MINUTES

HOUSE AGRICULTURAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Monday, January 20, 2025

DATE:

TIME:	1:30 P.M.
PLACE:	Room EW42
MEMBERS:	Chairman Andrus, Vice Chairman Raymond, Representatives Cannon, McCann, Ehlers, Garner, Nelsen, Pickett, Sauter, Miller, Beiswenger, Dygert, Leavitt, Mendive, Shirts, Mathias, Achilles
ABSENT/ EXCUSED:	Mendive
GUESTS:	The sign-in sheet will be retained in the committee secretary's office; following the end of session the sign-in sheet will be filed with the minutes in the Legislative Library.
	Chairman Andrus called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.
MOTION:	Rep. Shirts made a motion to approve the minutes of January 16, 2025. Motion carried by voice vote.
	Chairman Andrus turned the gavel over to Vice Chairman Raymond.
DOCKET NO. 43-0101-2401:	Mr. Larrocea-Phillips explained the proposed rule governing the Idaho Oilseed Commission, Docket No. 43-0101-2401 , is under review by the 2025 Idaho State Legislature and requires approval by concurrent resolution to take effect. The updates clarify deadlines for tax payments and document submissions to the Commission, based on public feedback. There is no fee associated with the rule, and no negative fiscal impacts are expected.
MOTION:	Rep. McCann made a motion to approve Docket No. 43-0101-2401. Motion carried by voice vote.
	Vice Chairman Raymond turned the gavel back over to Chairman Andrus.
	Mr. Larrocea-Phillips presented oilseed as seeds utilized for oil, meal, planting seed, condiments, or other industrial and chemurgic applications. The commission's responsibilities include conducting research, education, and publicity efforts, along with exploring new market opportunities. It also provides reliable information demonstrating the value of oilseeds and oilseed products for any uses where they are deemed beneficial and profitable. Additionally, the commission examines challenges related to oilseed production in Idaho.
ADJOURN:	There being no further business to come before the committee the meeting adjourned at 1:57 p.m.
 Representative An	drus ————————————————————————————————————
Chair	Secretary