Legislative Services Office

Research & Legislation Division

Research and Legislation is the section of the nonpartisan Legislative Services Office that conducts research for legislators, drafts legislation, staffs legislative study committees, reviews administrative agency rules, and provides information on the legislative process and legislative history to the public and other state agencies. In addition to processing legislation, the staff tracks and publishes records of all action taken on introduced bills. After each session of the Legislature adjourns, staff prepares Session Laws for publication and proofs the ensuing Idaho Code Supplements for accuracy. The staff librarian maintains an extensive collection of materials in the Legislative Reference Library to assist both legislators and staff with research.

Mike Nugent

Division Manager
208-334-4821mnugent@lso.idaho.gov

Taxation
State & Local Government
Energy, Environment & Technology
   

Katharine Gerrity

Deputy Division Manager
208-334-4867kgerrity@lso.idaho.gov

Natural Resources
Water Law
Agriculture
Oil and Gas
Insurance
   

Ryan Bush

Principal Legislative Research Analyst
208-334-4857rbush@lso.idaho.gov

Criminal Law
Juvenile Corrections
Department of Corrections
State Government
Uniform Laws
Administrative Rules
Indian Affairs
   

Elizabeth Bowen

Senior Legislative Research Analyst
208-334-4851ebowen@lso.idaho.gov

Education
Health & Welfare

Medicaid and Health Insurance
Transportation
Workers Compensation
Employment Law

   

Kristin Ford

Legislative Research Analyst
208-334-4859kford@lso.idaho.gov

Legislative Compensation
Elections
Taxation
Occupational Licensing
   

Ana Lara

Administrative Assistant
208-334-4845alara@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Jackie Gunn

Editor
208-334-4843jgunn@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Lara Margelofsky

Editor
208-334-4852lmargelofsky@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Sara Bingham

Senior Proofreader
208-334-4842sbingham@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Dan Greer

Senior Proofreader
208-334-4853dgreer@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Eric Glover

Legislative Librarian
208-334-4863eglover@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Jenna Knobloch

Library Research Assistant
208-334-4822jknobloch@lso.idaho.gov

 
   

Jennifer Kish

Research & Legislation Information Liaison
208-334-4854jkish@lso.idaho.gov

 

Welcome to the Legislative Research Library

 

Hours/Location

Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. (MST)

Interim (approximately April – December), we are closed from 12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Location: C114 – first floor of the Capitol, just east of the State Street Entrance

 

The Legislative Research Library is part of the Idaho Legislative Services Office, Research and Legislation Division. We are non-partisan legislative support staff for the Idaho Legislature, and provide research and bill drafting services for Idaho state legislators. The library is also the repository for legislative history records of Idaho laws. We are open to the public, so anyone may come in and research the history behind an Idaho law. You do not need to make an appointment.

We have prepared several guides to help you in researching legislative history. Depending on how old the law is, you may or may not be able to find any discussion on it, and you may or may not be able to find the discussion online. These guides help explain what is available in further detail.

 

book For more information, please contact library@lso.idaho.gov or call us at 208-334-4822. book

Legislative Services Office
Research and Legislation Division
700 W. Jefferson St. • P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0054
P: 208-334-4834 | F: 208-334-2125