MINUTES

HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Tuesday, February 04, 2020

TIME: 9:00 A.M.

PLACE: Room EW41

MEMBERS: Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Shepherd, Boyle, Mendive,

DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Goesling, Marshall, Raymond, Wisniewski, McCrostie,

Abernathy, Berch

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: None

GUESTS: Tracie Bent and Debbie Critchfield, OSBE; Greg Wilson, Governor's Office;

Marilyn Whitney and Tim McMurtrey, SDE; Bret Heller, West Ada School District; Eliza Walton, Conservation Voters of Idaho; Dennis Stevenson, DFM; Angela Hemingway, STEM Action Center; Maricela Deveney, IEA; Clark Corbin, Idaho

Ed News

Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:01 am.

MOTION: Rep. Raymond made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 29, 2020

and January 30, 2020 meetings. Motion carried by voice vote.

Chairman Clow turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman Kerby.

MOTION: Rep. Marshall made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.01.02 Rules Governing the Postsecondary Credit Scholarship Program.

Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Marshall made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.01.10 Idaho College Work Study Program. Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. McCrostie made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.01.11 Registration of Postsecondary Education Institutions and Proprietary

Schools. Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Marshall made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.01.13 Rules Governing the Opportunity Scholarship Program. Motion

carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Raymond made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.02.01 Rules Governing Administration. Motion carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. McCrostie made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.02.04 Rules Governing Public Charter Schools. Motion carried by voice

vote.

MOTION: Rep. Marshall made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.02.05 Rules Governing Pay for Success Contracting. Motion carried by

voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. McCrostie made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.03.01 Rules of the Public Charter School Commission. Motion carried

by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. Marshall made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter

08.04.01 Rules of the Idaho Digital Learning Academy. Motion carried by

voice vote.

MOTION:

Rep. Raymond made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter 08.05.01 Rules Governing Seed and Plant Certification. Motion carried by voice vote.

ORIGINAL MOTION:

Rep. Marshall made a motion to approve Docket No. 08-0000-1900, Chapter 08.02.02 Rules Governing Uniformity with the exception of Sections 004.01 and 100.01, .02.d and .04.c.

Rep. Raymond reminded the Committee of the testimony given by the American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence, regarding the challenges non-traditional educator preparation programs face in program approval.

Rep. Marshall spoke to his motion, noting the excepted sections pertain to the Idaho Standards for the Initial Certification of Professional School Personnel (Idaho Standards). He has had significant personal experiences working with these standards and testified they have become so comprehensive that it's virtually impossible to evaluate teacher candidates on each criterion. He stated his support for having simplified standards that are helpful and reasonable, not a hindrance.

SUBSTITUTE MOTION:

Rep. McCrostie made a substitute motion to approve **Docket No. 08-0000-1900**, **Chapter 08.02.02 Rules Governing Uniformity**. He stated the scope of the original motion, which includes rejecting the incorporated by reference document containing the Idaho Standards, was too broad. He noted the original motion would eliminate the standards with nothing to replace them.

Rep. Berch spoke **in support** of the substitute motion. The original motion would exempt non-traditional educator preparation programs from review, while traditional programs would continue to be reviewed. He stated the way to handle the expressed concerns was to work with the State Board of Education to modify the rules, not to eliminate the rules entirely.

Rep. Marshall spoke **in opposition** to the substitute motion. He shared his experience in obtaining approval for Brigham Young University-Idaho's teacher preparation program and said creativity was actively discouraged. He stated the existing traditional teacher preparation programs were designed with the Idaho Standards in mind and will continue to operate in much the same way, but will now have the freedom to try new things.

Rep. DeMordaunt spoke **in support** of the original motion. She testified alternative routes to becoming a teacher particularly help rural districts. When the Idaho Standards are rewritten and come back for Committee approval, she expressed her hope they will continue to support alternative routes to certification.

Rep. Ehardt spoke **in opposition** to the substitute motion and encouraged the Committee to heed **Rep. Marshall's** recommendation, because it is based on extensive personal experience.

Chairman Clow noted the Committee can only accept or reject this rule, not replace the Idaho Standards with something different. He stated his belief that the State Board of Education will fill the void if the Idaho Standards are rejected and the original motion conveys that the Board needs to reevaluate how the standards are formulated.

ROLL CALL VOTE ON SUBSTITUTE MOTION:

Roll call vote was requested. Substitute motion failed by a vote of 3 AYE and 12 NAY. Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. McCrostie, Abernathy and Berch. Voting in opposition to the motion: Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Reps. Shepherd, Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Goesling, Marshall, Raymond and Wisniewski.

ORIGINAL MOTION:	requested to be recorded as voting NAY.
MOTION:	Rep. Goesling made a motion to adjourn. Motion carried by voice vote. Reps. McCrostie, Abernathy and Berch requested to be recorded as voting NAY.
	Vice Chairman Kerby turned the gavel over to Chairman Clow.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 9:48 am.
Representative	Kerby Erica McGinnis
Chair	Secretary