MINUTES SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

DATE: Tuesday, January 16, 2024

TIME: 3:00 P.M.

PLACE: Room WW55

MEMBERS Chairman Lent, Vice Chairman Toews, Senators Den Hartog, Nichols, Carlson, **PRESENT:** Herndon, Lenney, Ward-Engelking, and Semmelroth

ABSENT/ None

EXCUSED:

- **NOTE:** The sign-in sheet, testimonies and other related materials will be retained with the minutes in the committee's office until the end of the session and will then be located on file with the minutes in the Legislative Services Library.
- **CONVENED:** Chairman Lent called the meeting of the Senate Education Committee (Committee) to order at 3:00 p.m.

GUBERNATORIAL APPOINTMENT: Committee Consideration of the Gubernatorial Appointment of LTC Peter Koehler of Caldwell, Idaho, to the Idaho Charter School Commission to serve a term commencing May 31, 2023 and expiring May 12, 2027. Mr. Koehler gave an overview of his background. He stated that he was a supporter of charter schools because they were innovative and offered families educational options.

- DOCKET NO.
08-0102-2301Rules Governing the Postsecondary Credit Scholarship Program (Chapter
Repeal) Proposed Rule. Jenn Thompson, Chief Policy and Government
Affairs Officer, Idaho State Board of Education, presented Docket No.
08-0102-2301. She explained that the Administrative Rule was a full repeal.
- **DOCKET NO. 08-0113-2302 Rules Governing the Opportunity Scholarship Program - Proposed Rule. Jenn Thompson**, Chief Policy and Government Affairs Officer, Idaho State Board of Education, presented **Docket No. 08-0113-2302** regarding rules governing the Opportunity Scholarship (OS). She explained that the language in the scholarship program was amended to align with the revised Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) application. She said there was no change to student eligibility, but flexibility was added to accommodate varying FAFSA due dates. She said that the OS was only available to students attending four-year institutions. Students attending community colleges were no longer eligible for the OS after July 1, 2023. She clarified that multi-year scholarship awards made to students prior to the change in the law would be honored.
- MOTION: Senator Den Hartog moved to approve Docket No. 08-0102-2301. Senator Ward-Engelking seconded the motion. Chairman Lent asked for a roll call vote. Chairman Lent, Vice Chairman Toews, Senators Den Hartog, Nichols, Carlson, Lenney, Ward-Engelking, and Semmelroth voted aye. There were no nays.
- MOTION: Senator Den Hartog moved to approve Docket No. 08-0113-2302. Senator Toews seconded the motion.

SUBSTITUTE
MOTION:Senator Herndon moved that Docket No. 08-0113-2302 be held in Committee
subject to the call of the Chair. Senator Nichols seconded the motion. Chairman
Lent requested a roll call vote on the substitute motion. Chairman Lent,
Vice Chairman Toews, Senators Den Hartog, Nichols, Carlson, Lenney,
Ward-Engelking, and Semmelroth voted aye. There were no nays.

Senator Lent Chair Lisa Stein Secretary