for the benefit of clientele in the conduct of outdoor recreational activities as designed in 
Section 36-2102(b), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

13. First Aid Card. A valid card or other evidence demonstrating that the individual has successfully 
completed an applicable American Red Cross course or equivalent course that is acceptable to the Board. (3-20-20)T

14. Fishing. Fishing activities on those waters and for those species described in the rules of the IFGC, 
IDAPA 13.01.11, “Rules Governing Fish,” general fishing seasons and any anadromous fishing rules; for purposes of 
the Act, fishing is defined as follows: (3-20-20)T

a. Anadromous fishing means fishing for salmon or steelhead trout. (3-20-20)T

b. Float boat fishing means the use of floatboats without motors for the conduct of fishing as a major 
activity on those waters open to commercial activities as set forth in Section 059. (3-20-20)T

c. Fly fishing means a licensed activity restricted to the use of fly fishing equipment and procedures, 
as defined by IFGC rules. (3-20-20)T

d. Incidental fishing means fishing conducted as a minor activity. (3-20-20)T

e. Power boat fishing means the use of power boats in conduct of fishing as a major activity on those 
Idaho waters open to commercial outfitting activities as set forth in Section 059. (3-20-20)T

f. Walk and wade fishing means fishing conducted along or in a river, stream, lake or reservoir, and 
may include the use of personalized flotation equipment, but does not include the use of watercraft. (3-20-20)T

15. Float Boats. Watercraft (inflatable watercraft, dories, drift boats, canoes, catarafts, kayaks, sport 
yaks, or other small watercraft) propelled by, and moving with the stream flow, maneuvered by oars, paddles, sweeps, 
pike poles or by motors for downstream steerage only. Downstream steerage does not include holding or upstream 
travel of a watercraft with a motor. Excluded as float boats are personal flotation devices, innertubes, air mattresses, 
or similar devices. (3-20-20)T

16. Hazardous Excursions. Outfitted or guided activities conducted outside municipal limits in a 
desert or mountainous environment that may constitute a potential danger to the health, safety, or welfare of 
participants involved. These activities include, but are not limited to: day or overnight trailrides, backpacking, 
technical mountaineering/rock climbing, cross-country skiing, backcountry alpine skiing, llama and goat packing, 
snowmobiling, survival courses, guiding courses, rescue courses, fishing courses, motored and non-motored cycling, 
wagon rides, sleigh rides, and dog sled rides. (3-20-20)T

17. Hunting. The pursuit of any game animal or bird and all related activities including packing of 
client camp equipment, supplies, game meat and clients to and from a hunting camp. (3-20-20)T

18. IFGC. The Idaho Department of Fish and Game or the Idaho Fish and Game Commission.
(3-20-20)T

19. Minor Amendment. All outfitter license amendment requests that can be processed by the Board 
without requiring outside research or recommendation of a land managing agency or other agency before the Board 
takes final action on said amendment request. (3-20-20)T

20. Major Activity. A licensed activity, the nature of which requires a significant commitment of time 
and effort by an outfitter in its execution and is intended to provide a significant amount of income to an outfitter.

(3-20-20)T

21. Major Amendment. All outfitter license amendment requests requiring Board research or 
recommendation of a land management agency or other agency before the Board takes final action on the amendment 
request. (3-20-20)T
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22. Minor or Incidental Activity. A licensed activity the nature of which is carried out in conjunction 
with a major activity, but is not the primary purpose of the excursion. (3-20-20)T

23. Mountainous. A region receiving limited to abundant annual precipitation with an associated 
vegetative cover of grass, weeds, shrubs, or trees. Cool summer temperatures and cold winter temperatures prevail. A 
mountainous area is a land surface ranging from level to gently rolling low hills to elevated lands that are often 
broken with poor to well-developed, deeply entrenched drainage systems, rims, cliffs, and escarpments to steepsided 
land masses of impressive size and height. (3-20-20)T

24. New Opportunity. A proposed commercial outfitted activity to be conducted in an area where no 
similar commercial outfitted activity has been conducted in the past. (3-20-20)T

25. Operating Area. The area assigned by the Board to an outfitter for the conduct of outfitting 
activities. (3-20-20)T

26. Operating Plan. A detailed schedule or plan of operation which an outfitter proposes to follow in 
the utilization of licensed privileges, areas, or activities. (See Subsection 018.03). (3-20-20)T

27. Outfitted Tag Use. The following definitions of outfitted tag use apply for purposes of the 
designation of allocated tags in capped zones and controlled hunts as set forth in Section 057 of these rules. Outfitted 
tag use for a capped zone is the number of tags used by clients of an outfitter for the species for the type of allocated 
tags being designated. Outfitted tag use for a controlled hunt zone, unit, or game management area is the number tags 
used by clients of an outfitter in the hunt that has a species, season structure, and other conditions most closely 
matching the controlled hunt for which allocated tags are being designated. Until such time as the IDFG is able to 
collect and verify outfitted tag use as provided in Section 36-408(4) Idaho Code, outfitted tag use shall be based on an 
outfitter’s use reports, or the best data available, and subject to verification by documentation or other reliable 
information acceptable to the Board. (3-20-20)T

28. Out-of-Pocket Costs. The direct costs attributable to a recreational activity. Such direct costs do 
not include: (3-20-20)T

a. Compensation for either sponsors or participants; (3-20-20)T

b. Amortization or depreciation of debt or equipment; or (3-20-20)T

c. Costs of non-expendable supplies. (3-20-20)T

29. Power Boats. All motorized watercraft used on Idaho waters open to commercial outfitting 
activities. Excluded as power boats are hovercraft, jetskis or similar devices, and float boats using motors for 
downstream steerage. (3-20-20)T

30. Relinquish. The failure to re-apply at the expiration of a license; the loss through nonuse, 
inactivity, revocation, or voluntary surrender of a license; or other loss of license. (3-20-20)T

31. Third Party Agreement. The allowing of the conduct of an outfitted or guided activity by the 
outfitter licensed to conduct those activities by any persons not directly employed by said outfitter. (See Section 023).

(3-20-20)T

32. Trainee. A person not less than sixteen (16) years of age pursuing the necessary experience or skill 
qualifications for a guide license. A trainee may not provide any direct guiding services for clients, but may assist 
while under direct supervision. (3-20-20)T

33. Training Log. A form approved by the Board and completed in detail and attested to by the 
outfitter documenting the training completed by a person pursuing training or licensure as a guide pursuant to these 
rules. The log is maintained and made available for inspection by the Board or its agent by the outfitter during the 
time the guide is employed by the outfitter and for one (1) complete license year following the termination of 
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employment of the guide, and for three (3) years from the date of an accident or incident jeopardizing the health, 
safety or welfare of a client, in which the trainee or guide is involved. (3-20-20)T

34. Unethical/Unprofessional Conduct. Any activity(ies) by an outfitter or guide which is 
inappropriate to the conduct of the outfitting or guiding profession. These activities include, but are not limited to:

(3-20-20)T

a. Providing false, fraudulent or misleading information to the Board or another governmental entity 
regulating outfitting activities including the use or verification of allocated tags; (3-20-20)T

b. Violation of an order of the Board; (3-20-20)T

c. Failure to provide services as advertised or contracted; (3-20-20)T

d. Harassment of the public in their use of Idaho’s outdoor recreational opportunities; (3-20-20)T

e. Violation of state or federal fish and game laws or rules or to condone or willfully allow a client's 
violation of those laws and rules; (3-20-20)T

f. For a licensed boating outfitter or guide, violation of the Idaho Safe Boating Act (Title 67, Chapter 
70, Idaho Code) and IDAPA 26.01.30 “Idaho Safe Boating Rules”; (3-20-20)T

g. Engaging in unlicensed activities or conducting outfitter/guide services outside the operating area 
for which the licensee is licensed; (3-20-20)T

h. Disregard for the conservation, maintenance or enhancement of fish, game, land and water 
resources; (3-20-20)T

i. Killing a client's game or catching a client’s fish. (3-20-20)T

j. Failure to pay a supplier of goods or services to the outfitter business; (3-20-20)T

k. Failure to pay state taxes; (3-20-20)T

l. Operating in a manner which endangers the health, safety, or welfare of the public. (3-20-20)T

m. Selling lifetime excursions, lifetime hunts, or selling of outfitted activities to an individual for the 
life of that individual and collecting fees accordingly. (3-20-20)T

n. Operating under a name that is not associated with the license issued by the Board; or (3-20-20)T

o. Interference with private landowners, public land management agencies, and/or stockmen and their 
rights and privileges. (3-20-20)T

35. Watercraft. A boat or vessel propelled mechanically or manually, capable of operating on inland 
water surfaces. Excluded as watercraft are hovercraft, jetskis, personal flotation devices (PFD's), or similar devices.

(3-20-20)T

003. -- 004. (RESERVED)

005. LICENSE PRODUCTION.
A license or proof of licensure must be in possession of the licensee while engaged in outfitting or guiding and be 
produced upon the request of an authorized person. (3-20-20)T

006. FIRST AID KIT.
A first aid kit must be present and available on every outfitted excursion. (3-20-20)T
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007. LICENSE RESTRICTIONS.

01. Qualified. All outfitters must be qualified to guide or employ a licensed guide(s) qualified for the 
activity(ies) for which the outfitter is licensed. (3-20-20)T

02. Review. An outfitter's qualifications to guide will be reviewed by the Board and, if approved, a 
guide license will be issued at no additional fee. (3-20-20)T

03. Qualifications. The qualification(s) of an outfitter or guide licensee are determined in accordance 
with the Act and these rules. (3-20-20)T

04. Limitation. A limitation in number of clientele served, operating area, or any other criteria 
affecting the safety, health, and welfare, of the public or viability of the fish, and wildlife, or other natural resources 
will be imposed in licensing where such limitation is deemed necessary by the Board in accordance with the Act and 
these rules. (3-20-20)T

05. Temporary Employment. An outfitter may employ a licensed guide who is not currently licensed 
under the outfitter's license in the case of temporary employment, or short term “loan” or transfer (less than fifteen 
(15) days duration and not on a routine basis) of a guide between outfitters, or termination of employment of a guide 
upon completion of the seasonal activity for which the guide was employed. The employing outfitter or authorized 
agent must keep written documentation of the loan or transfer and dates and times. Repeated transfers or loans of 
guides require a license amendment. (3-20-20)T

008. EMPLOYMENT OF OUTFITTERS.
An outfitter may guide for another outfitter or rent or lease equipment or services as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Other Outfitter. An outfitter may guide for another outfitter when properly employed by that 
outfitter and approved by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Other. If an outfitter is employed to guide activities not covered by his own guide license, the 
outfitter must apply to the Board for a license amendment and submit the employing outfitter certification prescribed 
in Subsection 034.02. (3-20-20)T

03. No Sharing of Profits. While an outfitter is employed as a guide by another outfitter, the outfitters 
may not share profits or equipment and/or animals other than leased equipment and/or leased animals. An outfitter 
when employed as a guide may only render personal services as would any other guide. (3-20-20)T

04. Agreement. When an outfitter utilizes equipment from another outfitter or a guide in the provision 
of facilities, services and transportation to clientele, a written notice of usage must be filed with the Board including a 
current certificate or proof of non-owner liability insurance. (3-20-20)T

009. (RESERVED)

010. COMPLIANCE WITH LAWS.
All licensees must comply with all local, state, and federal laws, and they must report all violations to a law 
enforcement officer. In instances where violations of local, state, or federal laws have occurred, such violations will 
be handled in accordance with the following discretionary criteria: (3-20-20)T

01. Violations. An applicant who has never held an outfitter or a guide license and who has been 
convicted of a violation of local, state, or federal law may be required to appear before the Board. Each such 
conviction will be appraised and a decision to approve or deny the application will be based upon the nature and the 
circumstances of the violation. (3-20-20)T

02. Examination by Board. When a license holder is convicted of a violation of local, state, or federal 
law, the Board will examine the nature of the violation and the circumstances in determining whether or not a hearing 
will be held for the purpose of restricting, suspending or revoking the outfitter or guide license or imposing an 
administrative fine for any violation. Any such violator may be required to appear before the Board before a license 
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will be issued for the following year. (3-20-20)T

011. (RESERVED)

012. OUTFITTER RESPONSIBILITIES.
An outfitter is responsible for: (3-20-20)T

01. Camps. Maintaining safe and sanitary camps at all times. (3-20-20)T

02. General. Providing clean, fresh drinking water, protecting all food from contamination, and 
disposing of all garbage, debris, and human waste in the manner prescribed by regulations concerning use of private 
and public lands. (3-20-20)T

03. Livestock Facilities. Ensuring that livestock facilities are kept separate from camp facilities, and 
that streams are protected from contamination. (3-20-20)T

04. Emergency Provisions. Ensuring that all cross-country and backcountry alpine skiing and 
technical mountaineering/rock climbing tours have the necessary emergency provisions with them. (3-20-20)T

05. Actions. The actions of all guides, and other persons, while in the scope of their employment.
(3-20-20)T

013. -- 014. (RESERVED)

015. ANNUAL DATE, FEES, AND PAYMENT.

01. Due Date. All outfitter and designated agent license applications must be completed and received 
by the Board by January 31 of each year. (3-20-20)T

02. Penalty Fee. When a completed renewal application is filed with the Board after the last day of the 
license year, a penalty fee must be paid before the license is issued. (3-20-20)T

03. License Lapsed and Relinquished. All licenses expire on March 31, and when a completed 
outfitter application has not been received by the Board after ninety (90) days after the last day of the license year the 
license is deemed relinquished, and a renewal application will not be accepted for licensure. (3-20-20)T

04. Payment. (3-20-20)T

a. Prior to the issuance of a license, an applicant must submit the appropriate fee. (3-20-20)T

b. The applicant must pay an annual license fee for each license issued, except for an outfitter licensed 
as a guide for the outfitter's operation. (3-20-20)T

05. Fees.

(3-20-20)T

Type Application
Annual

License - 
Online

Annual 
License - 

Offline

Late 
Penalty

Amendment 
- Major

Amendment 
- Minor

Outfitter $400 $400 $450 $150 $200 $35

Designated Agent $50 $140 $160 n/a $20 $20

Guide $20 $105 $115 n/a $20 $20
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016. -- 017. (RESERVED)

018. NEW OUTFITTER OR OUTFITTER LICENSE AMENDMENT APPLICATION.
A complete application for a new outfitter license, outfitter license major amendment, or new landowner statement in 
existing areas must, in addition to all other requirements include: (3-20-20)T

01. Name. The name(s) registered with the Idaho Secretary of State as an assumed business name, the 
name of the business entity, or both. (3-20-20)T

02. Other Signatures. Signed landowner or land manager statement from: (3-20-20)T

a. The affected state and federal land managers in all areas where an outfitter plans to utilize lands 
administered by the state or federal government (this may involve memorandum of understanding procedures as 
applicable to proposed operation on national forest or public domain lands); and, (3-20-20)T

b. Private land owners, or their agents, where an outfitter applicant proposes to use such private lands 
in his operation. (3-20-20)T

03. Operating Plan. An operating plan that includes, among other things, the following: (3-20-20)T

a. A list of the activities to be conducted in the operating area(s) requested. (3-20-20)T

b. A detailed map showing the operating area(s) requested for each activity and a worded description 
of the boundaries of said operating area(s), described in terms of rivers, creeks, and ridges with prominent reference 
coordinates (section, township, and range). (3-20-20)T

c. An outfitter whose operation is solely on rivers, streams, lakes or reservoirs should specify put-in 
and take-out points but need not send maps. (3-20-20)T

d. A detailed description of how and when each operating area(s) will be used for each activity.
(3-20-20)T

e. The proposed number of guests intended to be accommodated for each activity within the proposed 
operating area(s). (3-20-20)T

f. A list of the names and locations of camps that will be used for each activity, and whether on public 
or private land. (3-20-20)T

g. A list of the basic equipment, facilities, and livestock, and proof of financial capability necessary to 
conduct the proposed outfitted activity or business. (3-20-20)T

h. The number, title (guide, lead guide, etc.), and principal activities of individuals to be employed in 
the business operation. (3-20-20)T

i. A plan to assure the safety and provide for emergency medical care of guests. (3-20-20)T

04. Insurance. Current certificate or proof of insurance for the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Insurance coverage against loss resulting from liability imposed by law for bodily injury or death or 
damage to property suffered by any person, excluding employees, caused by the outfitter's operation, in the minimum 
amount of one hundred thousand ($100,000) per accident, with the aggregate of three hundred thousand ($300,000), 
because of bodily injury or death occurring in an accident. (3-20-20)T

b. Insurance coverage on vehicles carrying passengers against loss resulting from liability for bodily 
injury or death or property damage suffered by any person caused by the outfitter's operation, in the amount of three 
hundred thousand ($300,000) for vehicles carrying one (1) to fifteen (15) passengers, and in the minimum amount of 
five hundred thousand ($500,000) for vehicles carrying sixteen (16) or more passengers.  (3-20-20)T
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05. Designated Agent. When the applicant is a corporation, firm, partnership, or other organization or 
combination thereof, the designation at least one (1) designated agent who is a qualified outfitter, covered by the 
outfitter's bond, and who will be responsible for the outfitting business. The designated agent must apply for and be 
granted a license. (3-20-20)T

06. Hearing. If more than one (1) applicant submits a complete application with landowner 
statement(s), a hearing will be held to decide the successful applicant. (3-20-20)T

07. Existing Operating Area. A licensed outfitter may be given priority for any opportunities within 
the outfitter’s existing operating area boundaries. (3-20-20)T

019. (RESERVED)

020. EXAMINATION.
All new applicants applying for an outfitter or designated agent license must successfully pass a written and/or oral 
examination on the Act, the rules, and general outfitting procedures. An applicant who fails the test may retake it after 
a five (5) day waiting period. (3-20-20)T

021. EVALUATION OF THE OUTFITTER APPLICATION.
In evaluating an outfitter application the Board will consider, but not be limited to, the following criteria: (3-20-20)T

01. Qualifications. Applicant’s qualifications under the Act and these rules. (3-20-20)T

02. Need for Services. The public need for the proposed service(s) in the area requested on the 
application. (3-20-20)T

03. Other. The extent of the applicant's experience, knowledge, and ability in the area and in the 
conduct of activities requested. (3-20-20)T

04. Previous Record. The applicant's previous record. (3-20-20)T

05. Accessibility of Area. The accessibility and use by the general public and commercial use already 
licensed in the area. (3-20-20)T

06. Area Requested. The probable impact on the area should additional licenses be issued. (3-20-20)T

07. Operating Plan. The adequacy and acceptability of the proposed operating plan. (3-20-20)T

a. The applicant's knowledge of financial and business management needs and practices. (3-20-20)T

b. The applicant's ability to manage and direct personnel and guests. (3-20-20)T

022. ISSUANCE OF AN OUTFITTER LICENSE.
In order to safeguard the health, safety, and welfare of the public and for the conservation of wildlife resources, the 
Board may place a limit on the number of outfitter licenses issued within an operating area. (3-20-20)T

023. THIRD PARTY AGREEMENTS.
An outfitter may not sublet or enter into any third party agreements involving the use of his activity(ies), operating 
area(s), or license. (3-20-20)T

01. Employed. No outfitter may allow any person to conduct any of the activities for which he is 
licensed unless said person is employed directly by the outfitter as a guide. (3-20-20)T

02. Other Activities. Any arrangement wherein an outfitter licensed to conduct outfitted activity(ies) 
in an operating area(s) knowingly allows, condones, or otherwise abets and supports the conduct of outfitting 
activity(ies) by another, wherein said outfitter does not assume full and complete responsibility for all clients booked 
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for such activity(ies), constitutes an unlawful third party agreement. Complete responsibility includes providing 
liability insurance to cover the client, collection of fees paid for the activity(ies), payment of user fees and taxes, and 
making the client aware as to who is the responsible outfitter(s). Such unlawful activity(ies) is grounds for discipline 
as unethical and unprofessional conduct in addition to any other penalties which may be assessed for violations of 
these rules or the laws of the state of Idaho. (3-20-20)T

03. Booking Agent. This Rule does not apply to the conduct of a booking agent or an agreement 
between two (2) or more outfitters in which the outfitters provide services to the same party or parties within their 
respective operating areas. (3-20-20)T

024. STANDARDS FOR NON-USE.
In order to carry out the intent of the Act to promote and encourage participation in the enjoyment and use of the 
state's natural resources and fish and game and ensure an outfitter adequately serves the public, the Board will 
monitor, prioritize, and fairly administer identified remedies based on, among other factors, interest or demand for the 
particular activity or area and as set forth in this rule. (3-20-20)T

01. Requirement. The Board may annually review the outfitter’s use reports for the preceding three 
(3) years to determine whether any licensed activity or operating area fall within non-use. If the outfitter falls within 
non-use, a “notice of non-use” may be issued to the outfitter. (3-20-20)T

02. Definitions. (3-20-20)T

a. Non-use. When an outfitter is making zero (0) or negligible use of major licensed activities for any 
two (2) of the three (3) preceding years unless the lack of use is due to an act of nature or because of state or federal 
agency restrictions on hunting or fishing that limit the ability of the outfitter to seek and accommodate clients;

(3-20-20)T

b. Zero (0) use. No recorded use by an outfitter of their licensed area or activities; (3-20-20)T

c. Negligible use. An unreasonable lack of use as determined by the Board for any one (1) or more of 
the particular activities in the assigned operating area. Typically, use may be determined by comparison of use levels 
for the same activity(s) in similar operating areas. Other factors in determining use are found in Subsection 024.04.

(3-20-20)T

03. Process. (3-20-20)T

a. The notice of non-use will include the activity(s) and operating area(s) that appear to be in non-use 
and an explanation of how the determination was made. The outfitter will be given the opportunity to correct the use 
records by supplying staff with evidence of use, prior to a hearing being scheduled. If adequate proof of use is not 
provided, the matter will be scheduled for a hearing. (3-20-20)T

b. When the Board determines that any activity or operating area has had zero (0) use or negligible 
use, certain requirements may be imposed by the Board up to and including revocation of some or all of the outfitter’s 
operating areas and activities. (3-20-20)T

04. Examples of Acceptable Use: (3-20-20)T

a. Paying clients participating in activities occurring within a designated operating area; (3-20-20)T

b. Donated trips; (3-20-20)T

c. Outfitter initiated applications for controlled hunts in their licensed operating area; (3-20-20)T

d. Outfitter initiated applications for trophy species; and (3-20-20)T

e. Use in conformance with a current and accepted operating plan. (3-20-20)T



IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 25.01.01 – Rules of the 
Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board Outfitters & Guides Licensing Board

Section 025 Page 12  

05. Required Records. Outfitters may be required to submit client records that include the name, 
address, and date of activity of individual clients or groups for a period of three (3) consecutive years. (3-20-20)T

06. Non-Use During a Sale. Board staff reviews all full or partial business sales for non-use. If it is 
determined a major activity or operating area has had zero (0) or negligible use, the Board may review the sale and 
the issuance of a license may be denied. In some instances the Board may approve the sale with notification to the 
buyer that use must be established within the following two (2) out of the next three (3) years or the area or activity 
may be removed from their license. (3-20-20)T

07. Waiver of Compliance. The Board may waive compliance with the non-use standard upon a 
showing of good cause, including an act of nature, state or federal agency seasonal restrictions on hunting or fishing 
or personal circumstances such as illness or injury that limit the ability of the outfitter to seek and accommodate 
clients. An outfitter must apply for a waiver prior to the beginning of the license year or immediately upon the event 
constituting good cause. If a federal permit holder is requesting zero (0) or negligible use, the request for a waiver 
must be accompanied by a Land Manager’s Statement. (3-20-20)T

025. OUTFITTER RENEWAL.
All licenses expire on March 31 and every application for license renewal for an outfitter and designated agent must 
be complete and submitted by January 31 of the license year and include a use report containing an activity, use, and 
harvest report on the actual use during the preceding year and other information about outfitting or guiding activities.

(3-20-20)T

026. OPERATING AREA ADJUSTMENTS.
An outfitter's operating area may be adjusted for reasons of wildlife harvest, where territorial conflict exists, or for the 
safety of persons utilizing the services of outfitters. (3-20-20)T

01. Hearing. If the Board determines that a hearing is necessary prior to the adjustment of a licensee's 
operating area, such hearing will be conducted in accordance with the Idaho Administrative Procedures Act, Title 67, 
Chapter 52, Idaho Code, and all affected parties will be afforded an opportunity to participate. (3-20-20)T

02. Consideration. In determining whether to adjust an operating area for reasons of wildlife harvest, 
the Board or the hearing officer considers, among other things, the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Any changes in wildlife harvest, including any increase or decrease in wildlife harvest attributable 
to the licensee's activity(ies). (3-20-20)T

b. Any new limitation(s) imposed or recommendation(s) made regarding wildlife harvest in the 
operating area(s) by any governmental agency since the issuance of the license. (3-20-20)T

c. Any environmental change(s) that have occurred in the operating area(s) that affect wildlife 
management. (3-20-20)T

d. Any undesirable wildlife impact(s) that may be ameliorated by a territorial adjustment. (3-20-20)T

e. Any new information discovered since the issuance of the license regarding wildlife management 
in the operating area(s). (3-20-20)T

03. Consideration. In determining whether to adjust an operating area for reasons of territorial 
conflict, the Board or the hearing officer considers, among other things, the following: (3-20-20)T

a. Any incident(s) of territorial conflict and how they might be ameliorated by a territorial adjustment.
(3-20-20)T

b. The extent of each licensee's legal use of the disputed area. (3-20-20)T

c. Any public or client safety concerns that might be ameliorated by or might arise from the inclusion 
of the disputed area as part of a particular licensee's operation. (3-20-20)T
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d. Any environmental or operational factors that indicate which licensee will be able to make the best 
use of the disputed area in providing services to the public considering, among other things, each licensee's licensed 
activity(ies) and the relationship of that activity(ies) to the activity(ies) conducted in the disputed area, each licensee's 
total operating area, the financial stability of each licensee, and the accessibility of the disputed area from adjacent 
operating area(s). (3-20-20)T

e. Any recommendation(s) submitted by any governmental agency that regulates or manages land or 
wildlife within the disputed area. (3-20-20)T

04. Safety Adjustment. In determining whether to adjust an operating area for reasons of safety of 
persons using the services of an outfitter, the Board or hearing officer considers, among other things, the following:

(3-20-20)T

a. Any change(s) in the environmental condition(s) in the area that may pose a threat to the health and 
safety of persons using the operating area. (3-20-20)T

b. Any change(s) in the manner or amount of public use of the operating area since the issuance of the 
license that may pose a threat to the health and safety of persons using the operating area. (3-20-20)T

c. Any change(s) in a licensee's manner of operation within the operating area that may affect 
clientele safety considering, among other things, change(s) in the condition(s) of the licensee's capability or 
equipment. (3-20-20)T

d. Any safety-related incident(s) that have occurred in the operating area. (3-20-20)T

e. Any safety concern(s) expressed by any governmental agency that regulates or manages land or 
wildlife within the operating area. (3-20-20)T

f. Any new information discovered since the issuance of the license regarding safety. (3-20-20)T

027. OUTFITTER LICENSE PRIORITY.
Priority for licensure in any outfitter’s operating area may be maintained by submitting a complete application for a 
license for the ensuing license period before the expiration date of the current license. (3-20-20)T

028. OUTFITTER BUSINESS PURCHASE, LICENSE CONSIDERATIONS.

01. Sale of Outfitting Business. The sale of an outfitting business requires an application for a new 
outfitter license by the purchaser, provided that the Board may give priority for licensure to an applicant who has 
negotiated a purchase agreement with a licensee if the applicant meets all other requirements. (3-20-20)T 

02. Notification to Clients. When an existing operation is acquired by another outfitter, all clients who 
have booked with the original outfitter must be promptly notified and refunded any advanced payment, unless the 
client is satisfied with the new arrangements. (3-20-20)T

029. OUTFITTER BOND OR INSURANCE CANCELLATION.
An outfitter or designated agent must immediately notify the Board when their bond or insurance is canceled. The 
cancellation of an outfitter license bond or insurance by the insurer is grounds for emergency suspension of the 
outfitter's license under Section 67-5247, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

030. OUTFITTER WAITING LISTS.
When there are more outfitter applications for an outfitter operating area than the maximum number of licenses 
allowing such activity, or when an individual wishes to be considered in an area to which another outfitter has 
historically been licensed, the Board will maintain a list of such individuals for notification of an available opening. If 
there is no waiting list for an area, the Board may proceed with the license application or may employ a competitive 
application process. (3-20-20)T
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01. Waiting List. The waiting list will be maintained for each individual river, lake and reservoir 
outlined in Section 059 and for each specific IFGC unit listed in IDAPA 13.01.08, “Rules Governing the Taking of 
Big Game Animals in the State of Idaho.” (3-20-20)T

02. Outfitter Application or Outfitter Amendment Form. A complete new outfitter application or 
outfitter amendment form must be submitted for each river section, lake and reservoir and for each specific IFGC unit 
and all activities for which the individual desires licensure. (3-20-20)T

03. Length of Time Name Is on Waiting List. A name on the waiting list will be maintained for a 
period of five (5) years or until December 31 of the fifth year that the name is placed on the list, whichever comes 
first. (3-20-20)T

04. When Available Outfitting Opening Occurs. When, or if, an available opening does occur and 
public announcement is made, the Board will use the waiting list for direct notification by mail of interested parties, 
and will select a qualified candidate from those who apply. Any person on the list who remains interested in obtaining 
a license following notification of availability must re-apply by submitting all necessary forms and fees during the 
open period as announced by the Board in order to have his application considered. (3-20-20)T

05. When an Operating Area Is Relinquished by the Licensee. If an existing operating area 
(hunting, boating, or other) is relinquished by the licensee, the Board may publicize the area's availability and accept 
written applications for licensure for a thirty (30) day period of time from the date of public notice. The Board will 
then consider the qualifications of all applicants and license the area to the candidate determined to be most qualified 
including the consideration of criteria used to consider new or amendment outfitter applications. (3-20-20)T

031. -- 033. (RESERVED)

034. GUIDE APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS - GENERAL.
To be complete, an application for a guide license must: (3-20-20)T

01. First Aid Card. Be accompanied by an affidavit signed by the employing outfitter that the 
applicant will have a current, valid first aid card before they are employed as a guide. (3-20-20)T

02. Signatures. Be attested to by the applicant and certified by the licensed outfitter(s) who wishes to 
employ the applicant as a guide that the applicant: (3-20-20)T

a. Is qualified to perform the type of guiding activity(ies) for which the applicant seeks licensure.
(3-20-20)T

b. Has extensive, first-hand knowledge of the operating area(s) and water(s) in or on which the 
applicant will be guiding. (3-20-20)T

c. If the applicant is land based, is able to read and understand a map and compass or operate a global 
positioning system (GPS) or other computerized map system. (3-20-20)T

d. If the applicant is water based, is proficient in reading the water and handling the type of boat 
required to be used. (3-20-20)T

e. Provide directly from the outfitter a training log or documentation demonstrating satisfaction of the 
training requirements pursuant to Sections 035 through 042, 044, 046, 047 and 048 of these rules, as applicable for 
the activities sought to be licensed to guide. (3-20-20)T

03. Amendment. A guide may apply for an amendment to add additional employing outfitters or 
additional activities by submitting complete application that includes certification from the outfitter that training 
requirements for the area and activity to be added have been met and proof of such training will be available at the 
Board's request. (3-20-20)T

035. GUIDE APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS - HUNTING.
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A guide applicant for big game hunting may be licensed either as an apprentice guide or as a guide. (3-20-20)T

01. Apprentice Guide. A new applicant may be licensed as an apprentice guide to pursue training 
necessary for licensure as a guide by submitting a completed application form and fee. (3-20-20)T

02. Apprentice Guide. An apprentice guide may assist a hunting guide in the scope of training, but 
may not be primarily responsible for guiding a hunt. (3-20-20)T

03. Guide. In addition to Section 034, a new hunting guide applicant must have the following 
minimum training. (3-20-20)T

a. Been in the outfitter's operating area(s) for at least ten (10) days and is knowledgeable of trails, 
terrain, drainages, and game habits and habitat. (3-20-20)T

b. Be able to care for meat and trophies, including the ability to correctly cape an animal and with 
adequate training to be able to instruct and assist clients in the proper care of meat. (3-20-20)T

04. Upgraded. A licensed apprentice guide may apply by amendment to upgrade a guide license when 
the required training is completed as certified by the employing outfitter, and a copy of the completed training form is 
submitted to the Board. (3-20-20)T

036. (RESERVED)

037. BOATMAN LICENSE TRAINEES.
A trainee boatman may not obtain a guide license until training is complete and may not operate a boat except as 
prescribed in Section 040 and provided that the boat trainee must be in a boat operated by a licensed boatman, or one 
in which the operation is closely monitored by a licensed boatman. The licensed boatman need not be in the same 
boat during training as long as the trainee's activity is closely monitored. (3-20-20)T

038. FLOAT BOAT GUIDE -- UNCLASSIFIED RIVERS.
An applicant for a float boat guide on unclassified rivers and streams must have one (1) complete commercial float 
boat trip on each of the rivers applied for, (complete trip means the total section of river designated by the Board in 
Subsection 059.01), under the supervision of a float boat guide licensed for each of those rivers. (3-20-20)T

039. FLOAT BOAT GUIDE -- CLASSIFIED RIVERS.
A float boat guide on a classified river must be licensed as a float boatman or a float lead boatman according to his 
experience on that specific river. Each trip on a classified river must have a lead boat operated by a guide licensed as 
a lead boatman for that specific river and all other boats participating in that trip must follow the lead boat and must 
be operated by a guide licensed as a boatman or a lead boatman for that specific river. (Note exception for trainees in 
Section 040). (3-20-20)T

040. FLOAT BOATMAN QUALIFICATIONS -- CLASSIFIED RIVERS.
An applicant for a float boatman license on classified rivers may qualify in one (1) of three (3) ways: (3-20-20)T

01. General. Three (3) complete float boat trips on each of the classified rivers applied for under the 
direct supervision of a float boatman licensed for that river (complete trip means the total section of river designated 
by the Board in Subsection 059.01), or he must have had one (1) or more complete float boat trips on each of the 
classified rivers applied for under the direct supervision of a float boatman licensed for that river with the remaining 
trip(s) in a boat with no more than one (1) other trainee, following a licensed float boatman for that river, but he must 
not have passengers in the boat. (3-20-20)T

a. Allowances may be made for experience gained as a commercial boat operator on selected 
whitewater rivers with characteristics similar to Idaho's classified rivers; e.g. Colorado River (Grand Canyon or 
Cataract Canyon), Yampa River, Rogue River, American and Toulumne Rivers, other Idaho classified rivers, or the 
unclassified section of the Salmon River from North Fork to Corn Creek, provided the applicant has logged at least 
five hundred (500) miles as a commercial float boat operator on one (1) or more of those rivers. (3-20-20)T
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b. To document this experience, a statement signed by the applicant under oath or affirmation and 
notarized must be recorded on a form provided by the Board office that includes precise put-in and take-out points, 
miles logged for each trip, and the names and addresses of the boat operators who have employed them. (3-20-20)T

02. Other. Logged at least five hundred (500) miles as a commercial float boat guide on any rivers 
applicable to Subsection 040.01.a., and must have one (1) complete float boat trip on each river applied for under the 
direct supervision of a float boatman licensed for that river, or in a boat with no more than one (1) other trainee, 
following a float boatman licensed for that river, but there must not be any passengers in the boat. (Complete trip 
means the total section of river designated by the Board in Subsection 059.01). (3-20-20)T

03. Float Lead Boatman. Or, hold a license as a float lead boatman on a classified Idaho river and 
complete one (1) complete float boat trip on each other classified river applied for, under the direct supervision of a 
float boatman licensed for that river, or in a boat with no more than one (1) other trainee, following a float boatman 
licensed for that river, but he must not have passengers in the boat. (Complete trip means the total section of river 
designated by the Board in Subsection 059.01.) (3-20-20)T

041. FLOAT LEAD BOATMAN QUALIFICATIONS.
An applicant for a float lead boatman license must have six (6) complete float boat trips except that upon Board 
approval, a licensee may train on and be licensed for a specific reach of a section only. (Complete trip means the total 
section or reach of a section of river designated by the Board in Subsection 059.01). One (1) trip must have been 
within the sixty (60) months preceding the date of the application on each of the classified rivers applied for.

(3-20-20)T

042. POWER BOAT GUIDE.
To qualify for a power boat guide license on the following waters, an applicant must have spent the following power 
boating hours that are distributed as evenly as possible along the total length or section of river or area of the lake or 
reservoir and under the direct supervision of a power boat guide licensed for the body of water for which qualification 
is sought: (3-20-20)T

01. Classified Rivers. Fifty (50) hours on the total length of the river or section of river designated on 
the application by the Board for which he wishes to operate, except that an applicant may have spent twenty-five (25) 
hours on each section for the Salmon River from the mouth of the Middle Fork to Salmon Falls, Salmon Falls to 
Ludwig Rapids, and Ludwig Rapids to Vinegar Creek or Spring Bar. (3-20-20)T

02. Unclassified Rivers and Streams. At least ten (10) hours on the total length of the river or section 
of river designated by the Board on the application for which he wishes to operate. (3-20-20)T

03. Lakes and Reservoirs. Ten (10) hours on the lake or reservoir on which he wishes to operate.
(3-20-20)T

04. Log. The outfitter must maintain a log of this experience recorded on a form provided by the 
Board, showing the dates, river, lake or reservoir, location of put-in, destination, take-out, hours logged, and signature 
of outfitter. (3-20-20)T

043. (RESERVED)

044. SKIING, NON-HAZARDOUS AND HAZARDOUS TERRAIN OUTFITTER, DESIGNATED 
AGENT, SKI GUIDE AND SKI GUIDE TRAINEE.

01. Applications. (3-20-20)T

a. An outfitter, designated agent or guide must submit an outfitter or a guide application with current 
outfitter operating plan, if required, ski resume, and avalanche training certificates. (3-20-20)T

b. The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) will evaluate and advise the Board on the scope and 
appropriate designations for licensure of any application for outfitting or guiding principally in non-hazardous and 
hazardous terrain skiing. The TAC is a five (5) member body of qualified backcountry ski outfitters and ski guides 
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appointed by the Executive Director and confirmed by the Board. (3-20-20)T

02. Designations and Qualifications for Outfitters, Designated Agents, Guides and Trainees. The 
designations and qualifications are as follows: (3-20-20)T

a. Level I ski guide (non-hazardous terrain, principally sub-alpine or skiing operations in forests). Is 
qualified to lead ski tours in the outfitter’s operating area. One (1) year training as a ski guide assistant in a non-
hazardous backcountry setting. Level I Ski Guides may work in hazardous terrain as a Level II Ski Guide Trainee 
under the supervision of a Level II Ski Guide. Level I Ski Guides are required to have: (3-20-20)T

i. Level I field-based avalanche training consisting of a twenty-four (24) hour curriculum submitted 
and an instructor roster; (3-20-20)T

ii. Knowledge of Outfitters Scope of Operation including logistics, services, terrain; and (3-20-20)T

b. Level II ski guide (hazardous terrain with a high degree of avalanche exposure). Has in-depth ski 
guiding experience on hazardous terrain and has the following qualifications: (3-20-20)T

i. Two (2) winter seasons training with licensed Level II Ski Outfitter or Guide or equivalent work 
experience with another Level II ski operation which conduct services principally in hazardous or avalanche terrain;

(3-20-20)T

ii. Advanced First Aid, WFR, or EMT of a minimum of forty-eight (48) hours; (3-20-20)T

iii. Level 1 and Level II field-based avalanche training consisting of at least forty-eight (48) hours 
curriculum with a submitted instructor roster; (3-20-20)T

iv. Knowledge of the Outfitters Scope of Operation including logistics, services, terrain; and
(3-20-20)T

03. Outfitters. Outfitters who conduct winter ski-based operations may be designated as: (3-20-20)T

a. Level I: self-propelled, with snowcat, or with snowmobile assisted including day skiing, hut skiing 
in non-hazardous terrain; (3-20-20)T

b. Level II: self-propelled including day skiing, hut skiing, multi-day expeditions, in hazardous 
terrain; or (3-20-20)T

c. Level II skiing operations with snowcats, helicopters, or ski from out of bounds from ski areas.
(3-20-20)T

04. Outfitters Plan of Operation. The outfitter’s operating plan will include a plan for snowpack, 
terrain and avalanche safety assessment, additional transport utilized (i.e., snowmobiles, snowcats, helicopters) and 
instruction and training plans of guides working around related equipment, and any additional safety and training 
standards for guides. (3-20-20)T

05. Field Supervisor. The Outfitter must employ at least one individual acting as a field supervisor 
who is a working Guide with the appropriate level of licensing for the operation and a minimum of five (5) years 
working at that level of guiding as to the scope of the operation, unless the outfitter or Designated Agent has this 
experience. (3-20-20)T

06. Ski Guide Trainee. An outfitter may employ an unlicensed trainee, provided the trainee may only 
assist when under the direct supervision of a licensed guide and a trainee may not provide guided services to clients. 
A trainee who applies for licensure must have thirty (30) days experience with a licensed ski guide in the outfitter’s 
operating area and meet all other qualifications of Section 044. (3-20-20)T

045. (RESERVED)
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046. TECHNICAL MOUNTAINEERING/ROCK CLIMBING GUIDE.
Any applicant for a technical mountaineering/rock climbing guide license must submit to the Board a detailed 
explanation of the applicant’s qualifications, experience, and training. (3-20-20)T

047. SNOWMOBILING GUIDE.
An applicant for a snowmobiling guide license must: (3-20-20)T

01. Snowmobiling Techniques. Have working knowledge of snowmobiling techniques; (3-20-20)T

02. Avalanche. Have good leadership qualities and be knowledgeable in regards to potential avalanche 
conditions and proper route selection; (3-20-20)T

03. Hypothermia. Be knowledgeable in the treatment of hypothermia and in winter survival 
techniques; and (3-20-20)T

04. Mechanics. Have knowledge of the mechanical characteristics of snowmobiles and other 
equipment being used. (3-20-20)T

048. POWER BOAT FISHING GUIDE -- (LAKES AND RESERVOIRS).
All applicants for a power boat fishing guide license must possess the ability and knowledge to: (3-20-20)T

01. Maneuver or Pilot. Maneuver or pilot a power boat upon Idaho lakes and reservoirs open to power 
boat fishing. (3-20-20)T

02. Operation. Have operated a power boat for a minimum of ten (10) hours upon the lakes and 
reservoirs being requested. (3-20-20)T

03. Law. Comply with the Idaho Safe Boating Act (Title 67, Chapter 70, Idaho Code). (3-20-20)T

049. -- 050. (RESERVED)

051. PLACEMENT OF HUNTING CAMPS AND LEAVING OUTFITTER’S OPERATING AREA, BIG 
GAME HUNTING AND INCIDENTAL TRAPPING.

01. Hot Pursuit of Bear and Cougar With Hounds and Hot Pursuit Agreements. The Board may 
approve a minor amendment to allow an outfitter licensed for bear and cougar hunting to enter into an adjacent area 
with a client for hot pursuit of bear and cougar hunting when hunting with hounds, provided that the pursuit starts 
inside the outfitter’s licensed area. The application for minor amendment must include: (3-20-20)T

a. Written permission from all outfitters whose licensed area(s) will be directly involved in the hunt 
and which will be provided annually to the Board; (3-20-20)T

b. Written permission from all applicable landowners or land managers; (3-20-20)T

c. With prior Board approval, on a case by case basis and under special circumstances, the Board may 
waive the requirement for approval from the adjacent outfitter. (3-20-20)T

02. Camps. A hunting outfitter may not place a camp, nor cause one to be placed, in an area for which 
he is not licensed, except as identified in his approved operating plan. Whenever possible, camps used for big game 
hunting must be placed well within the operating area and not near the boundary line. (3-20-20)T

03. Wolf Trapping Incidental to Big Game Hunts. Outfitters licensed for big game hunting and for 
hunting wolves may qualify to provide wolf trapping as a hazardous excursion during the course of big game hunting 
as a minor (incidental) activity during open wolf trapping season as set forth below. (3-20-20)T

a. The Outfitter or Designated Agent and guide must have completed the mandatory wolf trapping 
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education class prior to the activity taking place. The outfitter is responsible for maintaining the certificate(s) of 
completion on file and making it available for inspection. (3-20-20)T

b. Wolf trapping may not be advertised, promoted, or booked as an outfitted or guided service.
(3-20-20)T

c. Outfitter or Designated Agent may not kill or allow domestic livestock or animals to be killed for 
use as bait while in their operating area or to use live animals as bait and will be otherwise expected to follow existing 
state laws regarding handling of domestic livestock. (3-20-20)T

d. A trapped animal must be killed quickly and humanely. It cannot be released and then “hunted” or 
killed. (3-20-20)T

e. Outfitters and guides may not directly engage a client in trapping activities handle or be involved 
with handling traps or trapped animals. Clients may be allowed to: (3-20-20)T

i. Hunt and kill any free ranging animal for which they have an appropriate license and tag, except 
when the animal is in or within two hundred (200) yards of the Outfitter's or guide's trap line. (3-20-20)T

ii. Accompany a properly licensed guide who is checking the outfitter's traps provided the client is 
directly accompanied by that guide at all times. (3-20-20)T

iii. Only observe the handling of trapped animals by properly licensed guides. (3-20-20)T

f. Guides who have completed the required education in Paragraph 051.01.a. are subject to the 
following: (3-20-20)T

i. Guides may check their employing outfitter’s or their own wolf traps as per state requirements as 
part of outfitted, big game hunts. (3-20-20)T

ii. May not provide services to the same client for two (2) different outfitters within a five (5) day 
period. (3-20-20)T

052. BOAT TRANSPORT OF HUNTING CLIENTS.
A boatman licensee (either power or float) must not transport big game hunters to any big game hunting area unless 
licensed to outfit for big game hunting in that area or is in the employ of the licensed outfitter for that area.

(3-20-20)T

053. CONTROLLED HUNTS OUTSIDE OUTFITTER’S OPERATING AREA.
The Board may authorize an outfitter who is licensed for a controlled hunt species to conduct a one-time hunt for a 
controlled hunt outside of the outfitter's licensed area when the outfitter submits a minor amendment fee and a written 
request with the following: (3-20-20)T

01. Written Permission. Written permission from all outfitters whose licensed area(s) will be directly 
involved in the hunt and all applicable landowners or land managers; (3-20-20)T

02. Identification of Hunter. The hunter name and address, hunting license, tag and permit numbers, 
controlled hunt number, and dates of hunt. (3-20-20)T

03. Compensation Between Outfitters. No compensation is permitted between outfitters participating 
in the conduct of a controlled hunt in another outfitter’s area, unless the outfitter supplies a service for that 
compensation. (3-20-20)T

054. BOAT EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS.
Each float or power boat must be identified as follows: (3-20-20)T

01. Identification. Identification recorded with the Board on the outfitter application consisting of 
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words, names, or letters not less than three (3) inches in height, and be of a contrasting color indicating the current 
licensed outfitter and that is placed above the water line on each side of the bow or stern of the boat utilized by that 
outfitter in letters. (Does not apply to single person boats or two (2) person inflatable boats). (3-20-20)T

02. Clearwater. On Sections CL2 and CL3 of the Clearwater River, a sticker affixed to the surface of 
any boat used for anadromous fishing that is not less than eight (8) inches in height and placed immediately adjacent 
to the identification words, names or letters on each side of the boat towards the bow, identifying the boat as operated 
by a licensed outfitter. Stickers will be provided and sold annually by the Board or a vendor designated by the Board.

(3-20-20)T

055. BOATING CLIENT/GUIDE RATIO.
All float boats, occupied by three (3) or more clients, must be under the control of a licensed guide; except a boat 
guide trainee may operate a boat under the direct supervision of a licensed boatman, or may train as indicated in 
Section 040. Kayaks and canoes and clients rowing rafts that they provide are exempt from this rule. (3-20-20)T

056. (RESERVED)

057. DESIGNATION OF ALLOCATED DEER AND ELK TAGS.
Beginning with the 2021 big game season setting, the Board will designate allocated tags to eligible outfitter 
operations as prescribed by Section 36-2107(j), Idaho Code, and when necessary, based on an outfitter’s proportional 
use within the capped zone or controlled hunt zone, unit, or game management area as set forth in this section. For 
purposes of this section, an eligible outfitter operation is an outfitter whose licensed activities include hunting the 
species for the type of allocated tag being designated. (3-20-20)T

01. Calculation and Designation of Allocated Tags. Pursuant to Section 36-2107(j), Idaho Code and 
as set forth below, an outfitter's number of designated allocated tags will be the outfitter's base allocation number plus 
a proportional share of any surplus allocated tags based on outfitted tag use as set forth below, or when there is an 
insufficient number of allocated tags to satisfy each outfitter's base allocation, the outfitter's proportional use. The 
result is the number of allocated tags designated for the outfitter operation. The Board will notify outfitters of the 
number of designated allocated tags and the underlying basis for the designation. The designation applies until the 
next big game season setting by the Idaho Fish and Game Commission. (3-20-20)T

a. An outfitter's base allocation number is: (3-20-20)T

i. For a capped zone, the average of the last two (2) years of an outfitter's outfitted tag use.
(3-20-20)T

ii. For a controlled hunt, the highest year within the last two (2) years of an outfitter's outfitted tag use. 
(3-20-20)T

b. An outfitter's proportional use is calculated by dividing an individual outfitter's base allocation by 
the total of the base allocations of all outfitters in the capped zone or controlled hunt zone, unit, or game management 
area, and then multiplying by the total number of allocated tags for the capped zone or controlled hunt. (3-20-20)T

c. When a calculation results in a partial tag, the calculation will be rounded up when a decimal 
equals or exceeds zero point six (0.6) and rounded down when a decimal is less than zero point six (0.6). (3-20-20)T

d. When there are remaining allocated tags after the Board has designated tags pursuant to Paragraphs 
a and b of this rule, the Board will designate remaining allocated tags based on the following priorities and in the 
following order: (3-20-20)T

i. All eligible outfitters whose base allocation number is zero (0) and who want to be designated 
allocated tags are designated at least one (1) allocated tag; (3-20-20)T

ii. Eligible outfitters with the fewest number of designated allocated tags have an equal number of 
designated allocated tags when possible; (3-20-20)T
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iii. Based on a random drawing between the eligible outfitters with the fewest number of designated 
allocated tags provided that an outfitter is not designated more allocated tags than another outfitter that has a greater 
base allocation number; (3-20-20)T

iv. Based on the greater base allocation number between the eligible outfitters with the fewest number 
of designated allocated tags. (3-20-20)T

e. When there is a deficit of allocated tags to satisfy each outfitter's proportional use, the Board will 
identify the group of outfitters whose base allocation number was rounded up, and the deficit will be resolved against 
the outfitter whose base allocation number prior to rounding is closest to zero point six (0.6). In the event there are 
two outfitters with the same unrounded base allocation number closest to zero point six (0.6), the deficit will be 
resolved against one of those outfitters based on a random drawing. (3-20-20)T

02. Stipulation by Outfitters. Outfitters in a capped zone or for a controlled hunt may submit to the 
Board a written stipulation determining the number of allocated tags designated for each outfitter within the capped 
zone or for the controlled hunt. The stipulation must be signed by all eligible outfitters for the capped zone or 
controlled hunt. If the Board accepts the stipulation, the stipulation will be effective until the Idaho Fish and Game 
Commission sets the next big game season. (3-20-20)T

a. On or before November 1, any outfitter may petition the Board to withdraw from the stipulation for 
good cause. If the Board grants the withdrawal, then the Board will calculate and designate the allocated tags among 
the outfitters in that capped zone or controlled hunt according to Subsection 01 of this rule. (3-20-20)T

b. A stipulation only applies to the designation of allocated tags by the Board. (3-20-20)T

03. Objection to Calculation. An outfitter that believes the calculation is incorrect may object by 
filing a petition in accordance with the Idaho administrative procedures act with the Board along with any supporting 
information or documentation. (3-20-20)T

a. The Board will notify all other eligible outfitters in the capped zone or for the controlled hunt of the 
petition. (3-20-20)T

b. The outfitter bears the burden of establishing that the calculation was incorrect. (3-20-20)T

04. Hardship Request. An outfitter may submit to the Board a written request to maintain a previous 
base allocation number when the outfitter can demonstrate hardship, including health, act of nature, state of federal 
restrictions on hunting or access or other good cause that prohibited or limited the outfitter's ability to seek and 
accommodate clients and impacted the outfitter's use of designated allocated tags. The outfitter must provide any 
information requested by the Board to assist in substantiating hardship cases. The hardship request must also be 
approved by the Idaho Department of Fish and Game to retain the outfitted hunter tag use history in respective hunt.

(3-20-20)T

05. Change in Operating Area or Owner of Business. When an outfitting business is sold or when an 
operating area is adjusted and designated allocated tags are associated with the affected operating area, the board will 
transfer the associated designated allocated tags to the new owner. (3-20-20)T

058. NUMBER OF OUTFITTERS AND GUIDES LIMITED.
Big Lost and Little Lost Rivers and the Big Wood and the Little Wood Rivers -- All reaches from headwaters to the 
termination of the flow of the Big Lost and the Little Lost Rivers and all reaches of the Big Wood and Little Wood 
Rivers are limited to a maximum of five (5) outfitters on both rivers combined. (3-20-20)T

059. RIVER, LAKE AND RESERVOIR POWER AND FLOAT OUTFITTER LIMITS.
The following rivers and streams or sections that lie totally or partially within the state of Idaho are open to 
commercial boating operations by outfitters and guides. The Board may open other rivers and streams or sections 
upon a petition to adopt rules under Section 67-5230, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

01. Licensable Waters -- River Sections (BL1) Blackfoot River through (PR1) Priest River -- 
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Table. 

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float

(BL1) Blackfoot River - Morgan Bridge to Trail Creek Bridge none 2

(BO1) Boise River, South Fork - Danskin Bridge to the Neal Bridge EXCEPT 
on weekends or holidays. Each outfitter may use only one (1) boat for fishing 
only with a maximum of two (2) fisherman. No overnight camping or walk-and-
wade fishing allowed.

none 2

(BO1A) Boise River - Eckert Road Bridge to Main Street Bridge. none

(BO1B) Boise River - Main Street Bridge to West side of Garden City limits. none

(BO2) Boise River - Downstream from the west side of the Garden City 
municipal limits to the east side of the Caldwell municipal limits. Each outfitter 
may use at any time a maximum of four (4) boats for boating activities. The 
Board may approve adjustments of these boat limitations to accommodate 
canoeing or kayaking activities that are part of an outfitters operating plan.

none 2

(CF1) Clark Fork River - Montana stateline to Lake Pend Oreille  
(boating closing date September 30)

4 outfitters for either 
power or float or 

combination thereof

(CL1) Clearwater River - Lowell to the Lower Bridge at Kooskia. Each outfitter 
may use at any one time a maximum of (a) three (3) boats for fishing, and (b) 
five (5) boats for other boating activities. Fishing may not be conducted 
downstream from the Upper Bridge at Kooskia by CL1 outfitters. The Board 
may approve adjustments of these boat limitations to accommodate canoeing 
or kayaking activities that are part of an outfitter's operating plan.

none 5

(CL2) Clearwater River - The Upper Bridge at Kooskia to the Orofino Bridge. 
Each outfitter may use at any one time a maximum of (a) three (3) boats for 
fishing, and (b) five (5) boats for other boating activities. The Board may 
approve adjustments of these boat limitations to accommodate canoeing or 
kayaking activities that are part of an outfitter's operating plan.

6 10

(CL3) Clearwater River - The Orofino Bridge to the mouth of the Clearwater 
River with the Snake River at Lewiston. Each outfitter may use at any one time 
a maximum of (a) three (3) boats for fishing, and (b) five (5) boats for other 
boating activities. The Board may approve adjustments of these boat 
limitations to accommodate canoeing or kayaking activities that are part of an 
outfitters operating plan.

10 10
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* (NFCL) North Fork Clearwater River - Kelly Forks Bridge downstream  
to backwaters of Dworshak Reservoir none 4

(CDNF) Headwaters of North Fork Coeur d‘Alene - Including tributaries 
(Independence and Tee Pee Creeks) upstream from Devils Elbow 
Campground. Three (3) walk and wade only licenses. Up to four (4) clients on 
the river at one time per license.

none none

(CD1) Coeur d’Alene River - Devil's Elbow to South Fork confluence.  
Fishing limit is two (2) float boats per license with a maximum of two (2) clients 
at a time per boat. Two (2) additional walk and wade licenses can be issued. 
Walk and wade limited to a maximum of two (2) clients at a time per license.

none 1

(CD2) Coeur d’Alene River - South Fork confluence downstream to Cataldo 
Mission Boat Ramp. Fishing limit is one (1) float boat per license with a 
maximum of two (2) clients or two walk and wade clients per license at a time. 
Walk and wade activities do not have to be initiated from a float boat.

none 1

(CD3) Lateral (Coeur d’Alene chain) Lakes - Connected by the Coeur d’ Alene 
river. Cataldo Mission Boat Ramp to Highway 97 Bridge. A limit of one (1) 
power boat per license with a maximum of two (2) clients at a time or a limit of 
one (1) guide per license and two (2) float tubes at a time or two (2) clients 
walking and wading. The walk and wade activities must be associated with the 
power boating.

3 none

* (JB1) Jarbidge/Bruneau Rivers none 4

(KO1) Kootenai River - Montana stateline to Canada boundary 5 5

(LCL1) Little North Fork Clearwater River - Mouth of Canyon Creek to first 
bridge on the Little North Fork Clearwater River. Fishing only. Each outfitter 
may use only two (2) boats per day with a maximum of two (2) fishermen per 
boat.

none 2

* (LO1) Lochsa River none 5

(MO1) Moyie River - Canada boundary to Bonners Ferry Municipal Dam  
(boating closing date July 20) none 5

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(3-20-20)T

02. Licensable Waters -- River Sections (MF1) Middle Fork Salmon River Through (SE2) Selway 
River -- Table. 

* (OW1) Owyhee River - Nevada stateline to Oregon stateline or South Fork  
to confluence with Owyhee River and continuing on to a take-out point. none 6

(PN1) Payette River, North Fork - Payette Lakes Outlet to Hartsell Bridge. 
Restrictions: NO FISHING ALLOWED. Four (4) boat or ten (10) canoe limit  
per trip, and only two (2) trips per day per outfitter.

none 2

(PN1A) Payette River, North Fork - Cascade City Park, 1/4 mile south of  
Cascade on Highway 55 to Cabarton. Restrictions: Catch and release for 
TROUT ONLY, other species F & G rules apply. No stopping by commercial 
groups from 1/4 mile above to 1/4 mile below heron nesting trees. Four (4)  
boat or ten (10) canoe limit per trip, and only two (2) trips per day per outfitter.

none 2

(PN2) Payette River, North Fork - Cabarton to Smiths Ferry Bridge none 5

(PS1) Payette River, South Fork - Grandjean to Deadwood River none 5

* (PS2) Payette River, South Fork - Deadwood River to Banks none 5

(PA1) Payette River - Banks to Black Canyon Dam none 5

(PO1) Pend Oreille River 5 5

(PR1) Priest River - Dickensheet Campground to Priest River City none 5

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float

*##(MF1) Salmon River, Middle Fork - Boundary Creek to Cache Bar on the 
Salmon River none 27

(SA1) Salmon River - First bridge across Salmon River above Redfish Lake 
Creek to Torrey's Bar none 6

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(SA2) Salmon River - Torrey's Bar to first Highway 93 bridge above Challis. 
Each outfitter may use at any one time a maximum of (a) three (3) boats  
for fishing, and (b) five (5) boats for other boating activities. The Board may 
approve adjustments of these boat limitations to accommodate canoeing or 
kayaking activities that are a part of an outfitter's operating plan.

none 5

(SA3) Salmon River - First Highway 93 bridge above Challis to Kilpatrick River 
access. Each outfitter may use at any one time a maximum of (a) three (3) 
boats for fishing, and (b) five (5) boats for other boating activities. The Board 
may approve adjustments of these boat limitations to accommodate canoeing 
or kayaking activities that are a part of an outfitter's operating plan.

none 6

(SA4A) Salmon River - Kilpatrick River access to North Fork - License period 
from May 1 to September 30. Each outfitter may use at any one time a  
maximum of (a) three (3) boats for fishing and (b) five (5) boats for other  
boating activities. The Board may approve adjustments of these boat  
limitations to accommodate canoeing or kayaking activities that are part of an 
outfitter's operating plan.

5 11

(SA4B) Salmon River - Kilpatrick River access to North Fork - License period 
from October 1 to April 30. Each power boat outfitter may use at any one time a 
maximum of one (1) boat and each float boat outfitter may use at any one time 
a maximum of three (3) boats.

2 8

(SA5) Salmon River - North Fork to Corn Creek 3 9

*##(SA6) Salmon River - Corn Creek to Spring Bar Boat Ramp with no outfitter 
fishing below Vinegar Creek from September 15 through March 31 except that 
on a case-by-case basis, outfitter fishing may occur when permitted by the 
BLM and with the notification to and concurrence of the Board Executive 
Director.

14 31

* (SA7A) Salmon River - Vinegar Creek to Hammer Creek - License period 
from March 15 to October 15. No power boating is allowed from the Saturday 
before Memorial Day through Labor Day from 10:30 a.m./Mountain Time to 
5:00 p.m./Mountain Time daily between the Riggins City Boat Dock and Lucile.

10 26

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(3-20-20)T

03. Licensable Waters -- River Sections (SH1) Henry’s Fork Snake River Through (TE3) Teton 
River -- Table. 

* (SA7B) Salmon River - Power boats from Vinegar Creek to Spring Bar Boat 
Ramp and float boats from Vinegar Creek to Island Bar Boat Ramp, open from 
September 15 to March 31 only. Each float boat outfitter may use at any one 
time a maximum of three (3) boats for fishing, or two (2) additional boats for 
fishing when permitted by the BLM and with the notification to and concurrence 
of the Board Executive Director; and each power boat outfitter may use at any 
one time a maximum of two (2) boats for fishing, or one (1) additional boat for 
fishing when permitted by the BLM and with the notification to and concurrence 
of the Board Executive Director.

6 12

* (SA7C) Salmon River - Riggins City Park Boat Ramp to Hammer Creek. 
Three (3) designated outfitters may utilize float boats to fish from the Riggins 
City Boat Dock to Hammer Creek during the period from September 15 to 
March 31.

none 3

*##(SA8) Salmon River - Hammer Creek to Heller Bar  
or Lewiston on the Snake River 15 35

* (SE1) Selway River - Paradise Campground to Selway Falls none 4

(SE2) Selway River - Selway Falls to the mouth of the Selway River at Lowell. 
Each outfitter may use at any one time a maximum of (a) three (3) boats for 
fishing, and (b) five (5) boats for other boating activities. The Board may 
approve adjustments to these boat limitations to accommodate canoeing or 
kayaking activities that are part of an outfitter's operating plan.

none 5

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float

(SH1) Snake River, Henry's Fork - Henry's Lake Outlet to Hatchery Ford. 
(Each outfitter may use at any one time a maximum of (a) eight (8) boats for 
fishing No more than three (3) of these boats may be used at any one time on 
any of the following river reaches: Henry's Lake Outlet to Island Park Dam, 
Island Park Dam to Last Chance, Last Chance to Osborn Bridge, and Osborn 
Bridge to Hatchery Ford), and (b) five (5) boats for other boating activities. The 
Board may approve adjustments to these boat limitations to accommodate 
canoeing or kayaking activities that are part of an outfitter's operating plan.

none 7

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(SH2) Snake River, Henry's Fork - Mesa Falls to St. Anthony. Each outfitter 
may use at any one time a maximum of (a) eight (8) boats for fishing, no more 
than three (3) of these boats may be used at any one time on any one of the 
following river reaches: Mesa Falls to Warm River, Warm River to Ashton Dam, 
and Ashton Dam to St. Anthony, and (b) five (5) boats for other boating  
activities. The Board may approve adjustments of these boat limitations to 
accommodate canoeing or kayaking activities that are part of an outfitter's 
operating plan.

none 8

(SH3) Snake River, Henry's Fork - No more than three (3) boats for fishing may 
be used by an outfitter at any one (1) time in each of the following river 
sections:

a) St. Anthony to Red Road Bridge Boat Access (i.e., Parker/Salem or  
Fort Henry)

b) Red Road Bridge Boat Access to Warm Slough Boat Access
c) Warm Slough Boat Access to Menan Boat Access

No outfitter may have more than six (6) boats on the SH3 in any one (1) day.

When permitted by the BLM and with the notification to and concurrence of the 
IOGLB Executive Director, each outfitter may be allowed adjustments to the 
maximum boat limits in order to accommodate non-fishing boating activities 
(e.g., canoeing, paddle boards, and kayaks) and hazardous excursions that 
are part of an outfitter's operating plan. These adjustments must be reviewed 
and approved annually.

IOGLB licenses are for the entire SH3 segment; a section of SH3 cannot be 
separated from SH3 for the purposes of selling a portion of an outfitter's 
business.

none 4

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(SS1) Snake River - South Fork - No more than four (4) boats per section/per 
day may be used by an outfitter at any one (1) time in each of the following 
river sections:

a) Palisades Dam to the Conant Boat Access;
b) Conant Boat Access to Fullmer Boat Access. Exception: Not more than 

eight (8) boats would be permitted in Section (b) on the same day, provided 
that no more than four (4) of said boats are in this Section after 11:00 a.m. due 
to overnight use at designated outfitter camps;

c) Fullmer Boat Access to Byington Boat Access;
d) Byington Boat Access to Lorenzo Boat Access; and
e) Lorenzo Boat Access to Menan Boat Access;

Additionally, no outfitter may have more than twelve (12) boats on the SS1 in any 
one day.

A one-time per year exception after July 15 may be granted from Conant Boat 
Access to Byington Boat Access that would allow two (2) additional boats per 
section to accommodate large client groups. During this one-time exception, if 
the two (2) additional boats do not accommodate the large client group, 
additional boats must come from slots allocated to other outfitters. The 
maximum daily boat limit for SS1 may not be exceeded. This would require 
written concurrence from the BLM/USFS and the IOGLB Executive Director.

Float boats may use motors (5HP or less) for downstream steerage only within 
the entire SS1 reach. Downstream steerage would not include holding or 
upstream travel of watercraft with a motor.

IOGLB licenses are for the entire SS1 segment; a section of SS1 cannot be 
separated from SS1 for the purposes of selling a portion of an outfitter's 
business.

None* 8**

* Each licensed float boat outfitter may use one (1) supply boat (float or power) 
that does not carry clients. During periods of preparing overnight camps (i.e., 
setting up tents and portable toilet facilities, boating in grills and other cooking 
supplies) for the season, usually May or June of each year; and removing the 
same items listed above from overnight camps at the end of the season, 
usually October or November; multiple supply boats may be used.

** One (1) license additional for waterfowl hunting covering both BLM and USFS 
managed lands and waters for the South Fork (Palisades Dam to Wolf Flats 
Boat Access may be issued. This license opportunity is in addition to the eight 
(8) float licenses and is limited to providing waterfowl hunting during waterfowl 
hunting season as defined by Idaho Fish and Game Rules and where no more 
than two (2) float or power boat boats per day per section a and b only can be 
used by the outfitter at any one time for that purpose. Fishing may not be 
provided or conducted unless the outfitter is also licensed and permitted as 
one (1) of the eight (8) outfitters addressed in this rule who may not provide 
hunting activities. This business opportunity may be sold separately.

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(SN1) Snake River - For each license/permit issued, no more than four (4) boats 
per section/per day may be used by an outfitter at any one time in each of the 
following river sections:

a) Menan Boat Access to Mike Walker Boat Access (includes Federally 
managed lands);

b) Mike Walker Boat Access to Gem State Power Plant (includes non-
Federal lands).

Float boats may use motors (5HP or less) for downstream steerage only within 
the entire SS1 reach. Downstream steerage would not include holding or 
upstream travel of watercraft with a motor.

OGLB licenses are for the entire SN1 segment; a section of SN1 cannot be 
separated from SN1 for the purposes of selling a portion of an outfitter's 
business.

3 outfitters either 
float or power or 

combination thereof

(SN2) Snake River - Gem State Power Plant downstream to headwaters of 
American Falls Reservoir 3 3

(SN3) Snake River - American Falls Dam to Massacre Rocks State Park 3 3

(SN4) Snake River - Massacre Rocks State Park to Milner Dam 3 3

* (SN5) Snake River - Milner Dam to Star Falls none 3

* (SN6) Snake River - Star Falls to Twin Falls none 5

(SN7) Snake River - Twin Falls to Lower Salmon Falls Dam 3 3

(SN8) Snake River - Lower Salmon Falls Dam to Bliss Dam 3 5

(SN9) Snake River - Bliss Dam to headwaters of C.J. Strike Reservoir 5 5

(SN10) Snake River - C.J. Strike Dam to Walter's Ferry
5 outfitters for either 

power or float or 
combination thereof

(SN11) Snake River - Walter's Ferry to headwaters of Brownlee Reservoir 5 none

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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* (SN12) Snake River - Hells Canyon Dam to Pittsburg Landing 18 15

* (SN13) Snake River - Hells Canyon Dam to Pittsburg Landing,  
two (2) one-day float trips only none 2

(SN14) Snake River - Pittsburg Landing to Heller Bar or Lewiston 19 15

(SN15) Snake River - Washington/Oregon stateline to Lewiston

Limitations pending. 
(This section is set 

aside for future 
rules of fishing 
only outfitters.)

(SJ1) St. Joe River - St. Joe River Headwaters to Red Ives. No outfitted boating. 
One (1) walk and wade only fishing outfitter.

none
2

none
 

(SJ2) St. Joe River - Red Ives to Avery. In addition to one (1) float boat license, 
three (3) walk and wade only outfitters. No fishing from float boats, boat clients 
may fish via walk and wade. 

none 1

(SJ3) St. Joe River - Avery to St. Joe City Bridge none 2

(SJ4) St. Joe River - St. Joe City Bridge to Lake Coeur d’Alene 2 none

(SM1) St. Maries River 5 5

(TE1) Teton River - Upper put-in to Cache Bridge, 
motors not to exceed 10 hp

5 outfitters for either 
power or float or

 combination thereof

(TE2) Teton River - Cache Bridge to Harrop Bridge,  
motors not to exceed 10 hp

6 outfitters for either 
power or float or 

combination thereof

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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* Classified rivers
## Floatboat and powerboat outfitters on these sections are considered within their area of operations when hiking 
from the river or fishing in tributaries away from the river, but does not include overnight activities. Conflicts with 
land-based outfitters will be handled on a case-by-case basis. (3-20-20)T

04. Other -- Table. The following lakes and reservoirs or portions thereof that lie totally or partially 
within the state of Idaho are open to fishing by outfitters with the following limitations:

(TE3) Teton River - No more than two (2) boats per section/per day may be 
used by an outfitter at any one time in each of the following river sections: a), 
b), d), e) and f). No more than four (4) boats per section/per day may be used 
by an outfitter at any one time on river section c) and where two (2) boats from 
same outfitter must be spaced at three-hour (3) intervals:

a) Harrop Bridge Boat Access to Felt Dam Boat Access;
b) Felt Dam Boat Access to Spring Hollow Boat Access;
c) Spring Hollow Boat Access to Teton Dam Site Boat Access;
d) Teton Dam Site Boat Access to Hog Hollow Bridge Boat Access
e) Hog Hollow Bridge Boat Access to Teton Highway;
f) Teton Highway to confluence with the Henrys Fork of the Snake River. 

Note: No boat access exists at the confluence with the Henrys Fork of the 
Snake River. Outfitters would utilize Hibbard Bridge or Warm Slough Access on 
SH3. No fishing on SH3

No outfitter may have more than eight (8) boats on the TE3 in any one day.

Float boats may use motors not to exceed 10 hp in section a) (Harrop Bridge to 
Felt Dam Access) only. Float boats may use motors (5HP or less) for 
downstream steerage only in sections d), e) and f). Motors are not allowed in 
other sections. Downstream steerage does not include holding or upstream 
travel of watercraft with a motor. 

IOGLB licenses are for the entire TE3 segment; a section of TE3 cannot be 
separated from TE3 for the purposes of selling a portion of an outfitter's 
business.

none 5

Lake or Reservoir Maximum No. of Operators
Maximum No. Boats per 

Operator per Lake or 
Reservoir

Lake Coeur d'Alene 8 1

Dworshak Reservoir 7 2

Hayden Lake 1 2

Henry's Lake 8 2

Island Park Reservoir 7 2

Magic Reservoir 3 2

Palisades Reservoir 10 2

River/Section Maximum
No. Power

Maximum 
No. Float
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(3-20-20)T

05. Other Lakes and Reservoirs. All other Idaho lakes and reservoirs are limited to two (2) outfitters 
with a maximum of two (2) boats (float or power) per outfitter. (3-20-20)T

060. (RESERVED)

061. TECHNICAL MOUNTAINEERING/ROCK CLIMBING.
Any outfitter applicant for technical mountaineering/rock climbing must appear before the Board to explain in full 
detail his qualifications, experience, plans, and areas of operation demonstrating the necessary specialized training 
and skill. (3-20-20)T

062. (RESERVED)

063. SNOWMOBILING.
In addition to other requirements, outfitters and guides for snowmobiling must ensure the following: (3-20-20)T

01. Non-Groomed Trails. All machines are accompanied by at least one (1) guide for one (1) through 
five (5) snowmachines, two (2) guides for six (6) through twelve (12) snowmachines, and one (1) additional guide for 
each additional ten (10) snowmachines. The maximum number of snowmachines allowed in one (1) group may not 
exceed thirty (30). One (1) guide leads and one (1) trails where more than five (5) snowmachines are involved.

(3-20-20)T

02. Groomed Trails. All machines are accompanied by at least one (1) guide for one (1) through 
fifteen (15) snowmachines, and two (2) guides for sixteen (16) through a total of thirty (30) snowmachines. One (1) 
guide leads and one (1) trails where more than fifteen (15) machines are involved. The maximum number of 
snowmachines allowed in one group may not exceed thirty (30). (3-20-20)T

03. Emergency Equipment. All snowmobiling tours have with them necessary emergency equipment, 
tools, and spare parts for the machine(s) in use. (3-20-20)T

04. Reduction in Guide Ratios. An outfitter may apply to the Board to reduce the number of guides 
on non-groomed trails to one (1) guide for six (6) through twelve (12) snowmachines and the number of guides on 
groomed trails to one (1) guide for sixteen (16) through thirty (30) snowmachines, when the guide has electronic 
communication for summoning assistance at all times during the excursion. (3-20-20)T

064. AUTHORIZATION FOR GRANTING, DENIAL AND REVOCATION OF LICENSES.

01. Executive Director Authorizations. The Executive Director is authorized to grant, issue or deny, 
temporary authorizations, licenses and license amendments, hot pursuit agreements and designations of allocated tags 
with the concurrence of the Board, under the following conditions: (3-20-20)T

Lake Pend Oreille 11 1

Priest Lake 5 1

American Falls Reservoir 3 2

C.J. Strike Reservoir 4 2

Brownlee Reservoir 5 2

Oxbow Reservoir 3 2

Hells Canyon Reservoir 3 2

Lake or Reservoir Maximum No. of Operators
Maximum No. Boats per 

Operator per Lake or 
Reservoir
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a. The Executive Director may grant and issue all routine temporary authorizations, license 
applications, amendments and related matters when the applicant does not have any convictions for fish and game 
violations or other violations of the grounds enumerated in Section 36-2113(a), Idaho Code, has not falsified or 
provided any misleading information to the Board, and otherwise qualifies for licensure. (3-20-20)T

b. The Executive Director may grant all license applications which otherwise qualify for licensure, 
but which have violations of the grounds enumerated in Section 36-2113(a), Idaho Code, which occurred five (5) 
years prior to the date of application, except that a license will not be granted by the Executive Director to an 
applicant who has a felony conviction of any nature, or conviction of a flagrant violation pursuant to Section 36-
1402(e), Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

c. The Executive Director may grant a license with probationary status for conviction of minor fish 
and game violations or violations enumerated in Section 36-2113(a), Idaho Code, that occurred at least five (5) years 
prior to the date of application, excluding felony convictions. (3-20-20)T

d. The Executive Director may defer granting or denying any license or related matter to the Board for 
action by the Board. (3-20-20)T

e. The Executive Director may not waive fees. (3-20-20)T

02. Board Conditions. The Board may grant or deny a license pursuant to the provisions of Sections 
36-2109 and 36-2113, Idaho Code, under the following conditions: (3-20-20)T

a. The Board may grant a license to an applicant with convictions of violations enumerated in Section 
36-2113(a), Idaho Code, which are over five (5) years old and may place the licensee on probation. (3-20-20)T

b. The Board may grant a license to an applicant with convictions of violations enumerated in Section 
36-2113(a), Idaho Code, which are less than five (5) years old and may place the licensee on probation. (3-20-20)T

c. The Board will proceed with the denial of an applicant for a hunting or fishing outfitter or guide 
license or proceed with the revocation process on a licensee upon conviction of a flagrant violation pursuant to 
Section 36-1402(e), Idaho Code, unless unusual mitigating circumstances exist. (3-20-20)T

065. -- 066. (RESERVED)

067. INSPECTIONS.
Outfitter camps and equipment may be inspected at any time by an authorized person or any member of the Board 
with a written report submitted to the Board to ensure adequate equipment and gear is utilized and maintained in a 
manner which meets minimum standards of public acceptability and which meets the requirements of applicable 
local, state, or federal laws and rules. (3-20-20)T

068. ADMINISTRATIVE FINES/PROBATION/RESTRICTIONS.

01. Penalties -- Table. In addition to suspension, probation, restriction or revocation of a license, the 
following penalties may be applied to that licensee or those licensees found to have violated the provisions of the Act, 
these rules, or both.

I.C. Section 
36-2113(a) First Offense Second Offense Third Offense

1. $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine Suspension or Revocation
 of License
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(3-20-20)T

02. Restrictions. No license will be issued while any outstanding administrative fine monies are due 
unless an arrangement has been made and approved by the Board for the payment of same. (3-20-20)T

03. Terms of Probation. Typical terms of probation are that there are no violations of local, state or 
federal laws or ordinances, and no amendments to the license during the term of probation, and other restrictions as 
the Board orders. (3-20-20)T

069. -- 999. (RESERVED)

2. Probation/Restriction of 
License $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

3. All Penalties Are Within The Board's Discretion.

4. Probation/Restriction of 
License $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

5. $100 - $300 Fine $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

6. Probation/Restriction of 
License $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

7. Probation/Restriction of 
License $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

8. $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine Suspension or Revocation 
of License

9. $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine Suspension or Revocation 
of License

10. $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $2,500 Fine $2,500 - $5,000 Fine

11. $100 - $300 Fine $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

12. $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $2,500 Fine $2,500 - $5,000 Fine

13. All Penalties Are Within The Board's Discretion.

14. $100 - $300 Fine $100 - $500 Fine $500 - $5,000 Fine

I.C. Section 
36-2113(a) First Offense Second Offense Third Offense
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