Attachment 1, Docket 05-01-02, Director Prow, February 5, 2024

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR AGREEMENT

State of Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections

This agreement (“Agreement”) is made as of the date of the last signature below (the date
fully executed) and will extend through MM/DD/YYYY. This Agreement is between the Idaho
Department of Juvenile Corrections, 954 W. Jefferson St., Boise, ID 82720, (the “Client”), and
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR NAME AND ADDRESS (the “Independent Contractor”).

Whereas, the Client desires to engage the Independent Contractor to perform certain
services for the Client, pursuant to the terms and conditions stated in this Agreement.

The Client enters into this Agreement pursuant to authority delegated to it by the Idaho
Division of Purchasing, and by the authority granted to it in Title 20, Chapter 5, Idaho Code.

NOW THEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing and the mutual promises and
covenants herein contained, the parties agree as follows:

1. Services to be rendered. The Client desires that the Independent Contractor
perform, and the Independent Contractor agrees to perform the following: Such work includes, but
is not limited to,

2. Independent Contractor’s performance. All work done by the Independent
Contractor shall be of the highest professional standard and shall be performed to the Client’s
reasonable satisfaction. The detailed manner and method of performing the work is under the
control of Independent Contractor, with the Client being interested only in the results obtained.
Independent Contractor is an “independent contractor” as defined by law as to all work performed
under this Agreement.

8 Status. The Independent Contractor’s status under this Agreement shall be that of
an independent contractor, and not that of an agent or employee of the state (see, Idaho Code § 72-
102). The Independent Contractor warrants and represents that they have complied and will
comply with all federal, state and local laws regarding business permits and licenses that may be
required for them to perform the work as set forth in this Agreement.

4. Terms of payment. The Client shall pay the Independent Contractor $150.00 per
hour for the services required in this Agreement. The Client estimates, but does not guarantee that
the total value of this Agreement shall be $15,000.00. The value of the Agreement may be more
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or less depending on the Client’s needs. The Client will not reimburse for expenses pursuant to
this Agreement. The Independent Contract may invoice no more frequently than monthly. Send
invoices to: Idaho Department of Juvenile Corrections, P.O. Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0285,
Attn. Jessica Moncada (jessica.moncada@idjc.idaho.gov). Payment terms are Net 30.

5. Reimbursement of expenses. The Client shall not be liable to the Independent
Contractor for any expenses he pays or incurs unless otherwise agreed to in writing by the Client
prior to incurring such cost or obligation.

6. Equipment, tools, materials, or supplies. The Independent Contractor shall supply,
at its sole expense, all equipment, tools, materials or supplies to accomplish the work to be
performed. This includes, but is not limited to, expenses relating to travel, lodging, and meals
while performing work relating to this Agreement, unless agreed to in writing by the Client prior
to the cost or expense being incurred.

7. Federal, state and local payroll taxes. Neither federal nor state, nor any other
payroll tax of any kind, shall be withheld or paid by the Client on behalf of the Independent
Contractor or its employees. In accordance with the terms of this Agreement and the understanding
of the parties, the Independent Contractor shall not be treated for tax purposes as an employee with
respect to the services performed.

8. Fringe benefits. Because the Independent Contractor is engaged in his own
independent contract business, he is not eligible for, nor entitled to, and shall not participate in,
any of the Client’s or the state of Idaho’s pension, health or other fringe benefit plans.

9l Notice 1o the Independent Contractor regarding its tax duties and liabilities. The
Independent Contractor shall be responsible for paying all employment-related taxes and benefits,
such as federal and state income tax withholding, social security contributions, workers’
compensation and unemployment insurance premiums, health and life insurance premiums,
pension contributions and similar items. Independent Contractor shall indemnify the State and hold
it harmless from any and all claims for taxes (including but not limited to social security taxes),
penalties, attorneys’ fees and costs that may be made or assessed against the State arising out of
Independent Contractor’s failure to pay such taxes, fees or contributions.

10.  Indemnification. The Independent Contractor agrees to indemnify and hold
harmless the Client, the state of Idaho, its successors and assigns, from and against any and all
liability, claim losses, damages, actions, settlements, costs, or expenses, including attorneys’ fees,
by reason of the Independent Contractor’s acts or omissions in the performance of services under
this Agreement.

11. Sovereign immunity. Nothing contained herein shall be deemed to constitute a
waiver of the State’s sovereign immunity, which immunity is hereby expressly retained.

12. Insurance. The Independent Contractor shall maintain insurance of the types and
in the amounts typically maintained by providers of similar professional services as required under
this Agreement, including, but not limited to, automobile insurance in the amount of $1,000,000
per occurrence and professional liability insurance covering any damages caused by an error,
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omission or any negligent acts in the amount typically maintained by providers of similar services.
Insurance must be provided to the Independent Contractor by companies properly licensed to do
business in Idaho. Proof of insurance must be provided to the Client before any services are
rendered under this Agreement. Failure to provide proof of coverage at any time during the term
of this Agreement may result in termination of the Agreement by the Client.

13. Client not responsible for workers’ compensation. Because the Independent
Contractor is engaged in its own independent contracting business and is not an employee of the
Client, the Client will not obtain workers’ compensation insurance for the Independent Contractor
or its employees. The Independent Contractor agrees to obtain workers’ compensation coverage
as required by law for itself and employees, and to furnish a copy of its certificate of workers’
compensation insurance to the Client upon request. Failure to provide proof of insurance may be
cause to terminate this Agreement.

14. Termination. Either party may terminate the Agreement, with or without cause, at
any time by giving fifteen (15) days’ written notice to the other. Notwithstanding a termination,
the Independent Contractor’s obligations to provide follow-up services on work currently in
progress shall remain in effect until such services are completed. Payment will be prorated
according to work completed if termination is requested before the Agreement expires.

15.  Notices. Any notice given in connection with the Agreement shall be given in
writing and shall be delivered either by hand to the other party or by certified mail, return receipt
requested, or by e-mail with proof of receipt to the other party at the other party’s address stated
above. Either party may change its address by giving notice of the change in accordance with this
paragraph.

16.  No authority to bind client. The Independent Contractor has no authority to enter
into contracts or agreements on behalf of the Client. This Agreement does not create a partnership
between the parties and nothing contained in this Agreement shall be interpreted to create an
employer-employee, master-servant, or principal-agent relationship between the Client and
Independent Contractor in any respect.

17.  Assignment and Subcontracting. The Independent Contractor shall not assign this
Agreement, or its rights, obligations, or any other interest arising from the Agreement, or delegate
any of its performance obligations, without the express written consent of the Administrator of the
Division of Purchasing and the Idaho Board of Examiners. Transfer without such approval shall
cause the annulment of the Agreement, at the option of the State. All rights of action, however, for
any breach of the Agreement are reserved to the State. (Idaho Code § 67-5726[1]).

18. Waiver. The waiver by either party of a breach of any provision of this Agreement
shall not operate or be construed as a waiver of any subsequent breach.

19.  Modification. No change, modification, or waiver of any term of this Agreement
shall be valid unless it is in writing and signed by both the Client and the Independent Contractor.
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20.  Entire agreement. This Agreement constitutes the entire agreement between the
parties and supersedes all prior agreements or understandings between the Client and the
Independent Contractor.

21.  Arttorneys’ Fees. In the event a lawsuit of any kind is instituted under this
Agreement or to obtain performance of any kind under this Agreement, the prevailing party shall
be awarded such additional sums as the court may adjudge for reasonable attorneys’ fees and to
pay all costs and disbursements incurred therein.

22.  Applicable law. This Agreement shall be governed by, construed, and enforced in
accordance with, the laws of Idaho without regard to its conflicts of law principles. The parties
hereto consent to the jurisdiction of the state courts of Ada County in the State of Idaho in the
event of any dispute with respect to this Agreement.

23. Legal Compliance. Independent Contractor agrees to comply with all applicable
requirements of federal and state statutes, rules, and regulations.

24.  Sufficient Appropriation by Legislature Required. It is understood and agreed that
the Client is a governmental entity, and this Agreement shall in no way or manner be construed so
as to bind or obligate the state of Idaho beyond the term of any particular appropriation of funds
by the State Legislature as may exist from time to time. The Client reserves the right to terminate
this Agreement if, in its sole judgment, the legislature of the state of Idaho fails, neglects or refuses
to appropriate sufficient funds as may be required for Client to continue payment. Any such
termination shall take effect on ten (10) days’ notice and be otherwise effective as provided in this
Agreement. It is understood and agreed that the payments provided for shall be paid from
legislative appropriations.

25. Officials, Agents and Employees of Client Not Personally Liable. It is agreed by
and between the parties hereto that in no event shall any official, officer, employee or agent of the
state of Idaho be in any way liable or responsible for any covenant or agreement, whether
expressed or implied, nor for any statement, representation or warranty made in or in connection
with this Agreement. In particular, and without limitation of the foregoing, no full-time or part-
time agent or employee of the Client shall have any personal liability or responsibility under this
Agreement, and the sole responsibility and liability for the performance of this Agreement and all
of the provisions and covenants contained in this Agreement shall rest in and be vested with the
state of Idaho.

26.  License. In connection with the performance of the Independent Contractor’s
obligations under this Agreement, the Independent Contractor will provide a license to the state of
Idaho for the use of the Independent Contractor’s copyrighted intellectual property including art,
drawings and illustrations. This license shall permit the state of Idaho to use such intellectual
property in relation with this Agreement only. All other rights to Independent Contractor’s
intellectual property are expressly reserved.

27. Ownership or Operation by China. Pursuant to Idaho Code § 67-2359, Independent
Contractor certifies that it is not currently owned or operated by the government of China and will
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not for the duration of the Agreement be owned or operated by the government of China. The
terms in this section defined in Idaho Code § 67-2359 shall have the meaning defined therein.

28. Certification concerning boycott of Israel. Pursuant to Idaho Code § 67-2346
(effective July 1, 2021), if payments under the Agreement exceed one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000) and the Independent Contractor employs ten (10) or more persons, the Independent
Contractor certifies that it is not currently engaged in, and will not for the duration of the
Agreement engage in, a boycott of goods or services from Israel or territories under its control.
The terms in this section defined in Idaho Code § 67-2346 shall have the meaning defined therein.

29.  Headings. The headings have been inserted for convenience solely and are not to
be considered when interpreting the provisions of this Agreement.

30. Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in two (2) or more counterparts,
each of which shall be deemed an original but all of which together shall constitute one and the
same instrument.

Department of Juvenile Corrections Independent Contractor
Signature: Signature:

Monty Prow (Print)

Title: Director Title:

Date: Date:

Independent Contractor address. phone and email:

INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR COMPANY NAME
Contact Name

Street Address

City, State Zip

Phone:

E mail:

For questions regarding this Agreement, contact:

Jason R. Urquhart, CPPO, CPPB
Purchasing Agent

P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0285

Phone: (208) 334-5100 Ext. 433
Email: jason.urquhart@idjc.idaho.gov
Cost Center #

GRANT#
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EXIBIT A
REQUIREMENTS FOR STAFF SECURE PROVIDERS

INITIATION OF SERVICES.
Juveniles are committed to the Department under the provisions of the Juvenile Corrections Act
(Sections 20-501 through 20-547, Idaho Code).

WAIVER AND VARIANCE.

Minimum program standards established herein apply to all services provided by the Provider.
Any waiver and variance from the standards stated in these rules must receive prior written
approval from the Department and be attached as a formal amendment to the contract.

AUTHORITY TO INSPECT.

01.  Inspections. The Department has the authority to conduct reviews of programs,
program operations, and facilities to ensure the Provider’s compliance with these requirements.
The Provider shall cooperate with the Department’s review and provide access to the program or
facility and all juvenile records for juveniles in Department custody, as deemed necessary by the
Department. However, in order to more fully assess the operation of the program, aggregate data
and information for all juveniles must be made available, upon request.

02. Notification of Program Changes. Providers must notify the Department as soon
as possible, but no later than thirty (30) calendar days, before there is a change in the name of the
organization, type of service, characteristics of juveniles being served, changes in the licensed
capacity of the program, closure of the program, changes in ownership or in the organizational
structure.

03. Emergency Closure of Program. In the event of a natural disaster, fire, flood, or
other emergency in which the Provider may be closed temporarily, the Provider will immediately
notify the regional juvenile correctional center in its respective region.

04.  Notification of Death of a Juvenile Offender. In the event of the death of a
juvenile who is in the Department’s custody, the Provider must immediately notify the regional
facility, juvenile offender’s parent or guardian, and law enforcement. Other notifications will be
coordinated between the Provider and the Department.

05.  Additional Incident Reporting. The Provider must report to the Department all
incidents of the type normally requiring immediate notice to the Department, as identified in
Subsection 156.01, that occur in their program or facility regardless of whether or not the juveniles
involved are in the Department’s custody. Any such reports regarding juveniles not in Department
custody must include the type and scope of the incident without any information identifying the
juvenile, and be made available to the Department’s Quality Improvement Services Bureau.

a. The Provider must report to the Department all incidents of staff misconduct

relating to juvenile care and that result in any type of suspension or termination of employment,
revocation or suspension of a professional license, or revocation or suspension of driver’s license
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of any staff who transports juveniles.

b. All instances of battery committed on staff must be documented and, whenever
appropriate, charges filed with the appropriate authorities. Each such incident must be reported to
the juvenile offender’s juvenile services coordinator as an incident report according to Subsection
156.01 of these rules.

06. Additional Reporting Requirements. The Provider shall maintain the overall
safety, security, and order of a program for the protection and well-being of the juvenile offenders
at all times. Therefore in situations where the Department has determined necessary to ensure
compliance, more frequent and more detailed reporting may be required by the Quality
Improvement Services Bureau.

COMPLIANCE WITH RULES REQUIREMENTS.

The Provider must comply with all relevant child care licensing rules of the Idaho Department of
Health and Welfare, IDAPA 16.06.02, “Rules Governing Standards for Child Care Licensing”.
Providers located outside of the state of Idaho must comply with their state's relevant child care
licensing rules. If a conflict exists between Department requirements and rules, the more restrictive
requirement applies. Subcontractors and consultants of the Provider are also subject to these
requirements.

SCOPE.

These requirements are established to ensure that the juvenile corrections system in Idaho will be
consistently based on the principles of accountability, community protection, and competency
development.

These requirements apply to residential treatment providers (Provider) that coordinate needed
treatment services identified in individual service implementation plans.

DEFINITIONS.
The definitions in Section 20-502, Idaho Code and the following terms apply:

01.  Assessment. The process of gathering information to determine risk and program
needs for the purpose of guiding placement decisions and to develop the individualized
treatment/service plan.

02. Body Cavity Search. The examination and possible intrusion into the rectal or
vaginal cavities to detect contraband. It is performed only by the medical health professional.

- 03.  Body Search, Clothed. Also referred to as a Pat Search. A search during which a
juvenile offender is not required to remove their clothing, with the exception of such items as a
jacket, hat, socks and shoes.

04.  Body Search, Unclothed. Also referred to as a Strip Search. A search conducted
by a medical health professional during which a juvenile offender is required to remove all

clothing.

05.  Clinical Supervisor. Person who supervises juvenile services coordinators and

Page 7 of 60



clinicians in assigned regions and reviews and approves case management documentation. This
responsibility also includes oversight of the regional observation and assessment process and
assisting in the maintenance and development of programs.

06. Community Service Hours. Hours of community service performed by a juvenile
offender in response to a court order or which may be imposed following a formal disciplinary
process within a Provider program for damages to the facility or program.

07. Community Treatment Team. A team including the juvenile services
coordinator, Provider case manager, juvenile probation officer, family, and others, as necessary,
who work together to provide input into each juvenile offender’s service implementation plan,
implement their respective sections of that plan, and monitor and report progress on treatment
goals.

08. Contraband. Any item not issued or authorized by the Provider.

09. Confidential Information. Information that may only be used or disclosed as
provided by state or federal law, federal regulations, or state rule.

10.  Criminogenic Risks and Needs. Assessed juvenile offender risk factors or
attributes of juvenile offenders that are directly linked to criminal behavior and, when changed,
influence the probability of recidivism.

11.  Education Plan. A written plan for general education students outlining the
coursework they will complete each year towards meeting the Idaho Content Standards
recommended coursework for their grade level based on assessed academic, emotional,
developmental and behavioral needs, and competencies. Students qualifying for Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) services will have an Individual Education Plan (IEP) in lieu
of an education plan.

12. Escape/Attempted Escape. Attempting to leave or leaving a facility without
permission, or attempting to leave or leaving the lawful custody of any officer or other person
responsible for juvenile’s supervision without permission.

13.  Facility. The physical plant associated with the operation of residential or
nonresidential programs.

14.  Facility Treatment Team. The group of staff employed by the Department or by
the Provider who have input into developing the juvenile offender’s service implementation plan,
who provide direct services to juvenile offenders, and who monitor and report on the progress on
meeting the goals in that plan. The facility treatment team is responsible for working with the
community treatment team to develop and implement the service implementation plan.

15. General Education Student. A student who does not qualify for special education
services under the IDEA.
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16.  Health Services. Including, but not limited to, routine and emergency medical,
dental, optical, obstetrics, mental health, or other related health service.

17. Incident Report. A written document reporting any occurrence or event, or any
other incident, which threatens the safety and security of staff, juvenile offenders or others, or
which threatens the security of the program and which requires a staff response.

18.  Independent Living Services. Services that increase a juvenile offender's ability
to achieve independence in the community.

19.  Individual Community Pass. Any instance in which a juvenile offender leaves the
Provider's facility for a planned activity, without direct supervision by at least one (1) Provider or
Department staff. Regular school or work attendance, regular participation in off-site treatment
sessions or groups and other regular off-site activities specifically included in the service
implementation plan or written reintegration plan and approved by the juvenile services
coordinator are not included in this definition. Individual community passes include, but are not
limited to:

Day passes with family or other approved individuals;

Day or overnight home visits;

Recreational activities not otherwise approved as a part of a group activity; and
Funeral leave.

ol M

20.  Individual Education Plan (IEP). A written document (developed collaboratively
by parents and school personnel) which outlines the special education program for a student with
a disability and is based on assessed academic, emotional, developmental, and behavioral needs
and competencies. This document is developed, reviewed, and revised at an IEP meeting at least
annually.

21.  Interns. A paraprofessional staff who is pursuing a degree and who, as a part of
documented coursework with a college or university, may provide counseling or other services to
juvenile offenders in the Department’s custody or their families, under direct supervision of
qualified staff.

22.  Juvenile Records. Information concerning the juvenile offender’s delinquent or
criminal, personal, and medical history, behavior and activities.

23.  Juvenile Services Coordinator. An employee of the Department assigned to a
particular juvenile as the case worker, licensed in social work.

24. Mechanical Restraints. Mechanical devices used to prevent an uncontrollable
juvenile offender from injuring themselves or others.

25.  Medical Health Assessment. A thorough review to determine a juvenile offender’s

comprehensive health needs. This information is used to develop the medical terms of a juvenile
offender's service plan.
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26. Medical Health Professional. An individual who meets the applicable state’s
criteria as a licensed LPN, RN, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, physician or the equivalent.

27.  Medical Health Screening. A process used to quickly identify a juvenile offender's
immediate health needs and to determine if there are any immediate needs related to a chronic
health condition.

28.  Mental Health Assessment. A thorough review to determine a juvenile offender's
comprehensive mental health needs. This information is used to develop the mental health terms
of a juvenile offender’s service plan.

29.  Mental Health Professional. An individual who possesses a master’s degree and
meets the applicable state’s criteria as a licensed LPC, LMFT, LCPC, LCSW, LMSW,
psychologist or the equivalent.

30.  Mental Health Screening. A process used to quickly identify a juvenile offender's
immediate mental health needs and to determine if there are any immediate needs related to a
chronic mental health condition.

31. Observation and Assessment Evaluation. Written documentation of assessment
tool results, observations, interviews, risks, and any special considerations resulting in the creation
of the service plan, which includes the initial reintegration plan.

32.  Physical Restraint. Any method of physical control of a juvenile offender that
involves staff touching or holding a juvenile offender to limit or control the juvenile offender’s
actions.

33.  Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003 (PREA). Public Law No. 108-79, including
all subsequent amendments thereto as codified in 34 U.S.C. §§ 30301-30309, and all federal rules
and standards promulgated thereunder, which promote zero (0) tolerance of sexual abuse of
juvenile offenders by staff or by other juvenile offenders.

34.  Privileged Mail. Mail between the juvenile offender and their attorneys, legal aid
services, other agencies providing legal services to juvenile, or paraprofessionals having legitimate
association with such agencies; judges and clerks of federal, state and county courts; public
officials and their authorized representatives acting in their official capacities; and the
communications with clergy of the juvenile's faith.

35.  Program Director. The administrator of the residential treatment provider for
juvenile offenders.

36.  Progress Report. A written report summarizing progress toward the goals and
objectives set in the service implementation plan.

37.  Quality Improvement Services Bureau. Department employees responsible for
overseeing Provider’s compliance with contract terms and these rules.
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38.  Referral Packet. The information necessary for a potential residential treatment
provider to determine whether the program can appropriately meet the identified criminogenic
risks and needs of the juvenile being referred.

39.  Region. Subunits of the Department organized by geographical areas and including
all services and programs offered by the Department in that area.

40. Regional Facility. Department-operated juvenile correctional centers located in
each region of the state.

41. Reintegration Placement. The placement of a juvenile offender receiving
independent living and reintegration skills services from the Provider. This placement may be with
a host family, in a group setting, or in an apartment.

42. Reintegration Plan. That part of the juvenile offender’s service plan which
specifically addresses the terms, conditions, and services to be provided as the juvenile offender
moves to a lower level of care or leaves the custody of the Department.

43.  Relapse Prevention Plan. A document completed by the juvenile, used to identify
interventions for problem behavior, positive supports, and high-risk people and places.

44. Release from Department Custody. Termination of the Department’s legal
custody of a juvenile.

45. Residential Treatment Provider. Also known as Provider. A residential program
under contract with the Department to supervise juvenile offenders and provide accountability and
competency development in the least restrictive setting, consistent with public safety.

46.  Restitution. Financial payment intended to reimburse victims for loss, damage, or
harm caused by a juvenile offender. Restitution must be court ordered, not imposed against a
juvenile offender without a court order.

47. Restricted Clinical Information. Any record, document, or other information
legally protected from dissemination to the general public by statute or rule, such as psychological
evaluations, therapy notes, therapy journals, sex histories, polygraph results, psychological testing,
or other legally confidential information.

48. Room Confinement. Instances in which juvenile offenders are confined in the
room in which they usually sleep, rather than being confined in an isolation room.

49.  Separation or Isolation. Any instance when juvenile offenders are confined alone
for over fifteen (15) minutes in a room other than the room in which they usually sleep.

50. Service Implementation Plan. A written document produced and regularly
updated by a Provider with input from the community treatment team. This plan describes
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interventions and objectives to address the service plan goals including the areas of community
protection, accountability, and competency development.

S1.  Service Plan. A written document produced during the observation and assessment
period following commitment to the Department that defines the juvenile offender’s criminogenic
needs and risks, strengths, goals, and recommendations for family and reintegration services. The
service plan addresses the relevant needs and services for each juvenile offender in areas such as
mental health, medical, education, substance abuse, and social skills.

52. Sexual Abuse. Includes any type of contact, that is sexual in nature and directed
toward a juvenile offender by staff or by juvenile offenders as well as sexual harassment, which
includes repeated and unwelcomed sexual advances, comments, gestures, voyeurism, implied
threats, and coercion.

53.  Staffings. Regularly scheduled meetings of the community and facility treatment
team members to review progress on treatment goals and objectives identified in each juvenile
offender’s service implementation plan.

S4.  Subcontractor. A person or business which has contracted with the Provider for
provision of some portion of work or services.

55.  Suicide Risk Assessment. An evaluation performed by a mental health
professional to determine the level of immediate risk of a juvenile offender attempting suicide, and
to apply this information in developing a safety plan for the juvenile offender.

56. Suicide Risk Screening. An evaluation used to quickly determine, based upon
known history and current behavior, whether a juvenile offender presents any identifiable risk of
immediate suicidal behavior, and to call in a mental health professional to complete a suicide risk
assessment.

57. Superintendent. The person who has responsibility and oversight of a regional
facility and over the region of the state where the regional facility is located.

58.  Transfer. Any movement of a juvenile offender in the custody of the Department
from one (1) Provider to another without a release from Department custody.

59.  Treatment. Any program of planned services developed to meet risks and needs
of juvenile offenders and their families, as identified in an assessment, and as related to activities
designed to teach alternate behaviors and to support change in the beliefs that drive those
behaviors. Treatment as referenced in this context also includes the maintenance of conditions that
keep juvenile offenders, staff, and the community safe.

60.  Variance. The means of complying with the intent and purpose of a Provider rule
in a manner other than that specifically prescribed in the rule.

61. Vocational Services. Any service provided related to assessment, education,
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guidance, or training in the area of work or basic living skills.

62.  Volunteer. A person from the community who freely chooses to do or provide both
direct and indirect services to juvenile offenders or staff at a facility or juvenile correctional center.
This person is not compelled to do so and is not compensated for the services.

63.  Waiver. The non-application of one (1) or more of these rules based upon a request
by the Provider and a written decision issued by the Department.

111. COMPREHENSIVE AND CURRENT PROGRAM DESCRIPTION.

01. Program Description. Providers must provide, and keep current with the
Department, a program description detailing the range of services to'be provided and the methods
for providing these services.

02. Minimum Requirements. At a minimum, the program description must include:
a. Target population and specific admission criteria,

b. Primary and secondary treatment modalities;

c. Outline of daily schedules for juvenile offenders and staff;

d. Description of educational services provided;

Description of emergency and routine medical and mental health services,
including psychotropic medication monitoring, unless this population is specifically excluded
from admission to the program;

f. Description of religious services, recreation services, and other specialized services
provided, as indicated by the needs of the identified target population;

g. Written criteria for successful completion of the program and written criteria for
termination from the program prior to completion;

h. A thorough description of all services offered as a part of the program, including a
description of the frequency of service delivery;

(B

i. A detailed description of each individual treatment intervention, such as treatment
group, psycho-educational group, cognitive restructuring group, and peer group including:
i. The overall goals of the treatment intervention or service area;
ii.The average length, total length, and number of sessions in the treatment
intervention or service area;
iii. The facilitator education and training requirements; and
iv. The specific curriculum used in the treatment intervention or service area.

je A detailed description of the behavior management component of the program.

112. DISPOSITION OF REFERRALS FROM THE DEPARTMENT.

A juvenile offender’s admission into the program shall be based on an assessment of the juvenile
offender’s strengths, risks, needs, and on the anticipated ability of the program to reasonably
address those issues. Providers must ensure that the juvenile offender and parent or guardian are
provided an opportunity to participate in the admission process and related decisions.
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01.  Accepting Referral. Upon receipt of a complete referral packet from the
Department, the Provider has four (4) business days in which to decide whether to accept or decline
the referral. Upon acceptance, the Referral Acceptance/Denial Form must be completed, signed,
and returned to the regional referral coordinator. By accepting the referral, the Provider agrees to
address the identified treatment goals and the anticipated length of stay. Once the acceptance has
occurred, the juvenile offender’s transportation will be made.

02.  Declining Referral. If a Provider denies a referral, the specific reason for denial
must be documented on the Department’s Referral Acceptance/Denial Form and the form returned
to the regional referral coordinator. The Provider must then destroy the referral packet.

03.  Change in Admission Criteria. Any change in the Provider’s admission criteria
must be reflected in the Provider’s admission policy and requires a written amendment to the
contract with the Department. Temporary exceptions are covered under Section 101 of these rules.

04.  Reservation of Program Slots. When a program slot is to be reserved, the
Department will contact the Provider and request that the slot be reserved. Unless the Department
gives specific approval, the maximum time for which a program slot may be reserved, and the
Provider continue to receive payment, is forty-eight (48) consecutive hours.

113. SAFETY AND MAINTENANCE OF BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS.

01. Compliance with State and Local Codes and Ordinances. The Provider must
maintain compliance with all state and local building, life safety, and zoning requirements and
make documentation of compliance available to the Department.

02.  Accessibility. The program buildings, parking lots, and other structures must
provide access as required by the Americans with Disabilities Act, as amended, and other
applicable federal and state laws and regulations.

03. Maintenance. The Provider must ensure that all structures are maintained, are in
good repair, and are free from hazards to health and safety. The grounds must also be maintained
and be free from any hazard to health and safety. The Provider must have a written plan for
preventive and ongoing maintenance of its building and grounds.

04.  Construction Considerations. When designing or acquiring any new program or
facility and in planning any substantial expansion or modification of existing facilities, the
Provider shall consider the effect of the design, acquisition, expansion, or modification upon the
Provider’s ability to protect residents from any harm, including sexual abuse.

05.  Program Safety. Each Provider must have a designated staff member who is
responsible for the safety of the program. This individual must conduct monthly inspections of the

program, with copies of the inspections kept on file for review by the Department, to identify:

a. Fire safety;
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Existing hazards;

c. Potential hazards; and
d. The corrective action that should be taken to address these hazards.
06. Emergency Procedures. The Provider will utilize and maintain a current

emergency procedure manual, which includes, at a minimum, procedures pertaining to:
Fire safety and escape;

Emergency medical care;

Notification and filing charges on escape;

Incidents of violence within the program;

Suicide prevention;

Child abuse reporting; and

Sexual abuse disclosures.

mme e Ty

114. VEHICLES.

01.  Condition. Vehicles used to transport juveniles must be mechanically sound, in
good repair, and meet the Department’s requirements for insurance coverage.

02. Compliance with Applicable Laws. All vehicles must possess current state
licenses and comply with all applicable state laws. When in use, all vehicles must carry a standard
first aid kit and a fire extinguisher.

03. Maintenance and Equipment Checklist. The Provider must have a vehicle
maintenance and equipment checklist, which includes a listing of all critical operating systems and
equipment inspections, the date of the last inspection, and the type of service or action taken. All
repairs required to critical operating systems, such as brakes and headlights, must be made
immediately. All worn or missing critical equipment such as tires, jacks, and seat belts must be
replaced immediately.

115. TRANSPORTATION.

01.  Transportation for Service Plan. The Provider will provide all transportation
associated with the juvenile offender’s service implementation plan. The family may be relied
upon to provide transportation for passes and some other community contacts as long as this does
not present any undue risk or burden to the juvenile offender, family, or community.)

02. Transportation for Court Proceedings. The Provider and the juvenile services
coordinator will make timely arrangements for transportation related to court appearances, and for
transfer or release of juvenile offenders from Department custody.

116. DRIVERS.
01.  Juvenile Transport. All drivers of vehicles transporting a juvenile offender must

possess a valid driver’s license from the applicable state and the proper licenses required by state
law for the type of motor vehicle operated. All such operators’ driving records must be checked
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through the Department of Motor Vehicles for the preceding three (3) years and annually after date
of hire. During that time, the operator must not have had any felony traffic convictions or withheld
judgments. Any incidents of suspended licenses during that time must be specifically reviewed by
the Provider. Personnel files must contain evidence of training to transport a juvenile offender as
well as other appropriate documentation.

02.  Parent or Guardian Transport. When parents or guardians are allowed to

transport a juvenile offender for any reason, the Provider will ensure that the individual possesses
a current and valid driver’s license and insurance coverage.

120. ADMINISTRATIVE RECORDS.

01. Documentation Retention. The Provider must document and retain
documentation of all information related to the following items:

a. Program consultation provided, such as technical assistance on program design and
implementation;

b. Training provided to staff;

c. All alleged instances of child abuse;

d. Program audits or reviews, including corrective actions required and taken;

e. Reports of sexual abuse disclosures to the applicable state licensing authority or
law enforcement;

f. Juvenile offender and staff grievances;

g. Copies of all completed incident reports; and

h. Copies of background checks for all current employees, contractors, volunteers and

interns who may have contact with residents.

02.  Employee Files. Employee personnel files must contain the following:

a. Minimum qualifications for the job held;

b. Hiring information;

c. Copies of all required licenses or certificates related to the job function;

d. Copies of academic credentials, driving record, and background checks, as required
by state law;

e. Current training records; and

f. Performance evaluations and copies of personnel actions, such as disciplinary

action taken and acknowledgments of outstanding performance.
121. STAFF QUALIFICATIONS.

01.  Licenses. All individuals providing services to juveniles in the custody of the
Department must possess all licenses or certifications for their particular position as required by

statute, rule, or by the applicable state licensing authority.

02.  Education or Experience. All individuals providing services must be qualified to
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do so, based on knowledge, skills, and abilities. In addition, certain program and professional
caregivers must meet specific minimum standards for education or experience. These standards
constitute, in part, the basis for determining the adequacy of program and professional services
delivered under contractual agreement with the Department.

03.  Position Descriptions. Providers must maintain written position descriptions for
every job class established in the organization. In all cases, the particular job titles used by the
Provider to provide counseling, therapy, direct care, and supervision of juvenile offenders, as well
as staff supervision and management, must be specifically cross-referenced with the job titles in
these rules.

122. POSITION DESCRIPTIONS AND QUALIFICATION CRITERIA.

01. Clinician, Counselor, or Therapist. An individual who conducts a comprehensive
assessment of the psychological, behavioral, social, or familial deficits or dysfunctions presented
by the juvenile offender, then establishes and implements a plan for therapeutic services. The plan
must specify diagnosis and treatment of problems to be addressed, an estimate of the time needed,
and a schedule of the frequency and intensity of the services to be provided. The individual may
also provide individual, group, or family counseling. At a minimum, the individual must have a
master’s degree and be currently licensed by the applicable state as a Licensed Professional
Counselor (LPC), Licensed Marriage and Family Counselor (LMFT), Licensed Master Social
Worker (LMSW), or certified school psychologist.

02. Juvenile Services Coordinator or Social Worker. An individual who is
responsible for the assessment of treatment progress, and the provision and monitoring of
therapeutic or rehabilitative treatment services to juvenile offenders participating in a treatment
program. Individuals providing this function must possess, at a minimum, a bachelor’s degree from
a fully accredited college or university in social work, psychology, or counseling and must be
licensed as a social worker in the applicable state.

03. Recreational Specialist. An individual who develops and implements an
individualized and goal-directed recreational plan for a juvenile offender in connection with the
overall service implementation plan. The individual providing this function must possess a
bachelor’s degree in recreational therapy, health and physical education, or a related field, or have
a high school diploma and two (2) years related experience in providing recreational services to
juvenile offenders.

04. Rehabilitation Specialist or Facility Case Manager. An individual, under direct
supervision, who assists the juvenile offender in implementing the service implementation plan,
evaluates the juvenile offender, and maintains the case record with respect to all nonclinical
matters. The rehabilitation specialist or facility case manager also assists in presenting the case in
staffings, communicates with appropriate individuals, including community interests, regarding
the juvenile offender, and prepares written communications, under supervision, including final
progress reports. The rehabilitation specialist or facility case manager may also serve as the social
worker if properly licensed in the applicable state. Individuals providing this function must possess
a bachelor’s degree from a fully accredited college or university in the social sciences or a related
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field, or have a high school diploma and four (4) years related experience in providing services to
juvenile offenders.

0S.  Rehabilitation Technician or Direct Care Worker. An individual who is
responsible for providing individual or group rehabilitative therapeutic services, supervising
juvenile offender’s day-to-day living activities and performing such duties as preparing nutritious
meals, supervising and training juvenile offenders in basic living skills, and providing some
community transportation. Such individual must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

06.  Special Education Teacher. An individual who provides a modified curriculum
for those students who are eligible for services under the IDEA. This individual must hold a valid
standard exceptional child certificate with an endorsement as a generalist.

07.  Teacher. An individual who provides basic educational services as required by
state and federal statutes. This individual must hold a valid teaching credential in the appropriate
instructional field.

123. PROGRAM STAFFING REQUIREMENTS.

01. General Staffing Ratios. The Provider must ensure that an adequate number of
qualified staff are present at all times to provide rehabilitation and treatment services, supervise
juvenile offenders, and provide for their health, safety, and treatment needs. Staffing patterns must
ensure that professional staff is available to juvenile offenders at all times when they are in the
program. The Provider staff should provide consistency and stability so that the juvenile offenders
know the roles of each staff member. Specific staffing ratios shall be determined in each contract
and must be based on the level of intervention of the program and the risk level of the juvenile
offender population.

02.  Emergency Staffing Ratios. At all times, at least one (1) staff member on duty per
twenty (20) juvenile offenders in the program must be currently certified to administer first aid
and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

124. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR TRAINING.

01.  Training Plan. Training for staff must be conducted in accordance with a written
plan approved by management and coordinated by a designated staff member that includes:

a. Annual in-service training for all staff to include, but not be limited to:

i. Identifying and responding to suicide risk;

il. Infectious diseases, blood borne pathogens, and universal precautions;

iii All training as outlined in section 115.331 of the PREA standards;

iv. Prohibition of abuse and mandatory reporting of abuse;

\2 De-escalation of juvenile behavior and appropriate physical restraint techniques;
and

Vi Incident reporting.
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b.
c.

Those areas of practice and operations requiring a current certification;
Prior to being assigned sole responsibility for supervision of juvenile offenders,

rehabilitation technicians or direct care staff must have training in the following areas:

i.
il.
iii.
iv.

Principles and practices of juvenile care and supervision;

Program goals and objectives;

Juvenile offender rights and grievance procedures;

Procedures and legal requirements concerning the reporting of abuse and critical

incidents and compliance with the PREA as outlined in these rules;

V.
V1,
vil.
Viil.
ix.
X.
Xl1.
Xii.

Infectious diseases, blood borne pathogens, and universal precautions;

Handling of violent juvenile offenders (use of force or crisis intervention);
Security procedures (key control, searches, contraband);

Medical emergency procedures, first aid, and CPR;

Incident reporting;

How to recognize and respond to suicidal behavior;

How to access emergency medical and mental health care;

Proper storage and dispensing of medications, as well as general signs and

symptoms of adverse reactions, including identification of the individual who will dispense

medications in
Xiil.
Xiv.
XV.

d.

1.

il.

iii.

iv.

V.
Accountability

Vi.
development;

vil.
need factors;

viii.
applicable;

ix.

X.

xi.

Xil.

xiii.

02.

the facility;

Appropriate response to health-related emergencies;

Ethics and professional boundaries; and

Appropriate and safe transportation of all juvenile offenders.

In-service training for all first-year staff must include:

Program policies and procedures;

Job responsibilities;

Juvenile offender supervision;

Safety and security emergency procedures (fire, disaster, etc.);

Confidentiality issues including the Health Insurance Portability and
Act of 1996 (HIPAA);

Behavioral observation, adolescent psychology, and child growth and

Effective interventions with juvenile offenders including criminogenic risk and
Juvenile Corrections Act, balanced and restorative justice and this chapter, as
Basic security procedures;

Signs and symptoms of chemical use or dependency;

Drug-free workplace;

Diversity training to include cultural awareness; and

Juvenile offender searches for contraband.

Trainer Qualifications.
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a. Individuals who provide instruction in areas of life, health, and safety, including
but not limited to first aid, CPR, and physical intervention techniques, will have appropriate
certification, which must be documented in their personnel or training file.

b. Individuals who provide instruction in treatment must have appropriate training,
education, and experience documented in their personnel or training file.

03.  Documentation of Training. Staff and volunteer training records must be
maintained by a designated staff member and include:

a. Name;

b. Job title;

c. Employment beginning date;

d. Annual training hours required; and

€. A current chronological listing of all training completed.

04. Training Records. Training records may be kept separately within each individual

personnel file or in a separate training file. Access to curriculum materials must be made available.

125. SUBCONTRACTORS, VOLUNTEERS, AND INTERNS.

The Provider will identify the intended use of the subcontractor, volunteer, or intern. If the
subcontractor, volunteer, or intern is providing direct services to juveniles, the Provider must
adhere to the rules in this Section. The Provider must notify the Department’s Quality
Improvement Services Bureau promptly, in writing, of any proposed changes in the use of
subcontractors, volunteers, or interns providing direct services to juveniles.

01. Subcontractors. The Provider will ensure that any subcontractor providing direct
services to juveniles meets at least the minimum staff qualifications and terms of the original
contract and these rules. The Provider must maintain a list of all subcontracted service providers
and their qualifications. Documentation of services provided by subcontractors must include the
scope and frequency of services.

02.  Volunteers and Interns. Programs should consider soliciting the involvement of
volunteers and interns to enhance and expand their services. However, volunteers and interns
recruited to supplement and enrich a program may not be substituted for the activities and functions
of program staff. Volunteers and interns must not be assigned sole supervision of juvenile
offenders.

a. Programs that utilize volunteers and interns regularly must have a written plan that
includes stipulations for their use and training, and training of program staff on the role of
volunteers and interns. Training provided must include all of the information necessary for the
volunteers and interns to successfully perform their roles within the program.

b. Recruiting of volunteers is conducted by the program director or designee.
Recruitment is encouraged from all cultural and socio-economic segments of the community.

c. Volunteers and interns must complete an application for the position and be suited
for the position to which they are assigned.

d. Written job descriptions must be provided for each volunteer and intern position.
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e. Interns must be documented to be enrolled in an accredited school or program for
the profession.

f. Interns must have a fully developed internship or practicum agreement that details
their activities for the period, and relates these to learning objectives developed with the academic
institution and program in which they are enrolled. The internship agreement must include the
signatures of the intern, supervising residential treatment provider staff, and a representative of the
academic institution in which the intern is enrolled.

g. Interns must agree in writing to abide by all policies and standards of conduct, and
agree to meet the ethical standards for the profession for which they are training.

h. Volunteers and interns must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age, of good
character, and sufficiently mature to handle the responsibilities involved in the position.

i. Volunteers and interns must agree in writing to abide by all program policies.

03. Subcontractor, Volunteer, and Intern Requirements. Subcontractors,

volunteers, and interns who perform professional services must be licensed or certified as required
by state law or rule, or be documented to be supervised directly by staff meeting those credentials.

a. Subcontractors, volunteers, and interns must have background and record checks
as prescribed by state law.

b. Minimum training for subcontractors, volunteers, and interns must include:

i. Program goals and objectives;

ii. The role of the subcontractor, volunteer, or intern and job duties or duties related
to the learning plan;

iii. Subcontractor, volunteer, or intern’s role in reporting incidents of sexual abuse
under PREA, as outlined in these rules;

iv. Basic security procedures;

V. Recognizing suicidal behaviors;

Vi. Confidentiality issues including the HIPAA; and

vii.  Ethics and mandatory reporting of juvenile abuse.

04.  Volunteers of Minimal Use. Volunteers who meet all of the following criteria may

be excluded from Subsection 125.03.a. and Subsection 125.03.b.:

1. Use of the volunteer by the Provider does not exceed four visits per year,
ii. Use of the volunteer by the Provider does not exceed four hours per visit; and
iil. The volunteer is under constant personal supervision of at least one staff member

of the Provider during their visit.

05. Documentation. The Provider must maintain individual personnel files for each
volunteer and intern working in the program. The files must contain all documentation of meeting
requirements, as described in Subsection 125.03 of these rules.

06. Supervision of Volunteers. Volunteers will be supervised at all times by a staff

member of the Provider who coordinates and directs the activities of the volunteer and evaluates
their performance periodically.
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07. Supervision of Interns. An intern will be supervised by a paid employee of the
Provider who has the licenses and credentials required by state law and who has been accepted by
the intern’s school as an appropriate supervisor for the discipline of instruction. This individual
shall coordinate and direct the activities of the intern and evaluate their performance periodically.

08.  Termination. The Provider must establish a procedure for the termination of
volunteers and interns. Termination of interns shall be in collaboration with the academic
institution and program in which they are enrolled.

126. BACKGROUND CHECKS.

The Provider must ensure that all employees, subcontractors, interns, and volunteers, with the
exception of those listed in Subsection 125.04 of these rules, have undergone a criminal
background check every five (5) years in the manner and form required by IDAPA 16.05.06,
“Criminal History and Background Checks.” In addition to the crimes listed resulting in
unconditional denial, any crime not specified there that requires registration on the sex offender
registry in Idaho, or any other state, will also result in an unconditional denial of employment for
direct care or services, or assignment where the employee would have any opportunity to have
contact with a juvenile offender in the Provider’s care, including as a volunteer or intern.
Documentation of background checks must be kept in confidential employee personnel files.

130. JUVENILE RECORDS.

01.  Case Management Documents. The Provider must maintain individual files on all
juvenile offenders, which include:

Observation and assessment evaluation provided by the Department;
Additional assessments;

Service implementation plans;

Progress reports;

Incident reports;

Court documents and dispositions;

Professional correspondence;

Restricted clinical information, kept separately;

Medical records, kept separately;

Educational records and school history, kept separately;

Relapse prevention plan;

Identifying information and physical descriptions;

Last known parent or guardian address and telephone number;

Date of admittance and projected release from the Provider; and
Records of juvenile offender’s earnings, restitution payments, and community
service hours earned.

SEErFTOFE e A0 TP

02. Confidentiality.

a. Sections 20-525 and 9-340(2)(b), Idaho Code, and Idaho Court Administrative Rule
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32 provide for confidentiality, under certain conditions, of records that contain information about
juvenile offenders.

b. All matters relating to confidentiality of juvenile offender files must also comply
with the federal HIPAA and 42 CFR Chapter 1, Sub-Chapter A, Part 2, “Confidentiality of Alcohol
and Drug Abuse Patient Records.”

c. Restricted clinical information, as defined, and education and medical records must
each be filed separately and stored in a secured area.
d. For Providers that serve sex offenders, individual treatment assignments, such as

journals and detailed sexual histories, must be destroyed at the time the juvenile offender is
transferred or released from the program.

e. The Provider must have written policies and procedures to address the
confidentiality of juvenile offender records. In compliance with HIPAA’s privacy regulations,
written procedures shall designate a privacy officer who will:

1. Supervise the maintenance of identifiable personal health care information;

il. Serve as custodian of all confidential juvenile offender records; and

ii. Determine to whom records may be released.

03. Automated Records. Automated records must include a procedure to ensure

confidentiality and be in compliance with any state or federal privacy laws pertaining to those
records including provisions for backing up automated records.

04. Restrictions to Records Access.
a. Access to personal health information must be limited to:
1. Employees of the Department and the Provider to the extent necessary to perform

normal business functions including health treatment and other functions designed to maintain the
good order, safety, and security of the juvenile offenders or the program;

ii. Individuals participating in a staffing for a juvenile offender, who have a direct
need to know the information, and who are obligated to or promise to maintain the confidentiality
of information disclosed. These individuals may include employees or representatives of law
enforcement, the Department, the Provider, probation officer, medical or mental health
professionals, and other appropriate individuals; and

iii. Law enforcement members, emergency medical personnel, the Idaho Department
of Health and Welfare or the applicable state licensing authority, and similar court or government
officials, as necessary to perform their duties, and only if not otherwise prohibited by state or
federal law or rule.

b. Access to all other confidential juvenile offender records must be limited to the
following authorized persons:

i. Staff authorized by the Provider and members of the administrative staff of the
Provider’s parent agency;
. A parent or guardian or the juvenile offender, to the extent that disclosure is not

privileged and is clinically appropriate;
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iii. Appropriate staff of the Department;

1v. Counsel for the juvenile offender with signed consent form;

v. Judges, prosecutors, juvenile probation officers, and law enforcement officers,
when essential for official business;

Vi. Other individuals and agencies approved by the Department; and

vii.  Schools, as appropriate.

05.  Withholding of Information. If the Department or the Provider believes that
information contained in the record would be damaging to the juvenile offender’s treatment or
rehabilitation, that information may be withheld from the juvenile offender, parent or guardian, or
others, except under court order.

06.  Retention of Juvenile Records. At the time of transfer or release from Department
custody, any records not previously submitted are provided to the Department within two (2)
business days.

07.  Requests for Information. Requests for information of any kind about juvenile
offenders in Department custody, following their release or transfer from a Provider’s program
must be directed to the Department.

08. Document Reproduction. The Provider agrees that documents provided by the
Department will not be distributed without written permission from the Department.

131. RELEASE FORMS.

01.  Release of Non-medical Information. The juvenile offender, parent or guardian,
and Department representative must sign a release of information and consent form before
information about the juvenile offender is released to any non-juvenile justice entity. A copy of
the consent form must be maintained in the juvenile offender’s file at the program and in the case
management file maintained by the Department.

02.  Release of Medical Information. Release of medical information requires more
specific authorization. The Provider must abide by Subchapters B and C of these rules, as
applicable.

03. Minimum Information. The release of information and consent form must, at a
minimum, include the following:

Name of person, agency, or organization requesting information;
Name of person, agency, or organization releasing information;
The specific information to be disclosed;
The date consent form is signed;
Signature of the juvenile offender and the parent or guardian, if the juvenile
offender is under the age of 18;
f. The signature of the person witnessing the juvenile offender’s signature; and
g. Effective and expiration dates.
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132. JUVENILE OFFENDER PHOTOGRAPHS.

01.  Limitations. No juvenile offender in the custody of the Department may be used
in person or by photograph or any other visual image for the express purpose of any fund raising
efforts.

02. Department Authorization. Permission to release or use the photographs and any
other visual image of juvenile offenders in the custody of the Department must require written
authorization from the Department Director or designee.

133. RESEARCH PROJECTS.

01.  Written Policy. The Provider must have a written policy regarding the
participation of juvenile offenders in research projects that prohibits participation in medical or
pharmaceutical testing for experimental or research purposes.

02.  Voluntary Participation. Policies must govern voluntary participation in non-
medical and non-pharmaceutical research programs. However, juvenile offenders may not
participate in any research program without prior written approval from the Director or designee.

134. PROHIBITED CONTACT AND PREA COMPLIANCE.

01. Sexual Abuse of Juvenile Offenders. The Provider must have written policies and
procedures mandating zero tolerance toward all forms of sexual abuse and sexual harassment and
outlining the agency’s approach to preventing, detecting, and responding to such conduct. These
policies and procedures must contain, at a minimum, the following:

a. The prohibition of any sexual abuse or sexual harassment as defined in PREA
Standards or as defined in Section 18-6110, Idaho Code;

b. The appointment of a PREA Coordinator, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R.
115.311(c), to be determined by the program director;

c. Procedures that enable juvenile offenders to shower, perform bodily functions, and
change clothing without non-medical staff of the opposite gender viewing their breasts, buttocks,
or genitalia, except in exigent circumstances or when such viewing is incidental to routine well-
being checks, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.315(d);

d. The requirement of staff of the opposite gender to announce their presence when
entering a housing unit or any area where juvenile offenders are likely to be showering, performing
bodily functions, or changing clothing, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.315(d);

e. The provision of multiple avenues for a juvenile offender or a third party to report
sexual abuse and sexual harassment, at least one of which must be external to the agency, as
outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.351;

f. The process for gathering information to make classification and housing decisions
to reduce the risk of sexual victimization, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.342;
g. The handling of all information regarding sexual abuse or sexual harassment with

confidentiality, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.361(c);
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h. The process to ensure that allegations of sexual abuse or sexual harassment are
referred for investigation to an agency with legal authority to conduct criminal investigations,
unless the allegation does not involve potentially criminal behavior, as outlined in PREA Standards
28 C.F.R. 115.322;

i. Policies to protect all residents and staff who report sexual abuse or sexual
harassment from acts of retaliation as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.367;

i The provision of timely and unimpeded access to crisis intervention services,
medical, and mental health care to victims, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.3 82(a);

k. The provision for and documentation of training to staff, as outlined in PREA
Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.331;

L The provision for and documentation of age-appropriate education to juvenile
offenders, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.333;

m. Within 30 days of the conclusion of every sexual abuse investigation the Provider
must conduct a sexual abuse incident review, as outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.386;

n. A process that requires reporting and documentation of any instance of sexual abuse
among juvenile offenders or between juvenile offenders and staff or volunteers, according to
Subsection 156.01 and Subsection 156.05 of these rules. These must be reported on a form
provided by the Department;

0. A process for an initial internal investigation when sexual abuse is reported;

p- An expected first response practice of separating the alleged perpetrator from the
alleged victim until the investigation is complete;

q. In addition to completing the form supplied by the Department, the Provider must
document all steps taken to ensure the juvenile offender’s safety; and

r. The Provider must report all sexual abuse to appropriate licensing authority or law

enforcement when sexual abuse is suspected.

02.  Resident Access to Outside Support Services. The facility must provide residents
with access to outside victim advocates for emotional support services related to sexual abuse, as
outlined in PREA Standards 28 C.F.R. 115.353.

03.  Sexual Victimization Survey. Providers must participate in all state and federal
surveys, and complete and submit the survey and supply the Department with copies.

135. SUICIDE PRECAUTIONS.

01.  Policy Requirements. All Providers must have a written policy for responding to
juvenile offenders who present a risk of suicide requiring, at a minimum, that:

a. Staff are regularly trained to identify, document, and appropriately respond to
behavior that may indicate a risk of suicide;
b. The Provider utilizes medical or other staff trained by a mental health professional

to review history, interview, and observe juvenile offenders new to the program in order to
complete a suicide risk screening within two (2) hours of admission. The screening is done to
identify any immediate threat of suicide or self-harm and the need for a suicide risk assessment;
c. The Provider utilizes a mental health professional to complete a suicide risk
assessment on a juvenile offender who has been identified by staff as presenting a risk of suicide.
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A suicide risk assessment is a system of structured and documented observation, interview, and
review of behavioral and mental health information. It comprises a thorough review of recent
behavioral and mental health information and interviews of staff and the juvenile offender
concerning the behavior that seems to present the threat of self-harm or suicide. A suicide risk
assessment typically involves an assessment of the juvenile offender’s determination to act on
intentions of self-harm, a determination of the depth of planning for making the attempt, the
availability of the items or situations necessary for the juvenile to act on that plan, and the lethality
of the plan, as expressed;

d. The Provider utilizes a mental health professional to develop and disseminate a
safety plan for each juvenile offender identified as presenting a risk for suicide. The safety plan
includes a detailed supervision plan for the juvenile offender;

e. Reassessment of suicide risk and whether it is reduced enough to reduce or
terminate suicide precautions is made at a time determined by the mental health professional
completing the assessment and is ideally completed by that same mental health professional; and

f. The Provider prohibits the use of separation and isolation of juvenile offenders
identified as presenting a suicide risk, unless constant one-on-one (1 on 1) staff supervision is
provided.

02. Separation or Isolation. All juvenile offenders in separation or isolation are
closely monitored to reduce the risk of suicidal behaviors.

03.  Reporting to the Department. All incidents of suicide, attempted suicide, or threat
of suicide must be reported to the Department in the manner described in Subsection 156.01 of
these rules.

140. JUVENILE OFFENDER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES.

01. Residential Treatment Provider Obligations. The Provider must respect, and not
infringe upon, the rights of each juvenile offender in its program. The Provider must also be
responsible for understanding the rights and responsibilities of juveniles in custody, and knowing
which rights have been forfeited as a result of being placed in custody.

02. Juvenile Offender Program Responsibilities. The Provider must inform each
juvenile offender, upon admission to its program, of each juvenile offender’s responsibilities
during the program. Additionally, each juvenile offender must have an understanding of the
following program expectations:

a. Requirements needed to complete program;

b. How to access medical services;

c. How to file a grievance;

d. How to report incidents of sexual abuse between juvenile offenders or between staff
and juvenile offenders; and

€. How to contact the juvenile services coordinator and juvenile probation officer.

141. DISCIPLINE OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS.
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01.  Written Policies and Procedures. All providers offering treatment services must
have comprehensive written discipline policies and procedures, which are explained to all juvenile
offenders, families, and staff. These policies must include positive responses for appropriate
behavior. They must include a provision for written notice to the juvenile offender being
disciplined, a mechanism for a fair and impartial hearing to include at least one staff member not
involved in the disciplinary action, and a process for appeal.

02.  Administration of Discipline. Discipline will be administered in a way to create a
learning experience for the juvenile offender, and never in a way that degrades or humiliates the
juvenile offender. Staff will make every effort to maintain control of juvenile offenders through
positive methods. No juvenile offender will supervise nor carry out disciplinary actions over
another juvenile offender.

a. Prior to and upon initiating a disciplinary action, careful attention should be given
to ensure the disciplinary sanctions are proportionate with the nature and circumstances of the
behavior and the program rules to determine the seriousness of the misbehavior and the appropriate
type of discipline.

b. Disciplinary actions are not the same as the consequences that are spelled out as a
part of a service implementation plan for the juvenile offender. A Provider must make every effort
to resolve problems with the least amount of formal disciplinary activity possible. Efforts should
be made first to instruct and counsel the juvenile offender.

c. Any restriction of a juvenile offender’s participation in a program resulting from a
formal disciplinary action must be reported in an incident report.

03.  Prohibited Actions. The Provider is prohibited from using certain actions as
disciplinary responses, as listed in the child care licensing rules of the Idaho Department of Health
and Welfare.

04.  Denial of Services. Denial of the following are prohibited as disciplinary
responses:

a. Educational and vocational services;

b. Employment;

c. Medical or mental health services;

d. Food;

e. Access to family, juvenile services coordinator, juvenile probation officer, and
legal counsel; and

f. Religious services.

05.  Appeal of Formal Disciplinary Penalties. Each Provider must have a formal

written process through which a juvenile offender can appeal a disciplinary action and receive a
review of the case. The Provider shall explain to the juvenile offender how to use the appeal
process. The juvenile offender must be informed that the juvenile services coordinator may be
included in the disciplinary process at the juvenile’s choice.

142. GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES.
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01.  Written Procedures. The Provider must have a written grievance procedure for
juvenile offenders, which includes the right to appeal disciplinary actions against them if a separate
disciplinary grievance procedure is not available. It must be written in a clear and simple manner
and allow juvenile offenders to make complaints without fear of retaliation. The grievance
procedure must be explained to the juvenile offender by a staff member and such documented in
the juvenile’s file.

02. Grievance Process.
a. Grievance forms must be in a location accessible to juvenile offenders without

having to request such a form from staff. Completed forms should be placed in a secure area and
collected daily.

b. The provider must complete a review and discuss findings with the juvenile
offender within three (3) business days of receipt of the grievance form.
c. If the juvenile offender lives independently, the Provider must have a process for

the juvenile to submit grievance forms to the program director without having to request such a
form from staff.

143. JUVENILE OFFENDER SAFETY.

Every juvenile offender has the fundamental right to feel safe. Residential treatment providers
have the responsibility to ensure that a juvenile offender is safe while in their care. Every juvenile
offender must be informed of procedures whereby a professional staff person can be contacted on
a twenty-four (24) hour basis if the juvenile offender does not feel safe. The Provider’s
administration must make periodic contact with juvenile offenders in the program to determine if
they feel safe and are comfortable when interacting with peers and staff.

144. SEARCHES FOR CONTRABAND.

01.  Searches of Personal Items. Routine searches of personal items being introduced
into the program or residence may be conducted by staff prior to the juvenile offender taking
possession of their property, or when the juvenile offender is returning to the program or residence
from an individual community pass. Search of a juvenile offender’s belongings or residence may
be done at any time and must be minimally intrusive.

02.  Policies and Procedures Governing Consequences. The Provider must have
written policies and procedures establishing the consequences for juvenile offenders found with
contraband.

03. Clothed Body Searches.

a. Clothed body searches of juvenile offenders may be conducted whenever the
Provider believes it is necessary to discourage the introduction of contraband into the program, or
to promote the safety of staff, juvenile offenders, and visitors. A clothed body search may be used
when a juvenile offender is returning from a visit, outside appointment, or activity.

b. Clothed body searches must be conducted in the manner required in the rules of the

Page 29 of 60



Idaho Department of Health and Welfare under IDAPA 16.06.02, “Standards for Child Care
Licensing.” Clothed body searches of juvenile offenders will be conducted by staff of the same
gender as the juvenile offender. Clothed body searches will be conducted using a pat down search
outside the juvenile’s clothing. The staff member must have had appropriate training in conducting
clothed body searches.

04.  Unclothed Body Searches. Unclothed body searches of juvenile offenders may
only be conducted by a medical health professional and with prior written authorization from the
program director or designee. Unclothed body searches must be conducted with an adult in the
room, in addition to the medical health professional, who is of the same gender as the juvenile
offender being searched. Unclothed body searches must be based upon a reasonable belief that the
juvenile is concealing contraband or signs of abuse. Immediately after conducting an unclothed
body search the provider must notify the department’s regional superintendent and the Quality
Improvement Services Bureau. The Provider must complete an incident report according to the
requirements of Section 156.

05.  Body Cavity Searches. Body cavity searches of juvenile offenders may only be
conducted in a medical facility outside of the Provider, by a medical health professional and with
prior written authorization from the program director or designee. Body cavity searches of
juveniles will not be performed by staff, interns, or volunteers under any circumstances. Looking
into a juvenile’s mouth, ears, or nose does not constitute a body cavity search. Body cavity
searches must be based upon a reasonable belief that the juvenile is concealing contraband.
Immediately after conducting a body cavity search, the Provider must notify the department’s
regional superintendent and the Quality Improvement Services Bureau. The Provider must
complete an incident report according to the requirements of Section 156.

06. Documentation of Searches. All searches must be documented in terms of reason
for the search, who conducted the search, what areas were searched, and what type of contraband
was found, if any. If a search yields contraband, the juvenile services coordinator must be notified
and the incident reported according to Section 156. If necessary, the appropriate law enforcement
agency should be notified.

07.  Contraband Disposal. All contraband found in the possession of juvenile
offenders, visitors, or staff must be confiscated by staff and secured under lock and key in an area
inaccessible to juvenile offenders. Local law enforcement must be notified in the event illegal
drugs, paraphernalia, or weapons are found. It is the responsibility of the program director, in
consultation with the Department, to dispose of all contraband not confiscated by police.

145. RELIGIOUS SERVICES.

The Provider must ensure that attendance at religious services is voluntary. No juvenile offender
is required to attend religious services, and no juvenile offender may be penalized for not attending
nor given privileges for certain attendance. The Provider's staff schedule must not encourage or
discourage participation in general or specific religious services or activities.

01.  Voluntary Practice. All juvenile offenders must be provided the opportunity to
voluntarily practice their respective religions in a manner and to the extent that will not
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compromise the safety, security, emotional, or physical well-being of the juvenile offenders in the
program.

02.  Attendance. Juvenile offenders may be permitted to attend religious services of
their choice in the community, as long as community safety is ensured.

03. Transportation. Programs must, when reasonably possible, arrange transportation
for those juvenile offenders who desire to take part in religious activities of their choice in the
community.

04. Risk to Community. If the juvenile offender cannot attend religious services in the
community because staff has determined that the juvenile is an escape risk, or otherwise presents
a risk to the safety of the community, the Provider must make reasonable efforts to ensure that the
juvenile offender has the opportunity to participate in religious services of the juvenile's choice at
the program.

05.  Visits. Juvenile offenders must be permitted to receive visits from representatives
of their respective faiths.

146. DRUG SCREENS OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS.

Drug screens may be done randomly or on an as needed basis, at the Provider's expense, with the
approval of the Provider's program director. A record must be kept of all drug screens and results
with positive drug screenings immediately reported to the juvenile services coordinator.

150. EMPLOYMENT OF JUVENILE OFFENDERS.

01. Employment. If juvenile employment away from the program site is a part of the
program, written policy and procedure must provide that program resources and staff time are
devoted to helping employable juvenile offenders locate employment. Programs must ensure that
each employment opportunity meets all legal and regulatory requirements for juvenile
employment. The juvenile offender's employer must be consulted at least twice monthly by the
Provider concerning the juvenile offender's work abilities and performance on the job site.
Additionally, the Provider must perform checks on the job-site at least monthly to ensure the
juvenile offender is working under acceptable conditions. Under no circumstances should staff or
the families of staff benefit financially, or otherwise, from work done by juvenile offenders in the
program.

02. Employment Opportunities. Every reasonable effort must be made to select
employment opportunities that are consistent with the individual interests of the juvenile offender
to be employed. Preference will be given to jobs that are related to prior training, work experience,
or institutional training, and may be suitable for continuing post-release employment.

151. COMMUNITY SERVICES AND RESTITUTION.

01. Community Service. Juvenile offenders may have court-ordered community
service hours. The Provider must obtain prior approval from the juvenile probation officer to
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complete any court-ordered community service hours while at the Provider. The Provider will
document approved community service hours and report the accumulation of completed hours in
the juvenile offender's progress report.

02.  Court Ordered Restitution. The Provider must work with the juvenile probation
officer and juvenile services coordinator to determine the amount of restitution owed. The Provider
must create a plan for the juvenile offender to submit a portion of a juvenile offender's personal
funds or earned income for the payment. When juvenile personal funds are available, the Provider
will submit payment to the county until the restitution amount is satisfied. Documentation of the
payment is provided to the juvenile services coordinator.

03.  Restitution for Program Damages. Monetary restitution may only be sought
through a court order when a juvenile offender has damaged or destroyed property, or has caused
or attempted to cause injury to other juvenile offenders or staff. The Provider must not access the
juvenile offender's personal funds for program damages. Restitution for damages must begin with
a plan for repair by the juvenile offender.

152. PROGRAMMING.

01. Basic Program Requirements. Providers must provide opportunities and services
for juvenile offenders to improve their educational and vocational competence, to effectively
address underlying behavior problems, and to prepare them for responsible lives in the community.
Programs provided must be gender equitable, gender specific, and culturally competent. The
ultimate treatment goal for juvenile offenders involved in these programs is the successful return
of juvenile offenders to the community without committing further crimes.

02. General Requirements.

a. Providers must provide a range of program services specifically designed to address
the characteristics of the target population identified in the comprehensive program description
and in the admission policy.

b. Programs that serve a special needs population, such as developmentally delayed
or seriously emotionally disturbed juvenile offenders, and those programs serving sexually abusive
juvenile offenders, must be able to demonstrate that the program services offered are supported by
research.

c. Programs providing reintegration services for individual juvenile offenders must
target behaviors, needs, or circumstances stated in their final progress report from the sending
facility or program. These services must be clearly identified and described within the program
description.

d. Programs serving female juvenile offenders must be able to demonstrate that the
services provided include elements of a program specifically designed to address the unique
situations and circumstances facing female juvenile offenders. These elements must be clearly
identified and described within the program description.

e. Programs designed to serve juvenile offenders with gang involvement must be able
to demonstrate that the services provided include elements of a program specifically designed to
address gang involvement. These elements must be clearly identified and described within the
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program description.

f. Program services for individual juvenile offenders must be designed based upon
the juvenile's service plan, and must target those behaviors or circumstances which have
contributed to the juvenile's delinquency and which can reasonably be changed (criminogenic
needs). These services must be clearly identified and described within the program description.

g. Juvenile offenders must always be aware of the status of their progress within the
program and what remains to be done to complete the program. Providers must assure that the
basic norms and expectations of the program, including any points, levels, or phases that are a
fundamental part of a program, are clearly presented to the juvenile offender and that they are
understood.

h. Programs that contract with the Department to serve juvenile offenders and their
families must:

i. Provide humane, disciplined care and supervision;

ii. Provide opportunities for juvenile offenders' development of competency and life
skills;

1il. Hold juvenile offenders accountable for their delinquent behavior through means
such as victim-offender mediation, restorative conferencing, restitution, and community service;

iv. Seek to involve juvenile offenders' families in treatment, unless otherwise indicated
for the safety and benefit of the juvenile offenders or other family members;

V. Address the principles of accountability to victims and to the community,
competency development, and community protection in case planning and reporting;

Vi. To the fullest extent possible, provide balance in addressing the interests of the
victim, community, and the juvenile offender.

vii.  Participate fully with the Department and the community treatment team in

developing and implementing service plans for juvenile offenders they serve; and
viii.  Provide juvenile offenders with educational services based upon their documented
needs and abilities.

i. Reintegration services include all aspects of case planning and service delivery
designed to facilitate successful return of the juvenile offender to the community.

153. JUVENILE OFFENDER AND PARENT OR GUARDIAN HANDBOOK.
The Provider must provide each juvenile offender and their parent or guardian with program
handbooks that are written in an age-appropriate manner.

01. Required Content. Handbooks must address, at a minimum, the following:

Requirements needed to complete program;
Juvenile offender rights and responsibilities;
The means available to safely report sexual abuse and harassment;
Grievance procedures;
Religious services;
Search procedures, including a list of what constitutes as contraband and the
consequences for its possession;
g. The Provider’s disciplinary process;

e an TR
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h. Visitation, mail, and phone correspondence;

i The Provider’s obligation to make reasonable accommodations for any disabilities,
language barriers, or other special needs;

j- The daily schedule for juvenile offenders; and

k. A description of services or items for which a juvenile offender may be charged by

the Provider.

02.  Receipt of Handbook. The juvenile offender and their parent or guardian
acknowledge in writing their receipt of the juvenile offender and parent or guardian handbook.

154. PROGRAM OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS.
01. General Requirements.

a. Providers shall provide vigorous programming that minimizes periods of idle time,
addresses behavioral problems of juvenile offenders, and teaches and promotes healthy life
choices. Programs should specifically address those factors in juvenile offender’s lives that
contribute to delinquency and that can be realistically changed.

b. Providers shall encourage appropriate telephone contact, mail contact, and
visitation between juvenile offenders and their families.
c. Providers must structure and document services offered in the program so that

continuity in case planning is obvious. Medical health, mental health, substance abuse, social
skills, educational, vocational, independent living, and other special needs identified in the
assessment must be clearly addressed in the service implementation plan. Services provided to
address those needs must be documented regularly.

d. Service needs remaining at the time of release from Department custody or transfer
must be accounted for in the reintegration plan for each juvenile offender.
e. The Provider will not admit more juveniles into care than the number specified on

the Provider’s license. Providers wishing to increase capacity are responsible for contacting the
applicable licensing agency. A copy of the written confirmation to the Provider from the applicable
licensing agency for verbal approval to exceed the licensed capacity must be forwarded to the
Department’s Quality Improvement Services Bureau.

f. The Provider must have and strictly follow a comprehensive policy covering the
supervision of juvenile offenders, including a plan for monitoring all movement of those juvenile
offenders both in the facility and, as appropriate, within the community. Staff at the facility must
be aware of the location of every juvenile offender assigned to that program at all times.

g. Programs may not, under any circumstances, involve juvenile offenders in
plethysmographic assessments.

02. Use of Polygraphs.
a, The use of polygraphs for juvenile offenders adjudicated for or documented to have
demonstrated sexually abusive behavior, must only be undertaken by court order or under the

following circumstances:

i With the specific written authorization of the Department’s regional clinical
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supervisor;

il. Only with the full, informed consent of the juvenile offender; and

iii. If the juvenile offender is a minor, only with the full, informed consent of the parent
or guardian.

b. Polygraphers used in this process must be able to provide documentation of

certification by the Sexual Offender Management Board in the use of polygraphy with juvenile
offenders.
c. Providers must not make treatment decisions solely on the results of a polygraph.
d. Polygraph reports must be sent to the juvenile services coordinator by the Provider.

155. PLANNING FOR RELEASE OR TRANSFER.

01.  Aftercare Planning. Programs must promote continuity in programming and
services for juvenile offenders after they leave the program by assuring that essential information
is forwarded to those agencies that may be providing services to the juvenile offenders, and
working closely with Department staff throughout placement to plan for reintegration.

02.  Approval. Reintegration, by release from Department custody or transfer, must not
take place without the involvement of the Department's assigned juvenile services coordinator, and
the written approval of the regional clinical supervisor and regional superintendent.

03. Department Concurrence. Preparation for reintegration of a juvenile offender
begins with the initial development of a service plan and is an ongoing process throughout the
juvenile offender's program. Criteria for the juvenile offender’s release from Department custody
or transfer must be explained to the juvenile as soon as possible after admission to a program.

04. Reintegration Staffing. The juvenile services coordinator shall convene a
reintegration staffing, which will include the juvenile offender's probation officer, the Provider,
the juvenile offender's parent or guardian, an education representative, and the juvenile offender.
At a minimum, a review of the plans to address any ongoing medical or mental health, substance
abuse, social skills, education, vocation, independent living, and other special needs will be
conducted. The juvenile offender's relapse prevention plan will be reviewed by the juvenile
probation officer, the juvenile's parent or guardian, the education representative, and juvenile
services coordinator. Based upon the results of that staffing and pending juvenile services
coordinator approval of the relapse prevention plan, the Department will make the final decision
regarding transfer or release from Department custody.

05. Check-Out Procedures. Prior to the release from Department custody or transfer,
the Provider must have completed a Provider Juvenile Check-Out Form (DJC-180) supplied by
the Department. The form must be dated, signed by the juvenile offender, and forwarded to the
juvenile services coordinator and any designees on the actual date that the juvenile offender leaves
the program.

a. The Provider must provide the juvenile's Medicaid card and a thirty (30) day supply
of all medications or a thirty (30) day prescription signed by the physician to the individual or
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agency authorized to transport the juvenile offender.
06. Termination Prior to Completion.

a. When a Provider believes a juvenile offender is at risk for transfer prior to program
completion, the juvenile services coordinator must be notified as far in advance as possible so that
a staffing may be held. The purpose of this staffing is to consider the circumstances which may
require the transfer, and to make every effort to address the concerns with the Provider to avoid
the necessity of making another placement. The Provider must document these efforts at problem
solving. The Department will make a decision about transfer based upon the results of this staffing
and any subsequent work agreed upon with the Provider. The Provider can request transfer of a
Juvenile offender in the following circumstances:

i A pattern of documented behavior clearly indicating a lack of progress; or
ii. Commission of one (1) or more serious or violent incidents that jeopardize the
safety and security of individuals or the program.

b. In matters involving life, health, and safety of any juvenile in Department custody,
the Department shall remove the juvenile offender immediately.
c. A final progress report must include, at a minimum, a report on progress or lack of

progress on all service implementation plan areas and recommendations for follow-up. The report
must be forwarded to the juvenile services coordinator within twenty-four (24) hours of transfer
prior to program completion.

156. INCIDENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

01. Incidents Requiring Immediate Notice to Parent or Guardian and
Department. All notifications under this section must be made to the regional facility in the region
where the Provider is located. Out-of-state Providers must notify the juvenile correctional center
in Nampa. Providers must ensure that a detailed, written incident report is completed and signed
by involved staff before the end of the shift during which the incident took place. If any of the
following events occur, the Provider must immediately notify the juvenile offender’s parent or
guardian, juvenile services coordinator, juvenile probation officer, and the Department’s regional
facility by telephone (not by facsimile or electronically). The Department’s regional R.N. must
also be notified immediately in the event of all medical and mental health incidents.

a, Medical and mental health emergencies including, but not limited to:
1. Every instance of emergency room access;
ii. Refusal of medications, treatment recommended by a physician, or food for three

(3) consecutive days;
b. Major incidents such as:

1. Death of a juvenile offender;
il. Suicide, attempted suicide, or threat of suicide;
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iii. Attempted escape;

iv. Sexual abuse among juvenile offenders or by staff including, but not limited to,
incidents reportable under PREA;

\2 Criminal activity resulting in arrest, detention, or filing a report with local law
enforcement;

vi. Any other relevant report made to the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare or
applicable state agency;

c. Any incident of restraint that involves the use of medications, chemicals, or
mechanical devices of any kind;

d. Incidents of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect of juvenile offenders;

e. Incidents involving major disasters affecting location or well-being of the juveniles;
and

f. Any restriction of a juvenile offender’s family visitation due to the juvenile’s
behavior.

g. A written incident report must also be transmitted within twenty-four (24) hours to

the juvenile services coordinator and the juvenile probation officer. Written notification is sent
within twenty-four (24) hours to the juvenile offender’s parent or guardian unless notification
would endanger the juvenile. Transmission of all written incident reports may be electronic or by
facsimile.

02. Escapes Also Require Immediate Notice to Parent or Guardian and
Department. In all instances of escape, the Provider must immediately notify the juvenile
correctional center in Nampa first, followed by the regional facility, juvenile offender’s parent or
guardian, juvenile services coordinator, and juvenile probation officer by telephone (not by
facsimile or electronically). A written incident report must also be transmitted within twenty-four
(24) hours to the juvenile services coordinator and the juvenile probation officer. Written
notification is sent within twenty-four (24) hours to the juvenile offender’s parent or guardian
unless notification would endanger the juvenile offender. Transmission of all written incident
reports may be electronic or by facsimile. Upon apprehension, all of the same parties must be
notified immediately.

a. Clothing and other personal belongings must be secured immediately and
maintained in a secure place until returned to the Department.
b. The juvenile offender shall continue to be assigned to the program, although not

physically present, for up to forty-eight (48) hours. The program will be reimbursed for the days
the juvenile offender was on escape status up to forty-eight (48) hours. Should the program, in
consultation with the juvenile offender’s treatment team, choose to transfer the juvenile offender
after returning, the relevant procedures outlined in Subchapters B and C of these rules apply.

03. Incidents Requiring Immediate Notice to Department and Three Day Notice
to Parent or Guardian. The following incidents require immediate notice to the juvenile services
coordinator in the manner described in Subsection 156.01, and require notice within three (3)
business days to parent or guardian of the juveniles involved.

a. Any use of separation or isolation for more than two (2) hours;
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b Incidents involving the disclosure of criminal behavior by juvenile offenders;
c. Instances of physical assault or fighting;
d Major misconduct by one (1) or more staff against a juvenile offender;

e. Discovery of contraband that represents an immediate threat to safety and security
such as weapons or drugs;

f. Any instance of an unclothed body search or a body cavity search of a juvenile
offender;

g. Other than incidents described in Paragraph 156.01.e., significant property damage

resulting from misconduct, negligence, or from incidents such as explosions, fires, floods, or other
natural disasters; and

h. Any pattern of restraint of a juvenile, which is defined as three (3) or more restraints
within a twenty-four (24) hour period.

04. Incidents Requiring Notice Within Three Days to the Department.

a. Providers must ensure that a detailed, written incident report is completed and
signed by involved staff before the end of the shift during which the incident took place. A copy
of the completed incident report must be submitted to the juvenile services coordinator no later
than three (3) business days after the incident.

b. A detailed incident report is also required for each incident of juvenile offender
misconduct that is not reportable under Subsection 156.03 and results in any type of:

i. Instances of lost keys, equipment, or tools;
ii. Discovery of contraband not posing an immediate risk; or
iii. A pattern of refusal of program participation that rises to the point of raising

questions about the appropriateness of the placement.

c. A detailed incident report is also required for each incident of staff misconduct
relating to juvenile care that is not reportable under Subsection 156.03 and results in:

1. Any physical restraint that does not involve the use of medications, chemicals, or
mechanical devices of any kind; or
il. Separation, isolation, or room confinement for more than fifteen (15) minutes but

less than two (2) hours.

05. Incident Report Content. Providers may elect to use the Department’s standard
incident report form or may use another form that includes the following information:

Juvenile offender’s assigned unit or location;

Date, location, and time of the incident;

Witnesses and other staff and juvenile offenders involved;

Persons notified with date and time of notice;

Brief narrative description of the incident;

Type of incident by category, such as assault against staff or juvenile offender,
behavioral and psychiatric emergency, contraband, escape, injury or illness, self-harm or suicidal

=e e o
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behavior, or sexual abuse;

g. Action taken by category, such as restraint, separation, isolation, or room
confinement with times in and out, visitation restrictions due to juvenile offender behavior, suicide
precautions initiated, or escape precautions initiated;

h. Signature of staff and reviewing supervisor, which may be affixed electronically;
i. Documentation of injury and medical attention provided; and
i If the incident involves sexual abuse, the incident report must include a description

of action taken to:

i. Keep the alleged victim(s) safe from intimidation of further abuse and maintain
confidentiality;

ii. Address any immediate trauma, either physical or emotional;

iii. Address long-term medical or mental health needs related to the alleged abuse;

iv. Notify responsible licensing, regulatory, and law enforcement agencies and
preserve evidence;

v. Conduct an initial internal investigation of the incident and as necessary request
that an external investigation be completed; and

Vi. Prevent repetition of the abusive situation.

157. OUT-OF-STATE TRAVEL.

When a Provider is planning an out-of-state trip for any of its juvenile offenders, the facility
administrator must obtain prior written authorization from the regional clinical supervisor or
designee. The necessary sequence of action and approval is as follows:

01. Notification. The Provider must notify the juvenile services coordinator in writing
fourteen (14) business days in advance of the scheduled trip with the following:

a. Dates of the scheduled trip;

b. Location of the trip;

c. Purpose of the trip;

d. Transportation arrangements;

e. Where the juvenile offender will be staying if overnight accommodations are
required (address and phone number); and

f. Who is going, such as juvenile offender, and name and position of staff.

02.  Prior Approval. The program director must obtain all necessary approvals prior to

authorizing travel.

03. Interstate Compact for Juveniles. Any out-of-state travel for more than twenty-
four (24) hours requires a travel permit and compliance with the Interstate Compact for Juveniles.

158. ADDITIONAL PROGRAM POLICY REQUIREMENTS.
01.  Written Policies. In addition to other policy requirements listed in these rules,

Providers must have, at a minimum, the following written policies concerning program operations
available at the program site:
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a. Program elements and implementation;

b. Admission policy describing the target population and criteria for admission, and
identifying sources of referrals to the program,;

c. Criteria for assigning juvenile offenders to different units within the program, if
applicable;

d. The provision of (or referral for) emergency and routine medical and mental health
services for the population;

e. Behavior management within the program, including use of points and levels,
restraints, separation, detention, and other types of special management;

f. Supervision of juvenile offenders policy that includes managing juvenile offender

movement within the program, including the timely transfer of behavioral information about
juvenile offenders from staff during shift changes;

g. Juvenile offender’s access to the community policy that includes use of community
schools or job sites, and individual or group activities away from the program site. This also
includes individual community passes;

h. Administrative coverage in emergency situations arising after regular work hours;

i Documentation and reporting of critical incidents to program administrators, the
Department and others on the community treatment team;

i Treatment planning and progress reporting to the Department, juvenile offender,
family, and others on the community treatment team;

k. Reintegration policy that describes criteria for successful completion of program,

termination from program prior to completion, and the involvement of the Department and
community treatment team; and
L Emergency procedures in the event of a natural disaster.

02. Documented Staff Training. Documented staff training on these policies must
also be available for review by the Department.

159. FIRST AID KITS.

Each Provider must maintain first aid kits. Basic first aid kits that do not include medications or
sharp tools may be kept unlocked. Any complete first aid kit with medications, wound rinses,
scissors, tweezers, or other such objects must be kept locked and placed in areas of the program or
facility readily accessible to staff.

205. MINIMUM MANDATORY STAFF TRAINING REQUIREMENTS.
Good professional practice in the area of juvenile offender treatment requires staff to be
competently trained. The Provider will ensure all training requirements are met according to
Subchapter A of these rules, regardless of the number of training hours required.

01. Staff Working More Than 24 Hours a Week. Staff who works more than twenty-
four (24) hours per week are required to complete:

a. Eighty (80) hours of training during first year of employment. Up to twenty-five

percent (25%) of the eighty (80) hours may be fulfilled by working with an experienced staff
mentor, who must verify and document basic competencies for new staff; and
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b. Forty (40) hours of training per year following the first year of employment.

02.  Staff Working 24 Hours or Less a Week. Staff who works fewer than or equal to
twenty-four (24) hours per week are required to complete:

a. Forty (40) hours of training during the first year of employment, and
b. Twenty (20) hours of training per year following the first year of employment.

206. CLOTHING AND PERSONAL ITEMS.

01.  Clothing Management. Juvenile offenders must have sufficient and appropriate
clothing to participate in activities included in their service implementation plan. Juvenile
offenders may arrive at the facility with their own clothing and personal items, which shall be
inventoried. If the juvenile offender does not have sufficient or appropriate clothing, the Provider
must provide or purchase adequate and appropriate clothing for the juvenile offender. The Provider
will ensure the proper care and cleaning of clothing in the juvenile offender's possession. Providers
shall not request nor require that the juvenile offender, parent, or guardian pay for or purchase
clothing.

02. Release from Facility. All clothing and incidentals become the property of the
juvenile offender upon release from the facility.

03. Replacement Clothing. Clothing provided or purchased as replacement will be at
the expense of the Provider. Unique items of clothing not required for program participation may
be purchased at the expense of the juvenile offender.

207. FOOD SERVICE.

Juvenile offenders must be served a varied and nutritional diet with menus approved or developed
by a qualified nutritionist or dietitian and which meet the recommended dietary allowances of the
National Research Council or its equivalent. Juvenile offenders must be provided three (3) meals
daily in accordance with the child care licensing rules of the Idaho Department of Health and
Welfare, or the applicable state's licensing authority.

208. PERSONAL FUNDS.

01. Funds Handled by a Provider. The Provider will follow generally accepted
accounting practices in managing personal funds of juvenile offenders.

a. The Provider may deposit personal funds collected for the juvenile offender in a
public banking institution in an account specifically designated “Juvenile Personal Funds.” The
Provider must maintain a reconciled ledger showing each juvenile offender's deposits and
withdrawals within the “Juvenile Personal Funds” account. If the funds are collected in an interest
bearing account, the interest accrued must be credited to the juvenile offender for whom the funds
are collected.

b. If the amount of personal funds maintained for the juvenile offender does not
exceed fifty (50) dollars, the Provider may secure the funds locally if the following conditions are
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met:

1. The juvenile offender's personal funds are kept in a fire-resistant, combination or
digital lock-style safe that is permanently affixed to the floor or wall, or weighs at least 200 (two-
hundred) pounds.

ii. The Provider has a process to clearly separate each juvenile offender's personal
funds from one another.

iii. Access to juvenile offender personal funds is limited to the Program Director or
designee.

c. All withdrawals by a juvenile offender, or expenditures made on behalf of a

juvenile offender by the Provider, must be documented, signed, and dated by the juvenile offender
and reconciled to the juvenile offender's ledger monthly.

d. The Provider must develop written procedures governing any limits to the amount
of funds a juvenile offender may withdraw from their personal funds.
e. The Provider shall not require juvenile offenders, parents, or guardians to pay for

services and supplies that, by contract, are to be provided by the Provider.

02. Reporting Requirements. A personal funds report must be submitted every other
month to the juvenile services coordinator. The report must show a list of all juvenile offender
account balances. The personal fund account is subject to review and audit by the Department or
its representatives at any time. Any discrepancies in juvenile offender accounts must be resolved
by the Provider within five (5) business days of completion of review.

03. Juvenile Offenders with Earned Income. The provider is responsible for
maintaining and accounting for any money earned by a juvenile offender. There must be a plan for
the priority use of the juvenile offender's earned income to pay court ordered restitution and a
specific allocation for daily incidental expenses. The Provider must establish a written plan for the
juvenile offender to save the funds necessary to be used upon program completion, for purposes
such as paying deposits on utilities and housing or the purchasing of resources necessary for
employment.

04.  Transfer of Personal Funds. If a juvenile offender is transferred to another
program, the balance of the juvenile offender's funds must be given or mailed to the Department's
fiscal services within ten (10) business days and documented on the Provider Juvenile Check-Out
Form (DJC-180) supplied by the Department, and on the final progress report.

209. JUVENILE OFFENDER MAIL.

01.  Restrictions. Juvenile offenders shall be allowed to send and receive letters from
approved persons, which may include persons in other programs or institutions, unless specifically
prohibited by the Department or by court order. All other restrictions of mail must be discussed
with the community treatment team and approved in writing by the juvenile services coordinator.
There must be no general restrictions on the number of letters written, the length of any letter, or
the language in which a letter may be written. Juvenile offenders will be provided with sufficient
stationery, envelopes, and postage for all legal and official correspondence, and for at least two (2)
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personal letters each week.
02. Inspection of Outgoing Letters.

a. Outgoing letters are to be posted unsealed and inspected for contraband.

b. Exception: Outgoing “privileged” mail may be posted, sealed, and may not be
opened, except with a search warrant, as long as it can be confirmed to be to an identifiable source.
For purposes of this rule, “an identifiable source” means that the official or legal capacity of the
addressee is listed on the envelope and that the name, official or legal capacity, and address of the
addressee have been verified.

c. Upon the determination that the mail is not identifiable as privileged mail, said mail
will be opened and inspected for contraband.

03. Inspection of Incoming Letters. All incoming letters must be opened by the
juvenile offender to whom it is addressed and may be inspected for contraband by staff and only
in the juvenile offender's presence.

04. Reading of Letters. Routine reading of letters by staff is prohibited. The
Department or court may determine that reading of a juvenile offender's mail is in the best interest
of the juvenile offender, and is necessary to maintain security, order, or program integrity.
However, such reading of mail must be documented and, unless court ordered, be specifically
justified and approved by the juvenile services coordinator.

05.  Privileged Mail. Under no circumstances shall a juvenile offender's privileged mail
be read.

06.  Packages. All packages must be inspected for contraband.

07.  Publications. Books, magazines, newspapers, and printed matter, which may be
legally sent to juvenile offenders through the postal system, may be approved, unless deemed to
constitute a threat to the security, integrity, or order of the programs. Juvenile offenders shall not
be allowed to enter into subscription agreements while in Department custody.

08.  Distribution of Mail. The collection and distribution of mail must never be
delegated to a juvenile offender. Staff must deliver mail within twenty-four (24) hours, excluding
weekends and holidays, to the juvenile offender to whom it is addressed.

210. VISITATION.

01.  Visitor Approval. The Provider must develop a written policy governing
visitation, which protects the safety of visitors, staff, and juvenile offenders. This policy may
restrict visitors below an established age to the program or facility. The Provider must provide a
copy of the visitation policy to each juvenile offender, his parent or guardian, and the juvenile
services coordinator. If there is reason to believe a visitor is under the influence of alcohol or drugs
or possesses illegal contraband, admission into the residence shall be denied. In all cases, the
Provider will work with the juvenile services coordinator and juvenile probation officer to identify
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and approve potential visitors.
02.  Visitor Searches.

a. Prior to visitors being allowed in the program, they must be given rules established
by the Provider that govern their visit and advised that they may be subject to a search by trained
staff. They must sign a statement of receipt of these rules and the statement placed in the Provider’s
file.

b. Visitors may be required to submit personal items for inspection. If there is reason
to believe that additional searches are necessary, admission to the facility shall be denied. Visitors,
who bring in items that are unauthorized, but not illegal, will have these items taken and locked in
an area inaccessible to the juvenile offenders during the visit. These items will be returned to the
visitors upon their exit from the facility.

c. All visitor searches must be documented. When contraband is found, a written
report must be completed and submitted to the juvenile services coordinator. If necessary, the
appropriate law enforcement agency will be notified.

211. SMOKING AND SALE OF CIGARETTES.

Juvenile offenders, regardless of age, are strictly prohibited from purchasing or using tobacco and
nicotine products. Staff secure Providers must establish written policies and procedures banning
the use of cigarettes and other tobacco and nicotine products by juvenile offenders at the facility.

212. ROOM RESTRICTIONS.

01.  Policy and Procedure. The Provider must have written policies and procedures
regulating the use of the juvenile offender's room for room restriction. The Provider's room
restriction policy must, at a minimum, address the following:

a. Procedures for recording each incident involving the use of restriction;

b. The reason for the room restriction must be explained to the juvenile offender and
allow the juvenile offender to have an opportunity to explain their behavior;

c. Other less restrictive measures must have been applied prior to the room restriction;

d. A juvenile offender on room restriction must have access to the bathroom; and

e. Room restriction must not exceed a total of eight (8) hours within a twenty-four
(24) hour period.

02.  Monitoring During Room Restriction. Staff must check on a juvenile offender in

room restriction a minimum of once every fifteen (15) minutes. Providers must ensure that a
juvenile offender with a history of depression or suicidal ideation and those who have exhibited
these behaviors while in care, are checked at least every five (5) minutes in order to ensure safety.
Even more frequent or constant observation must be maintained if any level of suicide risk is
determined to be present at any time during room restriction. All items in the area that might be
used to attempt self-harm should be restricted or removed.
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213. USE OF FORCE OR PHYSICAL RESTRAINTS.

Providers licensed by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare or the applicable state licensing
authority, must ensure that all terms of the licensing rules are strictly followed and additionally
ensure that:

01. Minimal Use of Force. Only the minimum level of force necessary to control a
juvenile offender's destructive behavior shall be used.

02.  Physical Force. Physical force, at any level, may only be used to prevent injury to
the juvenile offender or to others and to prevent serious damage to property or escape. Physical
force must never be used as punishment.

03.  Reporting Requirement. All instances of use of force must be documented in an
incident report and submitted according to the terms of Section 156. Incidents of inappropriate use
of force must be reported to the state's applicable licensing authority or law enforcement, as
required by law.

220. GUIDELINES FOR SPECIFIC SERVICES.

01. Counseling Services.

a. All counseling services provided to juvenile offenders, whether individual, group,
or family must be performed by a clinician, counselor, or therapist, as defined in these rules.

b. Counseling should be planned and goal directed.

c. Notes must be written for each service provided and include documentation of who

provided the service. The notes must be dated and clearly labeled either individual, group, or
family counseling.

d. The methods and techniques applied in counseling and the frequency and intensity
of the sessions should be determined by assessment.

e. Counseling should be reality-oriented and directed toward helping juvenile
offenders understand and solve specific problems; discontinue inappropriate, damaging,
destructive, or dangerous behaviors; and fulfill individual needs.

f. The minimum standard for the frequency of counseling services must be specified
in the comprehensive program description attached to the contract with the Department.

g. There should be a mechanism developed to monitor and record incremental
progress toward the desired outcome of counseling services.

h. Programs should be able to demonstrate that counseling interventions are shared in
general with other program service providers, and there is broad mutual support for the goals of
counseling in all service areas of the program.

i. Programs must provide crisis intervention counseling, if warranted by the
assessment and circumstances.

j- The Provider must furnish adequate space for conducting private interviews and
counseling sessions at the facility.

k. Family counseling services must be available as a part of the juvenile offender's
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service implementation plan, to the extent that this is supported by the assessment. If the
assessment indicates a need for these services, family counseling should specifically address issues
that, directly or indirectly, resulted in the juvenile offender's removal from the home and the issue
of eventual reintegration back into the family unit. A statement of goals to be achieved or worked
toward by the juvenile offender and the family should be part of the service implementation plan.

02. Substance Abuse Services. As a minimum standard, programs must provide
substance abuse services, as determined by assessment and indicated in the service implementation
plan. Substance abuse services must have direct oversight by a certified alcohol and drug
counselor, or master's level clinician with three (3) years' experience in the substance abuse field.
Substance abuse services must be fully described in the detailed program description and have a
written curriculum containing a description of each session offered. Juvenile offenders receiving
substance abuse services must have an introduction to a community intervention program. Relapse
prevention plans must be a component of the substance abuse services provided and be specifically
based on the individual needs of the juvenile offender. Notes documenting the service provided
must be dated, clearly labeled “substance abuse services,” with each entry signed by the counselor
performing the service.

03. Social Skills Training Including Relapse Prevention Skills. Programs must
assess each juvenile offender's social skills and document specific services provided to improve
functioning in this area. Additionally, every juvenile offender must have developed a written
relapse prevention plan prior to successfully completing the program.

04. Life Skills and Independent Living. Programs must be able to demonstrate that
juvenile offenders are taught basic life skills and that age-appropriate juvenile offenders are
involved in independent living skills consistent with their age and needs. This program should
include, at a minimum, instruction in:

Hygiene and grooming skills;

Laundry and maintenance of clothing;
Appropriate social skills;

Housekeeping;

Use of recreation and leisure time;

Use of community resources;

Money management;

Use of public transportation, where available;
Budgeting and shopping;

Cooking;

Punctuality, attendance, and other employment-related matters;
Vocational planning and job finding skills; and
Basic health education.

BrFT @ e s T

0s. Recreational Services. Programs should have a written plan for providing
recreational services based on individual needs, interests, and functional levels of the population
served.
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a. The recreational program should include indoor and outdoor activities. Activities
should minimize television and make use of a full array of activities that encourage both individual
entertainment and small group interaction. An appropriately furnished area should be designated
inside the facility for leisure activities.

b. Programs should have staff educated and experienced in recreational programs to
ensure good planning, organizing, supervision, use of facility, and community activities.
Recreational activities considered part of the service implementation plan must be funded by the
Provider. The use of community recreational resources should be maximized, as long as
community safety is assured. The Provider must arrange for the transportation and provide the
supervision required for any usage of community recreational resources. No juvenile offender may
be required to pay to participate in recreational activities made available through the program.

06. Transportation Services. In all transport situations there must be at least one (1)
assigned staff of the same gender, or two (2) assigned staff of the opposite gender, as the juvenile
offender being transported.

07.  Transport in Personal Vehicles. Juveniles in the custody of the Department will
not be transported in Provider employee personal vehicles unless an emergency exists and is
substantiated by documentation.

221. CASE MANAGEMENT REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

Each juvenile offender's progress, or lack of progress, must be clearly documented and be related
to documented behavior. Recommendations for release from Department custody or transfer
should be substantiated by a documented pattern of behavioral change over a period of time.
Recommendations for transfer to a higher level of custody must be substantiated by a documented
lack of progress over time, or by a serious or violent incident which threatens the safety of others
or the stability of the overall program.

01.  Service Implementation Plan. Within thirty (30) calendar days of the juvenile
offendet’s admission into the program, a written service implementation plan must be developed.
The service implementation plan must address the specific goals identified in the service plan from
the observation and assessment report. The service implementation plan should, at a minimum,
address the following areas as indicated by need:

Education and employment;

Personality and behavior;

Substance abuse;

Attitudes, values, and delinquent orientation;
Family circumstances and parenting;

Peer relations;

Leisure and recreation;

Sexual misconduct; and

Specialized needs.

N

02.  Juvenile Offender and Family Involvement. Each juvenile offender and, to the
fullest extent possible, the family, should be involved in developing the service implementation
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plan and in adjusting that plan throughout the course of commitment.

03.  Service Implementation Plan Adjustments. The service implementation plan
should be adjusted throughout placement with the concurrence of the juvenile services coordinator
following communication with the community treatment team. Specifically, the service
implementation plan should be adjusted as new needs are identified, as goals are achieved, and as
plans for reintegration are finalized.

04.  Department Assessments. Assessments provided by the Department shall not be
repeated by the Provider at the time of admission into the program without specific justification
provided to the regional clinical supervisor.

05.  Participation in Staffings. The Provider must participate in staffings with
Department staff to discuss the juvenile offender’s service implementation plan development and
progress in treatment.

06.  Participation in the Progress Assessment/Reclassification. The Provider may be
asked by the juvenile services coordinator to provide input necessary for periodic reassessments
of the juvenile offender's progress and current risk level. In all cases, the Provider must participate
to the fullest extent possible.

07.  Progress Report. A written progress report must be submitted to the juvenile
services coordinator and any designees at least every two (2) months. The progress report should
focus on areas of positive change in behavior and attitudes, as well as on the factors required for a
successful program completion (progress in community protection, competency development, and
accountability). Areas of need that were included in the service implementation plan and identified
in Subsection 221.01 of these rules should also be referenced in the progress report. Each progress
report should also detail the level of involvement of the parent or guardian in the juvenile’s
treatment.

08.  Relapse Prevention Plan. Prior to completing the program, the Provider shall
supply the juvenile with the relapse prevention plan form (DJC-271) provided by the Department.
The plan must address areas of risk identified in the juvenile's service implementation plan, as well
as interventions the juvenile will use to prevent future problems. While in treatment, the Provider
will solicit feedback from the juvenile services coordinator every thirty (30) calendar days
regarding the development of the juvenile's relapse prevention plan. The final relapse prevention
plan is due to the juvenile services coordinator, or designee, no earlier than the date of the juvenile
offender's reintegration staffing.

09.  Final Progress Report. A final progress report must be submitted to the juvenile
services coordinator and any designees no earlier than fourteen (14) calendar days and no later
than ten (10) calendar days prior to the juvenile offender's anticipated completion of the program.
This report must include:

a. A current summary of the juvenile offender's progress;
b. A summary of the efforts to reach the juvenile offender's goals and objectives,
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including education;

c. Any unresolved goals or objectives;

d. Recommendation for continuing services, including education, in the home
community; and

e. The current address of the juvenile.

10.  Report Distribution. Copies of the service implementation plan, progress reports,

relapse prevention plan, and final progress report must be distributed by the Provider to the juvenile
offender and the juvenile services coordinator and any designees. The juvenile services coordinator
will review and forward the progress report to the juvenile probation officer, appropriate court,
and parent or guardian, unless the juvenile offender's family has been excluded from treatment by
the juvenile services coordinator and the respective clinical supervisor for a well-documented
reason.

222. INDIVIDUAL COMMUNITY PASSES.

Prior to granting any individual community pass to a juvenile offender, the Provider must contact
the juvenile probation officer and the juvenile services coordinator, to ensure that neither the court
nor the Department has placed restrictions on the juvenile offender's pass privileges. All requests
for passes must be approved by the juvenile services coordinator. Any pass involving an overnight
stay away from the facility, or involving special circumstances such as a sexual abuse victim in
the home, requires a written plan detailing supervision and safety measures to be taken, an itinerary
for the visit, transportation plan, and must be approved in writing five (5) business days in advance
by the juvenile services coordinator. Each time a juvenile offender leaves on and returns from an
individual community pass, the Provider must notify the juvenile correctional center in Nampa of
this movement, promptly at the time that the juvenile offender leaves and returns.

01. Potential Risk to Public Safety. Individual passes for juvenile offenders assigned
to residential facilities should be considered as an integral part of the service implementation plan.
However, in all cases, the potential risk to public safety and adequacy of home supervision must
be considered prior to allowing a juvenile offender to return home. It is also important that passes
not interfere with the ongoing treatment and supervision needed by juvenile offenders. Providers
must provide parents or guardians with clearly written guidelines for approved passes, which must
be signed by parents or guardians indicating their understanding and willingness to comply with
those guidelines. The Department's pass form may be used for this purpose. If the Department's
form is not used, the form signed and agreed to by the individual assuming responsibility for
supervision must contain at least the following information:

a. The juvenile offender's name and date of birth;

b. The name, address, and telephone number of the individual assuming
responsibility;

c. Authorized days, dates. and times for the pass, including the specific date and time
of departure and of return;

d. A complete listing of the anticipated locations and activities in which the juvenile
offender is expected to be involved,;

e. Specific plans for supervision and telephone checks to verify compliance with the

pass conditions;
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f. A complete listing of the activities required during the pass;

g. Specific stipulations prohibiting:

1. The use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs;

il. Involvement in any illegal activity or association with others who may be or have
been involved in illegal behavior;

iii. Participation in sexual relations of any kind;

iv. Possession of any kind of firearm or weapon; and

\2 Any violation of the terms of probation.

h. Specific stipulations about search and drug testing upon return, and the possible

consequences for violation of any of the terms of the pass agreement.

02.  Eligibility. A juvenile offender must be in placement a minimum of thirty (30)
calendar days to be eligible for any pass. Any exceptions due to extenuating circumstances must
be approved by the juvenile services coordinator.

03.  Frequency. Frequency of passes must be consistent with the terms of the juvenile
offender’s service implementation plan and Provider's contract with the Department.

04.  Documentation. Documentation of the exact date and time of the juvenile
offender's departure from the program for a pass, and return, must be maintained along with
complete information about the individual assuming physical custody, transportation, and
supervision during the pass.

223. GROUP ACTIVITIES OFF FACILITY GROUNDS.

An activity plan and itinerary covering activities to be engaged in, when and where the group is
going, how they will travel, how long they will stay, and why the activity is being planned must
be submitted to the juvenile services coordinator at least five (5) business days prior to the activity.
The activity plan must identify the specific risk elements associated with the activity and provide
a safety plan for each of those risk elements. Routine, low risk activities within the local
community adjacent to the facility do not require prior notice, and are to be conducted at the
discretion of and under the responsibility of the Provider.

01.  Recreational Activities. A pass authorizing the participation of juvenile offenders
in outdoor recreational or work activities with an increased risk, such as overnight trips, must be
signed by the juvenile services coordinator and juvenile probation officer prior to the activity. Any
proposed activity that involves horseback riding, boating, rappelling, rock climbing, or higher risk
activity must also have the prior approval, in writing, of the Department's regional superintendent.

02. Staff Requirements.

a. A basic first aid kit will be taken with the group. At least one (1) person certified
in first aid and CPR must accompany the group.

b. Swimming, boating, or rafting will only be allowed when a staff in attendance has
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certification in rescue and water safety, or if a lifeguard is on duty. All juvenile offenders involved
in boating or rafting activities must wear an approved personal flotation device.

c. A staffto juvenile offender ratio of one to six (1:6) will be adhered to as a minimum
unless there is a reason to require more staff. The risk level of the activity, as well as any physical
disabilities, high client irresponsibility, mental deficiencies, or inclusion of groups of juvenile
offenders under age twelve (12), are some reasons to consider additional staff.

d. All participants will be recorded in the activity plan and identified as program
clients, staff, or volunteers. The individual staff or volunteer satisfying the above first aid and CPR
requirements must be identified in the plan.

e. There will be no consumption of alcoholic beverages or illicit drugs by staff or
juvenile offenders, interns, or volunteers while engaged in any agency-sponsored trip or activity.

03. Consent Forms. Recreational activities identified as presenting a higher risk
require prior written approval in accordance with Subsection 223.01 of these rules. Each juvenile
offender must have prior written consent from a parent or guardian, if available, and the
Department's regional superintendent, including:

a. Permission for the juvenile offender's participation;

b. Acknowledgment of planned activities; and

c. Permission for the Provider to seek or administer necessary medical attention in an
emergency.

04.  Activity Reports. At the conclusion of each overnight or high risk recreational

activity pass, the Provider must document in the juvenile offender's file and include in the progress
report, any significant positive or negative events that transpired while the juvenile offender was
on pass. Any unusual occurrences must be reported to the juvenile services coordinator and
documented on an incident report as identified in Subchapter A. A drug screening urinalysis may
be conducted on each returning juvenile offender, at the expense of the Provider, and the results
of that exam reported to the juvenile services coordinator.

224. EDUCATION SERVICES.

01. Appropriate Services. The Provider must ensure that each juvenile offender is
given appropriate educational and vocational services that are consistent with the juvenile
offender's abilities and needs, taking into consideration age, level of functioning, and any
educational requirements specified by state or federal law. Providers must assure that educational
services provided as a part of an overall program play an integral part in the process of reclaiming
juvenile offenders to responsible roles in society. Educational services must strive to facilitate
positive behavior change by helping juvenile offenders to develop abilities in academic,
workplace, and technological areas; to restructure harmful or limiting cognitive patterns; and, to
adopt appropriate social interactions skills. Educational services provided must use whatever
combination of approaches and motivations that will best facilitate the learning process in
conjunction with the service implementation plan. All educational services provided must meet all
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mandates of the Elementary Secondary Education Act (ESEA), the IDEA, the Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Section 504).

02.  Mandatory Enrollment. Providers must ensure that all juvenile offenders
involved in their programs who are of mandatory school age in the applicable state, or who have
not yet obtained a General Educational Development (GED) or high school diploma, are enrolled
in a school system or in a program approved and certified by the applicable state's Department of
Education to provide both special education and other services. For those who have obtained a
GED or high school diploma, an appropriate educational and vocational service must be provided
in accordance with the service implementation plan.

03. Cooperative Relationships. Providers may provide educational services through a
cooperative agreement with the local education agency or through an in-house educational
program administered by the Provider. If a local education agency provides the services, it is
expected that the Provider will have a written agreement with a local education agency that clearly
defines the services that will be provided in the contract facility. The written agreement must
include, at a minimum, all of the following:

a. Level of participation in reintegration planning for each juvenile offender;

b. That grades will be submitted to the Department within two (2) business days of
transfer or release from Department custody;

c. Curriculum for special education services, if appropriate;

d. A plan for the provision of state required testing; and

e. Types of services that will be provided beyond the established limits of the regular
school year for that school district. )

04. Costs of Educational Services. If a local education agency agreement is

developed, the Idaho Department of Education will flow education funds to the local education
agency in a manner consistent with current legislative funding mandates. A copy of the
memorandum of understanding between the Provider and the local education agency must be
provided to the Department, and the source of funds to cover the costs for educational services
clearly accounted for in the budget. If the Provider elects to provide the services in-house, the cost
of educational services will be included in the daily contract rate. The Provider will not be eligible
to receive educational funding through both of these sources.

05.  Accreditation Requirements. Each Provider serving juvenile offenders, who have
been committed to the Department, will have, or contract with, an education program that will
meet the accreditation standards of a Department-approved accreditation agency or the applicable
state's Department of Education.

06.  Educational Assessment. Federal and state laws mandate that juvenile offenders
be provided with an appropriate education. Providers are responsible for providing an educational
track that will best serve the needs of each juvenile offender, as determined by the assessment
provided by the Department through the observation and assessment process, or as determined by
an assessment completed by a local school district. A copy of the relevant assessment and related
current and valid education plan, as well as all supporting documentation for each juvenile
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offender, must be maintained in a separate file and be available to the Department and to the Idaho
Department of Education. A copy of the IEP and all supporting documentation must be sent to the
Department within ten (10) business days or less of its completion for inclusion in the juvenile
offender's permanent school records that are maintained by the Department.

a. Providers are responsible for ongoing, yearly reassessment of each juvenile
offender's progress within the education program as well as documenting and reporting that
progress. This responsibility extends to completing a reassessment Just prior to release from
Department custody or transfer, and reporting academic gain both for individual juvenile offenders
as well as composite data for the education program overall.

b. Consistent with statewide educational standards, Providers are responsible for
assuring that each juvenile offender is tested in accordance with the applicable state's assessment
schedule and all required measures. Any fees associated with the testing services are paid by the

07. GED Eligibility. Providers must assure that GED tests are administered to juvenile
offenders meeting the criteria established in the administrative rules of the applicable state's Board
of Education for school districts. All GED testing application fees will be paid by the Provider.
Test results must be submitted to the Department within ten (10) business days after the receipt of
the scores.

08.  Special Education Services.
a. The Provider must ensure that the special educational needs of Jjuvenile offenders

are addressed. The Provider's in-house program or cooperating local education agency program
must comply with Section 504 and the IDEA, as well as any other applicable state or federal laws,

09.  Standards for Instructional Time. Providers must assure that the school day is
consistent with at least the minimum standard established for high schools by a Department-
approved accreditation agency. The length of the school day will further meet all requirements
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throughout the full calendar year. Juvenile offenders involved in any disciplinary process must not
be denied their right to education and other related services. If security or other related concerns
are present that may prohibit a juvenile offender's participation in educational programming, an
education plan review will be completed and documented in an incident report. If the juvenile
offender is eligible for services under the IDEA or Section 504, a Child Study Team will meet to
make a determination as to whether or not the behavior is a result of the juvenile offender's
handicap. All due process procedures will be followed according to the administrative rules for
special education.

10. Educational Records and Confidentiality.

a. Educational records must be maintained by the Provider at all times in accordance
with FERPA with, at a minimum, the following information included in the record:

1. Subjects taken;

ii. Grades by subject and explanation of the grading system;

iil. Units of credit with explanation;

iv. Attendance records; and

V. Any standardized test scores.

b Reports of the juvenile offender's educational progress (report cards) must be

provided to the Department within ten (10) business days after the end of the school's grading
periods (midterm, semester, trimester, etc.).

c. Providers must ensure that juvenile offender educational files are consistently
maintained to ensure compliance with FERPA.
d. The Provider will provide final withdrawal grades and credits within twenty-four

(24) hours or next business day after the juvenile offender is released from Department custody or
transferred. The Provider must notify the Department that the final grades have been entered into
the software program. Working educational files must be returned to the Department within ten
(10) business days of the juvenile offender's release from Department custody or transfer.

225. PROVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES.

01. Medical Care. Each juvenile offender must be provided with medical, dental,
optical, mental health, emergency or any other related health services while in the Provider's care.
Each Provider must have access, on a twenty-four (24) hour basis, to a licensed general hospital,
clinic or physician, psychiatrist, and dentist to provide juvenile offenders with professional and
qualified physical or mental health services, including medications. Medical and mental health
screenings must be provided within two (2) hours of a juvenile offender’s admission to a program.
Comprehensive and professional medical and mental health assessments must be provided by the
Provider within thirty (30) calendar days of admission, unless these are provided by the
Department. A copy of these assessments must be forwarded to the Department's regional R.N.

02. Medical Consent. As part of the admission process, the Provider must have a copy

of the Department's Release of Information and Consent form signed by a juvenile offender's
parent, guardian, or committing authority. The consent form must be filed in the juvenile offender's
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medical file maintained by the Provider.

03. Emergency Medical Treatment. In cases of emergency medical treatment
requiring signed authorization for juveniles in the custody of the Department, reasonable efforts
must be made to obtain the consent of the parent or guardian. The signature of only one (1) parent
or guardian is sufficient to form consent or authorization. Should the parent or guardian not be
available or refuse to sign, the authorization may be signed by the Department's regional R.N., or
designee. This does not restrict the Provider from taking action in life and death situations.

04. Reimbursement Sources. The Provider must utilize private insurance or
Medicaid, if available, for funding medical, dental, optical, mental health, or related services, and
pharmaceutical products for any juvenile offender. The Provider cannot seek reimbursement from
private insurance or Medicaid for health services that are the fiscal responsibility of the Provider
pursuant to its contract with the Department. Any health services not listed in these rules, other
than emergency treatment, which was not approved in advance by the Department's regional R.N.,
or designee, will be at the expense of the Provider.

226. ADMISSION AND ANNUAL HEALTH SERVICES AND TREATMENT
RECORDS.

01. Compliance with Child Care Licensing Rules. Admission and annual health
services must be provided to juvenile offenders in accordance with the child-care licensing rules
of the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, unless otherwise provided in these rules.

02.  Prior Approval. No prior approval or review from the Department's régional R.N.
is required for admission and annual health services. Examples of admission and annual health
services for which no prior approval or review is required are:

a. Admission physical exams, including STD exams and treatment;

b. Admission dental exams, including x-rays and cleanings (no panoramic x-rays or
sealants);

c. Admission eye exams and glasses, if needed,;

d. Annual physical exams, including STD exams and treatment;

e. Annual dental exams with x-rays and cleanings (no panoramic x-rays or sealants);
and

f. Annual eye exams, if needed, and new glasses, only if needed.

03. Medical Records. Any time a juvenile offender receives treatment under this

section or for any similar service, the Provider must retain the original medical record regarding
treatment and immediately send a copy to the Department's regional R.N.

227. PRIVACY OF MEDICAL RECORDS AND INFORMATION.
01.  Confidentiality. Confidentiality of personal health information of each juvenile

offender must be maintained in accordance with the Privacy Regulations promulgated under
HIPAA or, if more stringent, the laws of the applicable state. Compliance with these regulations
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is the responsibility of the Provider. Staff may be provided information about a juvenile offender's
medical condition only when that knowledge is necessary for the performance of their job duties.

02.  Privacy Officer. The Provider must appoint a privacy officer to oversee that the
control and maintenance of all juvenile offender health and medical records is in compliance with
the federal Privacy Regulations, 45 Code of Federal Regulations Sections 160 and 164.

03. Separate Records. All juvenile offender medical and health records must be kept
in files that are physically separated from other juvenile offender files and information, and under
a system of security against unauthorized access.

228. NOTIFICATION OF CRITICAL HEALTH INCIDENTS.
The Provider must immediately report critical medical and mental health incidents according to
Subchapter A of these rules.

229. INFECTIOUS DISEASES.

01. Policies.

a. The Provider must establish policies and procedures for serving juvenile offenders
with infectious diseases such as tuberculosis, hepatitis, and HIV or AIDS. These policies and
procedures should address the management of infectious diseases, provide an orientation for new
staff and juvenile offenders concerning the diseases, and ongoing education for staff and juvenile
offenders regarding these diseases. Policies and procedures should be updated as new information
becomes available. Individual health information or counseling will be made available by a
medical health professional for juvenile offenders diagnosed with an infectious disease.

b. The Provider must comply with the child-care licensing rules of the Idaho
Department of Health and Welfare, or applicable state’s licensing authority, regarding universal
precautions.

02. HIV Testing. In accordance with law, a juvenile offender over age fourteen (14)
may request to be tested for the presence of HIV. Any such juvenile offender requesting to be
tested should be taken to a public health facility or, if available, a facility which accepts Medicaid
reimbursement for administration of the test.

03.  Examinations. Examinations must be performed by medical professionals on any
juvenile offender for all symptomatic cases of infectious diseases such as tuberculosis, ova and
parasites, infectious hepatitis, and sexually transmitted diseases. Juvenile offenders will be tested
and, if indicated, treated.

04.  Notifications. The Provider must notify the Department's regional R.N. within
three (3) business days of any positive test results, treatment recommendations, and follow up care.

230. PREGNANCY.
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01.  Individual Medical Plan. Within the individual medical plan, specific goals and
objectives will be developed when a pregnancy has been diagnosed. The plan must be based on
the orders of the juvenile offender’s licensed healthcare provider and include special care, location
for delivery, a plan for infant care after delivery, regular medical check-ups, and special dietary
and recreational needs. At no time may the infant remain in the Provider's facility. A copy of the
individual medical plan will be sent to the Department's regional R.N.

231. REFUSAL OF TREATMENT.

Refusal of medications or treatment recommended by a physician for three (3) consecutive days
requires immediate notification to the Department's regional R.N. according to Subchapter A of
these rules.

01.  Refusal of Recommended Treatment by Physician. If a juvenile offender
chooses to refuse treatment or medication recommended by a physician, the juvenile offender must
sign a detailed statement refusing this care. A Provider staff member must witness the juvenile
offender’s signature. This refusal form will be filed in the juvenile offender's medical record and a
copy sent to the Department’s regional R.N. within twenty-four (24) hours.

02.  Where Refusal Poses Significant Risk. If a juvenile offender refuses a treatment
or medication for a condition that poses a significant risk of death or permanent physical
impairment, the Provider must ensure the juvenile receives immediate medical attention. The
Provider will notify the Department's regional R.N. by phone as soon as possible.

232. USE OF MEDICATIONS.

01.  Written Policy. The Provider must have written policies and procedures governing
the use and administration of medication to juvenile offenders that conform to all applicable laws
and regulations including, but not limited to, those of the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
or the applicable state's licensing authority.

02.  Notification. If initiating or modifying any medication, the Department's regional
R.N. must be notified of the following:

a. The name of the prescribed medication;

b. The name and phone number of the prescribing doctor, nurse practitioner, or
physician's assistant; and
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C.

The reason the medication is being prescribed.
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ATTACHMENT 1
SERVICE ORDER

Juvenile Name: «LastName», «FirstName» «MiddleName» 1JOS#: «lJOS_ID»

The Service Order is sent as part of the referral packet with a tentative service level selected and an
explanation of any additional services or changes being requested. Once the contractor and IDIC agree on
a service level and any additional services or changes required, the Service Order should be revised as
needed to reflect the agreed-upon services and the final agreement is to be signed by the contractor and
returned with the accept/deny form (DJC-182). It is then signed by an authorized IDIC representative
(Clinical Supervisor or Juvenile Services Coordinator) and attached to the contract as applicable. Once a
contract is finalized, this Service Order can only be amended in writing.

[ ] Level 2 - Standard Supervision

Youth will live in a Mana home with 24-hour staff and an alarm system covering all exterior doors and
windows (alarm may not be available in a Proctor Home). Youth receives Level 1 supervision for the first
2 weeks. After week 2: Youth will be permitted to be in the community doing independent job searching
and other approved activities, and will travel to and from approved appointments independently
utilizing public transportation, Medicaid cab, bike, or walking as long as movement calls are made
appropriately and verifiable. All movements are preapproved by Program Supervisor each day. Youth
may be able to use the computer with JSC approval but will need to be logged in by staff and staff will
check on activity periodically during use (no use without staff in the home. Youth may use the phone
with permission. Youth will have a 6PM curfew with the exception of work or appointments.

[ ] Level 1 - Intensive Supervision

Youth will live in @ Mana home with 24-hour staff and an alarm system covering all exterior doors and
windows (alarm may not be available in a Proctor Home). Youth is supervised in all activities in and out
of the home with the exception of work, school, treatment, day pass, and home pass. Youth will be
transported to all appointments in the community including to and from work and/or school until the
team approves independent transportation. Youth will be expected to be within eyesight, or will be
expected to be heard with a normal conversational voice, not to include work, school, etc. Youth may be
able to use the computer with supervision, with JSC/JPO approval. Youth may use the phone with
supervision.

[ ] supported Living
Youth will reside in a private bedroom in a Mana home or in their own residence with 24-hour individual

staff supervision and services. Youth is supervised based on JSC directives noted below. Youth will be
transported to all appointments in the community including to and from work and/or school. Youth will
be expected to be within eyesight, or will be expected to be heard with a normal conversational voice,
unless directives noted below specify otherwise. Youth may be able to use the computer with constant
direct supervision, with JSC/JPO approval. Youth may use the phone with supervision. Mana will
support the efforts to assist the youth in applying for Social Security benefits, Medicaid, DD Services and
DD Waiver and accessing the appropriate agency to provide eligibility assessment in an effort to qualify
for Residential Habilitation services. All Residential Habilitation services will be provided to the youth.

For Supported Living youth, please check those items that apply:

[ ] Youth will be supervised in all activities in and out of the home.

[] Youth will be supervised in all activities in and out of the home with the exception of work, school,
treatment, day pass, and home pass.
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For all youth, please check those items that apply:

[ Requires substance abuse treatment, GAIN | attached.

[ ] Requires substance abuse treatment, Mana to perform/schedule GAIN | assessment.
[ ] Must register as a Juvenile Sex Offender

[_] Must register as an Adult Sex Offender

[_] Requires Sex Offender Aftercare Treatment

[_] Youth takes medication and will need Medication Management

[] Youth will complete High School while at Mana.

D Youth will acquire GED while at Mana.

[ ] Youth has outstanding restitution, fines or community service hours.

[:] Youth is to be fitted with a GPS ankle monitor that is monitored by Mana staff. (Additional $10/day)

D Additional Services or Changes Required (i.e. need increased job site visits to 5x weekly, etc.”
]:] Window/door alarms

(] curfew [CLICK HERE AND TYPE]

|:| Nightly check intervals not to exceed [CLICK HERE AND TYPE] minutes/hours

[ ] Room check to be conducted every [CLICK HERE AND TYPE] day(s)

[_] No social activities after [CLICK HERE AND TYPE] p.m.

[[] Other: [CLICK HERE AND TYPE]

+ Contractor will contact IDJC prior to accepting juvenile if the additional services required cannot be
provided or they affect daily rates.

CONTRACTOR IDAHO DEPT OF JUVENILE CORRECTIONS
Signature: Signature:
Date: Date:

Page 60 of 60



