MINUTES HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Friday, January 29, 2021

TIME: 9:00 A.M.

PLACE: Room EW41

MEMBERS: Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Shepherd, Yamamoto, McCrostie, Berch, Toone (Metzler-Fitzgerald)

ABSENT/ None EXCUSED:

GUESTS: Idaho State Superintendent Sherri Ybarra; Teacher of the Year Jorge Pulleiro; Tracie Bent, Chief Planning and Policy Officer, State Board of Education (SBOE); Mike Keckler Chief Communications and Legislative Affairs Officer SBOE, Marilyn Whitney Deputy Superintendent, Communications & Policy, State Department of Education (SDE); Karlynn Laraway, Communications Director SDE; Tim McMurtrey, Deputy Superintendent, Operations SDE

Chairman Clow called the meeting to order 9:00 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Galloway made a motion to approve the minutes of January 25 and 26, 2021. Motion carried by voice vote.

Superintendent Ybarra introduced the 2021 Teacher of the Year, **Jorge Pulleiro** from Blaine County.

Jorge Pulleiro accepted the award and offered a moving speech. Mr. Pulleiro answered Committee questions and accepted their congratulations.

- **RS 28329: Rep. DeMordaunt** presented **RS 28329** which makes K 12 school closure the responsibility of the Board of Trustees which governs the school.
- MOTION: Rep. Moon made a motion to introduce RS 28329. Motion carried by voice vote.
- **RS 28331:** Vice Chairman Kerby presented **RS 28331** which makes higher education school closure the responsibility of the Board of Trustees which governs the school.
- MOTION: Rep. Ehardt made a motion to introduce RS 28331. Motion carried by voice vote.
- **RS 28337:** Vice Chairman Kerby presented **RS 28337** which streamlines the teacher performance goal process, creates a Committee of stakeholder groups to oversee school goals, reducing bureaucracy.
- MOTION: Rep. Mendive made a motion to introduce RS 28337. Motion carried by voice vote.
- ADJOURN: There being no new business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 10:07 a.m.

Representative Clow Chair

Christine Reynolds Secretary