HOUSE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Monday, March 08, 2021

TIME: 9:00 A.M.

PLACE: Room EW41

MEMBERS: Chairman Clow, Vice Chairman Kerby, Representatives Boyle, Mendive,

DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Marshall, Wisniewski, Galloway, Shepherd, Yamamoto,

McCrostie, Berch, Toone

ABSENT/ EXCUSED: None

GUESTS: Wendi Secrist, Executive Director, Idaho Workforce Development Council (IWDC);

Wendy Johnson, Kuna School District (KSD); Blake Nelson, West Ada School District (WASD), student; Lesa Coleman, citizen; Richard Smith, citizen; Tyler Hurst, Parents of West Ada Stakeholders (PWAS); Jaime Thompson, citizen; Kathy Dawes, citizen; Mike Keckler State Board of Education (SBOE); Andy Grover, Executive Director Idaho Association of School Administrators (IASA); Karen Echeverria, Idaho School Boards Association (ISBA); Amy Johnson, WASD

Trustee; Dean Anderson, citizen

Chairman Clow called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Wendi Secrist, IWDC, presented an update of the current workforce development plan to increase outreach and awareness of opportunities, the development and supervision of programs and services, and to provide effective resource and funding management. A talent pipeline is being developed with the Idaho Association of Commerce and Industry (IACI), coordinating employers with workforce development funds. Due to changes in legislation, high school students can now register for training and apprenticeship programs. Next Steps Idaho and Online Idaho were created in collaboration with the SBOE. In answer to committee questions, she stated some grants are limited to age ranges while others do not have age restrictions. Next Steps Idaho is designed to be a career education training program one-stop-shop where visitors can find multiple resources.

H 293:

Rep. Galloway presented legislation to require public schools to reimburse caregivers for educational expenses incurred when they must educate students due to in-person school closure. The reasons for this legislation are to get kids back in school, to prevent further student learning loss, address current student mental health concerns, and ease the burden placed on caregivers, particularly those already affected by socioeconomic challenges. She expressed urgency to open schools for the benefit of students.

Blake Nelson, WASD, Lesa Coleman, Dean Anderson, Richard Smith, Tyler Hurst, PWAS, and Jaime Thompson, spoke in support of H 293, stating the long term affects of school closure impacts students academically and emotionally, that students do not learn remotely with equal proficiency.

Wendy Johnson, KSD, Kathy Dawes, and Amy Johnson, WASD, spoke in opposition to H 293.

Karen Echeverria, ISBA, spoke **in opposition** to **H 293**. In answer to committee questions, Ms. Echeverria clarified that the bill is disrespectful to school boards and stated school boards are aware students are impacted socially and emotionally by the pandemic.

Andy Grover, IASA, spoke in opposition to H 293. In answer to committee questions, Mr. Grover stated most school districts are trying to open schools after spring break.

Rep. Galloway clarified that there are over 70,000 students still not receiving education in schools and the necessary funds would be coming from pandemic-related federal funds. She stated school boards should have been able to find a way to educate students safely with a year of planning and federal funding.

UNANIMOUS CONSENT REQUEST:

Chairman Clow made a unanimous consent request to extend the meeting beyond

10:20 am. Rep. Marshall objected.

MOTION: Rep. DeMordaunt made a motion to extend adjournment to 10:27 a.m. Motion

carried by voice vote.

MOTION: Rep. DeMordaunt made a motion to send H 293 to the floor with a DO PASS

recommendation.

SUBSTITUTE MOTION:

Rep. McCrostie made a substitute motion to HOLD H 293 in committee.

Rep. Marshall spoke in opposition to H 293.

MOTION: **Rep. Moon** made a motion to call for the previous question.

ROLL CALL VOTE ON MOTION:

Roll call vote was requested on the motion to call for the previous question. Motion carried by a vote of 12 AYE, 3 NAY. Voting in favor of the motion: Vice Chairman Kerby, Reps. Boyle, Marshall, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Wisniewski, Galloway, Shepherd, Yamamoto and Chairman Clow. Voting in

opposition to the motion: Reps. McCrostie, Berch, and Toone.

ROLL CALL VOTE ON SUBSTITUTE MOTION:

Roll call vote was requested. Substitute motion failed by a vote of 4 AYE, 11 NAY, Voting in favor of the motion: Reps. Marshall, McCrostie, Berch. and Toone. Voting in opposition to the motion: Vice Chairman Kerby, Reps. Boyle, Mendive, DeMordaunt, Moon, Ehardt, Wisniewski, Galloway, Shepherd, Yamamoto and Chairman Clow.

Chairman Clow stated committee discussion would resume on H 293 at 8:30 a.m. on March 9, 2021.

ADJOURN: There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting

adjourned at 10:20 a.m.

Representative Clow	Christine Reynolds
Chair	Secretary