## MINUTES

## HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

**DATE:** Monday, February 15, 2021

**TIME:** 9:00 A.M. **PLACE:** Room EW41

**MEMBERS:** Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive,

DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Shepherd, Yamamoto,

McCrostie, Berch, Toone

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: None

GUESTS: Superintendent of Public Instruction, Sherri Ybarra; Marilyn Whitney, Deputy

Superintendent Communications and Policy, Idaho State Department of Education (SDE); Representative Wendy Horman; David Brinkman, Leadership Development Specialist for the Idaho School Boards Association (ISBA); Tracie Bent, Chief Planning and Policy Officer, State Board of Education (SBOE); Mike Keckler Chief Communications and Legislative Affairs Officer SBOE; Karen Echeverria ISBA; Karlynn Laraway SDE; Tim McMurtrey, Deputy Superintendent, Operations SDE;

Ryan Grasmere, Idaho Education Technology Association.

Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Toone made a motion to approve the minutes of February 9, 10, 11 and 12.

Motion passed by voice vote.

Chairman Clow turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman Kerby.

**RS 28174:** Rep. Moon presented legislation to provide school boards the option whether to

engage in collective bargaining.

**MOTION:** Rep. Ehardt made a motion to introduce RS 28174.

Rep. Toone, Rep. Berch and Rep. McCrostie spoke in opposition to the

introduction of RS 28174.

**Rep. Moon** answered Committee questions. **Chairman Clow** asked if more than fifty percent of the teachers of a school submitted a petition whether the school board would have to acquiesce to the request and if the Idaho Attorney General

had provided an opinion.

Rep. Kerby and Rep. Galloway spoke in favor of the introduction of RS 28174.

ROLL CALL VOTE:

Rep. Mendive requested a roll call vote on the motion. Motion carried by a vote of 11 AYE and 4 NAY. Voting in favor of the motion: Vice Chairman Kerby, Reps. Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Shepherd, and Yamamoto. Voting in opposition to the motion: Reps.

McCrostie, Berch, Toone, and Chairman Clow.

Vice Chairman Kerby turned the gavel over to Chairman Clow.

**RS 28367C1:** Marilyn Whitney, Deputy Superintendent Communications and Policy for the SDE,

presented legislation to allow in-person instruction in schools as decided by the

SDE. Ms. Whitney answered Committee questions.

MOTION: Rep. Toone made a motion to introduce RS 28367C1. Motion carried by voice

vote.

RS 28336: Rep. Horman presented legislation to transfer the operations of the Idaho Office of School Safety and Security from the Division of Building Safety to the State Board of Education. MOTION: Vice Chairman Kerby made a motion to introduce RS 28336. Motion carried by voice vote. RS 28571 Rep. DeMordaunt presented RS 28571 to allow flexibility for students to be evaluated by skills and knowledge in lieu of previous classes. This legislation will allow students that learn outside of school and apply to receive credit at a school board's discretion. MOTION: Rep. Ehardt made a motion to introduce RS 28571. Motion carried by voice vote. David Brinkman, Leadership Development Specialist of the ISBA presented the current Continuous Improvement Plan, reviewed the current and previous year benchmarks; reported on the ISBA's annual progress, the required college and career advising performance metrics, and literary intervention plan. He stated the ISBA's goals when working with school boards is to advocate for public education and how to best serve the patrons. ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 10:07 a.m. Representative Clow Christine Reynolds Secretary Chair