UNIFORM SECURITIES ACT (2004)
FRAUD AND LIABILITIES
30-14-508. Criminal penalties. (a) Criminal penalties. A person that willfully violates this chapter, or a rule adopted or an order issued under this chapter, except section 30-14-504, Idaho Code, or the notice filing requirements of section 30-14-302 or 30-14-405, Idaho Code, or that willfully violates section 30-14-505, Idaho Code, knowing the statement made to be false or misleading in a material respect, shall be guilty of a felony and upon conviction, shall be fined not more than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or imprisoned not more than five (5) years, or both. An individual convicted of violating a rule or order under this chapter may be fined, but may not be imprisoned, if the individual did not have knowledge of the rule or order.
(b) A person that willfully violates section 30-14-501 or 30-14-502(a), Idaho Code, and in connection with that violation, the violator knowingly accepts any money representing:
(1) Equity in a person’s home;
(2) A withdrawal from any individual retirement account or similar retirement account; or
(3) A withdrawal from any qualified retirement plan as defined in the Internal Revenue Code,
shall upon conviction be punished by imprisonment for not less than three (3) years or more than fifteen (15) years if, at the time the crime was committed, the property, money or thing unlawfully obtained or sought to be obtained was worth ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or more.
(c) If, in the commission of an offense described in subsection (a) or (b) of this section, the victim is an elder or dependent adult, and the violator has knowledge that the victim is an elder or dependent adult, the defendant shall receive an additional term of imprisonment as follows:
(1) Three (3) years if the victim is under seventy (70) years of age.
(2) Five (5) years if the victim is seventy (70) years of age or older.
(d) As used in this section, "elder" means any person who is sixty-five (65) years of age or older.
(e) As used in this section, "dependent adult" means any person who is between the ages of eighteen (18) and sixty-four (64) years, who has physical or mental limitations which restrict the person’s ability to carry out normal activities or to protect the person’s rights, including, but not limited to, persons who have physical or developmental disabilities or whose physical or mental abilities have diminished because of age.
(f) No indictment or information may be returned under this chapter more than five (5) years after the alleged violation.
(g) Criminal reference not required. The attorney general or the proper prosecuting attorney with or without a reference from the administrator, may institute criminal proceedings under this chapter.
(h) No limitation on other criminal enforcement. This chapter does not limit the power of this state to punish a person for conduct that constitutes a crime under other laws of this state.
[30-14-508, added 2004, ch. 45, sec. 2, p. 210.]