
TITLE 18
CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS

CHAPTER 25
ESCAPE OR RESCUE OF PRISONERS

18-2501. RESCUING PRISONERS. Every person who rescues, or attempts to
rescue, or aids another person in rescuing or attempting to rescue, any pris-
oner from any prison, or from any officer or person having him in lawful cus-
tody, is punishable as follows:

(1) If such prisoner was in custody upon a conviction of felony punish-
able by death, by imprisonment in the state prison not less than one (1) nor
more than fourteen (14) years.

(2) If such prisoner was in custody upon a conviction of any other
felony, by imprisonment in the state prison not less than six (6) months nor
more than five (5) years.

(3) If such prisoner was in custody upon a charge of felony, by a fine
not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000) and imprisonment in the county
jail not exceeding one (1) year.

(4) If such prisoner was in custody, otherwise than upon a charge or
conviction of felony, by fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000)
and imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months.

[18-2501, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 896; am. 2006, ch. 71, sec.
7, p. 219.]

18-2502. OFFICERS ASSISTING IN ESCAPE. Any sheriff, deputy sheriff,
peace officer, correctional officer or other employee of a correctional
facility, as defined in section 18-101A, Idaho Code, including a private
correctional facility, who fraudulently contrives, procures, aids, con-
nives at, or voluntarily permits the escape of any prisoner in custody,
is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison not exceeding ten (10)
years, and [a] fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Every
such officer or person who negligently suffers such escape is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

[18-2502, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 896; am. 2000, ch. 272, sec.
5, p. 790.]

18-2504. PRIVATE PERSONS ASSISTING IN ESCAPE. Every person who wil-
fully assists any prisoner confined in any prison, or in the lawful custody
of any officer or person, to escape, or in an attempt to escape, from such
prison or custody, is guilty of a felony.

[18-2504, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 896.]

18-2505. ESCAPE BY ONE CHARGED WITH, CONVICTED OF, OR ON PROBATION FOR A
FELONY -- ESCAPE BY A JUVENILE FROM CUSTODY. (1) Every prisoner charged with,
convicted of, or on probation for a felony who is confined in any correc-
tional facility, as defined in section 18-101A, Idaho Code, including any
private correctional facility, or who while outside the walls of such cor-
rectional facility in the proper custody of any officer or person, or while
in any factory, farm or other place without the walls of such correctional
facility, who escapes or attempts to escape from such officer or person, or
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from such correctional facility, or from such factory, farm or other place
without the walls of such correctional facility, shall be guilty of a felony,
and upon conviction thereof, any such second term of imprisonment shall com-
mence at the time he would otherwise have been discharged. Escape shall be
deemed to include abandonment of a job site or work assignment without the
permission of an employment supervisor or officer. Escape includes the in-
tentional act of leaving the area of restriction set forth in a court order
admitting a person to bail or release on a person's own recognizance with
electronic or global positioning system tracking or monitoring, or the area
of restriction set forth in a sentencing order, except for leaving the area
of restriction for the purpose of obtaining emergency medical care. A person
may not be charged with the crime of escape for leaving the aforementioned
area of restriction unless the person was notified in writing by the court at
the time of setting of bail, release or sentencing of the consequences of vi-
olating this section by intentionally leaving the area of restriction.

(2) Any person who is charged with, found to have committed, adjudi-
cated for or is on probation for an offense which would be a felony if com-
mitted by an adult, and who is confined in a juvenile detention facility or
other secure or nonsecure facility for juveniles and who escapes or attempts
to escape from the facility or from the lawful custody of any officer or per-
son shall be subject to proceedings under chapter 5, title 20, Idaho Code,
for an offense which would be a felony if committed by an adult. If the juve-
nile is or has been proceeded against as an adult, pursuant to section 20-508
or 20-509, Idaho Code, or was eighteen (18) years of age or older at the time
of the escape or attempted escape, the person shall be guilty of a felony for
a violation of this section and shall be subject to adult criminal proceed-
ings.

[18-2505, as added by 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 896; am. 1990, ch. 313,
sec. 1, p. 858; am. 1995, ch. 74, sec. 1, p. 195; am. 1997, ch. 77, sec. 1,
p. 161; am. 1998, ch. 359, sec. 1, p. 1123; am. 2000, ch. 106, sec. 1, p.
235; am. 2000, ch. 151, sec. 1, p. 387; am. 2000, ch. 272, sec. 6, p. 790;
am. 2004, ch. 50, sec. 1, p. 236; am. 2007, ch. 114, sec. 1, p. 329; am.
2010, ch. 28, sec. 1, p. 47; am. 2015, ch. 75, sec. 1, p. 197.]

18-2506. ESCAPE BY ONE CHARGED WITH OR CONVICTED OF A MISDEMEANOR -- ES-
CAPE BY A JUVENILE FROM CUSTODY.

(1) (a) Every prisoner charged with or convicted of a misdemeanor who
is confined in any county jail or other place or who is engaged in any
county work outside of such jail or other place, or who is in the law-
ful custody of any officer or person, who escapes or attempts to escape
therefrom, is guilty of a misdemeanor. Escape includes the intentional
act of leaving the area of restriction set forth in a court order ad-
mitting a person to bail or release on a person's own recognizance with
electronic or global positioning system tracking or monitoring, or the
area of restriction set forth in a sentencing order, except for leaving
the area of restriction for the purpose of obtaining emergency medical
care. A person may not be charged with the crime of escape for leaving
the aforementioned area of restriction unless the person was notified
in writing by the court at the time of setting of bail, release or sen-
tencing of the consequences of violating this section by intentionally
leaving the area of restriction.
(b) In cases involving escape or attempted escape by use of threat, in-
timidation, force, violence, injury to person or property other than
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that of the prisoner, or wherein the escape or attempted escape was per-
petrated by use or possession of any weapon, tool, instrument or other
substance, the prisoner shall be guilty of a felony.
(2) Any person who is charged with, found to have committed, adjudi-

cated for or is on probation for an offense which would be a misdemeanor if
committed by an adult, and who is confined in a juvenile detention facility
or other secure or nonsecure facility for juveniles and who escapes or at-
tempts to escape from the facility or from the lawful custody of an officer
or person, shall be subject to proceedings under the provisions of chapter 5,
title 20, Idaho Code, for an act which would be a misdemeanor if committed by
an adult, or, if the escape or attempted escape was undertaken as provided in
subsection (1)(b) of this section, for an offense which would be a felony if
committed by an adult. If the juvenile is or has been proceeded against as an
adult, pursuant to section 20-508 or 20-509, Idaho Code, or was eighteen (18)
years of age or older at the time of the escape or attempted escape, the per-
son shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, or if subsection (1)(b) of this section
applies, of a felony and, in either case, shall be subject to adult criminal
proceedings.

[18-2506, as added by 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 897; am. 1995, ch. 74,
sec. 2, p. 195; am. 1997, ch. 77, sec. 2, p. 162; am. 2000, ch. 106, sec.
2, p. 235; am. 2007, ch. 114, sec. 2, p. 330; am. 2010, ch. 28, sec. 2, p.
48; am. 2015, ch. 75, sec. 2, p. 197.]

18-2507. EXPENSE OF PROSECUTION -- HOW PAID. Whenever a person is pros-
ecuted under any of the provisions of section 18-2505, Idaho Code, and when-
ever a prisoner in the custody of the board of correction housed in a state
correctional facility, as defined in section 18-101A, Idaho Code, shall be
prosecuted for any crime committed therein, the clerk of the district court
shall make out a statement of all the costs incurred by the county for the
prosecution of such case, and for the guarding and keeping of such prisoner,
and when certified by the judge who tried the case, such statement shall be
submitted to and reviewed by the board of examiners. If approved, the board
of examiners shall submit the claim to the Idaho department of correction
who shall pay the claim to the treasurer of the county where the trial was
conducted. The provisions of this section shall apply to prosecution of a
prisoner in the custody of the board of correction and housed in a private
correctional facility unless otherwise provided for in any contract between
the state of Idaho and the private prison contractor entered into pursuant to
chapter 2, title 20, Idaho Code.

Costs of prosecution of all other prisoners housed in a private correc-
tional facility shall be recoverable from the private prison contractor, as
provided in section 20-809, Idaho Code.

[18-2507, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 897; am. 1984, ch. 79, sec.
1, p. 146; am. 1985, ch. 80, sec. 1, p. 155; am. 2000, ch. 272, sec. 7,
p. 790; am. 2001, ch. 335, sec. 11, p. 1192; am. 2009, ch. 104, sec. 1, p.
320.]

18-2508. PERSONS COMMITTED TO PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS -- ENTICING TO ES-
CAPE OR HARBORING UNLAWFUL. (1) It shall be unlawful for any person to know-
ingly entice the escape of or harbor any person committed to or confined in
any institution maintained by the state for the treatment, education or wel-
fare of persons committed to or confined therein.
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(2) Any person who violates the provisions of subsection (1) of this
section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction shall be punished
by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment in the
county jail for a period not exceeding one (1) year, or both.

[18-2508, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 897; am. 2019, ch. 146, sec.
1, p. 497.]

18-2510. POSSESSION, INTRODUCTION OR REMOVAL OF CERTAIN ARTICLES INTO
OR FROM CORRECTIONAL FACILITIES. (1) No person including a prisoner, except
as authorized by law or with permission of the facility head, shall know-
ingly:

(a) Introduce, or attempt to introduce, contraband into a correctional
facility or the grounds of a correctional facility; or
(b) Convey, or attempt to convey, contraband to a prisoner confined in a
correctional facility; or
(c) Possess, or attempt to possess, contraband within a correctional
facility; or
(d) Receive, obtain or remove, or attempt to receive, obtain or remove,
contraband from a correctional facility.
(2) Any person including a prisoner who violates any provision of sub-

section (1) of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and on convic-
tion thereof shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for a pe-
riod not exceeding one (1) year or by a fine not exceeding one thousand dol-
lars ($1,000), or by both such imprisonment and fine.

(3) No person including a prisoner, except as authorized by law or with
permission of the facility head, shall knowingly:

(a) Introduce, or attempt to introduce, major contraband into a correc-
tional facility or the grounds of a correctional facility; or
(b) Convey, or attempt to convey, major contraband to a prisoner con-
fined in a correctional facility; or
(c) Possess, or attempt to possess, major contraband within a correc-
tional facility; or
(d) Receive, obtain or remove, or attempt to receive, obtain or remove,
major contraband from a correctional facility.
(4) Any person including a prisoner who violates any provision of

subsection (3) of this section shall be guilty of a felony and on conviction
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for a period not
exceeding five (5) years or by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars
($10,000), or by both such imprisonment and fine.

(5) As used in this section:
(a) "Contraband" means any article or thing that a prisoner confined in
a correctional facility is prohibited by statute, rule or policy from
obtaining or possessing and the use of which could endanger the safety
or security of the correctional facility, any person therein or the pub-
lic.
(b) "Correctional facility" means a correctional facility as defined
in section 18-101A, Idaho Code.
(c) "Major contraband" means:

(i) Any controlled substance as defined in section 37-2701(e),
Idaho Code;
(ii) Any tobacco product in excess of three (3) ounces;

https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title18/T18CH1/SECT18-101A
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title37/T37CH27/SECT37-2701


5

(iii) Any firearm or dangerous weapon including explosives or com-
bustibles or any plans or materials that may be used in the making
or manufacturing of such weapons, explosives or devices;
(iv) Any telecommunication equipment or component hardware in-
cluding, but not limited to, any device carried, worn or stored
that is designed or intended to receive or transmit verbal or writ-
ten messages, access or store data or connect electronically to
the internet or any other electronic device that allows communi-
cations in any form. Such devices include, but are not limited to,
cellular telephones, portable two-way pagers, hand-held radios,
global position satellite system equipment, subscriber identity
module (SIM) cards, portable memory chips, batteries, chargers,
blackberry-type devices or smart phones, personal digital assis-
tants or PDA's and laptop computers. The term also includes any
new technology that is developed for similar purposes. Excluded
from this definition is any device having communication capabili-
ties that has been approved by the facility head for investigative
or institutional security purposes or for conducting other offi-
cial business;
(v) Any object or instrument intended or reasonably likely to
be used in the planning or aiding in an escape or attempted escape
from a correctional facility.

(d) "Prisoner" means a prisoner or a juvenile offender as those terms
are defined in section 18-101A, Idaho Code.

[18-2510, added 2012, ch. 82, sec. 2, p. 234.]
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