Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 28
COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS
CHAPTER 42
FINANCE CHARGES AND RELATED PROVISIONS
PART 3.
OTHER CHANGES AND MODIFICATIONS
28-42-301.  Delinquency charges. (1) With respect to a precomputed regulated consumer credit transaction, the parties may contract for a delinquency charge on any installment not paid in full within ten (10) days after its due date, as originally scheduled or as deferred, in an amount which is not more than five percent (5%) of the unpaid amount of the installment, or twelve dollars and fifty cents ($12.50), whichever is greater.
(2)  With respect to a regulated consumer loan secured by a security interest in real property which is used or expected to be used as the residence of the debtor which is not a precomputed regulated consumer loan, the parties may contract for a delinquency charge on any installment not paid in full within fifteen (15) days after its scheduled due date in an amount not exceeding five percent (5%) of the unpaid amount of the installment, or fifteen dollars ($15.00), whichever is greater.
(3)  With respect to all other regulated consumer credit transactions, whether secured or unsecured, and whether such credit transactions are classified as open-end credit or closed-end credit, the parties may contract for a delinquency charge on any installment or scheduled payment not paid in full within ten (10) days after its scheduled due date in an amount not exceeding five percent (5%) of the unpaid amount of the installment or scheduled payment, or fifteen dollars ($15.00), whichever is greater.
(4)  A delinquency charge under subsection (1), subsection (2) or subsection (3) of this section may be collected only once on an installment or scheduled payment, however long it remains in default. No delinquency charge may be collected if the installment or scheduled payment has been deferred and a deferral charge, section 28-42-302, Idaho Code, has been paid or incurred. A delinquency charge may be collected at the time it accrues or at any time thereafter.
(5)  No delinquency charge may be collected on an installment or payment which is paid in full within ten (10) days after its scheduled due date even though an earlier maturing installment or scheduled payment or a delinquency charge on an earlier installment or scheduled payment may not have been paid in full. For purposes of this subsection, payments are applied first to current installments or scheduled payments and then to delinquent installments or scheduled payments.
(6)  If two (2) installments or parts thereof of a precomputed regulated consumer credit transaction are in default for ten (10) days or more, the creditor may elect to convert the credit transaction from a precomputed regulated consumer credit transaction to one in which the finance charge is based on unpaid balances. In this event, he shall make a rebate pursuant to the provisions on rebate upon prepayment, section 28-42-307, Idaho Code, as of the maturity date of the first delinquent installment, and thereafter may make a finance charge as authorized by the provisions on finance charge for regulated consumer credit transactions. The amount of the rebate shall not be reduced by the amount of any permitted minimum charge, section 28-42-307, Idaho Code.

History:
[28-42-301, added 1983, ch. 119, sec. 3, p. 276; am. 1993, ch. 227, sec. 2, p. 798; am. 1996, ch. 134, sec. 1, p. 459; am. 2002, ch. 302, sec. 1, p. 865.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution