Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 28
COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS
CHAPTER 44
INSURANCE
PART 3.
PROPERTY AND LIABILITY INSURANCE
28-44-301.  Property insurance. (1) A creditor may not contract for or receive a separate charge for insurance against loss of or damage to property unless the creditor qualifies under chapter 9, title 41, Idaho Code, or rule or regulation prescribed by the director of the department of insurance and:
(a)  The insurance covers a substantial risk of loss of or damage to property related to the credit transaction;
(b)  The amount, terms, and conditions of the insurance are reasonable in relation to the character and value of the property insured or to be insured; and
(c)  The term of the insurance is reasonable in relation to the terms of credit.
(2)  The term of the insurance is reasonable if it is customary and does not extend substantially beyond a scheduled maturity.
(3)  A creditor may not contract for or receive a separate charge for insurance against loss of or damage to property unless the amount financed or principal exclusive of charges for the insurance is five hundred dollars ($500) or more, and the value of the property is five hundred dollars ($500) or more.

History:
[28-44-301, added 1983, ch. 119, sec. 3, p. 292.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution