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IDAPA 24 - DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

24.29.01 - RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE IDAHO CERTIFIED
SHORTHAND REPORTERS BOARD

DOCKET NO. 24-2901-2000F (FEE RULE)
NOTICE OF OMNIBUS RULEMAKING — ADOPTION OF TEMPORARY RULE

EFFECTIVE DATE: The effective date of the temporary rules being adopted through this omnibus rulemaking is
the adjournment date of the second regular session of the 65th Idaho State Legislature - March 20, 2020.

AUTHORITY: In compliance with Sections 67-5226, Idaho Code, notice is hereby given this agency has adopted a
temporary rule. The action is authorized pursuant to Section 54-3107, Idaho Code.

DESCRIPTIVE SUMMARY: The following is the required finding and concise statement of its supporting reasons
for adopting a temporary rule:

This temporary rulemaking adopts the following chapter under IDAPA 24.9.01:

IDAPA 24.29
o 24.29.01, Rules of the Rules of the Procedure of the Idaho Certified Shorthand Reporters Board.

TEMPORARY RULE JUSTIFICATION: Pursuant to Sections 67-5226(1) and 67-5226(2), Idaho Code, the
Governor has found that temporary adoption of the rule is appropriate for the following reasons:

These temporary rules are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and
confer a benefit on its citizens. These temporary rules implement the duly enacted laws of the state of Idaho, provide
citizens with the detailed rules and standards for complying with those laws, and assist in the orderly execution and
enforcement of those laws. The expiration of these rules without due consideration and processes would undermine
the public health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of Idaho and deprive them of the benefit intended by these rules.
These rules govern the qualifications and criteria for shorthand reporters in Idaho. Allowing these rules to expire
would harm recent efforts made to reduce barriers to entry into the profession and would adversely effect the Board’s
ability to admit new licensees, harming the welfare of prospective licensees and the industries the Board serves.

FEE SUMMARY: Pursuant to Section 67-5226(2), the Governor has found that the fees or charges being imposed or
increased are justified and necessary to avoid immediate danger and the fees are described herein:

The fees or charges, authorized in Section 54-3110, Idaho Code, are part of the agency’s 2021 budget that relies
upon the existence of these fees or charges to meet the state’s obligations and provide necessary state services. Failing
to reauthorize these temporary rules would create immediate danger to the state budget, immediate danger to
necessary state functions and services, and immediate danger of a violation of Idaho’s constitutional requirement that
it balance its budget.

The following is a specific description of the fees or charges:

Initial License Renewal Late Fee Other
Broker $160 $160 $25
Salesperson $160 $160 $25
Business Entity $50 $50 $25
Branch Office $50 $50 $25
Cooperative License $100
Education or License History $10
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DIV. OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSES

Docket No. 24-2901-2000F

IDAPA 24.29 Omnibus Notice — Temporary (Fee) Rule
Initial License Renewal Late Fee Other
License Certificate $15

ASSISTANCE ON TECHNICAL QUESTIONS: For assistance on technical questions concerning the temporary
rule, contact Rob McQuade at (208) 334-3233.

DATED this February 21, 2020.

Kelley Packer
Division Administrator

Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses

700 W. State Street
P.O. Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720
Phone: (208) 334-3233
Fax: (208) 334-3945
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24.29.01 - RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE IDAHO CERTIFIED
SHORTHAND REPORTERS BOARD

000. LEGALAUTHORITY.
These rules are adopted under the authority of Section 54-3107, Idaho Code. (3-20-20)T

001. TITLE AND SCOPE.
These rules are titled IDAPA 24.29.01, “Rules of Procedure of the Idaho Certified Shorthand Reporters Board.”
These rules establish procedures for the organization and operation of the Board. (3-20-20)T

002. -- 100. (RESERVED)
101. COMMITTEES.

01. Appointment. Regular or special committees may be appointed by the chairman and present
reports to the Board at the time specified or at the earliest regular or special meeting of the Board. A special voluntary
committee from the public, which may include members of the Board, may be formed to render special services
during examinations or as the Board may assign to them. (3-20-20)T

02. Certificates. Certificates of registration shall be issued to each certified shorthand reporter, as
prescribed by the Title 54, Chapter 31, on forms adopted by the Board. Certificates shall be displayed by certified
shorthand reporters in their place of business. Each certificate shall bear an individual number as assigned to that
particular Certified Shorthand Reporter by the Board. (3-20-20)T

102. -- 124. (RESERVED)

125. FEES.
All fees are non-refundable.
FEE TYPE (Not to Exceec)
Application $50
Examination $50
Renewal $75
Examination preparation materials $20

(3-20-20)T
126. -- 200. (RESERVED)
201.  WRITTEN STATEMENT OF SUITABILITY FOR LICENSURE OR PERMIT.

An applicant or licensee who has a conviction, finding of guilt, withheld judgment, or suspended sentence for any
crime other than a minor traffic offense must submit with their application a written statement and any supplemental

information establishing their current suitability for licensure. (3-20-20)T
01. Consideration of Factors and Evidence. The Board shall consider the following factors or
evidence: (3-20-20)T
a. The severity or nature of the crime; (3-20-20)T
b. The period of time that has passed since the crime under review; (3-20-20)T
c. The number or pattern of crimes; (3-20-20)T

d. The circumstances surrounding the crime that would help determine the risk of repetition;
(3-20-20)T
e. The relationship of the crime or discipline to the practice of shorthand reporting; (3-20-20)T
f. The applicant's activities since the crime under review, such as employment, education,
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IDAHO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE IDAPA 24.29.01 — Rules of Procedure of the Idaho
Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Certified Shorthand Reporters Board

participation in treatment, payment of restitution, or any other factors which may be evidence of current

rehabilitation; and (3-20-20)T
g. Any other information regarding rehabilitation or mitigating circumstances. (3-20-20)T
02. Interview. The Board may, at its discretion, grant an interview of the applicant. (3-20-20)T

03. Applicant Bears the Burden. The applicant shall bear the burden of establishing his current
suitability for licensure. (3-20-20)T

202. -- 299, (RESERVED)
300. EXAMINATIONS.

01. Examination Process. (3-20-20)T
a. Late applicants shall not be admitted to the examination room. (3-20-20)T
b. Picture identification shall be shown by all applicants before taking an examination.  (3-20-20)T
c. Examinees are forbidden to receive any unauthorized assistance during the examination.
Communication between examinees or possession of unauthorized material or devices during the examination is
strictly prohibited. (3-20-20)T
d. Only scheduled examinees, Board members, and authorized personnel shall be admitted to the
examination room. (3-20-20)T
02. Scope of Examination. (3-20-20)T
a. The complete examining procedure for certification as a certified shorthand reporter consists of two

(2) sections. The first section is the written examination covering subjects as are ordinarily given in a school of court
reporting and which are common to all fields of practice. The second section is the skills portion which shall consist

of the following segments and speeds. (3-20-20)T
i. Question and Answer -- Five (5) minutes at two hundred twenty-five (225) words per minute.
(3-20-20)T
ii. Jury Charge -- Five (5) minutes at two hundred (200) words per minute. (3-20-20)T
iil. Literary -- Five (5) minutes at one hundred eighty (180) words per minute. (3-20-20)T
iv. Density of Exam -- The syllabic content of the dictated exam shall be one point four (1.4).
(3-20-20)T
b. The examination is the same for all applicants. (3-20-20)T
c. The examining committee, which shall consist of three Board members, shall inform applicants of
the approximate time allowed for typing the skills portion of the examination. (3-20-20)T
d. The written examination and the three (3) skills segments can be passed individually for the Idaho
examination. (3-20-20)T
03. Grading. (3-20-20)T
a. Each applicant must attain a grade of seventy-five percent (75%) or above to pass the written
examination and ninety-five percent (95%) or above in each segment to pass the skills portion. (3-20-20)T
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Div. of Occupational & Professional Licenses Certified Shorthand Reporters Board
b. Every applicant receiving a grade of less than seventy-five percent (75%) in the written
examination shall be deemed to have failed such examination and shall have the application denied without prejudice.
(3-20-20)T

c. Every applicant receiving a grade of less than ninety-five percent (95%) in each of the skills
segments of the examination shall be deemed to have failed such examination and shall have the application denied
without prejudice. (3-20-20)T
d. An applicant failing either the written section, or the skills portion, and having filed a new
application for examination, shall be required to take and pass within a two-year period only the section for which a
failing grade was received. (3-20-20)T
04. Inspection of Examination. (3-20-20)T

a. An applicant who fails to obtain a passing grade in the skills portion may inspect his/her

examination papers at such times and locations as may be designated by the Board. Inspection of such examination
papers shall be permitted within a thirty (30) day period after receipt of notice by the applicant of his/her failure to

pass the examination. (3-20-20)T
b. At the time of inspection no one other than the examinee or his/her attorney and a representative of
the Board shall have access to such examination papers. (3-20-20)T
0s. Inspection Review. (3-20-20)T
a. Within thirty (30) days after the date notice of the results of the examination has been mailed to
him/her, an applicant who was unsuccessful in the examination may petition the Board for a review of his/her
examination papers. (3-20-20)T
b. The petition for review shall be made in writing stating the reason for such review and citing the
item or items against which the request is directed. (3-20-20)T
c. The Board shall, upon receiving such petition for review, conduct a hearing at the next scheduled
Board meeting. (3-20-20)T
06. Retention of Examinations. The Board shall retain for at least six (6) months, all examination
papers and notes submitted by applicants. (3-20-20)T

301. -- 399. (RESERVED)
400. TEMPORARY PERMIT.

01. Eligibility. (3-20-20)T
a. Any one (1) or more of the following shall be considered as minimum evidence that the applicant is
qualified to hold a temporary permit: (3-20-20)T
1. Hold a Certificate of Merit Reporter (RMR) issued by the National Court Reporters Association
(NCRA); (3-20-20)T
ii. Hold a Certificate of Registered Professional Reporter (RPR) issued by the National Court
Reporters Association (NCRA); (3-20-20)T
1il. Hold a Certified Shorthand Reporter certificate, or its equivalent, in good standing from another
state; (3-20-20)T
iv. Hold a diploma or certificate of completion of all requirements to graduate from a National Court
Reporter Association (NCRA) approved school, (3-20-20)T
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V. Has otherwise demonstrated his/her proficiency by a certificate from an agency from another state.
(3-20-20)T

b. The applicant must have a high school diploma or equivalent. (3-20-20)T

02. Permit. All temporary permits shall be issued for a period of one (1) year and may be renewable

for a single additional year if, before the permit expires, the permit holder: (3-20-20)T
a. Submits a written renewal request to the Board; (3-20-20)T

b. Establishes that they have passed at least one (1) skills segment of the Idaho Certified Shorthand
Reporter Examination, the Registered Professional Reporter Examination (RPR), or the Registered Merit Reporter
Examination (RMR); and (3-20-20)T
c. Pays the required fees as set forth in this Chapter. (3-20-20)T

401. -- 499. (RESERVED)

500. DISCIPLINARY PENALTY.

Costs and fees. The Board may order anyone licensed under Title 54, Chapter 31, Idaho Code, who is found by the
Board to be in violation of the provisions of Title 54, Chapter 31, Idaho Code, to pay the costs and fees incurred by
the Board in the investigation or prosecution of the licensee. (3-20-20)T

501. -- 999. (RESERVED)
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