Print Friendly

Sen. Bart Davis

Senator Bart M. Davis (R)

Resigned Sept. 21, 2017
Majority Leader
District 33
11th term
2638 Bellin Circle, Idaho Falls, 83402
Bus (208) 522-8100
Statehouse (208) 332-1305 (Session Only)
Judiciary & Rules
State Affairs

Born March 7, 1955, in Rapid City, SD; 1973 graduate Idaho Falls HS; B.A. from Brigham Young University; J.D. from University of Idaho; LDS; 1981-present, attorney; 2014-2016, Acting President, Electrical Wholesale Supply Co., Inc.; 2015-present, Amendments to Uniform Parentage Act, ULC; 2015-present, co-chair, International Committee (CSG); 2016, Legislator of the Year, Fraternal Order of Police; “Idaho’s Messy History with Term Limits: A Modest Response,” University of Idaho College Law Review (2016); 2012, Legislator of the Year, Idaho Library Association; 2011, Angel in Adoption Award, Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute; 2010, Special Recognition for Extraordinary Contributions to the Improved Administration of Justice in Idaho, Idaho Judicial Conference; 2010, Professor Boyd A. Martin Award, Idaho Association of Cities; 2010-present, Trustee, Museum of Idaho; 2010-present, member, State and Federal Relations Committee, ULC; 2009, chair, Council of State Governments (CSG); 2009, Republican Legislator of the Year, Idaho Republican Party; 2008-2011, president, Law School Advisory Council, University of Idaho College of Law; 2008, vice-chair, Idaho Republican State Convention, Sandpoint; 2008, Idaho Delegate at Large, Republican National Convention, Minneapolis, MN; 2007-present, Committee on Relations with other Organizations, ULC; 2007, Outstanding Republican Elected Official Award, Idaho Republican Party, Region VII; 2007, Use of Legislative History: Willow Witching for Legislative Intent, 43 University of Idaho College of Law Review 585 (2007), co-author; 2006-2007, board member, Idaho Law Review Advisory Board, College of Law, University of Idaho; June, 2006, vice-chair, Idaho Republican Convention, Idaho Falls; 2006-2009, member, Idaho’s Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission; 2006-present, member, Guardianship/Conservatorship Committee, Idaho Supreme Court; 2006, chair, Eastern Idaho State Park Search Committee; 2005-present, chairman and secretary of the Board, Electrical Wholesale Supply Co., Inc.; 2005-2006, member, Study Committee on Faithless Presidential Electors, ULC; 2004, Leadership to Eastern Idaho Award, Idaho Falls Chamber of Commerce; 2004, Shooting Star Award, State Government Affairs Council; 2004, Idaho Delegate at Large, Republican National Convention, New York City, NY; 2004, parliamentarian, Idaho Republican State Convention, Boise, Idaho; 2004, co-chair, Guardianship/Conservatorship Interim Committee, Idaho State Legislature; 2003-2009, member, Committee on Liaison with Native American Tribes (U.C.C. Article 9), ULC; 2003-2004, chairman, Council of State Governments-West; 2003-present, member, Governing Board and Executive Committee, The Council of State Governments; 2003-present, Senate board member, Idaho Bond Bank Authority; 2003-present, task force member, (current chairman) Legal Task Force, The Council of State Governments (12 member “Federalism” national task force to determine amicus participation on certain cases before the United States Supreme Court); 2002-present, Majority Leader, Idaho State Senate; 2002-2003, co-chair, Task Force to Study Campaign Financing for Judicial Election, Idaho State Legislature; 2002, Majority Caucus Chair, Idaho State Senate; 2001-present, commissioner, National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws; 2001, recipient, Cesar Chavez/Dolores Huerta Farmworker Justice Award; 2001-present, member, Committee on Suggested State Legislation, Council of State Governments; 2001-2003, chair, Futures Committee, Council of State Governments-West; 2001-present, council member, Legislative Council, Idaho State Legislature; 2000-2001, member, Idaho Governor’s Family Farm Security Task Force; 2000, participant, Project Israel Interchange, American Jewish Committee & Council of State Governments; 2000-2002, member, Committee on Judicial Independence and Judicial Integrity, Idaho State Bar; 2000, Idaho Delegate at Large, Republican National Convention, Philadelphia, PA; 2000-2004, board member, Eastern Idaho Special Services Agency; 1999-present, member, Idaho Falls Education Advisory Council; 1988, chair, Commercial Bankruptcy Law Section, Idaho State Bar; 1999, recipient, Professionalism Award, Commercial Law & Bankruptcy Section, Idaho State Bar; 1999, member, Idaho Governor’s Executive Committee on Safety in Schools; 1999-present, member, Executive Committee, Council on State Governments-West;1999-2011, member, and past-chair, Ad Hoc Joint Advisory Committee on Technology, 1998-present, Idaho State Senate; 1999, Toll Fellow, Council of State Governments; 1998-present, council member, Idaho Falls Education Advisory Council; 1995-1998, member, 9th Circuit Judicial Conference Executive Committee, 9th Circuit Court of Appeals; 1997-1999, member, Eastern Idaho Division Facilities Committee, United States Court District of Idaho; 1993-1995, Idaho Lawyer Representative, 9th Circuit Judicial Conference, 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, United States Courts; 1993-1994, member, Long Range Planning Committee, United States District Court, District of Idaho; 1990-2001, member, Rules Committee, United States Bankruptcy Court, District of Idaho; 1994, Admitted to Practice, United States District Court, District of Arizona; 1989, Admitted to Practice, United States Supreme Court; 1987, Admitted to Practice, 9th Circuit Court of Appeals; 1982-1984, co-chair, Bonneville County Young Republicans; 1981, Admitted to Practice, United States District Court, District of Idaho; 1981, Admitted to Practice, Supreme Court of the State of Idaho; spouse: Marion Davis; children: Christopher (Kodie), Weston (Brigette), Cameron (deceased), Jil (David), Rebecca (Jesse), and Annie; 14 grandchildren.